Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Equip your home theater with the potential for 5.1 surround sound with this key element: the receiver. Powerful 500-watt capability for a cinema-like experience. Add five speakers and the subwoofer of your choice. Includes wireless remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
4.314 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
63
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%179 out of 194reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
63
3 stars
16
2 stars
2
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Excellent Dolby Digital Receiver with DSP's

12/09/2008
By ,
Bozeman, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1) This is an excellent Dolby Digital, DTS, and Dolby Pro-logic Receiver!
2) Moreover, it has DSP (Digital Sound Field Processing).Thus, you can add venue sound effects such as: Theater 1, Theater 2, Pavillion, Hall 1, Hall 2, and Dance Club- These digitally adjust the sound to make it feel as if you were actually in one of these venues!
3) On top of that, you can adjust the level/amount of DSP effect that is applied.
4) It has adjustments for individual speaker size and adjustments for the distance of each speaker from the listener so that the Receiver automatically applies the correct amount of Delay Time.
5) There are EQ, Crossover, Subwoofer, and LFE adjustments.
6) Midnight Modes 1 & 2 increasingly compress the Dynamic Range of the source (the difference between the softest & loudest sounds in a movie- eg. a whisper vs. an explosion in an action flick). This feature is great if you live in an apartment or condo- you can hear the dialogue yet you won't blast your neighbors out of their beds!
7) It has a Digital Coaxial Audio Input for true Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround and DTS. It has Dolby Pro-logic too.
8) I have this RX-5060B and also the nearly identical RX-5040B (2 years old). Also, I have a Dolby Digital 1080p "Home Theater in a Box", so I have a 12 speaker and subwoofer surround setup hooked up to a 47" LCD 1080p HDTV & Blu-ray Player. This setup including the excellent JVC Receivers rivals any Movie Theater.
9) This JVC Receiver is a STEAL at $128 at Walmart Online!
10) Only possible con for some might be that there is no Digital Optical SPDIF Input, only has the Digital Coaxial SPDIF Input
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Got the receiver from Santa Claus!

01/11/2009
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Receiver was one I chose for for Christmas gift from my wife. Did a serious amount of shopping and reviewing online and found this to be about exactly what my needs needed.
Hooked stereo up to older set of American Acoustic main speakers and a set of Fisher surround speakers. Stero sounded pretty good, but needed a little extra "oomph," so bought a Sony 100 watt subwoofer, which this receiver has 2 different ways to connect it. Got a chance to REALLY test it a couple days ago when wife and son left for the day. Was EASILY able to disturb pictures on walll upstairs. Had several that needed straightening when they returned home.
Stilll trying to figure out the best settings with the crossover and accentuate and such, but overall this is a very decent unit.
Don't let the overall rating of 4 fool you. Just being hard to please on that one.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Best BANG for your BUCK!

05/17/2008
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The JVC 5.1 Surround Sound Receiver is one of the Best Receivers I have seen in a long time for the price! I shopped around different Stereo Outlet Stores who had this very same Product, but not the same Price. I've been using it now for about 3 weeks and it is a very good sounding Receiver with all the Power you would want! I have 2-150watt P.A. Speakers(with 15inch Woofers),2-120watt Pioneer Shelf Speakers and a Bose 120watt Powered Sub-Woofer and if you turn it up you can feel the Bass through your Bones and Rattle your Teeth with it(not that you would want to do that,but could).
The sound is AMAZING! Listening to Music or watching a Movie, It has all the Features to bring the Sound "YOU WANT" out of it, and it looks Great too, do not let the Price fool you, this is a High End Receiver without the High End Price that you would pay if it was another Store! Another reason to Shop at WalMart for Great Deals on Quality Products!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 4 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Nice receiver

07/22/2008
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great receiver that has features you'd expect to find on receivers costing $500+. I bought it to use with a new HD TV receiver. The TV that it replaced had surround sound capability, but the new one did not.
The main requirement was that the receiver had digital inputs and this one was perfect in that it had two; the optical one for the satellite receiver and the coaxial one for the TV. It took a couple of hours to get it set up, but it does everything I want now.
Minor annoyances:
1. The remote is very limited both in the manufacturers it supports as well as the functions it controls. Not a problem for me because I am not using it. I have a Logitech Harmony remote, which by the way has functions for the RX-5060 that aren't even on the remote that JVC supplies.
2. No "SAT" input. Again, not a problem, just a design oversight.
3. No HDMI inputs or outputs. The two digital inputs suffice, but if it had HDMI input, the hookup would be easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Nice...but not for me.

02/15/2009
By ,
Oregon
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is a nice receiver, strictly for 5.1 and not too great for 2 channel only. I had purchased this unit to power my Fisher tower speakers, the highs and mids were awesome (nice & crisp) though the lows kind of lacked the low frequency range to deliver a smooth bass response to my 12" subs. Didn't work out for me in that sense so I hooked up my surround to see what it sounded like (to try not to return it) and to my dismay, my older Sony sub would not work due to the fact that it was not powered. Bummer! As for the other five speakers, it sounded really good. End result, I returned the product.
I would defenitely recommend this product, for it is a decent unit for the price. It has a pretty good assortment of customization's for one's sound. One bad thing though, is that there is no A/B option for speakers. The receiver looks better in the picture, when you have it in your hands it does appear a bit cheap, but you get what you pay for right. Another thing that's irritating is the placement of the volume buttons on the remote.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Review 6 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Beautiful Sound/ Good value

11/28/2007
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been two weeks now since I purchased this product and I could not be happier. I bought this unit because of the optical input. I hooked up my PS3 sound to it and it captures the different sound formats beautifully.
Some things that took me awhile to figure out is that this unit requires a self-powered subwoofer. Which means you have to buy or own a subwoofer that has a built in amp. Since I already had one I was all set but keep in mind you will need to buy one if you don't have one and they cost upwards of $100 dollars. Also if you are planning to use the digital input you will have to choose the CD source on the unit since this is the pre-configured Digital input source set from the Factory.
Another thing I liked about this unit is that it does not look cheap or feel cheap. It looks and functions like a highend receiver and it gives you the full theatre feeling.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 7 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Good value

05/03/2009
By ,
Temecula
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced an 8 year old RCA tuner with this JVCRX-5060B. I shopped primarily for price and user friendly set up. Since I admit no expertise..I did have the tuner up and connected to all components (5) within 3 hours. To date (two weeks later) I continue to be pleased with the sound output and the clarity...no noise or hiss at all, even with the volume at 100%. The subwoofer output is very good....it will vibrate the diaphrame. Pro-logic and virtual surround sound is much better than average...close to 90%....even when the DVD is not in surround sound.
Response to controlling the other components in my home theater is very good. And it works well with my Harmony remote, although some programming is necessary.
So far I have not been disappointed and would recommend this tuner to any one that does not require the absolute final sound in a home theater.
If price it your motivator, this is the best I found on the WEB.
WRKTEM
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

JVC value surround sound

07/07/2008
By ,
Williamston, S.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this JVC receiver & speaker set to replace my last JVC of 17 years. Since I bought one in the 1980's too this is my 3rd JVC receiver, however it's my first true surround sound system (with a center & sub). I have never owned JVC speakers before.
I have had this system hooked up for about 3 weeks now & my only complaint is getting the sub set up right. If you levels aren't exactly right it sounds like the subwoofer is cutting on & off. Adjusting the sub output level and the crossover frequency WILL take care of this but, WHAT A PAIN! I did also have problems getting the remote programmed to control my NON-JVC equipment. This would have been a problem but, my cable remote seems to control it nicely. I use this for TV audio daily.
Overall the sound quality is wonderful no matter what your source....remember to use the digital connections to get the most of your system. The sub is small but, packs a punch...it will rattle every window in the house! I would recommend this combo pack to anyone looking to upgrade their old systems or anyone looking for good sound quality on a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

JVC 5.1 Channel Receiver

12/17/2008
By ,
Hot Springs Village, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We did not want to buy a total sorround sound package as we already had newer speakers. By ordering our JVC receiver on-line we were able to purchase exactly what we wanted. We did some research in Consumer Reports first to ensure that the receiver had high ratings. We are pleased with the price and product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

You get what you pay for...

09/27/2007
By ,
Melbourne, Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The JVC surround sound isn't what I expected but having never had one this was a good learning experience for the price. The subwoofer output is for a self powered speaker and not driven by the inboard amp. Also, the instructions are very confusing as are the adjustments for the system. They need more dials or buttons...and the display for different sound effects is only temporary and when you want to see what the setting is you have to push the button, which changes the setting before you see where you were! I still have time to take it back and I just might do that. I have better sound on my old stereo and that deliver's 35 watts per channel as opposed to the JVC's 100 watts per channel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Very Good Product

12/28/2007
By ,
Albany, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product and excellent price!
I am very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

A nice receiver for the price

01/25/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive receiver as a gift for my 71 year old mother to replace an all-in-one stereo. As such, it didn't need to be super powerful or able to launch satellites. This is a pretty nice unit for the money. It's simple and straightforward to set up. I had swapped over mom's old surround sound speakers and had it up and running in about 10 minutes out of the box using the "Auto Speaker Setup" feature. I'll wait and see how she likes it before messing with the specific speaker volumes and the like.
A couple things that I didn't see in the product overview:
Speakers to be attached to this unit have to be 8 ohms
If you're attaching a subwoofer, it needs to be a powered sub
There is an auto speaker setup feature to make it easy to use out of the box, so you don't have to program each speaker individually
As an aside, if you're ordering this as a gift or planning to have the delivery service leave it on your doorstep, keep in mind that it ships in it's original packaging without an overpack. In other words, you know that it's a stereo receiver when you look at it. Mine didn't ship inside of another box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Not too bad

01/18/2008
By ,
Port Jervis, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very hard to setup if you are not patient with the setup of new things. You must read the manual to fully understand the decent features of this surround sound receiver. I bought it for the optical audio input to link up to a big screen TV. For the money it was a good deal. The remote with the unit is universal but small. Also, it wouldn't take the code for my cable box but I can control the sound of the unit from universal cable remote. Hope my review helps. Good luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Better than expected

03/13/2009
By ,
Charleston, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did extensive reviews of this product prior to purchasing. It replaces a Sony Surround sound AMP that is about 15-years old. I didn’t think there would be much of a difference since I considered the old Sony a great product. I was pleasantly surprised at the fidelity, and separation that I did not get with the old amp. I attribute most of the improvement to innovations over the years; but I have to admit, the JVC was like discovering surround sound all over again. I like the ability to change each individual speaker for real listening pleasure. In addition, the selectivity, and sensitivity of the AM/FM tuner is superior.
The 5060B is perfect for the person that demands great movie-like surround sound, but doesn’t want to invest a fortune to achieve that goal. It was less than half the price of the old amplifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Trust your fellow Wal Mart Reviewers!

01/23/2009
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of research on electronic equipment before I buy and then I scour the internet for the best deal possible. Let me tell you you cannot find a better product for the price. The reviewers especially one couple that was more "mature" said they looked up the product in Consumer Digest and found it had a good rating. I double checked that (of course) and they were right. You cannot find a A/V component with this much power and amenities for this price without the product being refurbished. I have this hooked up to my Bose speakers (oh how they rock!), my DirecTV box, DVD, and my 46 inch flat screen. I am a happily married man now. Wal-Mart maybe a necessary evil but I am happy for their low prices and quality merchandise in these hard economic times. BUY THIS PRODUCT. I prefer site to home but hey that's me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

UNREAL VALUE

03/27/2008
By ,
Detroit,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to put together my own home theater system, let me tell you that this receiver has meet and exceded all expectations. The setup was easy with the help of the easy to read instruction booklet I have two 200 watt three way front speakers, a 250 watt ten inch supwoofer, the sound is unreal, not quite done yet, will buy from walmart too complete and upgrade my system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

An Excellent Receiver

03/19/2008
By ,
York,Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this receiver.I think JVC makes very good products.This was a super value for a very low price.I had bought 2 other receivers of different Brands and neither of them could compare to the JVC.The sound is excellent and the setup is also very easy.I highly reccomend this receiver.Buy it,you will be glad you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Good for the money

12/18/2007
By ,
Gilbert, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As stated in other reviews, the setup can be a little tricky--not as intuitive as other receivers I've owned. But still, I got what I wanted--a powerful, versatile receiver with a graphic equalizer. I added a subwoofer as well to get the best sound for my home theater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 19 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

A good value on a surround system.

07/31/2008
By ,
Middletown, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the JVC receiver because the price was right. I had a really expensive Sony system that smoked after pluging it in after a recent move. The JVC sounds better than my old Sony. I didn't expect the results I got. This is a great value.
On the negative side, the receiver has only component video inputs and outputs making it a little obsolete for new high definition and wide screen televisions . This was not a problem for me as my television has 7 video inputs. This makes for more complicated wiring and setup. However, I would suggest simplifying the situation by combining it with a really good universal remote like the Logitech Harmony I have. I have the 670, but Walmart has a really good buy on the 550 which I understand is just as capable.
Another downside of the JVC system is the FM antenna that comes with the receiver. I've never seen this with any other system but the antenna is just a wire that plugs into the center of the standard 75 ohm connector. You cannot pick up anything but local stations on FM with this antenna. However, the receiver works fine when a good (but cheap) dipole wire antenna or better is connected. The antenna for the AM stations works fine.
I hope you find this review helpful!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for JVC 5.1-Channel Surround Sound Receiver w/ 500 Watts, RX-5060B Black

Weak manual, overall good value

10/20/2008
By ,
West Jordan, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart.com was a bit slow getting it delivered to the store and upon opening, it appeared that the box had been previously opened and not put back together carefully - one styrofoam corner had broken in two, the AM antenna was missing, the remote was not wrapped in anything, but was loose within the box and the remote battery compartment cover was separated from the remote itself. I called JVC and they sent out a replacement AM antenna. However, the receiver seemed undamaged and appears to work properly. The owner's manual is weak in describing how the system is to be connected to various components and how certain operational settings are made/function. But overall, it seems to be a great value and performs well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next