Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Black & Decker Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

This rechargeable gardening cultivator provides a quick and effortless way to weed and aerate soil. Whether prepping for seeding or planting or cultivating landscape or garden beds, you'll get the torque, power and comfort to get the job done.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%23 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

black and decker cultivator

02/22/2008
By ,
diamond bar, california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great machine for people who like to garden. I have clay soil and it breaks up the soil in my planters very well. I put in 3 new planters during my vacation and it loosen the soil to make planting much easier. I used it to break up the soil to spread new grass seed for my yard. The battery holds it charge for a long period of time without loosing power. Not much to assemble. Battery charges overnight, first charge. Other charges don't take much time at all. Very surprised but delighted. Light in weight. Metal cultivators. Love this machine. Helps to get the weeds out of the planters. Worth the money I spent on it to lessen my work load. Makes the garden really look neat and well cared for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Fun and easy to use

07/25/2007
By ,
Mineola, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great on small gardens as well as larger areas, Easy to assemble and adjust for operators height. Battery pack easy to assemble and remove from product Does a great job on cultivating and weeding. Just wished I had it years ago. Makes cultivating and weeding much earier. As with any power tool, wear the proper shoes and clothling. Make sure battery is properly charged and what I do is remove the battery from the cultivator after each use. Keep the tills and equipment clean.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

I LOVE THIS GARDEN GADGET!

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cultivator works great for me!! If you keep in mind that this isn't a tiller, but a cultivator, you'll be satisfied with your results. It's blades move in clockwise and counter-clockwise motion and churn the soil deep enough to be able to remove the weeds it loosens and to plant things in the ground!
It gets a bit heavy, but all in all, it's a lot lighter than a real tiller!
Battery life works great. I also have extra batteries now because I loved this so much I also bought the 18 volt pole chain saw and weed eater!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

It works very well

01/24/2008
By ,
Henderson, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a longtime Black and Decker user. When I found out they had come up with a cultivator/ tiller I had to get one. I have not been disappointed. In my line of work I am always needing to till small areas to plant grass seed. It is perfectly suited for the task.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Surprising value!

06/25/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't handle the engine type rototiller, so looked for alternative. This answered my prayers. Light weight and does the tilling I can't. I am a73 widow with arthritis. So far, so good if it lasts, it is a miracle.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

disapointed

07/25/2008
By ,
Worcester , Ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this cultivator for my garden which is almost 100% screened loan. The unit runs in a back an forth motion not in full 360 rotations.
Unit is slow and is strained on weeds and crabgrass.
I was very disapointed with this unit. I will probably return it in the very near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

helpful product

07/25/2007
By ,
Montville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased it to cultivate small bare spots in the lawn and then put seed down. Performing well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Easy and Fun

05/18/2009
By ,
Waterloo, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this product. It is very lightweight and easy to put together and take the battery in and out. I think it is quite woman-friendly because I am quite intimidated by power tools-especially those that are gas powered. I bought it to till a small garden and it has done the job well. However... 2 drawbacks. 1- The battery has to be recharged quite often- it can only be used about 30 straight minutes. 2- Clots of dirt get caught quite often in the tills and you have to stop and remove them by hand. Other than that, very cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Buy. This.

05/30/2009
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely worth the money. Has a little trouble with hard packed, rocky soil - but so does a shovel or even a monster tiller... Just water the ground...
I have a small garden plot and am stunned at how quickly I was able to prep for planting! For a first time gardener, I am ALL about making things easy, so I don't lose interest. This gadget totally helped!
Good luck finding one of these at your local hardware stores. No idea why they don't have tons in stock, but it was worth the snail mail wait!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

A Great Machine to Have!!!

08/15/2009
By ,
Albany, Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love love love this cultivator! It does a great job loosening up the clay soil where I live. It makes it easy to get the weeds out by the roots. I cannot believe how easy it is to use. If I could rate it from 1-10, it would be a solid 10. It is a great tool and does a great job. And it's not too heavy to work with. And I really like the battery being interchangeable with other Black and Decker tools.The price is pretty good too. I would definetly recommend this to anyone thinking about buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

cultivator

03/07/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have raised garden beds and very good soil,so the dirt/soil is easy to work up. The electric cultivator worked really well. we spread on trhis years fertilizer and worked it in with this cultivator. It also performed well on some weeds that grew during the fall. The only thing I would like better would be to make the cultivator blades 6 inches long so it would go a little deeper. We already have our onion and garlic planted as well as our peas.Very pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Useful

05/24/2009
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchaed this to try and cultivate my yard. The soil is very hard and rocky and I wanted an easier tool than the manual cutivator to use. This worked perfect, it loosened the soil so I could pick up the larger rocks and throw down my grass seed right before it rained. This would also be good for people's flower beds, it really loosens the soil great and very quick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

A Really Handy Tool

03/07/2009
By ,
Karnes City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With economics in mind, this Black & Decker cultivator is a real bargain. Besides being lightweight and easy to use, it is a handy garden tool that works close up to existing plants and helps prepare the soil for new plants. I found it to be so much better than any gasoline or extension cord cultivator. I would buy it again and recommend it to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Moving the Earth

07/07/2007
By ,
Decatur, Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dear Shoppers,
I recommend this product for the gardeners, who have small jobs in small spaces. This is ideal, and I love the rechargeable power pack, you don't have cords getting in the way and you have the freedom to go around plants and shrubs. Also, the price is ideal. I give it a thumds up!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Don't bother

09/14/2009
By ,
Albany, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked it up on a Friday and took it back on a Monday. I used it for about 30 minutes. I think most people would do MUCH better with a four pronged hoe. There may be a place for this if you are doing a brand new bed and want to break up some clods ... but for weeding it was a bust.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Love this product!

06/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for something helpful for my flower gardens. This product is my answer. I no
longer have to get on my hands and knees, just pick up the weeds it extracts.
I love this product. Glad I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Works that dirt

09/09/2009
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's kinda heavy but if you aren't going to cultivate the whole garden it'll work. It does a good job. I don't know how long the battery holds it's charge. If I use it enough to find out I will let you know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Helpful in yard

08/18/2009
By ,
Ft Smith, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this to be a good product for small yard work. It cultivates the flowerbeds good. You can go down in the dirt and then go over a couple of more times and get deep. Pulls weeds well as it cultivates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Black & Decker 18 volt Cultivator

05/25/2009
By ,
Mexico Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cultivator is great for flower beds and around garden plants. Works good in previously tilled ground. Easy to handle and battery has long use life before recharging is needed. Product worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 18V Cordless Garden Cultivator, GC818

Excellent cultivator

10/12/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product. I used it to dig up some turf in the hard virginia clay soil. it took a little time but did it with no problem. saved my back.
would definitely recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next