Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kidkusion KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Kidkusion KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

The KidSafe Banister Guard provides a strong, sturdy, barrier between toddlers and overhead railings. For indoor use only, this clear plastic kid guard easily attaches to staircases and balcony railings. Best of all, the child banister guard includes tie straps, wall anchors, and screws for easy, hassle-free installation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.194 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%32 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Buy for utility, not beauty

07/24/2012
By ,
Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading reviews I anticipated that this product would be unprofessional looking, and that is accurate. However, it does get the job done, and our railings are large enough for a child to fit through, so it was a safety hazard. It's not very hard to put up, but will likely require a drill as the hold punch can only go an inch into the plastic. It does create rough edges, but we smoothed them as best we could and so far the kids haven't gotten cut on it. If your railing is a potential hazard, then I recommend, but if you just want to stop kids from throwing toys, I would work on changing their behavior rather than put this stuff up... it's not very attractive.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

A Must Have :)

04/06/2010
By ,
La Junta, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have an older built home (1979) and the banister upstars has very wide gaps so When moving in with my daughter who at the time was learning to walk, I was very concerned about her safety.
I searched several websites for some type of gaurd, and found the best price and reviews for it here.
I will say that installing was tedieous, and yes there is absolutly no way of doing it solo...def at least a 2 person task. I recomend measuring it out against banster and marking placement of holes ahead of time with a perment marker, then punching them out. It is difficult as the plastic is pretty thick, and the hole puncher included is hard to use, but any hole puncher on this material is ( we tried several thinking it was just the puncher included ). Try not to get frustrated and plan to take several breaks while installing :) Its so worth it in the end. I have had mine up now for about 6 mnths and it has held up great even with kids pushing against it. I am very happy with it and would def reccomend this product to all with small kids in the home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Works Great For What We Needed

02/13/2009
By ,
Temecula, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read a few reviews saying the guard was flimsy and looked bad, but we just installed it on our new home's banister and it works perfect for exactly what we needed. Slightly difficult to install, depending on your banister, but we haven't had any tearing (as long as you follow the instructions and place the holes in the proper places), and unless the light hits it just right in the evening time, we can't see the guard at all. Sure, finger prints show up, but it's just like glass, of course they'll show - just clean with some window cleaner. It was thinner than I would have originally guessed, but I guess any thicker and you wouldn't be able to install it yourself. Plus it works just fine unless your kids are going to be ramming straight into the guard at full force.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Works as expected

02/01/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product worked as expected. Probably not the best product in the world but for ease of use and price, it works. My 14 month old stands against it and it holds up. If I could find out what the roll actually is I would think it would be a lot cheaper to buy. I would recommend this to anyone who has wide banisters as we do. We did zip tie every banister instead of every other as recommended so we had to buy more zip ties. I didn't think it was incredibly hard to put up as others did, it probably took about 45 minutes total.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

So far, so good

04/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only had the banister guard installed for about a week but it's doing what I expected. The 15' roll was actually more than I needed so we wrapped it around the banisters (inside & out). My 11 month old cannot throw toys through now or attempt to get her head stuck so I'm happy with this purchase. :-) It was easy to install, took maybe 15-20 mins.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Keeps them safe

03/15/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 19 month old son and he is ALL boy. That means he is into everything and always figuring out how to beat the child safety stuff. We live in a split level and have a banister. He was excited one evening when my hubby came home and slipped right through the banister, where there is a 4 foot drop. Thank Goodness my hubby caught him. So I searched the web that night and walmart had this and could ship next day for a very fair price!! It was an easy put up and has lasted US for 3 weeks so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

A little pricey, but gets the job done

07/13/2009
By ,
San Diego, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This banister guard gets the job done, but I was a little disappointed in quality. It is essentially a long roll of thick plastic that you try to tailor to your bainster by cutting it to size and hole punching holes to insert zip ties to wrap around your banister poles (hole puncher & zip ties were included). It was hard to measure it up to the banister to see where to punch the holes (hard to punch when it is up against the banister), so it did not install completely flat against banister like product shown in picture, so it doesn't look as pretty as the picture. Also, the baby's handprints show up all over it (but can be cleaned).
It was a little pricey for what you get, but it does prevent the baby from putting body parts and/or toys through the banister rails.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

A good idea, but not practical

12/29/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Had looked all over for this product and found the best value at Walmart...ordered with trepidation because I had read many reviews that spoke to the fraility of it. Decided to order anyway and it arrived already cracked to pieces. Took it back the next day and returned with no problem.
Going to try to get the same effect with clear shower liners and grommets.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

A very safe product

01/01/2011
By ,
Blaine, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband didn't have any issues installing the banister guard and now our 16 month old is safe! We just moved into our house in early September 2010 and until recently we have had painters plastic on the banister because we were doing work in the basement and didn't have to worry about our son getting into trouble but since he started walking on Halloween we rediscovered we were in trouble and knew the painter's plastic wouldn't work! Since we each have adult children from previous marriages I knew we needed something stronger to protect our 16 month old. I ordered this product around the 13th of December 2010 and was told that it would be at my store between the 17th and 23rd, it was there ON the 17th. To me that is awesome. Now if our son will just leave the dog food alone everything will be peachy! Yeah right, I know better!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

piece of thick plastic

04/07/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All this is is a thicker piece of plastic that you connect with zip ties. I can purchase something a lot less expensive and nicer looking.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Was not 3ft., or 36 inches in height

10/25/2013
By ,
Bossier city, la
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Material was hard to work with and arrived about 4 inches shorter than described. So, I basically spent $30 on a piece of plastic that did not prevent my toddler from throwing things over the banister, she just has to put her hand in the 4 inch gap the material was supposed to cover but didn't. Absolute junk that is 32 inches tall, not 36! Worthless!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Gets the job done

03/04/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a metal banister and an open backed bookcase that we needed to cover, and this was perfect. We used screws through the plastic into the bookcase. It's totally clear, not too thick, not too thin, works great and easy to install. Comes with cloudy/clear zip ties and a hole punch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard
05/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you want a non-noticeable protection for your banisters.....look no further
its great!
2 man job installation
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Great product!

06/03/2008
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a raised-ranch style home and have a banister that would be of concern for any young family. I first purchased the "rail net" and was very disappointed. The KidSafe Banister Guard was almost 2x the cost of the rail net but was 100x the product. It was easy to install (with an extra set of hands) and is barely noticeable. However, it is made of a very thin plastic and I question the long term durability. After a great deal of research, this is the best product available to address the safety issue of a banister.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Good product

11/03/2013
By ,
95320
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and priced well. Yeah wal mart
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Keeps me from fearing the worst

07/20/2010
By ,
Hershey, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall, I'm happy with the product because it does what it's suppose to do. It keeps my toddler from going through the wide spaces in the banister. Sure, it's plastic-y looking and it was a bit difficult to put up, but that was to be expected. We definitely needed two of us. I'm just happy that it's clear and does the job. Only time will tell how long it will last, but it should be a good deterent for the kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard

Works for me

10/03/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just purchased and installed this product, but so far has worked for me! My 10 month old even stands by it and bangs against it with her hands (it makes noise!) and it hasn't affected it at all. Overall, I am happy with this product. Instead of using the zip ties that come with the product, my husband used screws, I think they won't rip out as easily, if you don't mind screwing into your banister.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard
12/18/2012
By ,
Houston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do think that this product is overpriced, however due to there being a lack of anything else out there, this is a product that can give you peace of mind and I guess that is priceless. I would have liked it to be taller as to keep small toys from flying from the second story. There is not much of it so be aware you may have to order two.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard
01/17/2013
By ,
San Jose, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical, but once I installed the safety guard I was very please! It seems to be very secure, and the look is not bad at all. *Make sure you give it the extra two inches of material on both sides that they recommend!
*** This "does not" mean you can leave your child unattended around the banister guard!!!***
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for KidKusion - KidSafe Banister Guard
07/09/2013
By ,
Omaha, Ne
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The hole punch should be larger. Product does not attach to my bannister.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next