Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Minn Kota Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Minn Kota Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

One of the most popular trolling motors in the sport, the Endura 50 series by Minn Kota offers pure power and rugged dependability. This 50 lbs.-thrust powerhouse features a composite lever lock bracket that resists warping and UV damage and a telescoping hand control with 5 forward speeds and 3 reverse.
Average Customer Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation94%93 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
69
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Minn Kota Endura 50, A great utlility

05/30/2008
By ,
Windham, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 14' Wenonah Fisherman canoe in which I rigged up for trolling lakes, rivers and salt water bays. Originally I was in the market for a Minn Kota Riptide 50, but for some reason Walmart website never keeps that model in stock. So I went with the Minn Kota Endura 50 with a 60 dollar mail-in rebate.
This model has definately met and exceeded my expectations (I'm a very picky person). I have never owned a trolling motor before, but I have a good sense for quality equipment. This so far has given me the meens for trolling up in down the lake that I live on for hours on end. The only thing I would like to see changed is that the power lead should be lengthened or Minn Kota should make after market power lead extensions available. My battery is located in the middle of the canoe and the power lead came up way too short. Also, if you do have to extend the power leads, you'll need to use 6 guage wire (due to the mass amount of current draw) and also have some way to connect the extension to the motor's 10 guage power lead. For the extension, I used 6 guage jumper cables and soldered in a heavy-duty quick disconnect which really works well.
The motor itself provides enough power to quietly muscle through choppy/windy waters with two full grown adults, my 60 pound canoe and another 100+ pounds of gear (including battery). I didn't think I'd like the telescoping tiller handle, but I actually love that option now. The mounting bracket is very solid and I have no complaints with it. It is very easy to adjust the depth that the propeller is at when you run into shallow waters and to quickly pull the prop completely out of the water when you bottom out on a huge rock.
If your in the market for a trolling motor, I would definately recommend this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Review 2 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Trolling Boat Motor

07/12/2007
By ,
Walcott, North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent buy for the price. Shaft size and thrust would have cost twice as much elsewhere. Very satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+36points
Review 3 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Met my expectations

05/14/2010
By ,
St Helen, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the Minn Kota Endura 50-42" trolling motor. The features I liked were the quick release tilt lever, thumb screw adjustable depth collar, multi position transom bracket and the extend-able handle with 5 forward and 2 reverse speeds. It is very quiet and smooth running. I extended the power leads using number 6 braided wire as the instructions recommended and purchased a 50 amp self-resetting circuit breaker from a local boating supply dealer. Minn Kota recommended a 60 amp circuit breaker they offered for $40 but the fellow at the boat dealer said many use the 50 amp self resetting that cost $11.00. It works great. The only thing I would recommend, but did not do, is put a switch in the line to break power to the motor while not using it to prevent accidentally turning on the motor using the hand control on the tiller. Disconnecting one wire from the battery would do the same. Minn Kota has a great reputation for reliability and quality, I would recommend this motor to anyone needing a transom mount electric trolling motor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 4 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Gret Motor for the Price

07/03/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent trolling motor for the price. It has lots of power for pushing my 13’ inflatable through the water on “electric motor only” lakes. The extendable handle is a nice feature. The ability to adjust the tilt and height is great. I definitely recommend the Minn Kota trolling motors over any other trolling motors in the same price class. You won’t find a better motor for the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Review 5 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

works great!!

06/13/2008
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought it to propel my 12 foot aluminum boat on small lakes and it works perfectly. i should have purchased a shorter shaft but its still functions great. for the price you cant beat it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 6 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor
08/31/2009
By ,
North Ar.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this product three times and it does as expected.
It is on a 24ft poonton boat so I had to make a mount for it on the bow. It has more power than expected and needs a much stronger mount than I installed it on.
The long shaft is perfect for a pontoon boat and the power is awsome.
TugBoat2....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 7 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

very good deal

04/23/2009
By ,
Thomaston,Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite some that have any negative reviews towards this trolling motor it was a very good buy.
This trolling motor has plenty of power. What some need to keep in mind is that it is just that, a trolling motor and also it depends on what kind of boat and how it is loaded whether it blast you across the water or you just creep. I have a 14 foot Jon Boat with 3 deep cycle batteries and anchors and lights and gear in it and it does just fine. Yes it does draw a good battery down faster than some on high but look at how big it is and how many amps it draws on high power. My suggestion is don’t run it with less than two batteries and a good battery checker is a must. I have had nothing but good luck and service with this motor and have plans to buy a second one soon. I would recommend this to anyone that needs lots of power for a good price.
If you need to go faster add a second trolling motor
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 8 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

An excellent product.

02/27/2009
By ,
Venice Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During the three or four times that I have used the Minn Kota Endura 50 trolling motor it has performed beautifully and I am very satisfied with it. It was, in my opinion the best buy available for the money. Among my friends in boating the Minn Kota has an excellent reputation. I have voided the warranty by using it in salt water but for the difference in price from the Riptide makes it a practical choice if it lasts just a few years. It is well made and I think it will hold up well even in salt water if properly cared for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

I had other expectations

09/24/2008
By ,
hastings, ne
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, this motor was well worth the money to me. I was expecting a little more speed out of it though. I switched from an older Minn Kota 28 lb. thrust to the Endura 50. And for 50 lbs. of thrust, I figured my little 10 foot john boat would scoot across the water. But this motor will suffice for those windy days. This being the whole reason I went so big. I also wish they would have gave speeds 3 and 4 more thrust. There is a definitive gap in thrust between speeds 4 and 5. I hope this motor was not one specifically manufactured for Wal-Mart. Also, they should have made the detents for the twist speed control on the tiller handle more stiff. I was finding myself switching speeds and the handle would stop halfway between two speeds. So the motor would intermittently speed up or slow down. Until I would look back and realize I had the handle set between two speeds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Minn Kota Endra 50# 42"

11/10/2010
By ,
New Mexico, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Minn Kota has been on the top of trolling motors from their beginning. Not that there are not other good trolling motors but few are as well known for so many places. I have not had the opportunity to use this item as we are entering winter with a bite in the air. Will be easy to build a "Transom" mount for my 17' Old Town canoe. I am presently seeking which battery and a solar panel recharge or maintain source of energy while camping and moving further upstream. I do not fish calm waters. I run canoes on rivers and have since I was in my mid teens. This will be used primarily for moving upstream against currents. New Mexico is not known, particularly those who live here, that canoe's can be run on rivers. My canoe is designed for rivers. I look forward to using this trolling motor on live waters. Both Walmart and Minn Kota stand behind their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Great Trolling Motor + Amazing Price!!

04/30/2008
By ,
Baltimore Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great trolling motor for the price. Lots of thrust and doesn't drain the battery too quickly. I love the extendable handle and how easily you can adjust the tilt and height. I definitely recommend the Minn Kota trolling motors over any other trolling motors in the same price class. I also like the fact that you can purchase aftermarket propellers for this unit, such as a Kipawa propeller, if you're looking for a little faster speed.
I use this trolling motor as my primary source of propulsion on the local "electric-motor only" reservoirs and the 50lb thrust motor pushes my 14' jon boat (about 800 pounds of boat, equipment and people) along very well. With my size 27 deep cycle battery I get many hours of use out of this motor on a single charge.
Walmart also has the best price on this motor of all the retailers I could find on the web!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Good Product / Terrible Shipping

03/04/2010
By ,
Oakley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 50 lb. thrust electric is a great pusher for my 14' inflatable pontoon rig. About 7 knots
The product arrived with major shipping damage. Walmart staff failed to inspect the package prior to my arrival. The damage was very obvious as it was unpacked, the prop shaft was bent. I did not know about this until I got home with it.
Luck was in my favor (I won't mention the two hours it took to return it), they had one on the shelf (HHMMM! why didn't they contact me sooner instead of my waiting three weeks? Site to store?)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 13 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Great Value, Lots of Power

09/17/2009
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the Minn Kota Endura 50 to be the main power for my 10' Jon replacing a Minn Kota 17# thrust. After price shopping for several weeks there was nothing even close to this deal. I was afraid the 50#s would be too much when I just wanted to stay still in a light current but speeds 1-4 are pretty low and perfect for slow to medium trolling. Speed 5, at the cost of battery life, will really get you moving though. The 42" shaft is perfect for trolling while standing up or if you have a raised seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Kickin' Kicker

08/24/2010
By ,
Marysville, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This baby is everything advertised. It eats lilies and milfoil like a lawn mower. It is lightweight and I can use it for 12 hours on a standard 12V marine battery. I highly regard this as a means of main propulsion for bass fishermen and chasers of panfish.
Be aware that this motor is best for boats that are greater than 12 to 14 feet and more than 250 pounds unloaded. Otherwise you will troll just a bit too fast. 50 pounds of thrust is alot.
Enjoy this motor...I sure do.
DocFish
Crappie.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Overall a great product at a great price.

07/24/2009
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looked around (Cabelas/Bass Pro etc.) and lo and behold I find a reasonably priced motor at Wal-Mart! Motor is as expected, would have preferred a slightly longer lead, but it suffices. The handle seems a little weak due to the extending function so time will tell how long it survives. Good performance. Being used on a 18' sailboat to make quick getaways and returns to the dock. Great torque for the dollar. I (due to dead calm suddenly) used it to troll back from the other side of my local lake with decent chop and it seemed to power through OK. After 1.5 hrs usage the battery indicated 80% remaining. Would like to have had a metal or sturdier mount, but for the dollar that is to be expected. Overall a recommendation. Plus 97 cents shipping? 4 day delivery? No damage? How could you refuse!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Great little motor for the price

08/01/2008
By ,
Brunswick, Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this motor on an older (heavy) 12 foot aluminum boat with 2 large adults and a small child. At speed "1" we can troll for almost 3 hours which the GPS notched at 1 1/2 - 2 mph. Ride was quiet and smooth. Very easy to use. Would absolutely recommend this motor!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Minn Kota 50 LB- 42"

05/29/2010
By ,
Land O Lakes,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Expectations on this product was Blown away, It is easy to install, the only setback is that Minn Kota should make there battery connections a little bit longer, but can be fixed with some minor hook-up, but all in all it does handle the job on my heavy 16'
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Perfect Value! Works Great!

05/22/2010
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took this baby out for a test today in a lake. Had over 600 lbs onboard our jon boat and blasted us around!
Had it hooked up to a high rate marine battery. Love it! Thanks for the great deal :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

Well worth the price

03/31/2008
By ,
Interlachen, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Live on a lake and use this motor almost everyday for last 3 months, seems to be well worth the money, was using a 36lb thrust, this one has much more power, very satisfied
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Minn Kota Endura 50 42" Trolling Motor

great price!

04/03/2010
By ,
So. Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked well right out of the box! Powered a '68 larson 16.5 ft fiberglass with no trouble while trolling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next