Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Norelco Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Norelco Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

The new Philips Norelco 7140XL shaving system uses Philips' core technology to provide the world's closest rotary shave.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%102 out of 110reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
73
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Excellent shaver

07/02/2007
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife of 23 years bought this for me for an early Father's Day gift. I used it, and fell in love with it. I never had a Norelco before, but it works excellent, and on a scale from 1to10, I rate it a 20. So I hope this explains and I highly recommend it very, very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 2 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Better than higher priced razors

07/05/2007
By ,
Soquel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised to find how well this razor worked on my Father's tough beard. 2 years ago I had purchased a very expensive self-cleaning, rechargeable razor for him, but this one shaves closer without the pulling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Nice Shave

10/12/2007
By ,
Hereford, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I used this the first time I was worried that it didn't work properly because the motor doesn't sound that strong or "noisy" making me think it wouldn't shave very well but I was mistaken. It's actually nice to have a quite shaver that shaves so close and clean up is so easy just rinsing it off under the water tap. I am very impressed with the durability and style of this shaver and I also like the flexable heads, I would recommend this shaver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

That's a close shave!

01/24/2008
By ,
East hartford,Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first got the razor,I thought that it was'nt going to be as close a shave as a regular razor.But to my surprise it was. You just have to let your face get use to it like it says in the manuel.The only thing that is wrong with it ,is that you don't know when it needs recharging.But besides that it's worth the money.And it's faster too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Gets the job done

02/11/2008
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shave is not as close or clean as a razor, but for the first electric razor that I have ever owned, it is getting the job done, and I find myself enjoying shaving more often. Takes a week to get your skin used to it, but after that it is pretty darn good. Easy to clean -which is a plus- and quick to charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 6 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Great shaver

09/10/2007
By ,
Denton, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replaced my Mach 3 razor, save me a lot of money on razor blades and it is so much easier to shave, does not need any water or shaving cream. Easy to use and battery last forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

a ok

03/01/2008
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its nice n quiet does not wake me up like his old one lol and does a great job im so glad i got this for him
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Work fine

03/31/2008
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it for about a week, and so far it is working fine. For the price it is a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

a great shave everytime

02/27/2008
By ,
Monroe, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did use the Remington Titanium microscreen electric razor. I owned it for 3 years, I got tired of replacing the blades/screen every 6 months or less. I read several reviews on the Phillips Norelco rotary blade electric shavors, I went and purchased this one that I'm reviewing and it works very well. No cuts, no irriation, and it cuts very close and smooth. I do suggest that you also purchase the Williams' letric (pre-electric) pre-shave Green Tea it makes the razor glide even smoother. This is the best shave that you will ever get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Great Gift

12/29/2008
By ,
Turlock, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this razor for my husband. I bought a different razor a couple of years ago and he's had problems with it. I wanted to get him a new one, a better one and was looking towards the Norelco Avalanch. After reading reviews here I chose this one instead, it's reviews were much better and it was less expensive, too. My husband can grow a beard overnight and he had three days growth when he received this razor. It shaved his face clean, smooth and it didn't pull. He's happy with it. That's good enough for me!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Still excellent after 6 months

10/23/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Has given me a good shave for over 6 months. I use it every day and it doesnt take long to give a good smooth shave. I find a charge lasts me about 2 weeks. And if I forget to charge it, I just plug the cord in to the wall and I get another good shave, then leave it plugged in and it'll be fully charged the next time I need it. I dont bother with washing it to clean it, I just tap the hair out from the razor head cover. Easy to hold, push switch always works. For just over $50, its great value for money.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Good all round shaver

12/09/2007
By ,
San Francisco CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought the Norelco shaver for me and it is a good close shave though as the other feedback said it does take a while to catch all the whiskers. This is fine x me as I would prefer a closer shave and buys me some thinking time in the bathroom. The waterproof body is lightweight and makes for an easy clean and is good for travelling and fits easily into my toiletries bag which has followed me all around the country. Philips makes a well engineered little shaver that is good value for money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

My HuSbAnD LoVeD iT!

12/29/2008
By ,
Remington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this shaver for my husband as a Christmas gift & will admit I wasn't for sure what to look for in a shaver for him so using my best judgment I picked this one. My husband loved it & as soon as he opened it he went to the bathroom & started shaving with it. :) He told me I did an awesome job at picking this one out especially since I wasn't sure what kind of specs guys look for in electric shavers. Being arnry he did ask me, "So you couldn't find it in red instead of blue?" MEN!!! LoL*
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Good shaver

12/28/2008
By ,
Newberg, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for our 24 yr old son for Christmas since he was spending a fortune on blades for his manual shavers. He'd never used an electric razor before and wasn't sure he wanted to because he has very sensitive skin that easlily gets razor bumps even with manual blades and gel. So far he really likes it... nice close shave, no irritation, easy to use, charges fast, and looks "cool". Great value for price paid on sale at Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Better than the rest

10/02/2007
By ,
Prattville,AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Remington Titanium razor first. After using it once I quickly returned it to the store. Then I purchased this razor. I have to say this is the best razor I have ever owned. And at a price that was unbeatable. It gives you the shave of the more expensive razors without the cost. The shave is just as close as a disposable razor. I shave every day so I have to say it holds up very well also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Well made

10/14/2008
By ,
1511 N. West St. Apt. 1
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having had three shavers by Norelco it really wasn't difficult to figure out what to get. Each one lasting well over fifteen years. Even then two of the three were replace only because of new technology. They always give a great shave and charge time is very fast. I have a heavy beard so I trust the action this one has to get the job done. Just like those before it, I've never been let down.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Very close shave.

04/29/2008
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Norelcos for 20 years and usually replaced them for battery reasons. I would get about 4+ years of use from the razors. This model gives a very good shave and reminded me that no matter how well you clean the rotary heads, replacing them or the razor after a few years is a good idea. Dulled heads and weak batteries give bad shaves and are tough on the skin.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Just What we needed.

10/10/2008
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No extra bells, and whistles. Just the way
we needed it! I bought this for my husband
who is a deal seeker. Buying a mens product
for your spouse can be hard when there are so
many options. Middle of the road price for
wonderful product. Less extras to worry about
breaking! Great Buy for the money. Shaves amazingly close, great for smooth shave! Very quiet too!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

Product exceeded expectations

07/02/2008
By ,
Foley, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Husband
very happy with product purchased for him as a Father's Day gift. In
the past, I always purchased the razor that he thought was great, and
what a big let-down really fast. He tells me he is really impressed
with how close it shaves, the way the trimmer works, that it holds the
charge and the ease with which he is able to clean the razor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Norelco 7140XL Electric Shaver

disappointing shave

11/25/2007
By ,
Clearwater, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband said the shaver did not give him a smooth and complete shave. He had to keep moving the shaver around over his face and he still had whiskers left. The shaver does not have enough cutting blades and they are not close enough together. He has bought a Remington Shaver that works much better and he's very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next