Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Norelco Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Norelco Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

The new Philips Norelco T980 Accuvac trimmer features the Norelco Precision Trimming System, Precision Zoom Lock, and The Turbo Vacuum give you a no mess trim with the most suction power GUARANTEED!
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%65 out of 70reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Poor Adjustment Design

01/26/2008
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ok, I have had this item for almost a year it seems. I use it often so it has not been a totally lost purchase.
Pros:
1. The vacuum system will catch most of your trimings - some do not make it into the trap, but hey its much better than ones without the option.
2. The turbo button, but one wonders why this was not just the speed it would always run at. I always use it.
3. Rechargeable and so far has held long charges for multiple trimmings
4. If you take the head off and use the bare cutter, you can get a pretty good shave with a tiny stubble left over. Its better than any electric shaver I had purchased in the past. However, be careful, I have nicked myself at least twice.
Cons: This is my big beef that keeps it from 5 stars if you are reading Norelco!
1. The poorly designed adjustment feature. You twist to lock it in place, but the one I have does not stay locked for long and will continue to slip down to the next number as you use it. Nothing like messing up your trim when you start on a 3 and end up with a 1 on the other side of the face. I have a piece of duct-stape wrapped around my adjustment band to keep it from moving on its own.
I marked recommend to buying because its still the best trimmer for my beard I have found to date.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Review 2 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

very nice

01/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just purchased the t980, and am very impressed. previously i've bought cheaper beard trimmers & they just don't seem to last. they don't do nearly the job on my face that the t980 does. the vaccum works great. for years i've been yelled at because of hair on the sink. no matter what kind of cleaning i did, my girl would always find my hair somewhere. with the 980 no cleanup is involved. yea, it's a little expensive, but all in all worth the cash (considering that it's durable...i haven't had mine for long, so we'll see). on a final note, it comes with a travel bag, which is great. i can even fit my nose/ear trimmer in it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 3 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Norelco T980

09/04/2009
By ,
Chino CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent. It is easy to use, clean and holds a good charge. Easy to understand instructions.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 4 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Good but not portable

06/19/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I returned mine. I bought this trimmer to replace my old Norelco T7500 that no longer holds a charge for a trip overseas. Upon receiving the new T9800 I was disappointed at seeing how big the charger was. Not portable at all especially when you have to condense your luggages when flying these days. My old T7500 only uses a regular cord to charge, making it easy to pack it around. I could not find a picture of the charger online at neither Walmart.com nor Norelco's site prior to the purchase.
The trimmer itself seem to be fine and I assume the chamber is convenient. I would have kept the product if it hadn't been for the charger. Bit picky on my part and most might not care. I am still searching around given most trimmers today seem to come with a lot of accessories and some even a dock station. I prefer to keep mine in a storage bag in my drawer rather than taking up space on our sink counter.
I wish Norelco would remake the convenient T7500.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 5 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Great Beard Trimmer

04/24/2009
By ,
AOR, SW Asia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Norelco Trimmer back in October of 2006, and it's still running like a champ! I use it a minumum of three times a week for my beard and once every two weeks for shaving my head. The battery still has enough juice in each charge to last 2 weeks for me, almost 3 years later, WELL worth the money spent. Although it's not ideal for cutting hair, and is sold as a beard trimmer, I still use it as such. The only problem with that is that I have to empty it every two to three passes, or take the alternate route of blocking off the vacuum feature, Duct tape fixes everything by the way. Overall though, great value, this thing has lasted me two 6-month deployments to the desert and almost 3 years now total. I would recommend as a tough product that can take some abuse, I drop it at least once a month, and it still works, hah.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

A shaver for hairy men

10/06/2010
By ,
Bayville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Norelco T980 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer lives up to its name. I am a very hairy man and need a trimmer that can cut through course thick hair without the mess. The product has a built in vacuum that stores the cut hair in a seperate chamber.
The trimmer attachhment works great at keeping my beard and mustache looking neat and professional. I find the product very easy to use and battery keeps its charge for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

good shave

10/18/2008
By ,
tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best trimmer i have ever bought, and ive bought alot
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Cheaply Made

07/02/2008
By ,
Hannibal, Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this item based on the positive reviews. However, after using twice in two weeks the plastic trimmer length guard would not stay snapped in place. Having this feature appears key for beard trimming. I did remove the guard after each of the two uses to fully clean the trimmer. Perhaps this weakened the molded plastic so as to not permit the tension to retain it at the third use. I found the turbo vac feature to work well and the trim setting to remain in place. The defect found with my trimmer could not be blamed on any travel or rough use as neither was done with this machine, heeding earlier reviewers comments. I returned the trimmer for refund and am now looking for replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Amazing Shaver

08/16/2010
By ,
Washington DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this about a month ago and charged it when I opened the box. It is still charged. I use it twice a week to shave my head and trim my goatee. The vacuum feature actually works very well. It collects 95% of the clippings. I no longer have 15 minutes of clean-up after shaving my head. The Turbo feature is also great if my hair is a little longer or for my goatee.
My only complaint is that it is a little bit heavier than my previous razor, but it is a small sacrifice to pay for the long battery life and vacuum feature. This is well worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Vacuum sucks

09/30/2010
By ,
Lake Elsinore, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had been using an old Norelco, don't remember the product number. It worked flawlessly for years until the battery finally took a dump. So, thinking that Norelco/Philips would be improving their trimmer I bought this one. BIG MISTAKE!! The last trimmer was basic but had the 9-head adjustments and that's it. This one because of the vacuum has a thicker head, is heavier and fills up where the vacuum is supposed to suck up the hair all it does is clog and make the trimmer not work. I'll be looking for another trimmer this time NOT Norelco.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 11 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Pleased all-around

06/11/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this trimmer a handful of times now and I really like it. I charged it for the first time a few weeks back and it's still running strong from the first charge. It trims as close as I need it which is an issue I had with other models. The vacuum is just a bonus so anything that it doesn't catch (I'd say maybe 20% when the hair is longer) is not a big deal for me. My only "complaint" is that it's difficult to get in my nostrils for nose-hair trimming but I'm not sure if I'm normal with this request.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

norelco t980

07/23/2008
By ,
arundel maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow wow wow, what an awesome product, get it before its gone, its a fantastic trimmer, It cuts like buttah, I have had other trimmers like the cobra, and if you like your beard getting pulled from your chin, then go with one of those and you'll be happy. But if you like a nice quick shave with a laser sharp trimmer, then go with the t980 and start enjoying a trim with a professional grade trimmer. The vacuum feature is not the best but it does catch alot of stubble. but this product is 5 star all the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Norelco T980 Accuvac

07/02/2009
By ,
Stephenville, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is simple to use, don't have to worry about having different sizes of combs to use for it. Very Simple to switch between the 2 different cutting blades that they have for it.
The vacuum section of the trimmer work alright, I wouldn't say that it get all the hair all the time.
The camber that the hair collects in, is a little bit small,
and it easily fills up, I wish it was little bit bigger, so I can spend less time stopping and emptying the camber out.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 14 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Great product

03/10/2008
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for simplicity and ease of use, this is the trimmer. No fancy attachments, only a couple, and easy to exchange. The built-in vaccum and hair collector is an awesome feature....very little, if no clean-up. Easy to dial in required length and trims beard evenly.
Easy charging, easy maintenance, easy use over-all. I would recommend to all beard wearers looking for an easy and quick trimmer.
Joe (husband to Deb) lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Great Trimmer

05/16/2009
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the fact that it get's rid of all of the hair in the carpartment then all you got to do is dump it in the trash bucket great product I think from Norelco. My other trimmer I had I didn't care for it though because it would let the hair clipings down in the sink and down the drain then I would have to clean it all up pain in the butt. It cost 54.00 Dollars for it to me I think it's alot of money oh well though.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer
01/07/2008
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So nice to have a trimmer that catches most of the hair! A piece has started to break on the trimmer, and my husband has only had it for a few weeks, but whatever the piece is isn't significant, I guess it's just cosmetic... This is a lot more expensive than other trimmers, but does not catch or pull on hair, and works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

A great buy

07/06/2010
By ,
San Antonio,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone through many trimmers and have always been in trouble with my wife for leaving a hairy mess all around and in the sink. With this new trimmer, almost all the hair gets sucked into the chamber and leaves almost no mess! I think its great, and my wife thinks its the best. It also helps the the trimmer works well.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 18 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

Works- really works

10/02/2010
By ,
Alameda, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what it was designed to do and as it is represented. It's not a hair clipper, nor was it designed to be - it is a great beard & mustache trimmer. The vacuum action results in absolutely no mess to clean up when you are finished using it. Battery life is excellent and the cordless features is a gotta-have!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

No hair in the sink

02/03/2009
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trimmer works GREAT. No more getting yelled at for leaving hair in the sink. It is very easy to adjust the height settings. The collection cup is easy to empty. No mess, just dump the trimmings in the trash. It is easy to use, and cordless so you can use it anytime/anywhere. A great product at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Philips Norelco T980/60 Accuvac Beard & Mustache Trimmer

A wonderful gift for Hubby!

07/09/2010
By ,
Marysville,Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldnt find anything that really stood out to me for fathers day.Well i went online shopping and came across this high quality,modern edge,vacuum equipped trimmer.Wonderful,and the price I paid for it online was even cheaper than in store.For all my online shopping, I will be visiting walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next