Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NETGEAR Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

RangeMax" NEXT wireless routers and adapters extend the possibilities of your wireless home network by providing a Steady-Stream of wireless connectivity up to 270 Mbps. RangeMax NEXT delivers maximum speed and coverage, 15 times faster and 10 times further than the previous standard. Now you can surf the Internet, download MP3s, make Internet phone calls, share files, play network games, and stream high-definition videos, simultaneously throughout your home. Elegant preset internal antenna design and high-performance testing and tuning, ensures maximum performance every time. RangeMax NEXT is compatible with all legacy b and g wireless products, so you are assured to get connected and for the first time provides interoperability at the highest speeds with other products with Intensi-fi". Touchless WiFi Security simplifies establishing the highest level of network security. Setup is easy thanks to NETGEAR®'s Smart Wizard" and 24/7 technical support.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation79%15 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Quick and easy

03/18/2009
By ,
Saratoga, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After having a bad experience with a Belkin N router this one was a dream. I don't know much if anything about wireless networks but it was so much easier and sane compared the previous router.
We just hooked it up, dropped the CD in and in about five minutes everything was set and already to go. I couldn't have asked for anything easier than if someone set it up for me.
I also bought a Netgear wireless G MIMO card to go with it and they both work seamlessly. Compared to what I went through with the Belkin I think I'm sticking with Netgear in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Reliable Wireless, Reasonably Priced

01/09/2008
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I replaced an older ineffective 802.11B router (different brand) with the Netgear WNR834B 802.11N because it was recommended on the website of a highly respected consumer product testing magazine.
.
The Good: Strong wireless connectivity throughout throughout my two-story townhome, no periodic loss of signal (which plagued my former router), no interference from four other nearby wireless networks, and a noticeable increase in download speeds from the previous router.
.
The Bad: The installation CD did not run on my latest-version PC operating system, resulting in a lengthy conversation with Netgear's overseas techie, who tenaciously provided 50 minutes worth of heavily accented assistance until I was up and running.
.
The Result: I'm happy as a clam at high tide. The price was right compared to other sources I explored, the performance dazzles me, and my wife can now use her laptop at her leisure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Good Idea. Poor Implementation

12/05/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this router and one corresponding Netgear 802.11n USB unit and installed it in our home with 4 WiFi devices. It is a classy looking unit that felt like it had a very good build quality. It came with all necessary cables and a power supply. It installed rather easily.
At first this router worked appeared to work very well, but I soon found out it does not appear to have a consistent connection uptime.
For my 802.11n computer it was very fast when connected, but lost connection frequently and was less reliable that an older Linksys 802.11g router. This router also did not have very good backward compatibility with 802.11g devices.
My wife's 802.11g laptop was never able to maintain connection to this device while only feet away in the same room and when connected performed slower than our older router that was having problems.
My iPhone connected via 802.11g seemed slower than our older router.
My PS3 connected via 802.11g seemed significantly slower than our older router.
This device was created prior to the 802.11n WiFi protocol becoming standardized (it was in draft status at the time). I expect we will see some very nice 802.11n routers come out now that that protocol has been standardized, but I would wait on purchasing an 802.11n router now. If you need a WiFi router immediately, get a 802.11g unit with as many antennas as possible. External antennas will always be better than internal antennas and have better directionality too.
Note: One user commented that this WiFi router was slower than his hard wire connection. That will always be the case. No wireless router has anywhere close to the speed or packet perfection of a Cat5 hard wired connection. WiFi is designed around accessibility and ease of networking, but until technologies advance further they will not be faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Netgear RangeMax NEXT WNR834B Wireless Router

09/24/2007
By ,
Stephens City, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup and works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Amazing

04/07/2009
By ,
Owens Cross Roads, AL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Consumer Reports gave this Router the highest Wireless Router rating. Their rating was correct. I have many wireless dead spots in my home, and Belkin's equivalent equipment could not penetrate these areas. I decided to replace the router with this Netgear WNR834B and paired it up with the Netgear WN111 USB Adapter, and every dead spot in my home now has an extremely strong and consistant signal speed strength of 154mbps up to 270mbps. This Router is awesome and worth every penny. It does just as it says, no more dead spots and no more dropped signals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

well worth the money

08/07/2008
By ,
Groton, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this product about a two weeks ago and i have not had a single problem (like connection issues) with it yet. i have friends with more expensive routers that still do not perform as well as this one does. Also the setup was really easy, just put in the cd, follow the few steps and thats it. And if you need help, their technical support is really good, so they will able to help with a problem over the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

great router

03/04/2009
By ,
Rochester,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this router today,took very little time to install,and was up and running on two desk tops,and two laptops,with no problems!. A lot better router than belkin and the rest of them,I have an other netgear wire less G router and it works great also,gave the older g to my son,and he likes it also. Can not beat the price. And they work great,very good security on the netgear routers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

wireless router

06/29/2008
By ,
Magazine, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was totally disappointed with this product! I have an 8 year old hard wired system for my home network that is twice as fast as this wirelees system. It has slowed down my internet speed and my computer! I'll be returning this system in the morning.
For those that do not currently have a network this might be okay but if you have a wired network avoid this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 9 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

works well after initial problem

06/21/2009
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first wireless router and the installation was easy to do and instructions easy to follow.
Initially it did not work. I called customer service and they changed router settings to solve the problem.
BUT the next day it started to drop off the connection.
I called again and after more router setting changes it has worked great the last two weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 10 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Made my computer slow

12/23/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I originally bought a Belkin G+ wireless router but i couldn't play games on my Wii so I upgraded my router to this and it made my computer soooo slow...so i refunded this product.
What i got it for it did but it also hindered my computers performance so it had to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

useless

11/07/2008
By ,
Yelm WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thing won't work if you don't have a seperate modem to hook up to it. So now I have a useless piece of equipment because I can't find a modem that will work with it. And I had to buy a different wireless router
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 12 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Great product for value!

11/23/2008
By ,
Queens, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is very simple to setup but unfortunately for me I had to use the products tech support. Tech support was kind, patient and very helpful. Everything was up and running within 10 minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

great service

09/21/2008
By ,
reidsville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very easy to install
when there was a problem....the best service
i have ever had when dealing with someone on the phone....great knowledge of product and very patient with me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Great Router!

10/01/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speed is good, connectivity is great, compatible with a lot of different uses (I use it for iPhone, PC, and Mac). Also very easy to set up
I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Great product for DD-WRT

01/09/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fast speeds except one room in house. Fast transfer rates and nice design. Easy to setup. Slow web interface.
Installed DD-WRT and exceeded expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

good router

09/21/2008
By ,
albuquerque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
installed in about 10 minutes and was online in probably 12 minutes tops, simple, simple setup. signal is excellent throughout the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

Works like a dream.

11/10/2008
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ease of installation and set-up was a breeze. Works just like it says it would. Would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router

great product

10/01/2008
By ,
richmond,IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after installing this product my computer speed more than doubled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Netgear WNR834 RangeMax NEXT Wireless-N Broadband Router
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5