Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Sauder Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

The Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard in Carolina Oak finish attaches to Full/Queen size bed. Made from engineered wood, this headboard comes with a laminate finish for added durability. This wooden bookcase headboard features a spacious display area for alarm clock and books. Two adjustable shelves provide space to store books, magazines, and other things you might want to keep within reach. Enclosed back panel of the bookshelf headboard has cord access. The full queen headboard improves the look of your bed as well as the room and can be utilized effectively to keep small items. This headboard requires minimal assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(407 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
233
4 stars
137
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation94%381 out of 407reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 178 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
233
4 stars
137
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Nice Headboard

04/27/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After ordering on-line, ship to store, recieved at store in 4 days! Its kinda heavy, loaded it in back of truck and took home. Unpacked in the back of the truck and took pieces inside two and three at a time. That made things easier! Remaining packaging went from the truck to trash cans. No cleanup inside the house! I assembled this and installed it by myself. I put it together with a ratchet screwdriver. I felt it went together very well. I followed instructions thoroughly. I attached to my queen bed frame. When I did this, I raised it up so it is just bolted to the frame and not sitting on the floor. It would probably be more sturdy if sitting on the floor, but my matress is very thick and it had to be high. It still feels very sturdy doing it this way. One review stated it would not last longer than a couple of years. That is probably the case if you move alot. I don't and I think it will last me a long time. After 2 weeks of having it, I can say I really like it and it was worth the price. It looks nice too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

nice product

12/17/2009
By ,
Homer City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a pillowtop queen size bed, and needed a good headboard with room for two clocks, a lamp, and some miscellaneous goodies. This product fits perfectly widthwise, but is a little short for a taller mattress if you want it to sit on the floor. However, it does have several holes for adjustment to raise and lower it, and I drilled a few more holes to get as high as possible. As you can see from my pics, this extra little bit gave us a more suitable fit as far as the mattress and pillows are concerned. It sits about 6 inches off the floor and rocks a bit, but becomes much more stable when the headboard is against a wall with the mattress pushed against it.
I've had many Sauder products over the years, and this one is more of what I've come to expect from them. It's a good sturdy product for the dollar value, and relatively simple to put together with clear instructions.
One of the pieces did come with a gouge and a tear in the laminate, but I accessed Sauder's website, and with just a few numbers and a few clicks, I had a replacement part ordered at no cost. The part came UPS in 5 days.
We purchased from Walmart.com, and used the Site to Store delivery option. We were notified of availability for pickup in two weeks, which was the earliest day they said it would be delivered. Right on time!
All in all, we are very pleased with the product and all parties involved with the purchase and delivery, and would recommend it to anyone looking for an economical bookcase headboard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

A very useful product

06/09/2008
By ,
Scottville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the bookcase. I was able to put it together by myself. The only problem I had was that some of the pieces were not labeled.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

I love this headboard!!

03/07/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good quality for a great price. It takes at least two people to put it together, but I actually put it together by myself & it was fairly easy. Directions were easy to follow. Great strorage space. Two of my sisters liked it so much they're thinking about getting it for themselves.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Beautiful, Sturdy, Practical & Affordable!

11/22/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one beautiful, sturdy, practical and affordable headboard, but is a little confusing putting it together - for instance - they don't specify which side the main board is supposed to be facing until you are halfway through putting it together - and are like "bummer", and have to take it apart and rearrange it, and since it is mostly particle board - it is really hard getting the screws back out. So make sure you do it right the first time - at least you will know in advance what to look out for - I had read reviews prior to purchase but did not see that warning in any of them. Overall - it is gorgeous and looks way more expensive than the pic, and we love the bookcase part and having a place to put our medicines, remote control, lamps, alarm clocks, etc... Great deal and works perfect with the slumber 1-8 beds and spa sensation frames - that don't transfer movement and hold the bookcase up to the wall without any other needed support!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Nice Inexpensive Bookcase Headboard!

08/18/2009
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice queen bookcase headboard for the price. It is hard to find a bookcase headboard to fit a queen bed. Most are made for twin size only! I was surprised to see how well the headboard was made. Easy to follow assembly instructions. Can be used for either a full or queen size bed. I chose not to connect it to the bed frame so that I can move the bed around easier if needed. But it comes with brackets to connect to metal frame of bed, if desired, for more stability. I like the adjustable shelves and the perforated cut outs in the back for electrical cords. The back of this bookcase is a wood look cardboard or similar material. It is not wood on the back of bookcase, however it still looks good. Love the FREE Site to Store Shipping! Pick it up at your convenience! Very nice! I would definitely recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

so bad you'll never even use it

01/04/2014
By ,
NYC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not know you could buy something this bad. When we tried to put it together, following instructions to the letter, several of the cams broke the material the bed is made of -- that sawdust board that is so soft you feel like you could almost crumble it between your thumb and finger. The "hardware" is plastic that splits and breaks. Sure, a hundred dollars for a headboard is cheap, but not when it is completely unusable. You are supposed to put this thing together and then stabilize it with a backing piece, which itself is little more than cardboard. I'm giving some points for appearance, but that is only based on the picture, as this thing will never be usable. A point for ease of set-up, since it is not particularly hard to do, although it takes two people. If I had some power tools and a shop and access to plywood and other hardware and so forth, I could cobble something together and make it work, but I don't so I won't. This product is absolute junk, and it would cost me more to return it (NYC is difficult) than it's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Book Shelf HeadBoard

02/27/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought think for my teenage son who has a queen bed and comes home from college. I wanted his room to look grown up and still homey! It was easy to build and looks great. I read all the reviews before buying. I had it set up an inch above the carpet so I can still move the bed around as a review said! It works perfect- thanks!! Love it! and I know he will too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Good item for price

04/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the price - good item! Set up was standard as all those kits are. Very sturdy and nice looking put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Not just another pretty headboard

04/21/2008
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a headboard that was attractive AND useful, not one that just took up space. The bookcase headboard gave me added space for things I feel I need near me, such as hand lotions, alarm clocks(2), a book or two, TV controllers, a phone. I used to try to have all these things on my nightstand and spent most of the time picking them off the floor. This product needed to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. I have found it to be very sturdy, stylish and I would recommend it to anyone looking for more storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

nice

02/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i would give this 4 and a half stars but it wont let me. this is by no means perfect. but it is sturdy and looks really nice. it fit perfect on my queen size bed. the box says it will also fit a full size bed, but i think it would be a bit too big for a full size. my only complaint about this product is that part of the frame is made of this material that appears to be compressed card board. it is only a small part and im sure that is a corner that was cut to save the manufacturer a few cent per unit. particle board is already cheap enough. anyway. lol. all of my reviews sound negative, but i really do love this bookcase headboard. ive got my ipod dock and mine and my girlfriends cell phones charge on it at night. i keep my PSP plugged in up there at all times too incase i wake up and cant fall asleep. anyways.. if you like the picture and still want it after reading what I have said here then you will go away happy with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

great buy for money and kids room

03/27/2014
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy for the money. Adds nice extra amount of storage for my boys who share a room. It still is pressboard and not a high quality wood, but looks nice and very functional.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Very good for price, surprisingly easy to assemble

03/16/2014
By ,
KC, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are well over 65 and weren't sure we could put it together ourselves. So we were pleased when we could! The parts are very well marked and directions are very clear.. It took two of us to assemble and some young guys to put it in place. But it looks great, just what we wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Awesome... except for....

03/08/2014
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sauder has a reputation for great products and I love this headboard. My only complaint is the set up!!! VERY hard and the instructions were ridiculous, but once it's together and you take your time, it's a very nice piece. I would recommend it so long as you have the patience and time to put it together. It would be nice if it came put together. Overall - love the product! The one thing in the instructions that I would definitely recommend is have all your items set out before starting - even the hardware.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Great Headboard

03/13/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought 2 for our extra bedrooms, which our grandkids will use. They are so nice, we are considering getting another one for our bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Looks good

03/13/2014
By ,
Winfield, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This takes more than one person to put this together. But once it's done I fell in love with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

furniture on a budget

02/20/2014
By ,
St. Louis Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the headboard to compliment our upstairs guest bedroom. Since we are planning a wedding we don't have a lot of money but wanted a place for our guests to spend the night while planning for the wedding. I found this headboard while shopping on Google and thought it would be perfect because of the shelf space it offers and the nice wood look to it. We remodeled the entire upstairs on our own so finding great products for a great price is veey important to us. Our project looks finished finally, and on to the next
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Looks good

02/23/2014
By ,
St.louis,Mo
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Whoever said this could be put together by one person must have bigger muscles than me! I bought this for my son. It took me 3 hours to screw it together-would've been much easier with a drill. Once I stood it up to move it the whole thing fell apart. It was a disaster & I was ready to throw it away. I composed myself & rigged it to stand up. It looks really good & hasn't fallen apart yet. It will work for what I needed but I'm not thrilled with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Good Looking and Strong

04/30/2010
By ,
gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went together well and very solid after assembly.Great Looking!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Very nice headboard

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price paid. Only a small hiccup in assembly. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 339 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next