Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ronco Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Ronco Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

The Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator boosts your kitchen fun by making a variety of cooking processes simpler. The small appliance is designed to dry fruits and vegetables along with beef to make tasty jerky. It works with great speed and ease to take the hard work out of certain tasks. If you are a crafts enthusiast, you can also use it dry flowers, leaves and other craft materials. This Ronco food dehydrator provides ample space to accommodate items of a wide variety of sizes as it has five large trays stacked neatly one above the other. This lightweight and easy-to-use dehydrator will make an excellent addition to your kitchen. It lets you make snacks in a jiffy and with less power consumption. This five-tray dehydrator uses a convection system for greater efficiency and energy savings. It also stores easily even in smaller or compact spaces.
Average Customer Rating:
3.732 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
40
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation75%107 out of 142reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
40
3 stars
14
2 stars
8
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Love My Ronco Dehydrator

03/25/2010
By ,
SoCo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use mine all the time without any of the problems listed by other users. I'd suggest reading the intructions before using as they SPECIFICALLY say that high moisture foods should not be dried with low moisture foods and that you need to cut meat thin for jerkey and not over pack the trays.
If you use it the right way, everything comes out perfectly. I have also found that if you have high moisture foods, put an empty tray on the bottom and on the top and it will help with the convection drying process (think air flow through a chimney).
I dry whole baby carrots, celery, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc and all kinds of fruits.
I have made AMAZING thick cut jerkey as well as thin cut. You just have to make sure the meat doesn't touch each other and you have good air flow, if you can't feel the heat coming out of the top, you need to remove some of the food from the tray to ensure proper air flow.
I love mine so much, I am buying another! I live off grid with solar and wind power and LOVE the fact that the Ronco uses only 500 watts of power and helps stock my pantry as veggies and herb come out of the garden.
GREAT product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+214points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Bought mine in 1999

08/01/2013
By ,
So Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had great success with my food dehydrator! I'm ordering 3 for Christmas gifts for my daughters! I bought my Ronco over a decade ago for about the same price as Walmart has it today. My girls were young and time was limited. I used it to occasionally make Jerky and dry fruit for several years. About 5 years ago, my husband installed the storage cabinets in the garage and I "lost" my dehydrator to the back of it. I was so glad to find it again. Just in time too. My basil, zucchini and tomato plants are going absolutely crazy. Just as I was about to dry those, I realized I had a large container of mushrooms that needed a home. Woo Hoo! I dried them, used my Food Saver to store them and moved on to my peaches, then the zucchini and tomatoes! A light spritz of Pam or veggie oil and turning the trays 1/4 turn every couple of hours are key. FYI, my Jerky doesn't last long enough to package it for storing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Owned mine for several years and it works good.

07/11/2011
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used my Ronco dehydrater for years to dry fruit, meat, and am using it now to dry chopped up celery, carrots, and potatoes. After losing so much meat after Hurricane Katrina, I prefer to dry extra meat and vegetables, etc. instead of freezing them during a hurricane season.
I chop each bit into about one quarter of an inch wide and thick. Takes about 24 to 36 hours for the meat or vegetable to get dried till done. It doesn't get hot to burn a counter top but I do recommend putting it on a wooden cutting board as it works. It won't overheat a kitchen the way canning vegetables does. I know. I can vegetables, too. Very hot work indeed.
Don't overcrowd the trays and make sure you rotate your trays every three to four hours for even drying. Tray one will go into tray five's spot. Tray two will go into tray four's spot, etc. High moisture food like tomatoes will take longer and need extra spacing. For the price, it's a pretty good deal for the money. By the way, dried tomatoes with the skin taste very sweet with a hint of tomato. Tasty over baked potatoes or baked poultry.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

It works great!

07/18/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the first year I have had the time to have a garden and I am loving the flexability of canning some things, freezing and dehydrating others. The only problem I have had is that some of my squash has been small enough pieces to fall thru the grates and banannas are not working at all (I had to just wash them off and trash them) a simple fix would be to buy the screen grates to go along with the standard machine. I also tried to dehydrate some balogna but unfortunately that had really bad results (I burned/melted parts of the grates) the fat content in the meat created too much heat and they didn't taste good either but the dogs love them and they make great/cheep chewies for them. I think I am going to figure out a way and keep doing the balogna for the dogs but not untill I am sure it won't hurt my machine. I have dried pickles, squash, cucumbers and zucchini with great results. Before too long I am going to be buying the screen trays so I can do watermelon and cantilope. Overall great purchase well worth the price I paid and it was cheeper here with pretty much the same thing as over the product web site. Very happy with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Very Simple to use!

08/12/2014
By ,
Niles, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've never dehydrated before - so this was very nice for me in that it was simple and easy with many helpful tips in the manual. I have so far prepared apricots and bananas and currently drying some kidney beans. You do need to rotate the trays every 2-4 hours which was a bit of a challenge for the fruit which took a couple of days. I turned it off when I went to bed - which extended drying time but ensured more even results. Unit is very quiet - you don't hear a thing while it is running. I am very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

fishlady2

08/27/2014
By ,
wilder, id
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we have been very happy with these dehydrators, we bought two. It was the only way we could stay on top of the garden.these are great, they don't heat up your house.you have to change the trays out, abt. every 4-5 hours-but they are good for getting the job done.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Should have bought a snackmaster express!!

12/18/2008
By ,
Youngstown, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After one batch of jerky that we ended up putting in the oven because the ronco never reached a temp above 85 degrees the ronco went back in the box. Honestly we would have been better off putting an old stove coil under a bucket with holes poked in it and added a few trays and called it a dehydrator. Sure it comes with a ten year warranty because on the eleventh year your first batch of jerky will be done. No fan no temp setting heck there isnt even an on off button. Bad product and I should have known better than to buy something that was featured on an infomercial. DON'T BUY THIS ITEM and Wal-Mart I love you get this junk out of your inventory!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+168points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio, TX
Posted 10/06/2012
I think you bought the "Food Dehydrator" for fruits & vegetables as shown in the photo(the white one), what you should have bought was the "Ronco Beef Jerky Machine" shown in black.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

NOT GOOD

11/02/2009
By ,
hurricane, utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I only used this once and it cracked and broke while drying my food. I rotated as directed... only had it plugged in for 7 hours and all the trays started to break. This product is garbage!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+79points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Ronco 5 tray food dehydrator

02/28/2011
By ,
philadelphia,pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love what it does. My 2nd one in 20 years just broke. I've made tons of beef jerky - using london broil cut beef - tons of dried fruit - and fruit rollups. Several friends have tried what I have made and went out and bought themselves a Ronco dehydrator. It is kind of flimsy, but you just have to be careful with it. Heavy duty dehydrators cost thundreds of dollars. I liked this price - so I "deal" with the 'lightweight' part of it. Now I have to get a new one. If the next one lasts another 10 years I'll be happy. Normally I'm a glass half empty person - but not with this easy and inexpensive way to make dried foods. Beef Jerky and Cinnamon Dried Apples are my favorites from the Ronco dehydrator. Just be careful with using the trays and it should last for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Works great!

09/16/2014
By ,
Shabbona, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Low heat distributes evenly, it is very quiet. I've used it for apples, pears, green peppers and tomatoes and I'm really pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Poor Quality

08/17/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit is very low quality. It has no fan and only one temp. so makes it take longer to dry. This I could live with as it is a lower priced unit. What really amazed me were the trays, By the time it was one month old every tray was cracked and two were broke in half. This it did on its own from the heat I guess. It was never dropped or abused in any way. They start cracking in the middle and the crack spreads each time you use it. Spend a few more dollars and buy a better unit and not a Ronco.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator
11/23/2009
By ,
Reading, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would never purchase this product again nor recommend it, it ruined 3lbs of deer jerky, the trays melted and made the meat taste like plastic and it does not dry evenly, and takes forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Awesome Carne Seca ( Beef Jerky)

01/13/2008
By ,
Baldwin Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this dehydrator as a Christmas present for my parents this past year since we could not find our old one. We are a family who loves Carne Seca (Beef Jerky) from our family in New Mexico. However, it can be very expensive. It costs us $20 for only a pound and that doesn't last very long for one person. I had an idea that we should just start making it ourselves. To make a long story short, the directions told me that it would take 1 to 2 days and I was very surprised to find out that it finished in 12 hours or less. I was thrilled. THe best thickness is meat that they cut that is used for milanesa (whatever that is) it is the perfect thickness. I also purchased the meat at my local Super Wal-Mart. Overall this Dehydrator was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

It did the job, but concerned about trays.

08/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was convenient to use and not complicated. The directions were clear and expensive
along with many recipes. But I was too worried about the trays being made of plastic though
it was noted on the web that the plastic was "approved."
Ultimately I found out my oven could be used just as well, and would not require extra space.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Great Product

04/25/2008
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The one thing that I didn't see when I ordered my dehydrator online is that it doesn't have a fan. I was disappointed at first, but it doesn't make a difference. In fact a friend of mine has a dehydrator with a fan and it's to loud. Also keep an eye on your food in the dehydrator because it has been taking half the time that is stated in the book to dry the food. (Especially pineapple). Overall, I would totally suggest this to anyone who is looking for one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

food dehydrator review

01/15/2008
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the price. Almost all food was dehydrated within 24 hours, so works great.
It really has no features other than off/on, such as automatic turner, fan, or timer/settings, but was expected for the price.
The product/plastic is not as sturdy as I would have expected. Melted when near stove. Very light weight. Just handle with care.
Overall, great product for the price if you just want to do some simple dehydrating. Great simple and cheap way to prepare trail food. I'm having great fun with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Wouldn't recommend

10/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item got really hot and melted the plastic on me and ruined my food in it ..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator
02/26/2011
By ,
Liverpool,NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned it before I ever used it! I knew that with my usage it would NOT hold up and no fan!? I read the instructions and the drying times were rediculous! Bought the next step up for 10 more dollars and am very happy I did! Drys in NOOOO time at all! banana chips in 6 hrs!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Great Jerky!

02/29/2008
By ,
Rougemont, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this product shipped (AND it came in excellent condition!) for my hubby's Valentine's gift. We have used it several times already and it's wonderful. It makes absolutely NO noise so that had us checking to see if it was really working! The trays are a little hard to clean, but some of them fit into our dishwasher. Good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ronco Five-Tray Food Dehydrator

Works great

06/05/2012
By ,
Northwest Arkansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like this dehydrator alright but it is made with cheap brittle plastic. It does do the job thought. I did pineapple the day I got it and it was quite good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next