Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whistler Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Whistler Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

The PI-1200W Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter is designed to convert 12 volts of DC power to 110 volts of AC power. Features of the Whistler Power Inverter include 1200 watts of continuous power, a cooling fan that will prevent overheating, ground fault sensing, a remote operation jack and a built-in battery, volt and watt meter. Smart surge control, overload voltage protection, short circuit protection and thermal cutoff electronic circuit protection are among the additional elements of the powerful Whistler Inverter. You will be able to easily run electronics from your car, boat or RV with the dual AC outlets on the Whistler Power Inverter. Uses for the Whistler PI-1200W 1200-Watt Power Inverter include powering TV/DVD combos, work fans, work lights, small outdoor heaters, power tools, small appliances and much more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%10 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

Good inverter for the price

10/30/2007
By ,
Rio Rancho, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Whistler 1200 watt inverter is truly a lifesaver when camping in your RV in the middle of nowhere. Providing ample AC power to run most everything in my RV. Would recommend product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 2 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

A Keeper

04/11/2009
By ,
auburn,ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this interver for my truckdriver husband. He uses this to power a refridgerator,a microwave and also a tv. It supplies more than enough power than he'll ever need. He is extremely happy with it. If you're looking for a good inverter, this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

Very high quality

02/15/2010
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had purchased a 400w inverter from Sam's Club 3 years ago. It lasted until just a few months ago- an impressive service record for a $35 inverter.
Fast forward to last week-
My new 1200w inverter arrived in the mail. Like I do with all my new gadgets, I took it apart and examined the components. Everything inside is top-quality, and the biggest perk for me was the new fan design- much better, quieter and longer lasting than the 400w unit's fan.
I hooked it up in my truck and plugged in all my computer equipment and tools. Unlike the 400w inverter, this unit has relatively low line noise. There is still a buzz to be heard over ungrounded audio components but it is leaps and bounds better than the previous model.
I haven't had a chance to use the unit with more than 500w load, but so far it runs very cool and quiet- and efficiently. So far I'm estimating that efficiency is about 70% (watts out/watts in).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Rural Wyoming
Heavy inverter loads and efficiency
Posted 12/02/2012
Most inverters begin to loose efficiency about 50% rated capacity...the heavier the load, the lower the efficiency.
0points
Customer Avatar
Rural Wyoming
Better efficiency than you might think...
Posted 12/02/2012
Modified sine-wave inverters typically run between 85-95% efficiency, with many near 90%. Higher dollar inverters will yield better efficiency than cheapos. I've been using Whistler's inverters for many years, and they tend to fall near the mid-range on efficiency.
Pure sine-wave inverters are where efficiencies can plummet into the 80% range, with high-end units ($3/watt low-capacity, $1+/watt high-capacity) struggling to get 90%, with some claiming a bit higher. Overall, pure sine-wave average around 85%.
When calculating power consumption and recharge input amp/hours to maintain batteries vs inverter output in watt/hours or amp/hours, remember, you will suffer loss in efficiencies due to battery charging losses (as much as 30% or more) as well as inverter in-efficiencies, so it multiplies into huge values rather quickly with large inverter loads. Example: if you have a 90% efficient inverter, and 70% efficient battery maintenance charging, add the two together and divide by two...answer is 80% efficiency. Battery maintenance charging plays a huge role in overall system efficiency. There's not much you can do about battery maintenance charging efficiency, short of using expensive chargers designed for renewable energy and high-capacity deep-cycle battery banks. The inverters can be a bit more efficient, at a cost as well. General rule of thumb is that if you don't skimp on batteries, don't skimp on anything else in the system, and keep a good match-up for the best designed performance vs cost.
Power on!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

Neat, Quiet, Safe & Powerful

09/02/2007
By ,
Midwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inverter has built-in safety and automatic reset features that some competitor's products do not have. Easy to understand and set up. Mine is installed in the basement as part of a sump-pump power backup system and has been "on" for months and ready to kick in when needed in case of a power outage.
Have it attached to three Deep Cycle Marine Walmart batteries (red to red, black to black) and I'm very satisfied and recommend it highly. Great price doesn't hurt either!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

Handy.

04/04/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I work in the swamps in Southern Louisiana. I needed an a.c. power source to run my test equipment. All I have to do is hook up the battery on the air boat or welding machine and I'm set. Sure wish that the cables were included with the inverter.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 6 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

Good value Inverter

03/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can run my circular saw from my car battery! Very handy. 1200 watts is a good compromise between a more expensive higher power and a low cost but enough power to run hand tools. I was concerned that I would need a true sine wave inverter but this unit runs everything I've tried so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 7 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

A great aid for outdoorsmen

04/15/2008
By ,
South Central Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sons and I are avid outdoorsmen who are constantly building something in the woods. These items are inclosed deer blinds, feeders, bird houses,and the many different type electric tools we use. I originally bought this inverter as a back-up for home use in case of a power failure. I can plug my deepfreezers in it and keep my food safe by alternating them one at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W

comes in handy

02/17/2008
By ,
Iraq
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first of all this product is a life saver. i am in the military currently deployed overseas in Iraq. with the use of this product in my vehicle i am able to use some equipment that i wouldnt be able to use because of not being closer to a generator or some other source of power
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Whistler 1200-Watt Power Inverter, PI-1200W
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5