Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

How you enjoy your Mr. Coffee moment is up to you! You can personalize your java experience in multiple ways with this programmable coffeemaker. The Brew Strength Selector lets you fine-tune the intensity to make your coffee stronger. Removable Grinding Chamber and Filter Basket also lift out and are dishwasher safe for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation78%117 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
29
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Bravo!!!

02/07/2008
By ,
Staten Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents used to own a much more expensive Coffee Maker that my mother had picked up in a little Italian store in the early 1980's that also ground the beans. I thought it was wonderful I won't mention the Brand but they had stopped making it. I am profoundly happy with this one by Mr. Coffee, and I strongly urging my parents to pick up one for themselves. The coffee tastes wonderful, stays pretty hot not just warm. The machine alerts you when it is ready and before it shuts off automatically and the taste of a truly fresh brewed cup of coffee is unbelievable. Even my Husband who is pretty much a strict tea drinker loves the coffee from my new machine. Bravo! Mr. Coffee! and Bravo Walmart for keeping the prices right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

APPROVED

01/25/2008
By ,
Gulfport, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was purchased to replace a Cuisinart Grind & Brew coffee maker that had stopped working. I tried a basic coffee pot but missed the difference that fresh ground coffee provided so I decided to try this one versus the Cuisinart for close to twice the price and I'm satisfied so far. It grinds quieter than the Cuisinart so it doesn't become your "alarm clock" as well as your coffee maker.
The only thing that would make it better would be a brew strength regulator. I've adjusted by watching exactly how many beans I load into the grinder and that seems to take care of the only problem I can see. Try it and see. Keep the box and you can just take it back since it's Walmart. ITEM APPROVED
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Fun but messy, till it broke

01/10/2009
By ,
Cincinnati
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This coffee maker is great, except the steam causes the coffee grinds to create a kind of "mud" in the grinder. It's after the coffee is ground, so that's fine, but be sure you rinse it out well the day before, because the grinds would stick and muddy up hte inside, potentially clogging the screen if it's not completely dry. If you are like most of us and usually clean out the coffee maker just before making coffee the next morning, this is something to keep in mind.
We loved ours until the blade piece broke off in within a few months. Still works like a regular cheap coffee maker, but lost the grinding. So store, don't toss, that coffee grinder you already have. Some of you may need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Great Coffee Maker

02/12/2008
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this coffee maker to replace my old Mr. Coffee that I've had for several years. The old one was leaking. I was happy to see they now come with a coffee grinder, which worked just as well as the coffee grinder I normally use. I selected strong coffee to ensure I got the most from my beans. It took A LOT longer to brew than my old coffee maker because it holds the water to give the coffee time to steep before releasing it. It took 20 minutes for the coffee to complete the brewing cycle. The coffee was much hotter than my old coffee maker made. The coffee was awesome and I found if I choose the "strong" setting I don't have to use as many beans.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Mr Coffee Grind & Brew GBX23

02/07/2008
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have always wanted a coffeemaker where I could grind my own beans and have fresh coffee in the morning. I am still learning the features yet its pretty easy to use. Lot easier than my friends brand which I think is a Cuisinart. It makes great tasting coffee.
As for price..I first saw this in the store at another competitor store at 59.95. I went online with Walmart and found it for 49.95. So I thought that was a good deal til I found out after I purchased it at walmart the competitor store price went down to $44.95 and still is at that price. So I was kind of bummed about that yet I am still happy with the coffeemaker. Its a nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 26 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Good Value, not perfect

07/06/2008
By ,
Alexandria, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This appears to be the least expensive coffee maker that does just-in-time grinding of beans to make a pot of coffee. The cleanup process is not as simple as I'd like, and coffee dust gets trapped in hard-to-reach places. It's also VERY NOISY when it grinds the beans, to the point of waking my wife up when it goes off from 30 feet away. Lastly, it beeps loudly when coffee is done AND when the burner shuts off two hours later; I know of no way to disable the loud beeps. Coffee tastes good especially when I invoke the 'strong' setting. Very good value for the price, but not perfect by any stretch of the imagination
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Awesome

12/11/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the most awesome coffee maker I have ever used let alone owned. I honestly thought that for the price it would probably work okay but not be anything really special, boy was I wrong. My husband likes his coffee stronger than I do and the strong button works perfectly for him. I am a total light weight when it comes to coffee so I figured that even the regular grind was going to be too strong for me however it is perfect. Everyone that has tried the coffee made in this machine has asked what kind of new coffee we are using and I tell them it is our same one just a new machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Big Disappointment

01/13/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is one Christmas gift that will go into the garbage as soon as I can find a replacement.We have had weak coffee (looks more like tea), grinds dispersed all over the inside, it is more difficult to clean than our last Melitta grind & brew model, the pot drips coffee all over when trying to pour into a cup, the pause feature doesn't kick in so coffee drips onto the heated plate, we can only make 10 cups instead of 12 cups because the beans won't grind completely--it's a surprise every morning. The coffee does taste great, but what you have to do to get to the final step isn't worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Great Cuisinart Alternative

10/21/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting a Cuisinart grind'n brew for years now, but have never been willing to part with $100 for a coffeemaker. I was so excited to hear Mr. Coffee made a grind'n brew and it was available for half that! Yeah! Now we have coffee every morning waking us up with it's lovely aroma! The grinder is a bit loud and our house is small, but it has never stirred my kids. I have only had the product for about a week, so couldn't rate durability. I'm sure I'll have something to say if the product breaks soon! :-) There's no warranty like with the Cuisinart, so we'll see.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 30 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Good Looks - Great Taste

06/10/2008
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old coffeemaker broke down and I was desperate. When I ordered this, and put a rush on it, I never expected that I was going to fall in love with a machine. The price was extremely inexpensive, and I really needed a quick replacement.
I really received the surprize of my life. It's a great looking coffee maker, extremely easy to clean, simple instructions, and makes a marvelous cup of coffee.
My son, who is also a coffee addict, was visiting and saw it. I'm sure you must have his order by now.
Thank you. Thank you.. On a scale of 1-5, I give it a 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Hard to maintain

02/06/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this after my Melitta Mill and Brew finally gave up the ghost. This coffeemaker is absolutely HORRIBLE to clean, all parts need to be dried or it junks up, Takes 20 + minutes everyday to set up due to cleaning and drying.
Only available strength settings are 'strong' or 'not selected'. Limited volume to bean canister.
Had it about 2 months and the water arm already cracked at screw.
Save yourself the 50-60 bucks, because although it's cheap for a mill/brew coffeemaker, it's extremely cheaply made and way beyond annoying.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Grind and brew convenience is great.

01/30/2008
By ,
Deltona, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace the Mr. Coffee I had that was six years old. I have always ground my own coffee beans and have gone through several grinders over the years, so decided to give this a try. It is loud when it grinds the beans but is comparable to my other grinders. You have to use more coffee then specified in the book to get strong coffee but that was also the case with the Mr. Coffee that I retired. It is very easy to clean and I have had no problem with the coffee pot dripping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Good Coffee

02/05/2009
By ,
plattekill,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Grind and Brew coffee maker makes some of the best coffee I've had in a long time. The built in coffee grinder is convient and easy to clean. It has a strong brew option which I find makes a better cup of coffee. It's sleek looking and easy to clean. The grinder and basket are both diswasher safe. The grinder is fast and easy to use, you can use ground coffee and get just as good a cup. I would recommend this product to anyone who enjoys a Good cup of coffee from the comfort of home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Dimensions given are wrong

10/11/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are the dimensions given for this product...
Product in Inches (L x W x H): 10.39 x 6.87 x 8.425
The actual dimensions are 10.39" L, 9" W and 14" H.
I mention this as it barely fits under our kitchen cabinets and has to be pulled out to operate. Anyone considering buying this machine may want to take note of the correct size.
We have not made any coffee yet, as I just bought it today, but I am sure the machine will be just fine according to the reviews it has received.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 35 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23
08/26/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makes GREAT coffee! BUT ... sounds like an airplane is taking off in your kitchen during grinding. If you usually wake up to an alarm, you won't need it if you're preset to grind 'n brew! It's that loud. Also, the inside grinding chamber must be cleaned and thoroughly dried or the beans get stuck and don't make it to the filter. When you need to make 2 pots of coffee for company, this can be a problem because it's LOUD!!! and a pain to empty, wash, and dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 36 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

All-in-one coffee grinder/brewer

04/19/2009
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saw this product recommended in Consumer Reports and, while just slightly more expensive than the price listed in CR ($55 vs. $50), this grinder/brewer does an excellent job at about half the price of other brands. The only downside, which may be the case with all of the other brands as well, is that the 45-second grinding cycle sounds like an air raid siren. So, if you use delay brew, the Mr. Coffee grind and brew doubles as an alarm clock, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 37 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Great value for the $$$$

01/04/2008
By ,
Northfield, VT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The product performs as advertised - brews great coffee - but is a bit of a pain to clean as the brewing and grinding take place in the same area of the machine. It has to be cleaned AND dried before each use of things tend to get clogged up.. but it's NOT a huge chore and only takes a minute or less. Coffee makers that have separate grinding & brewing operations (Capresso for example) cost a LOT more so this is an excellent value for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Freshest Coffee

02/17/2012
By ,
Western PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grinding the coffee beans makes great, fresh coffee. You can really tell the difference between fresh ground and pre-ground coffee. The flavor is amazing. The Mr. Coffee Grind and Brew more than meets expections, looks good on the counter top, lasted longer than I ever expected, has all the features, and at less than $80 is a great value.
I only wish I could find another one. They are out of stock at Walmart and at Walmart on line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

I LOVE This Grinder/Coffeemaker!!

01/28/2008
By ,
Chesterfield, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a unique shape which makes it an attractive addition to my kitchen appliances and it is extremely easy to clean and operate. Even the carafe is a dream; with previous carafes I was always spilling/dribbling coffee while trying to pour a cup. I have made almost a dozen pots of coffee with my new GE coffee grinder/maker in the week or so that I've had it and haven't spilled one single drop yet! I tell you, I LOVE this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Grind 'n Brew Coffeemaker, GBX23, GBX23

Great addition to my kitchen

08/26/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have only had this product for a short time, but it has lived up to our expectations thus far. I really like being able to add beans and water and getting fresh-ground, fresh-brewed coffee at whatever time I choose. It's a great Mr. Coffee product. The only "downside" I find is that if you are using an 'oilier' coffee bean, cleaning out the grinder apparatus is a bit tedious in comparison to when you are using a 'drier' bean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 138 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next