Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spyderco Spyderco USA Native Knife

Spyderco Spyderco USA Native Knife

Engineered for the human hand, the Native is designed for performance & dash; without compromising comfort. Its Bi-Directional Texturing minimizes forward or backward sliding. A David Boye Dent ensures the lock remains safely engaged, even when gripping the handle forcefully. And jimping along the spine offers a slip-resistant point for the thumb. Features a hollow-ground CPM-S30V steel blade with a weight-reducing swedge ground from the spine. An ideal piece for collectors.
Average Customer Rating:
4.72 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%25 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Strong and beautiful

09/26/2007
By ,
Yorba Linda, CA, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spyderco's knives are always top-notch products, but some can be a bit ugly (their Harpy model, for instance, scares the heck out of people who don't like knives). The Native model is one of the most beautiful knives made anywhere, at any price (and look at that price!). The way the curve of the blade arcs smoothly into the curve of the handle is sheer poetry, and the fact that it does it either open or closed is pretty amazing. The spiderweb motif molded into the handle makes the knife amazingly non-slip, as do the finger choils (the finger grooves on the bottom) and the cut-outs at the top of the blade. The clip can be moved from side to side and top to bottom, depending on how you like to clip it into a pocket or on a belt (though they do tend to gouge your steering wheel when you get in the car, so be careful there). I liked it so much, I have two, and wear them daily. All in all, a rare beauty at a great price, that will give you many years of happy service. Buy now, you won't be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

The only knife you will need

03/10/2008
By ,
Northwest Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's all been said already, but this knife is worth another review.
- S30V steel - THE best blade avail. today
- Fits nicely in your pocket and in your hand
- Easy 1 hand open/close, but secure enough you do not have to worry about it opening in your pocket
- Secure lock and grip
- Clip is easily removable (with coin) for use with lanyard in situation where you are concerned about losing this beauty
- Made in Golden, Colorado
- Lightweight for everyday carry, yet very useful for all sizes of jobs.
- Super sharp out of the box, and hold edge very well ( don't waste your $$ on the reccomended sharpening set - you will likely lose it or give it away first)
This knife will quickly become part of your daily routine - keys, cell, sunglasses and Native - every time you leave the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Excellent Knife

03/21/2008
By ,
McKeesport,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this yesterday at 6:30 pm and by 3 pm today I had it delivered to me by UPS..I only paid for regular shipping by ground..So there is absolutely no complaint there.. Thank you Wal-Mart and UPS.
I've been collecting knives for some 35 yrs now..This knife is a great value in terms of fit,finish and materials used..The alloy of CPM-S30V is one of the super steels.Imho it's the very best you can get.
It rivals and exceeds 154CM,ATS34 and BG42 easily in terms of sharpness,edge retention,stain
resistance,chip resistance and strength of the blade.
It has more carbon then others and is somewhat harder.I also find this steel to be easier to resharpen if needed.
Out of the box sharpness is very good..But after I honed it to my standards it now holds the sharpest edge money can buy..The price on this knife is impossible to beat or even match..It's truly a bargain at half off or more of what other want for it..
Another big plus to me is the fact it made here in the USA.. I've maintained for yrs that we make the best knives on earth here in the US.Knives of this caliber help to prove that point.. I intend to make this my everyday workhorse by which all other will be judged..
If you want a good all around knife this is truly bargain and fits the bill completely..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great Knife

07/15/2008
By ,
San Lorenzo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great knife. The blade is from Crucible Steel, and the quality is top notch. The blade stays sharp for a long time as well. I did notice after about 2 weeks of casual use the edge lost some of it's sharpness, but was still fine for normal work (cutting rope, slicing up cardboard for recycling, opening packages.) I will say that the S30V is a pain the sharpen with traditional stones. I use the DMT Dia-Sharp stones (Credit card sized) and I have gone through coarse, fine, extra fine and topped it off with a few light swipes with a ceramic finishing stone. Good as new. Long and short : Great knife, but get the Dia sharp stones and a ceramic finisher if you want to keep it sharp (and if your hard on the blades. Cardboard is well known to have a lot of impurities and can even chip steel to a degree.) Also, keep your eye on your blade. Some of these Crucible blades were known to chip when they first came out. You can re-edge it and never have to worry about it again, or you can just be cautious. A very good product. I will stick with VG-10 as it seems to get sharper easier and hold a finer edge longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

An S30V Spyderco for less than $50?

09/10/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That right there is the biggest reason to get one. I love Spyderco knives. I have had my share of Benchmades (including a Rukus), CRKTs, Kershaws, Bucks, etc., etc., but in my opinion Spydercos are the best knives out there and it helps that a lot of them don't break the bank. This native has an S30V blade. That is THE blade steel right now that all the best knives are being made from. Usually to get an S30V blade you would be looking at a minimum of about $100. This Spyderco gives you that at an awesome price. The knife itself is not to shabby either. I bought this for my dad for his birthday. I WILL be getting one for myself as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

This is a steal at $39

07/15/2008
By ,
East Windsor, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I saw a Spyderco knife in CPMS30V (a very high-end stainless steel from Crucible Metals) for less than $90 I just had to have it. The local army/navy store stocks Spyderco folders in high-end steels like VG-10 and S30V, but starting around $79.99. For what I paid, the Native is a steal. The fit, finish and quality are amazing for the price. The CPMS30V blade takes and keeps a shaving sharp edge, and the scales give you a real good grip. If you like the Native, you might also like the Spyderco Delica in VG-10 and the Centofante 3 in VG-10 (all available on walmart.com.) You'd be hard-pressed to find these knives cheaper elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

You Need This!

02/02/2008
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spyderco, the maker of this knife, has scored a winner. This is my favorite knife in their line-up, so much so that this my second Native. It is light weight, but strong. It is quite sharp straight from the box, and there is no horizontal or vertical play when the blade is extended. This knife is comfortable to carry in a pocket, and excels in projects from peeling apples to making fire sticks. The spider web configuration on the handle makes for a good grip. The price makes purchasing this item pleasant on the wallet.
I tried to come up with at least one negative to balance this review, but was unable to do so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

One Great Knife

02/15/2008
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife is way better than one would expect for the money. It's so light you can't feel it in your pocket, but it feels great in the hand and it cuts superbly. The high tech blade steel is a nice plus. It's made in the USA too! You can't go wrong with this one--get one while you still can. The only negative for me, but probably not for many others, is that it has a distinctly tactical look to it, in spite of it's compact size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great value

02/26/2008
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been a big fan of Spyderco for many years. The Native is a very nice knife that lives up to the high standards of quality that Spyderco has set. It is a great knife for the price. The only negative thing that I have to say about the knife is that the handle could be better. If Spyderco had used the volcano texture that they use on the handle of the Delica, etc. it would be much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Spyderco Quality

01/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another excellent product from Spyderco. The Native will cost more than other knives available through WalMart but the Native is an outstanding product. S30V steel is a premium stainless steel with great hardness. Spyderco puts a sharp, long-lasting edge on the Native. Made in the USA in Colorado. An ergonomic handle making it easier to strongly grip the knife and make sure cuts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Buy all day long!

08/03/2008
By ,
Spokane
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spyderco Native with s30v steel and a near perfect balance(a finger under the choil and this thing balances evenly) with a light weight and the feel in hand, under $40? this knife is a STEAL! Made in Golden CO. The blade cut through some thick plastic wrap like it was melting it! I am impressed Spyderco.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

excellent knife

07/20/2008
By ,
stl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as a collector of spyderco, and cold steel knives this is by far the best deal for the price, will shave clean, right out of the box, great ergonomics, and ambidextrous to boot, i plan on buying several more for gifts, I've paid two times the price for knives of this quality, you can't go wrong
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spyderco USA Native Knife
06/08/2008
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this knife right after Christmas of 07. I have been collecting knives for a long time and carry one daily, and this knife is exellent. It was one of the sharpest knives out of the box I have ever bought. And it's still sharp to this day. And I love the fact it is made in the U.S.A.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great knife at a great price

11/26/2007
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Despite the "plastic" construction, this knife has a really solid feel and a nice solid locking mechanism. The CR30V steel used to make the blade keeps a nice razor sharp edge even with frequent use. This is a much better knife than many other well known brands - buy and enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Excellent knife / Great Value

08/06/2007
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent knife - One of the best steels, a light fiber-reinforced nylon (FRN) body that's easy to carry, and a sturdy lockback design for safety. Highly spoken of on web blade forums - a favorite of many. And you won't find a better price than at Wal-mart for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great carry knife!

07/19/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have carried this knife for two years now. I have had to sharpen it one time. The action is quiet and easy opening, The lock is a classic spyderco design, strong and dependable. Every man should have a good knife, nad this one will serve you well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

All Purpose Knife

08/02/2007
By ,
South Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a Native 2yrs ago and carried it every day until I lost it last winter deer hunting. I bought another brand and carried it a few months and gave it away. I just bougt another Native. It is the best all purpose knife I have carried.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Awesome product!

10/04/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe you can get a knife this good for only forty bucks! It feels great in your hand, and you also feel like you have complete control over the knife while using it. Can't say enough about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great!

01/23/2008
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I believe that this is the best knife for under $50 that can be purchased anywhere! Easy to carry, Easy to open, Great blade that stays sharp!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spyderco USA Native Knife

Great Knife

09/26/2008
By ,
South Louidisns
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this knife after seeing several friends with it. This is a great knife. I will certainly make it my everyday carry knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next