Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sauder Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

The Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard in Carolina Oak finish attaches to Full/Queen size bed. Made from engineered wood, this headboard comes with a laminate finish for added durability. This wooden bookcase headboard features a spacious display area for alarm clock and books. Two adjustable shelves provide space to store books, magazines, and other things you might want to keep within reach. Enclosed back panel of the bookshelf headboard has cord access. The full queen headboard improves the look of your bed as well as the room and can be utilized effectively to keep small items. This headboard requires minimal assembly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.395 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(410 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
137
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation94%384 out of 410reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
137
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Nice Headboard

04/27/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After ordering on-line, ship to store, recieved at store in 4 days! Its kinda heavy, loaded it in back of truck and took home. Unpacked in the back of the truck and took pieces inside two and three at a time. That made things easier! Remaining packaging went from the truck to trash cans. No cleanup inside the house! I assembled this and installed it by myself. I put it together with a ratchet screwdriver. I felt it went together very well. I followed instructions thoroughly. I attached to my queen bed frame. When I did this, I raised it up so it is just bolted to the frame and not sitting on the floor. It would probably be more sturdy if sitting on the floor, but my matress is very thick and it had to be high. It still feels very sturdy doing it this way. One review stated it would not last longer than a couple of years. That is probably the case if you move alot. I don't and I think it will last me a long time. After 2 weeks of having it, I can say I really like it and it was worth the price. It looks nice too!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 2 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

nice product

12/17/2009
By ,
Homer City, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a pillowtop queen size bed, and needed a good headboard with room for two clocks, a lamp, and some miscellaneous goodies. This product fits perfectly widthwise, but is a little short for a taller mattress if you want it to sit on the floor. However, it does have several holes for adjustment to raise and lower it, and I drilled a few more holes to get as high as possible. As you can see from my pics, this extra little bit gave us a more suitable fit as far as the mattress and pillows are concerned. It sits about 6 inches off the floor and rocks a bit, but becomes much more stable when the headboard is against a wall with the mattress pushed against it.
I've had many Sauder products over the years, and this one is more of what I've come to expect from them. It's a good sturdy product for the dollar value, and relatively simple to put together with clear instructions.
One of the pieces did come with a gouge and a tear in the laminate, but I accessed Sauder's website, and with just a few numbers and a few clicks, I had a replacement part ordered at no cost. The part came UPS in 5 days.
We purchased from Walmart.com, and used the Site to Store delivery option. We were notified of availability for pickup in two weeks, which was the earliest day they said it would be delivered. Right on time!
All in all, we are very pleased with the product and all parties involved with the purchase and delivery, and would recommend it to anyone looking for an economical bookcase headboard.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 3 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

A very useful product

06/09/2008
By ,
Scottville, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the bookcase. I was able to put it together by myself. The only problem I had was that some of the pieces were not labeled.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 4 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

I love this headboard!!

03/07/2011
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good quality for a great price. It takes at least two people to put it together, but I actually put it together by myself & it was fairly easy. Directions were easy to follow. Great strorage space. Two of my sisters liked it so much they're thinking about getting it for themselves.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Beautiful, Sturdy, Practical & Affordable!

11/22/2013
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one beautiful, sturdy, practical and affordable headboard, but is a little confusing putting it together - for instance - they don't specify which side the main board is supposed to be facing until you are halfway through putting it together - and are like "bummer", and have to take it apart and rearrange it, and since it is mostly particle board - it is really hard getting the screws back out. So make sure you do it right the first time - at least you will know in advance what to look out for - I had read reviews prior to purchase but did not see that warning in any of them. Overall - it is gorgeous and looks way more expensive than the pic, and we love the bookcase part and having a place to put our medicines, remote control, lamps, alarm clocks, etc... Great deal and works perfect with the slumber 1-8 beds and spa sensation frames - that don't transfer movement and hold the bookcase up to the wall without any other needed support!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 6 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Nice Inexpensive Bookcase Headboard!

08/18/2009
By ,
Sunny Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice queen bookcase headboard for the price. It is hard to find a bookcase headboard to fit a queen bed. Most are made for twin size only! I was surprised to see how well the headboard was made. Easy to follow assembly instructions. Can be used for either a full or queen size bed. I chose not to connect it to the bed frame so that I can move the bed around easier if needed. But it comes with brackets to connect to metal frame of bed, if desired, for more stability. I like the adjustable shelves and the perforated cut outs in the back for electrical cords. The back of this bookcase is a wood look cardboard or similar material. It is not wood on the back of bookcase, however it still looks good. Love the FREE Site to Store Shipping! Pick it up at your convenience! Very nice! I would definitely recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 7 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Not just another pretty headboard

04/21/2008
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a headboard that was attractive AND useful, not one that just took up space. The bookcase headboard gave me added space for things I feel I need near me, such as hand lotions, alarm clocks(2), a book or two, TV controllers, a phone. I used to try to have all these things on my nightstand and spent most of the time picking them off the floor. This product needed to be assembled, but it wasn't difficult. I have found it to be very sturdy, stylish and I would recommend it to anyone looking for more storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 8 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

nice

02/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i would give this 4 and a half stars but it wont let me. this is by no means perfect. but it is sturdy and looks really nice. it fit perfect on my queen size bed. the box says it will also fit a full size bed, but i think it would be a bit too big for a full size. my only complaint about this product is that part of the frame is made of this material that appears to be compressed card board. it is only a small part and im sure that is a corner that was cut to save the manufacturer a few cent per unit. particle board is already cheap enough. anyway. lol. all of my reviews sound negative, but i really do love this bookcase headboard. ive got my ipod dock and mine and my girlfriends cell phones charge on it at night. i keep my PSP plugged in up there at all times too incase i wake up and cant fall asleep. anyways.. if you like the picture and still want it after reading what I have said here then you will go away happy with your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

so bad you'll never even use it

01/04/2014
By ,
NYC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I did not know you could buy something this bad. When we tried to put it together, following instructions to the letter, several of the cams broke the material the bed is made of -- that sawdust board that is so soft you feel like you could almost crumble it between your thumb and finger. The "hardware" is plastic that splits and breaks. Sure, a hundred dollars for a headboard is cheap, but not when it is completely unusable. You are supposed to put this thing together and then stabilize it with a backing piece, which itself is little more than cardboard. I'm giving some points for appearance, but that is only based on the picture, as this thing will never be usable. A point for ease of set-up, since it is not particularly hard to do, although it takes two people. If I had some power tools and a shop and access to plywood and other hardware and so forth, I could cobble something together and make it work, but I don't so I won't. This product is absolute junk, and it would cost me more to return it (NYC is difficult) than it's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 10 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Good Looking and Strong

04/30/2010
By ,
gainesville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went together well and very solid after assembly.Great Looking!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Great value

03/24/2008
By ,
MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used ship-to-store, worked great, no damage. Associate loaded it into my car. It was light enough at about 60 lbs. that I unloaded it by myself. Assembled it by myself in about 2 hours. Instructions were easy to follow. I used a ratcheting screwdriver (not powered) and had absolutely no problem with screws being too long or splitting the particle board. Seems sturdy for what it is. It would have been easier to move and attach to the bed when assembled with 2 people, but I was able to do it. I used it on a queen-size, 16-inch mattress on a low profile foundation and a standard frame. The bed height is about 27" and is level with the bottom shelf. I wish the headboard sides were a little longer so the shelves sat higher above the bed, but the uprights still prevent my pillows from ending up inside the shelves, so it's comfortable to prop pillows against it for watching tv. I don't think that more expensive bookcase headboards are any better from what I've seen at the furniture store. It looks nice, holds all my stuff within easy reach, and the price is right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Book Shelf HeadBoard

02/27/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought think for my teenage son who has a queen bed and comes home from college. I wanted his room to look grown up and still homey! It was easy to build and looks great. I read all the reviews before buying. I had it set up an inch above the carpet so I can still move the bed around as a review said! It works perfect- thanks!! Love it! and I know he will too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Very high quality workmanship!

05/21/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very impressed with this headboard. Was very easy to put together by myself. Was surprised by the quality of the wood. It is heavy though so hard to move around by ones self.
I have bought a lot of Sauder furniture and all of it is made to last. Computer Armoire, TV stand, and now this headboard. All matches and looks great in my bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Headboard

02/18/2010
By ,
Torrington,Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for a full size bed, fits great, easy to assemble.The only thing is it could have been about 6 inches higher,not made for thicker mattresses and box springs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

wonderful headboard for an amazing price!

10/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was perfect exactly what i was looking for and very affordable. It was easy to put together. Just follow the instructions and you will be fine. I love how it connects to bed frame for sturdiness although you dont have to connect it. It stood just fine by itself on hard wood floors. On carpet it may not be so sturdy without connecting. I love all the shelves its amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak
04/27/2013
By ,
Plymouth, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sauder has come a long way in the past decade or so. This set looks nice, you have to get close to tell its not real wood. I am however apprehensive because being made of compressed wood board there is that inevitable problem of lack of sturdiness. It feels really well made now, quite sturdy, and was put together with a minimum of hassle. As long as it is not moved around I am sure it will last a long while. Once you start dragging it around the room to rearrange the floor plan is when it will wear out fast! We did have to choose a second (less than ideal) choice in the floor plan to assure that the bed has two side to walk around for making up the bed as apposed to putting one side against the wall, which would require pulling the bed away from the wall each time you made the bed, this would cause stress on wear the headboard is attached to the bed frame and would break away quickly. Glad we thought of that right away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

nice for the price

07/23/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If your looking for a nice headboard, but don't want to spend alot of money, this would be a good purchase. Fairly easy to put together, and looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Review 18 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Easy to Assemble

07/10/2011
By ,
KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The assembly went very quickly. We love the shelves. I love that they are adjustable and have holes for cords in each one for lamps, alarm clocks, and my husband's CPAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

Exactly what I expected

08/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read so many reviews on this headboard. I was just so surprised that it was as cheap as it was. I've only had it for about a week but it fits perfectly into my room. All of the reviews on this product are very accurate and should be taken into consideration. I was able to put this headboard together in about 45 minutes on my own; however, when moving it I needed someone's help. It is pretty heavy. Also, my bedroom is carpeted so the headboard is pretty top heavy but I am hoping for it to settle into the carpet. I used the site-to-store shipping option and it worked out perfectly. Just make sure that you have a large enough vehicle and someone to help you move the headboard from the car to your house.
Great product for the price, I am so excited I went for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Sauder Orchard Hills Full/Queen Bookcase Headboard, Carolina Oak

a bit hard to assemble, but good once done

05/17/2014
By ,
Champaign, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had trouble putting it together, but I have arthritis so I expected that. Also the instructions could have been a lot more explanatory. Once I had it assembled and set up, it was fine. It looks good in my bedroom and now I can put more stuff on my bed--like alarm clocks, books, stuffed animals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 342 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next