Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for South Shore South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

South Shore South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

This South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, in a classic cherry finish, will add a minimalistic accent to any bedroom. With a low-profile design, this South Shore queen bed stands at a convenient height of just 14 inches. The mattress is sold separately. For ease of care, simply wipe your South Shore queen bed clean with a dry cloth. This South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed ships in South Shore's protective packaging, which features hard cardboard edging and shrink-wrap film on the carton to ensure that your delivery arrives damage free. Some user assembly is required.
Average Customer Rating:
3.559 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(84 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation70%57 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Good looking product

03/07/2009
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bed was easy to put together, in approximately 45 minutes. Boards are surprisingly sturdy. Frame is slightly too large for mattress. When assembled it looks very nice, better than expected. My only complaint is that the corners at the foot of the bed are very sharp and hurt when brushed up against, both my girlfriend and I have already gotten cuts on our legs from brushing up against the corners.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Less than expected

09/01/2007
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I may be naive, because I actually hoped that this bed would look alright even though it was such a steal. I knew it'd be veneered plywood, but didn't guess that it'd be poorly wrapped in woodgrain-look plastic that was peeling.
And it says low profile, which I'm assuming now means the edging around it, because my mattress sits higher than in my old bed. It's so high because the platform part of the bed is even with the top of the wooden edges. I assumed (because that's how most beds are constructed) that the mattress would sit within the side rails, on a platform that's midway down. No. So instead, now you can see a large gap between the mattress and the edge [yes, I'm using the right size mattress] where light colored plywood is highly visible. It looks ugly and contrasts highly with the dark woodtone edging.
Also, in putting it together there were a number of holes missing that we needed to drill ourselves [yes, I read the directions correctly], and two screws missing. Needless to say the construction process was a bit frustrating.
I'm not mad at the bed. It is what it is. I'm mad at myself for hoping that it might be something else.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Good for the money

07/12/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product for the money. It is very easy to put together. Took me about 30 minutes to assemble. The floor of the platform is solid, unlike some beds that have only slats supporting; this bed uses planks that completely cover the bottom. Would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Just the design I wanted!

07/10/2007
By ,
Garden Grove, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the platform bed that I wanted!. It assembled easily and looks great.
It was a great price at WalMart and I LOVE the Ship to Store feature. This saved me about $100. in shipping. The people at WalMart were so kind in helping me load the bed into my PT Crusier to take home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

average

09/08/2008
By ,
Chicago,IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The bed was inexpensive compared to other queen sized beds. It's what I paid for. There is nothing special about it. The queen size mattress is not big enough for the queen size frame so the unfinished wood shows thru. It took 1 experienced builder and myself about 20 minutes to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

honest

09/11/2007
By ,
Pax River, MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bed for its functionality. I was alittle disappointed when there was no way to attach the headboard I bought with the bed. And I got greatly disturbed by the fact that no hard way came with the head board to even attach it to the bed. But, it functions well enough for a three star rating overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Its Perfect for the Price

04/07/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a nice looking bed and came with no damages. The gap next to the matress is quite irritating but I ended up covering it with a skirt, you can only see the legs on mine and it looks just fine. Just find a way to cover that gap and its a wonderful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

an excellent value

04/01/2008
By ,
Hot Springs, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The platform bed was an excellent choice for our guest room. It was easy to put together, although it did take two people to do it. We found no parts missing and the instructions to put it together were clear and easy to follow. An excellent value!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Great bed - highly recommend site to store

06/26/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed is nicer quality than described. There is a gap between the mattress and the bed rails, but if you plan to use a skirt/dust ruffle it doesn't matter. The cherry looks very nice and you have lots of room to add any headboard you would like.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Simple

08/24/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a bed that was simple, and this is exactly what I got. It took less than an hour to put together and its been pretty solid. It doesnt squeek or rock if I leap into bed or tossing at night. It seems very sturdy, but I do not think it will hold up through a move. I dont see it being disassembled and reassembled with ease. Many people that review this product complain about a gap between the bed the the wooden rail, as if your queen bed is too small. I say that this gap can easily be hidden with a bedskirt. I have it on mine and it hides it very nicely. It can be used without a box spring, but I have both the boxspring and a mattress on the bed and it looks very tall and grand. It keeps the unwanted puppy from jumping up on the bed and a safe place for the kitty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Amazing Dark Cherry Wood Bed!

02/06/2011
By ,
Maple Grove
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an Amazing bed except for some minor flaws. This bed comes in a set with the dresser, headboard, and night stand sold separetely. I bought the dresser last year, which I absolutley love and this year I just bought and put up last night that I really love. There were some things that you need to know. One is that one of the legs of the bed was missing 4 holes that I had to drill for the screws to go in. Reading another person's review shared the same thing that they had to drill four holes, which was time consuming and hard to do. Also as other reviews the bed is about 4 inches too long, but if you put a bed skirt over it, and then the comforter on the bed you won't see the wood underneath or see that the bed is too long for the mattress. Besides those two things I absolutely LOVE the bed. It is a dark cherry wood which I LOVE and it is very sturdy and absoutely right for the price. Also the height is very nice, not low in height as the bed says. If you have a pillow top mattress like I do or even a high mattress as they come these days it will be a great height, high enough to not feel that you don't feel you are low on the floor. I would recommend this bed to anyone and for any room. It is worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Just Okay

09/29/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The frame is larger than an average queen mattress. So there is about 3 or 4 inches of bed frame poking out from under the mattress. The frame itself is pretty and worth the money. Also we bought this for my grandmother because of it being low profile. We figured she'd have an easier time getting in and out of it. However once you put a mattress and box spring on it, its just as tall as any other bed. We ended up cutting the legs off just so she could climb in and out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Okay bed...better for guest room

07/08/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This bed looks nice...however it did not hold up for 6th months. When purchasing please make note that the head board is NOT needed....also when assembling make sure to bolt down all wood slabs...b/c if not the slab will fall through and break the under railing.
This bed would be best for a guest room. Not for everyday use. The side paneling and headboard have come apart several times.
I got this bed when it was on sale...and you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Good for Price

06/12/2012
By ,
Wausau, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good product for the price. I have a pillow top mattress and this is still a bit too big for it, so if you don't mind a lil extra room on the frame it's ok.
Assembly was fairly easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry

Awesome product for the price.

08/23/2007
By ,
Garland, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bed, it looks good and fits well with most any decor. It is not hard to assemble, did it in less than an hour.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry
04/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy. Looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Chocolate.

Do not purchase!!

12/27/2013
By ,
Midwest
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this bed for less than 1 year and it has completely fallen apart. The support beams in the middle as well as the connecting parts have broken. My husband and I do not weigh more than a combined 300 lbs so it is not from overweighting the bed!!! It looks nice and we liked it when we first got it, but it has not held steady for more than 10 months!!!! Spend a little more and get a better bed!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 18 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

Love it!

07/11/2013
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had the bed for about 30 days, I think it looks awesome.. At first it was very stable but in the last few days it started bowing the top where the headboard goes and the foot of the bed. So I added a leg to one of slats and then screwed all the slats into the heaboard and footboard as well as screw into the slats that go opposite of the others.. It is totally awesome now, quiet and durable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

A Total Waste of Time, Energy and Money

01/13/2014
By ,
BOSTON, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bed with the matching headboard. At delivery one side rail of the bed was cracked, even though it had been in the middle of the box, and the outside of the box was not damaged. This suggests that it left the factory cracked. A replacement was sent, but they sent the wrong piece, so then I had to call back for a third piece. The holes for the top rail of the headboard did not line up, so I had to request a replacement piece. The holes in the second piece they sent also did not line up. Then they made me take pictures to send them, plus a copy of the original order, since they could find no record of it. The holes in the third top rail they sent also did not line up, so I finally gave up and figured I would try to fix it myself. The bed frame lasted 2 months before it snapped off from the headboard. The screws actually snapped in half. In my opinion, this was a really shoddy product. It's made of very weak pressed wood, and the hardware is didn't hold up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for South Shore Vintage Low Profile Queen Bed, Classic Cherry
This review is fromSouth Shore SoHo Queen Platform Bed, Pure White.

Waste of money.

08/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fully aware that it did not come with a headboard. I was fine with this as I had already purchased a headboard and needed a white platform bed to go with it. It was very heavy and I had to have a friend put it together.
The bed is not sturdy at all. It makes creaking noises constantly anytime I turn or adjust or even move my leg. It makes me afraid to even move around in it. I plan on getting a new platform bed at some point, as I doubt that this is going to last very long. It is not worth $150.00. I am just starting out on my own, and I thought buying something basic and "cheap" would be okay to help me get a head start... However it is just creating a bigger headache. My apartment is on the third floor and this is very heavy. And to purchase a different bed and move this out of the apartment to bring the new one in is going to be a headache.
Please do not waste your money. I recommend saving up for something efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next