Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Whitmor Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Looking for some extra storage option in your house? Get the Whitmor White 36" Clothes Closet and take care of your storage problems in a stylish manner. The wardrobe closet can be placed in your attic, garage, basement, laundry room or bedroom. The cab of this clothes storage closet can be used either as a long term or short term storage solution for your hanging garments. It is a white colored closet that features a breathable fabric cover with an easy access zipper. This Whitmor clothes closet comes with a see-through window section at the top, which enables you to identify the contents without having to open the unit. You can use a couple of the storage closets to separate the seasonality of your clothing collection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.589 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation76%72 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
7
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Okay for a few items only!

10/05/2008
By ,
AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product looks nice, is easy to assemble, and protects clothes well, but it's pretty flimsy. It's okay for a few lightweight items but it'll cave in and collapse if you try to store more on it (you could never store as much as they show in the picture). The bar you hang the clothes on is okay but the two supports on either side of it are plastic and they sag inward. Then they're pulled off the tops of the four vertical supports that they sit on top of and the whole thing collapses. Definitely worth it if you have just a few lightweight items to store; get something more substantial if you have anything heavier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Fine Choice for A Few Items

01/19/2008
By ,
Kansas City, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This 36-inch closet could make a fine choice for a very economical extra storage for a few items in a neutral color. It's very affordable, lightweight, and simple to assemble. It's has an attractive-enough design. However, since it is 36 inches wide I expected it to be able to support 36 inches of clothes. It could not. Two or three days after hanging what I thought was a reasonable amount of clothes across the 36 inch bar the frame broke. If someone wants to hang just a few things in it and isn't concerned with the fact that it's actually taking up 3 ft. of space for only a few items, then it''ll be fine. If one really needs 3ft. of extra closet space ... BUY SOMETHING STURDIER!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet
02/10/2008
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this closet. I bought it for my newborn's clothes. I dont have to worry about dust getting on them when I wash them. I also use it to store his bedding for the crib down at the bottom. It was very easy to set up, I did it with a 9 month pregnant belly. Light weight and perfect, just what I needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Not really worth it

11/14/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this closet for about 2 months, and Now I can no longer use it! I can not hold teh weight of a large amount of clothing. I have my daughter's dresses who is 4 (about 10 dresses# and my dresses#8 dresses) and like 3 coats and it started to lean and give way at the weight of the clothing in like less than a month. Now, one of the bars is bent from leaning and the locations where you place the poles is broken, then teh bars slide out of the holes. If you are looking for something to take weight...this is not your closet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

greatly disappointed

04/03/2009
By ,
oklahoma city, ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i was thoroughly pleased with the ease of site to store, but that is where the greatness of this experince ended. the product is easy to assemble, however, if you intend to use it longer than five minutes i suggest that you keep looking. the product collapsed as i was filling it i had only placed about 5-10 lightweight shirts and approximately 3 dresses. the metal/aluminun poles not steel, buckled under the weight of the garments. this item may be more appropriate for infant clothes storage. i definately would not recommend this product, i guess you get what you pay for. i have returned this item and am still shopping around for a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Good Storage Closet

07/31/2007
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The closet was very easy to put together; I did it myself, with no tools, at a storage facility, and then loaded it. Worked perfectly, although one of the zipper knobs fell off while putting it together, it didn't really need two of them. Would recommend this for limited storage usage (not airtight), but excellent for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Great for that extra clothes space.

01/27/2014
By ,
Norfolk,Va.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Whitmore Clothes Closet is a life saver.It holds more clothes than I expected and you can install it in notime at all.I would definitely recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

A handy little extra closet

07/16/2007
By ,
APO AE, Germany
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item, when you need a handy little extra closet! Great buy! Buny
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Great

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for what I need it for . Sturdy durable I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Amazing Value for Money

03/29/2011
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Manhattan, so closet space is scarce. This wardrobe allowed me to more than double my close size and was VERY easy to assemble. No tools necessary. For those who claimed it fell apart on them, make sure you insert the poles in as far as possible. For the price of this wardrobe, it's an absolutely fantastic deal. Two of my friends have purchased this since I got mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

01/26/2009
By ,
Shreveport La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this product is great. It is exactly what I needed. I only withheld a star because the product is not 100% sturdy. It is not in a level spot and it leans and rocks a bit. Once I shimmed the thing it is much sturdier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

does the job

05/29/2009
By ,
Beaumont, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this item to store winter coats/apparel in my storage unit and works great. Keeps dust out and was fairly easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet
12/16/2012
By ,
oskaloosa, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
piece of junk. do not recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Works As Expected

10/03/2009
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As mentioned in other reviews you can't bog this closet down with heavy items such as jackets or bulky winter clothing, however if you choose to hang simply t-shirts or light long sleeve shirts on this rack it will hold up just fine so long as you don't violently shift the clothes side to side as the assembly is not built to withstand it. As far as a free standing closet goes this is well worth $20. Currently I have 65+ t-shirts on my rack and it seems that it'll hold up for as long as I'll ever need it. The assembly literally took less than five minutes although while assembling it I had little faith that the hollow rods would brace the clothes I had ready for it, nevertheless it works for exactly what I need it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Awesome backstock option. Keeps the bugs out!

02/27/2012
By ,
League City, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this a year ago to use as an out of season storage in the garage. I am limited on closet space. Soon, my fiance will be moving in. To be fair, it's best to give him equal amount of space. :-)
Because of the rod, lightweight clothing such as your blouses, shirts, skirts, dresses and lightweight pants work best.
The only thing is, I am looking to replace a "foot part," because while parking my car in the garage, I backed into the rack. 3 foot pegs are maintaining. Does anyone idea where to buy replacement part?. Who's the manufacturer? I could not find it online.
Besides the little incident, it's sturdy for me. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Excellent for dorms!

09/04/2007
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't have enough closet space in my room so a friend of mines suggested one of those metal clothes racks. I didn't want my clothes out in the open for every one to see. I also wanted to keep the spiders out of my clothes because they were always in the little closet that I did have. So, I saw this product and for the price decided to give it a go. It's an excellent product. I have my jeans folded at the bottom and my blankets in the comforter bags on the top and it still holds like 80lbs of clothing. Everything I own except my winter coats are in there and it doesn't wabble or weeble! Good product! Excellent for dorms!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Extra Closet Space

08/01/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the product. Great to use when limited closet space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

I expected better

09/21/2008
By ,
ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is expensive and I expected for the price for it not to be made with plastic. I didn't over load it with items, but I found it the next day broke and bent over. The top structure was made of plastic which couldn't handle the weight of a rack of dress shirts . The middle bar sagged, which led to the corner plastic pieces to brake. I was not happy. Because I was so expensive, I didn't want to through it away. So I had to spend an hour heavily duck taping the structure back to form, and yet it still it propted leaning back so I won't fall over.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

A Very Helpful Product

12/04/2007
By ,
Cleveland, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is ONLY for light weight clothing. I have about 15-20 blouses hanging and to make room in my bedroom closet, I took out some shoeboxes that I store my seasonal shoes in and put them in the bottom of this portable clothes closet. I also have my sweaters and turtlenecks folded at the bottom, which freed up some room in dresser and armoire. If needing to move this product from one location to the next, it's best to have at least two people picking it up and moving it. Or, if by yourself, take out everything then move it. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor White 36-inch Clothes Closet

Baby Closet Maybe

03/18/2009
By ,
SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well reading the positive reviews I thought I would take a chance but what a joke. One you have to get it to stay up. It has little black plastic polls kind of like the Power Ranger Tent my boys had when they were toddlers and then you have to make sure nothing heavy hangs on it. Baby clothes only. It took a while to get it to stand up and once we did we took it right down and put it in the box to return back to the store. If you want something for new born clothes this would do it otherwise do not waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next