Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Provide shade and comfort to most any outdoor setting with the 10' x 10' Outdoor Canopy by Better Homes and Gardens. This all-weather two-tier canopy is easy to assemble and comes with stakes to secure the frame. The Mika ridge 10' x 10' canopy has polyester curtains that can be opened and closed for privacy, as well as a durable, heavy-duty steel frame with a powder-coated finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.843 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation75%38 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

A Good Deal

05/30/2008
By ,
Rochester NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought Gazebo 3 years ago for price and looks. Was a little disappointed when I realized that the way the canopy hangs over the frame, which is why it looks so nice, also leaves a little space if you want to use it to keep the bugs out. Other than that, it's held up well these past 3 years, even in high winds and rain. We take the top off in the Winter. I'd like to find a replacement from the company that makes it for when the canopy gets old from sun/weather exposure
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hanover, PA
Assembly instructions
Posted 06/04/2014
By any chance...do you still have the assembly instructions. I have one too but no instructions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy
05/03/2008
By ,
Olathe, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy this product. We put up this gazebo last August. It already broked 2 times by the wind. Metal is not strong enough. If you live in the area with winds and storms, you will waist your money. My husband fixed it 1st time, it wasn't broken all the way. I live in Kansas, we had bad storm recently. It's like a parashute. Wind peeks it up from inside. And it's not stable enough also. 2nd time it just broked in some places in half. We have to get rid of it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Poor Quality

05/13/2008
By ,
Brick
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had the gazebo for 2 years this spring. I noticed this spring that there was corrision on the main joints. We had a very heavy rain last night and the entire unit split on two sides. Granted we only paid $200 for this but the metal they used is not designed to withstand the out doors. Very disappointed.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Fantastic, but anchor it down

07/15/2007
By ,
Odessa, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great product for the price, easy to assemble but make sure you anchor it. A very high wind storm blew it over because I did not have it secure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Didn't last

07/14/2007
By ,
Hershey, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This gazebo was fairly easy to assemble and looked fantastic when it was put up on our deck. Unfortunately, the first storm we had, the top bars that frame the roof bent in. My husband was able to semi-repair the damage. But, a few weeks later, another storm ripped through our town with some strong winds--not tornado like, but it was strong. THe gazebo was bolted down to the deck, but as we watched during the storm, the frame was totally ripped apart. THe bars at the bottom were snapped in half. The bottom part was still bolted down to the deck. The poor thing was blown half way off the deck, with pieces laying in the grass. The canapy part was still totall intact. But the frame just wasn't strong enough. This gazebo would be great to put up in a sheltered area, with little wind. Or for someone who wants to take it apart whenever a storm comes around!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

A Great Canopy

08/04/2007
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This canopy is not ony beautiful to look at but provides plenty of shade. It keeps the rain out as well. My furniture has yet to get wet. I haven't had any problems with the wind so far. It was fairly easy to put together. It is a great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

nice but hard to put together

07/14/2007
By ,
29 Palms, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this almost done. It is impossible to do by yourself, so have a TEAM of helpers around. I did all but put the roof on, but have all the parts built. It took me two days, working about 2 1/2 hours each day on it... and i did it by myself. It is a huge undertaking though but really pretty and will provide much needed shade from the desert sun when it is complete. Now I just need the patio set to go under it. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

mika ridgw canopy

03/16/2008
By ,
ypsilanti, mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought my Product last mother's day and put it up on a nice stong deck with nice strong screws and thru the winter the top collapsed. Now not even a year old it is ruined. They are very nice to have but as for weather proof I guess not in a michigan weather.....
very sad
slancina
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

A great product

07/29/2007
By ,
Eaton Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this canopy very highly. The price is awesome for the product. Very sturdy and puts together easily. Great value for the money, even with the shipping costs. Makes sitting outdoors enjoyable and keeps the majority of bugs out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

A great value

07/07/2007
By ,
Macomb, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this gazebo for our back patio and it we were complemented by all of our neighbors ... HOWEVER.... I can't stress enough to ANCHOR it down and take the canopy loose (can't take it completely off) for windy weather. Unfortunately ours only lasted 3 weeks and a "without warning" storm blew threw and blew it into our neighbors yard...our fault for not taking the canopy loose. Overall we paid a great sale price at the store and are looking to replace the damaged metal top (not heavy duty steel as stated two top sides broke in half when lifted) Again, overall, if you take care of it, anchor it down and take the canopy loose, it is a beautiful gazebo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

canopy gazebo

07/09/2007
By ,
Flaxville, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is very nice looking, and we really like ours, but if you purchase this you will need to do some welding type re-inforcing with stronger steel or iron.
A strong wind blew ours over and bent the top frames. We were able to enjoy it for 2 days before a storm blew through. Our yard is fairly well protected so we were hoping for better. I would reccomend this if you are willing to do some re-enforcing on it, and anchor it well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

nice

08/13/2007
By ,
huntsville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice product, and easy to put together with two people.
looks great on my patio.
the stakes are a joke, so you will need to anchor it with a different system.
i bolted mine to patio deck.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

A beautiful addition to any patio

08/03/2007
By ,
Imperial, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had been given a similar canopy for a gift but it blew away in a terrible storm. We were hesitant to buy a new one, but found this one for an unbeatable price; albeit the $60.00 delivery charge was steep. Although the canopy is a lighter weight (our original, also from Wal-Mart, was heavy duty) than what we had expected, it's beautiful, and we love having the option of enclosing it with the netting. It looks especially pretty with tall, potted flowers at each corner. It's really added some extra appeal to our new patio. One tip- if you know a storm is coming, remove the canvas to help prevent it from blowing over! Overall, we are very happy with our purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Read the product information

05/30/2008
By ,
Port A, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It tells you to remove the canopy when there will be a storm/high winds and during winter. Hence it wouldn't be damaged during a windstorm or snow.
We live on a barrier island of Texas, the canopy has been like adding another room to our house! We use it every day during spring and fall. Summer is just too hot no matter. We spray coated the legs, because on the coast even plastic rusts, so we prevented early corrosion by using a little common sense. This product is worth the price, if you follow the instructions, and add a little smarts of your own.
The canopy is a big sail, if your garbage cans are blowing around, your gazebo will too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Two years still going

05/08/2008
By ,
Aiken Sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this canopy in April 2006. It has been up on my deck and I have not had any problems at all with it. When a storm or strong wind is coming, we just tie it down to the deck rails with a cord, not staked down. I didn't want it staked down because I planned on moving it to my pool eventually, and this past weekend I did( 5-3-08) I have it on the cement and looks great, put two sand bags in two corners and holds down fine. Overall, I have had it for two years, stays up all year, and I think this is an excellent product, and looks wonderful. I have had many compliments on it. I would definitely buy one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Broken

05/17/2008
By ,
MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When we bought this gazebo, it looked great and was perfect. We had a little bit of a windstorm in October (prior to taking it down for the winter), and some of the pieces were bent. We called the company that makes it this spring to get replacement parts. They told us that it was "too bad" and that the parts were not available. They told us that they do not make the parts anymore. We could get two pieces we needed and that would cost over $90. We are throwing it out, and buying something else. The customer service was rude and not helpful at all. We would not recommend this gazebo.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

Worth every penny

04/19/2008
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this product in the spring of 2006. We anchored it in the ground with the stakes provided in the kit. The gazebo has been up ever since. It has survived 2 summers and 2 winters. We did not remove the canopy in the winter. It does have some dry rot in 3-4 places places so this will probably be the last summer we will be able to use it. It has been well worth the money to put it up and just leave it there. We have had storms and strong winds and it has never been damaged. I highly recommend this product. I will purchase it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

nice but not sturdy

05/23/2008
By ,
red lion, pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
we got this for my god-daughter's sweet 16 and it worked well for the party and a few weeks afterwards until we got an unexpected storm. it blew the gazebo off our brick patio and across the yard, breaking the top portion that holds the canopy on. The sides and the canopy stayed intact. I attempted to contact the company to replace the upper metal portions to no avail. Does anyone know how to possibly obtain a new upper metal portion? my husband threw the broken pieces away. I dont want to have to buy an entire new gazebo. HELP!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

mika ridge canopy

04/20/2008
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this at end of season when couldn't find in store so bought online and paid alotttt of shipping for this. Then comes a bad snow here in Mo. and guess what? Canopy caved in and now is ruined. 1 snow and not even 1 season of use and close to 275.00 wasted. Don't think I will buy this one no more and see from other people they had same thing happen. Beware people! For this price should be constructed alittle stronger. Paid way less for the one before this and it lasted many many years and never caved in at all. Just got old.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens Mika Ridge Canopy

use common sense

04/17/2008
By ,
Madison
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gazebo is wonderful to have, but you must use common sense. You must have it placed on a surface where it can be bolted securely. (staking it in the grass will not work) Also, during a windy storm, tie back the screens to allow the breeze to flow through. And most importantly, the fabrics must be removed during the winter months when it snows. My back yard is a field and we have very high winds. The gazebo worked great last summer, we stored the fabrics over the winter and we now have it assembled again! LOVE IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1 2 3 Next