Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Durabrand Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Durabrand Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Perfect for air travel or long trips on the road, Durabrand's 9" portable DVD player provides a versatile solution to viewing your media. It plays DVDs, audio CDs, CD-R/RW, MP3 CDs and picture CDs, and even includes a car adapter for traveling.
Average Customer Rating:
3.792 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation79%19 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Really surprised!!

07/15/2007
By ,
Orange County, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this portable dvd player now for 3 months,and it keeps getting better and better every time I use it. I am a sercurity officer and I have the night shift. I play this thing for 3 to 4 hours a night and it doesn't even flinch. I was really amazed at the picture qaulity right out of the box. I did have to tweak it a little. I did compare this with the sony and phillips and the maganavox, but for the money and the good picture this Durabrand knocks it out the box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 2 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Better than expected

09/03/2007
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We were looking for price when we bought this and hoped to get something adequate for the back seat of the car. This unit has worked perfectly. Seems well made and had all the accessories we needed to recharge it at home, in the car, play in the car, etc. There are better units out there, but nowhere near this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 3 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

1st one I purchased was much better

07/06/2007
By ,
Whiting, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased 1 over a year ago. It worked great, then after 1 year the speakers went. I purchased a 2nd and it was very noisy, you could hear the dvd spinning over the movie. I was not happy with this 2nd time and am returning this product. I wouold not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 4 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Good Choice

08/30/2007
By ,
Marshalltown, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very please with the selection I made. I have used my portable DVD player many times so far and have not had any problems. I originally purchased it for my grandchildren to use but find myself using it even more.
The picture and sound quality are super. I have yet to use it in my vehicle so I'll try to give a review on that later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 5 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

wast of money

08/09/2007
By ,
Jackson, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recievied this dvd player as a gift I used it no more than five times. I started getting a no disk error message. I tried several different dvd's and kept getting the same message. I could not return or exchange the player because it was beyond the 15 day policy ( I even had the recipt). So I called the manufacture they advised me to send the product back to them (at my cost) and it would be about 4 weeks. That was back in June it is now August I still have not recieved the player back. I have called repeatedly and all they can give me is excusses. They will not even send a replacement unit out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+1point
Review 6 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

great for the price

08/18/2007
By ,
GRAND RAPIDS,MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have owned my unit since christmas and it works great.plays dvds,cds,and cdrs.picture is great also.sound is good.very well constructed overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709
09/17/2007
By ,
Lebanon,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product in a Walmart store and have used it many times since. It serves its purpose perfectly!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

good if not better then the high dollar ones

11/12/2007
By ,
memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it doesnt get better then this dvd player for the price and the dvd player it self a9inch screen.all i can say is get you one of these befor the price goes up because you cannt beat the price or the quality of this player i wanted to buy another one but i already have this one n one in my home .the first one i bought kept skipping so i took it back the second one is good and havent had problem yet its all good .like i said you better get u one befor the price goes up or they all sell out and i am going to leave that with u and thats all i have to say take my word .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Great Product/Great Value

11/15/2007
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went to my local wal-mart last night after doing what seemed like a marathon of research for a portable dvd player. Both of my children want one for christmas. Choose this one because of the price and value (along with other read reviews). When I got there they not only had it in stock, but it was on sale for $89.97. Couldn't believe it. Bought two and they are great. Checked both of them out when I got home and I know that there will be two very happy kids on christmas morning. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Disappointed!

07/30/2007
By ,
Layton, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product a month and a half ago. At first we loved the thing. It worked great and the image was so neat but now... it just started sending the message: ERROR, NO DISC. At first we thought it was some scratches on the DVD but then it would send the same message with brand new DVDs!!! We tried the DVDs on our regular DVD/VCR player and they worked great! What's going on?
We are returning the product today! We are so disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Cheap DVD player

08/08/2007
By ,
Norwalk, CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product stinks! I purchased one for my son and within 2 hours of using it, it started displaying "No Disc" when it had a disc. Frustrated, I returned it to the store, and purchased another one, thinking I had just received a lemon the first time. Within 2 hours of using the second one, it refused to load DVDs, spinning loudly and then displaying "stop" before it stopped. Bottom line, this product is defective. DON"T BUY IT...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

great for what you pay for

08/22/2007
By ,
PARKLAND,WA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had our unit since x-mas 2006. since then the only problem we have had was a no disc error,but it was because of acourse a scratch on the disc. The same disc play's in our home dvd player. It was only one disc that is about 1 year old.other than that one issue we have not had any other problems. our kids love it and watch it all the time while traveling........ GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE $$$$$$$.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Use this every weekend, perfect!

11/16/2007
By ,
Dandridge, Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was bought for my five year old grandson. We travel every weekend and this keeps him occupied! It's a 2 1/2 hour trip each way. Battery lasts closer to three hours. Large screen, simple to operate, he's happy, makes for pleasant trip. Once we get to the house, we use the cables to hook it to the big TV for the weekend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Walmart shouldn't sell this lemon

08/21/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had back to back lemons (from different stores) so the poor quality, in my opinion, is no fluke.
Both of my units worked for a short while and then the infamous "No Valid Disk" error. Tried everything. Manufacturer support is horrible. Two dead units in a row is no fluke.
Don't waste your money. Total garbage!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

A very durable product

09/11/2007
By ,
Houston,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this portable dvd player in Houston,Texas Walmart store.I viewed 5 movies in 2 days.I traveled by plane 2 days after,and packed it in my luggage, and Lo and Behold ,that night I viewed movies with absoloutely no problems.Great durabiity for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Excellent DVD player

11/16/2007
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this portable dvd player while it was one sale for $89, but even for the full price it would have been worht it. My husband is a truck driver and he has it with him all the time and plays it whenever he is still. Have NO complaints at all! Worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

10/29/2007
By ,
New Orleans, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use, carry around, superbe picture, only 3 LBS and can be used for DVD, MP3, audio ; remote control and many cords for other connections: can be hooked in car, used on plane, gym, work!!!! etc.....great player. I LOVE IT!!!!!
WOW! What a great tool!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Great Value

08/03/2007
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes, the disc spinning can be loud at times, but you're going to use headphones with all portables. I've had mine for 6 months, and it's working great. You're not going to get a better deal on this size player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

Good product

08/08/2007
By ,
Kaufman, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, this is a very good DVD player. I love the 9 inch screen, good sharp picture. Speakers sound a little cheesy, but I like it anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Durabrand 9" Portable DVD Player, PDV-709

great dvd

10/18/2007
By ,
Garland, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This portable DVD has a large 9" screen, good sound, sharp picture and is a great value for the money. I couldn't be more pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next