Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Quik Shade Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Quik Shade Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

With 144 square feet of shade, the Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy keeps 12 to 18 people cool and well-protected from UV rays. The one piece, white powder coated steel frame withstands rust and hides scratches and the canopy is water, flame and UV-resistant. Also, NEW for 2006 — nylon feet that prevent rust inside the leg of the canopy and scratches if used on a wooden deck. In blue.
Average Customer Rating:
3.552 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation69%20 out of 29reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

easy shade

07/08/2007
By ,
Clermont Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product purchased was a gift and the individual raves about the ease and mobility of the tent. Great gift for someone who has everything
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 2 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

A WASTE OF HARD EARNED MONEY

07/11/2007
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this after doing a little research, but as it turns out not enough. The shelter would be a great indoor tent if the HVAC wasn't too strong. We were replacing an older unit of another brand with this one. We use them camping for shade. Upon arrival we could seethat the seams were as water proof and the frame wasn't as sturdy. After 5 days at our campsite at the beach the cover was starting to tear from the velcro on the sides. By 2 weeks the entire frame broke and fell apart. We had to throw the entire thing away and feel like we wasted our money buying this for the outdoors
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 3 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Rebuild

10/19/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Model RS12B with the cross frame is much more solid than it's predecessor. A nice full 12' x 12' canopy, but get out your T-30 Torx bit socket and sewing basket. The nylon looking connectors and end pieces are brittle and mine had over 12 broken before setting it up. Also the Velcro straps are not sewn well to the canopy & need to be reinforced by hand sewing. Transport wt. is 56 lbs, not 51 lbs as advertised - but it's worth it for the added rigidity. Customer Service is great and will quickly send the parts you need. Inspect closely three times from 6 angles before calling them and purchase a month before you are going to use it; and tighten gently. This is probably the best 12' x 12' canopy out there under 150 lbs. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 4 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Everything I expected + much more

08/15/2007
By ,
Jefferson City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this canopy 4 years ago we use it every summer, ball games, camping, family get togethers & the beach. I am amazed by the durabilty of this product. We camp every weekend and leave it up all summer, however we do take the canopy off before we go home on Sundays, the only time we stake it down is when we are at the beach, the only thing I have noticed is if you take to the beach make sure to spray W-D40 in all the movable parts ocean air is very hard on them. It is extremely simple to set up on 2 people & mine has stickers show you know exactly where to grab when putting up and taking down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 5 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

serves our purpose well

08/14/2007
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We camp with our horses and were looking for a way to have some easy shade when needed. The canopy was a great savings compared to purchasing an awning for our horse trailer. I would suggest taking the awning down if it is going to storm, which is very easy to do. The reason I purchased online was because you cannot find a true 12 x 12 canopy in the stores. Most measure from the BASE of the poles which often angle out at the bottom which makes it sound like the canopy is larger than it actually is. With this canopy the poles do not angle out therefore you are getting a true 12 x 12 in size.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 6 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

12' x 12' canopy

02/22/2008
By ,
Orange, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 12' x 12' canopy is the perfect investment for those that need large areas of shade and outdoor weather protection, or have mobile booths like myself.
I have been using the 10' x 10' canopies in the past.
the 100 sq. ft. seemed a bit enclosed with 3 people, two 2' x 6' tables and some equipment.
The impressive overall size of the 12' x 12' canopy is 144 sq. ft. which seems 50% larger on paper, but when you compare the two canopies side by side the 12' x 12' canopy looks and feels twice the size of the 10' x 10' canopy.
The 12' x 12' canopy is obviously heavier and about twice the size when collapsed (with the exception of its height) over the 10' x 10' canopies.
Setup is quite similar to the 10' x 10' canopy with consideration of is larger size. I have noticed with the 12' x 12' canopy it has extra supports in the middle (top) that extend to the outer sides between the corners (kind of a giant plus sign above your head) Also an extension for the apex of the canopy.
The 12' x 12' has the same durability and rigid construction of the 10' x 10' canopy.
The carrying case of the 12' x 12' canopy however is not as durable or as 10' x 10' canopies you see in the stores. It has wheels but is a lightweight material (flimsy) in comparison to the 10' x 10' canopy case.
Over all the 12' x 12' canopy is well made durable and a smart investment for parties, sports, camping, or any other outdoor recreational use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

good but....

09/25/2007
By ,
louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is what i expected for the price i paid but....
over 60% of the plastic fittings(?), i am not sure what to call them but where the poles meet, were severely cracked and they are essential to the durability of the canopy. if i had not been at an event and needed the tent, i would have returned it because of poor quality of fittings only. the rest of the canopy met my expectations. would not recommend buying unless you inspect on site or have time to return before you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 8 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Beats the Heat

08/09/2007
By ,
Smiths, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband & I bought one and loved it - then our 22 year old wanted one for tailgating. He also left it out & a wind blew up & took it down. Broke one leg. His fault; however.....the tent comes with stakes for long term use and he did not use them.
We bought him another one!! Once you put it together and place it in the bag (included) the next time is as simple as 1,2 3.....to put up. Of couse you need at least two people to put it up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 9 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Not strong enough

10/15/2007
By ,
Jacksonville FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this product at a much higher cost expecting better quality. After a few weeks, a mild wind blew it over and many of the supporting parts broke. Note, we did have the base anchored as recommended. While the product may work ok in areas with zero wind conditions it is not stable or strong enough in even the most mild weather condistions. Having said that, you probably don't need the product if such conditions existed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Did not meet expectations

07/24/2007
By ,
Russellville Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this and had shipped to our vacation WalMart in Myrtle Beach for our partents 50th wedding anniversary.
We were only able to use for 2 days. The legs bent and broke with other tents used by our neighbors not affected by the small amount of wind.
Therefore our parents were not able to enjoy the week we had planned for them at the beach.
Very disappointed with the quality of this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

It great

09/05/2007
By ,
Lebanon, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great, takes two to put up and down, but thats fine. The legs are a little weak, its like a big kit if you extend it fully. However still works on a non windy day. I would buy again at this price (129) for the 12x12. I have a 10x10 also althou after a year the top is starting to wear alot, and it has been up for at least three weeks of the year strait. Rock on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 12 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Great Portable Shade

07/23/2007
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the 12' x 12' Quik Shade to take when we go riding at the track. The 12' size is large enough to cover 2 bikes as well as have space for chairs and coolers. In open pit areas its great to be able to have shade to rest or work on the bikes.
The canopy sets up easily and takes down easily and its included wheeled case makes transport easy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 13 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Nice, huge canopy

11/16/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very happy with this canopy. It is huge, which is want we wanted. It's much larger than the 10x10 because the 12x12 extends to STRAIGHT poles as opposed to the slanted poles of the 10X10. It was very easy to set up with 2 people, super easy with 4 people. Be sure to tie it down on windy days!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

A smart choice

09/18/2007
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this canopy for an outdoor art exhibit. It was very easy for my husband and I to set up and take down. It fits back into the bag very nicely. I'm very happy with my decision to purchase it. I believe it's worth every penny and that we'll find many opportunities to use it in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 15 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Not what we expected

09/21/2007
By ,
Nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We found this tent to be a bit unstable. The legs are not sturdy and are very wobbly when fully extended. Also, the cross arms that keep the tent canopy taut are too low for anyone over 5 1/2 feet tall. We would not recommend this tent and have returned ours.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 16 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

This is a bad product

11/03/2007
By ,
Dublin,Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the 12 x 12 and when I open the box the canopy had several holes in it and some of the connectors were cracked and carring bag had holes in it too. And and the seams were torn. I don't recomend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Needs to be improved

07/25/2007
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Products falls down at the slightes ghist of wind or rain. When we went to pull it down because it fell from one side it snapped all over, braking the whole canopy apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

Works great!

07/22/2007
By ,
Jacksonville, FL area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lighter than most models. Easy to set-up. Only downside was that most of the plastic connectors were broken. This has not affected its operation, but my in the long-run.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue

very useful

10/23/2007
By ,
Glendale, Ky.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Quik shade was really very easy to set up. I feel that the legs might be a little light weight, but I don't think that would be a problem, unless it is real windy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 20 for Quik Shade Recreational 12' x 12' Instant Canopy, Blue
07/24/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This canopy is I suppose good for shade, but if it could not be used when it rains because the way it is build causes water to accumulate on the canopy in big pools.
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next