Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Haier 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Haier 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

The Haier vertical air conditioner fits perfectly into casement/slider windows, making it ideal for most homes, apartments or offices. With its 8000 BTU output, it's suitable for rooms between 151-350 square feet. The window air conditioner features three cool settings, three fan settings and a full-function remote for comfort and convenience. Rust-free, the Haier vertical air conditioner is designed to last for years and warm summers that come your way.
Average Customer Rating:
4.042 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation81%39 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Great Product

04/28/2010
By ,
Boston,Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Haier Vertical Air conditioner/ Refrigerated Air
This is a Great Product From Haier.
In the picture you see above the unit looks like it's aluminum it is not.
The unit is a soft between beige and off white a great looking unit . I was impressed at the looks of the unit.
This unit comes with a remote that controls all functions. Mode: /Fan /dehumidify / Timer/ Speed
and temp.
you can also control all functions on the touch pad electronic control panel on the unit.
Timer: 24 hour
Dehumidifier Function
Fan only
Cooling
Speed's : 3 low, mid, high
Uses Regular 110 outlet
Cord from unit has a G.F.P/ Ground Fault Protection
When i installed the unit it took me around 45 min you may need a helping hand to install/lock the unit in.
I was very impressed on how quiet the unit ran on all speeds.
It cooled the room . 20 X 15 about 15 to 20 min
You will need. a Phillips screwdriver / pipe wrench for outside bracket / razor knife for fill in panel & Drill.
Air can be set to direct in 6 positions
So as i may say this is a Cool Unit ***** stars
Hope this was helpful for my first review
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 2 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

A Perfectly Fine Unit

07/03/2008
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've only had the unit going for a few nights now but I think it has helped make our infant daughter sleep more soundly, as her upstairs bedroom is no longer sauna-like.
We have slider windows and I thought we might be out of luck when it came to finding an a/c unit that would fit but I was surprised to find a handful of choices.
We probably could have gotten by with a 5,000 BTU unit but they seemed to be hard to find elsewhere on the Web.
This Haier is a bit larger than I would like, though I was able to lift it by myself. We ended up hiring a handyman to install it, as our window sill didn't totally provide the best base for the unit, and we also needed to have a piece of wood cut to prevent the mounting bracket from damaging our vinyl siding. That was money well spent!
I do like the remote that comes with the unit, as I have been able to poke my head into our daughter's room and adjust the unit's temperature up or down while standing in the doorway.
All in all, we're happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Ahhh!

06/28/2008
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For 3 years I suffered summer in my bedroom at night. Although I have a swamp cooler that does great in the rest of the house, my upstairs bedroom was like an oven.
The trouble was - casement windows. The coolers for casements were cost prohibitive. After 3 terrible nights early this season, I found this casement air conditioner. I had it shipped to the store, and picked it up - it was convenient, and saved me quite a bit of money.
At first look, I thought it was going to be a bear to install, and I didn't know if I'd be able to remove it during the winter.
Once we really read the instructions, though, and got going, it only took about an hour to safely install it into my old steel casement. The fit is perfect, and it is not hard to take in and out for summer/winter.
It is extremely efficient and quiet (much quieter that a fan!) It cools my bedroom (250 sq feet) from 90+ degrees to 68 really quickly. It has 3 speeds, timer, fan option, remote.
A great!!!! product for the price. I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Can't Recommend

06/01/2010
By ,
Blacksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Haier A/C did not appear to be damaged in any way but the fan would not run when it was installed in my home. The unit display lit up and it looked like it would work but the fan would not run and the Haier representatives that I called many times were not very helpful. Their policy was to not send a replacement unit until the A/C was checked by a repairman and they did not have anyone in my area but said they would try to locate someone in 3-5 days. After a week and several calls to them, I removed ithe A/C from the window and returned it to Walmart where I had ordered it through the Site-To-Store. I liked the appearance of the A/C and I believe it is a good value but of course, I was not pleased that it wouldn't run and I certainly was not pleased with the disinterested customer service from Haier. I was concerned that even if someone came and got it running, I would have the same problem with no local service if it gave me trouble later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 5 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Works but check the fit

07/04/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as expected for a cheap AC. It's more noisy than a better one, but not overbearing, and as quiet as most window AC units of 10 or 15 years ago.
HOWEVER don't count on putting it in a 15-1/2" wide window unless you want to modify or remove one or both siderails. 15-7/8" should go and 16" will be comfy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 6 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Does the Job!

07/08/2007
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding a "vertical" window air conditioner unit to fit into a very small dormer window had been a two year challenge. As it was, we really had to "work" the unit into the opening, but once installed it has worked wonderfully. It not only cools the upstairs bedroom in which it was installed, but also cools the hallway and bathroom. It cools so well, instead of feeling the temperature increase when going upstairs, it actually decreases. It fits the bill for a two-story house in Oklahoma summers!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Haier Vertical Room A/C 8000 btu

07/12/2008
By ,
Murrieta, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great a/c. Had no problems but do wish the fill in panel was 2 " longer. One other item is that It would have been better if the on/off timer would have been for time of day that could be set for daily operation. I still think this is a 5 star unit with its' cooling capacity and quietness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Excellent product

07/14/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation was relatively straight forward. Had to buy some extra foam as I do not think all sliding casements are the same. No big deal though. The base mount is a great idea. I like how it supports against the siding. Somewhat heavy, about 80 lbs, but was able to get it in myself. Its pretty quiet unless fan is on high but that is expected. It does a good job cooling my living room and kitchen down. Still waiting on the remote control though as it was not packaged. Haier will be sending it though after I had to send endless documentation. My only gripe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 9 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Just what I needed

07/28/2008
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had hung window but the narrow tall kind. They would not accommodate a traditional air conditioner and required the vertical type. So far in all my research, Walmart was the most inexpensive and the air conditioner works as expected. I especially like the energy saver feature. It will shut off when the correct temperature is reached.
I do feel the price was a bit steep for an 8,000 btu air conditioner just because the shape was different. I can't imagine what was different that made it almost three times the price of a traditional unit that was comparable.
We are using this unit in Florida in a scantly insulated attached garage turned office. When constructed we did put in air conditioning drops from the house but they just were not sufficient to cool this room of approximately 500 sf. The AC is the perfect boost to keep the office cool and bearable - even in July!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Technology Problems

08/15/2007
By ,
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This products temperature control did not operate correctly. The speed settings also malfunctioned (high was low, low was the fastest fan speed, and medium was in between). The a/c does cool effectively, but it is not what I paid for. The technology malfunctions, but the system cools.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Great a/c for the money

04/24/2010
By ,
Hill Country of TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's start with the width of this, since I saw another reviewer saying 'you'll need at least 16.5" to mount this'. That's not true. Pulled it out of the box and slapped a tape measure on it. I got 14.5" Let's be safe and call it an even 15". That's good, 'cause my window was only 15.5" wide and this fit in there easily.
Instructions were good. Easy to follow. Got the unit mounted and running in less than 2 hrs. If I had to do another, I'd be able to get it in very quickly. Support for portion of unit outside the house is included in the box.
After researching 'slider/casement window airconditioners' this was the best product for the money spent and WalMart had the best price on it.
Only time will tell how it holds up, but it strikes me as being well built and finished.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Very Cooling!

08/18/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well, but some trouble with mounting in the window. Had to modify the bracket, and the instructions are not very clear. But, it works great and was very affordable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 13 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

disappointed

07/03/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was disappointed in this air conditioner because is so loud when the compressor is running that you can't hear the person next to you speaking unless they raise their voice.
It also vibrates pretty bad when the compressor is running. We would have returned it but had torn up and thrown the box away after we opened it, and had already used it a few days before realizing just how annoying the loudness and vibrating really was. It's such a hassle to return things back to the store. Especially when they weigh so much!
Too bad they wouldn't have someone come pick it up and bring a replacement at their expense. I guess you get what you pay for. $300 was all we could afford at the time.
Oh well. On the positive side, it does keep our house cool on hot days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Bad product/bad service from Haier

06/25/2009
By ,
Springfield, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Intalled the unit and ran the product for 30 minutes. It then started dripping water out the back lie it was supposed to but it also leaked a small but steady streanm of water out the front even though we installed it with a 6 degree tilt backwards. Called Haier and they said they had no one in my area that could service unit. The lady said she would forward my problem to the service Department and they would call me back when they found a reapair person. After 8 days and no call I called them back and their "System" was down so they couldn't help me but took my number and said they would call back when system was back up...Three days later NO call. Product is being returned to Wal-Mart and will never buy Haier again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Cheap, hard to install, average performance

08/12/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this unit for just under $300, well below the prices other stores were advertising for the same, or similar units.
Although I installed it in an aluminum casement window, the support bracket design was not compatible with the configuration of my window sill. I had to scrap it and design my own, picking up parts at the hardware store.
3 or 4 hours later, I finally got the unit installed, looking forward with much anticipation to a chilly, 234 sq ft. living room. What I got instead is a unit that only cools the air 17 ft directly in front of it. Because that night was unusually humid, I ended up opening up the windows anyway.
Don't expect a lot from this air conditioner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Very nice unit

09/01/2009
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to modify the opening in the window a bit, because the opening was larger than recommended for the unit, but otherwise, installation was a breeze. Picked up @ Wal-mart- they were very helpful in picking up and loading it into my car. Unit works very nicely. Quiet, efficient, in the energy saver mode it kept the room cool and was barely on. If we have a hot summer next year, I just may get another one for the rest of the house. Very happy with the item, and the price was the best I could find for this type of unit, even on sales from the "Big Box Stores" Just make sure you have a helper for the installation- the unit is a bit heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Great Buy!

07/07/2008
By ,
Cincinnati OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finding a new air conditioner to fit a casement window has been difficult. My husband and I thought we would have to resort to looking in the paper for a second-hand unit. When I found this air conditioner at an affordable price the only problem I had was that I had to wait for it to arrive. The unit arrived in good condition, exactly when it was estimated to arrive. It is easy to operate, and the energy saver mode is terrific. The unit turns itself off once the room has reached the desired temperature. It runs quietly and even when it comes on at night, it doesn't wake us up. I highly recommend this unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Very poor product

07/09/2008
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It does not work very well. The unit cannot cool the room below 78F and outside temperature is 85F. The vent is in closed position and ice is formed around a small cylinder shape unit next to the compressor, when the unit is running for about 1 hr. This is a brand new unit so dirt is ruled out as the cause but rather this unit is defective (leak, overcharged or undercharged refrigerant, defective compressor, defective sensor etc) or the whole line of this product has quality issue. Considered time, effort has been put in to install the unit, this is an horrible product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

Vertical Window AC

07/08/2008
By ,
Philly
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was impossible to find an AC that would fit my window. This just barely made it, but it works great! The thermostat function is a nice luxury, so I don't have to constantly turn it on and off, and the remote is wonderful! I didn't know when I bought it that it is also a dehumidifier, which is also a wonderful surprise! It is relatively quiet and doesn't freak out my cats like my last AC. I paid more than I would have liked, but it is impossible to find an AC for this window any less expensive. For the functions it has, and the BTU size, it is a great deal!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Review 20 for 8,000 BTU Haier Vertical Window Air Conditioner

If you're in a pinch...

06/23/2009
By ,
Wernersville, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this AC unit because I only have small windows in my living room beside the big picture window. This cools my 15'X23' room in a matter of about 10 mins. Be prepared for a big box if you do site-to-store and have some muscle to install. This is not a compact unit... don't let the narrow casement fool you. I am 26 and in good shape and this thing gave me quite the workout. More than I was expecting. Takes 10 mins to assemble, and the install... be prepared to support this monster! All in all, it's very cold, it's quiet, and I am happy I have it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next