Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Shag Area Rug

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Shag Area Rug

Plush and thick, the Canopy Shag Area Rug's long-pile shag offers a soft texture that tickles and caresses underfoot. Its dense tufts create rich visual appeal, making any room feel warm and inviting. This living room rug is made up of tufted 100 percent Olefin that is tolerant to accidental spills that may occur in day to day life. This attractive olefin area rug features a cut pile shag construction that resists shedding and has a non-skid backing for safety. It comes with a secondary rug backing, 'Classic-Bac' to increase strength and durability. This pretty plush area carpet is easy to clean and is available in different sizes to suit various living room sizes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.627 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(330 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
238
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%316 out of 329reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
238
4 stars
73
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Love This Rug!!!

10/09/2008
By ,
Jacksonville Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were so excited to learn that the rug had come in a week before the EARLIEST delivery date given. We did site-to-store delivery, which I would highly recommend. When we first saw the rug, I wasn't so sure it was what I wanted but when we got it home and unwrapped it....I was ecstatic! It is such a beautiful, soft, warm rug. It adds so much to the room we put it in. I'm so glad we decided to buy it and really can't believe what we paid for it - it was definitely worth it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 2 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Nice Shag

07/22/2009
By ,
garland,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice shag rug. the quality is good. very soft and thick. I'm glad i bought it. I am trying to decorate my living room, but don't have money to go to some of my favorite stores, but the canopy line at walmart is quite nice.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 3 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Great rug for your money

01/05/2010
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rug was very affordable and great quality. It added so much warmth and texture to my living room. I bought a 5x8 but I think an 8x10 would've also worked well in my living room. However, I'm pleased with the 5x8 one I bought. Check out my photos to see what I mean.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Review 4 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Gold Shag Rug

02/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only got this rug in yesterday, but I am impressed with the look and quality of it so far. It is very soft and rolled out immediately with no wrinkles and lumps. My kids seem to be enjoying the soft texture, and other than some light shedding, I don't see any problems with it. Looks great and really warms up my living room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 5 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Bella

03/23/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This rug was worth the wait. It's beautiful ! I live in a very small studio apt in the N.E. it's plush, soft and the color is great ! it's huge . The only problem I had was with the delivery time . I did site-to-store, It took almost a week there, then it an additional day for them to sort it out and send the notice. But it was worth the wait.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 6 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

excellent for small children

12/03/2011
By ,
Santa Clara
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this shag rug and it is wonderful. Absolutely zero complaints! My 1.5 year old boy plays on it every day and is a real mess maker. The rug cleans up wonderfully! He spilled la Victoria hot sauce on it the other night and was like Oh great! But I just sprayed some clorox clean up on it and it disappeared. Overall great plush soft rug, looks awesome the more its used!
Oh and it shows NOTHING! my dream rug at last!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Amazingly wonderful!

01/17/2011
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled with how thick this rug is! It is very high quality and beautiful. I did get mine in a deep brown and it looks so pretty infront of my fireplace! LOVES IT! It even looks great on top of my old 70's ugly carpet!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 8 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

what a lovely neutral shade of yellow

03/30/2012
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so leery of ordering a rug off the internet without seeing it's true color since the color in photos can be deceiving. It turned out to be a most beautiful shade of neutral yellow. I didn't want a patterned rug because after a while I may get tired of the pattern. I didn't want a dark rug it would make my space seem smaller and a white or cream color would make the space seem boring. With the sun shining in the morning this rug makes for a happier brighter space. The shag is very soft and easy to take care of ... VERY happy with my rug purchase. Hope you can see the rug in the photo ...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

soft

08/15/2010
By ,
green bay, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great rug with a great price to match!! Very soft!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Fabulous rug!

05/14/2009
By ,
Johnstown, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is not the rug I initially wanted to purchase, but the other canopy rug did not have site-to-store available for the 8 x 10 size. However, I am very happy with this rug which I purchased in the soft gold color. It is a very muted gold color and VERY fluffy which adds a lot of texture to the room. I was worried that the long shag fibers would look matted after awhile, but as the other reviewer stated, the more people walk on it and "muss it up", the better it looks! Very low maintenance. Also, one reviewer stated that it seems thin, however, I think it feels nice and thick for the price. I did use the rug mat underneath so it wouldn't slip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 11 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

great value

03/10/2009
By ,
annpolis, md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these rugs were a great deal. i looked at hundreds of rugs on line and in person from several different stores (sam's club, home depot, lowe's, pier 1, pottery barn) and not only were these exactly what i wanted style-wise, but they were also a great price. i bought 3: the 6 x 8 (or is it a 5 x 7 ?) and 2 runners. these rugs are great because:
1. they were available in store, even though on line only 1 was listed as in-stock (i'd reccomend calling your store to see if they are in before online ordering). they easily fit in my honda accord with 2 carseats in the back.
2. they go with a variety of decors/styles...from contemporary to classic to a mixed/ecclectic look
3. the gold color is not too gold...it is a goldish-beige-sand color; very neutral
4. i have a very large room and needed a runner to go behind my sofa, so i put 2 of them end to end. because of the shag style, it is not noticeable that they are 2 separate rugs. i can't even imagine what it would have cost to have special ordered a runner in that length...
5. they were on sale; the price was already good so the sale was a bonus
6. my dog has had an accident on the runners twice so far and they easily fit in my full size front loading washing machine. i line-dried them and they are totally fine-they don't look weird after being in the wash.
7. the neutral color and shag style hides the dirt, so you can vacume them easily but don't need to worry so much about stains
8. the runners do not require any backing or matting-they are non-slip, but i did need to get a mat to put under the larger rug. i had read that some people reccomended a rug pad (the thick stuff that goes under reg. carpeting) to put under the large rug but i think that is excessive-a middle of the road non-slip mat/pad is all you need.
my rugs are in a large room (@ 20 x 20) with natural maple hwf and modern espresso colored leather furniture. my walls are a khacki/taupe color and my drapes are cream with an old gold print on them, the rugs do a great job of tying it all together without detracting from my floors or my furniture.
i am very happy with them. they were a great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+84points
Review 12 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Great buy

01/30/2008
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very soft with nice long shag. Loved the color. Perfect for my space. The glue on the backing was a little crumbly but easily vacuumed. All in all a great rug at a great price. Definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 13 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Did not think this was a good buy

11/12/2010
By ,
Dallas, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this rug through walmart.com for my living room to put over my hard wood floors. Let me start off by saying that the color of the rug was nice, the quality however was definitely lacking. The backing of the rug kept falling apart and it would leave dirt like particles all over the floor. I thought that maybe if I vacuumed it regularly I would be able to remove all of the dirt, but even vacuuming and using a Hoover carpet cleaner didn't work. And trust me, I'm not saying that it was just a little bit of dirt, NO WAY, it was a lot! After about 3 months I had to return it to the store. One great thing about Walmart is that they are true to their word about returns, even though I bought it online and had it shipped to my home when I returned it to the store I had absolutely no problems. I really wish the rug would've worked out, but unfortunately this is not a product I would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Nice Gold Color

04/18/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just had beautiful warm cherry dark hardwood floor installed in my living room and hallway.
I have gray walls that is a gray that looks great with warm golds, reds, maroons, bronze, etc.
This rug is definately gold, not ivory, not beige, not tan as others describe it, however, I suppose I can see why people are saying that as it is a very soft old gold color, which by the way is kind of trendy right now....and I suppose it blends with beige, but it's gold people.
This rug pile is very soft and seems to resist stains very well. It doesn't look like an expensive natural fiber rug, it looks just like what it is, a polyester long shag, but the same rug can sell for twice the dollar in other big box stores, not the same brand, but the same quality.
It needs a rug pad, it slides around on the floor. It also would make it much softer feeling. I bought it in the 5 x 8 at the store for the same price it is on line $74.00. However, I am reconsidering the bigger size not available in stores as it would fill up the room rather than be a rug just in front of my couch.
I have expensive tastes, I have replaced a wool rug that my dog chewed a hole in when he was a puppy. That rug was black, with a modern design border in bright colors. It cost me a lot of money, it looks dated, it showed dirt, the dog ruined it, and I am tired of it and it doesn't go with my new floor or gray walls.
So why buy a $500 rug, this one looks just fine and I love the color, it's very pretty. I'll get sick of it in a year or two and replace it with something new anyway. I am not about wasting money and I think this rug is a great value in shag rugs made of poly.
It vacuums well, looks great after its walked on and resists stains, I got one for in front of the door too. It's neutral, yet newer than beige, ivory or tan.....I don't want a rug that is busy or stands out, this rug lets the rest of my room take center stage.
Recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Canopy Shag Area Rug
11/07/2009
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent many hours searching online for the perfect rug, however, I didn't want to spend very much money since I have a large dog who sheds like crazy and might do something to the rug. This rug is perfect for us. It was the right price, it does not shed, vacuums well, and hides black dog hair. I would recommend this rug for anyone looking for a good quality rug at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Great rug for this price!

12/08/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought an 8 x 10 in this color (gold) and I love it! Its more of a tan color and with the recessed lighting in my home its perfect! We have a 3 yr old and she jumped, hoped and skipped all over this rug and it still looks nice! I will say that when I took the packaging off it did shed on the edges and I just pulled it off. Other than that its a great rug. It doesn't move anywhere because its quite heavy; but for those with hard wood floors, if you would like to put rubbing backing on it you can if you'd like; we didn't. We have no stains on it yet but I will answer questions when I see a stain and how it handles. Ive seem similar rugs online and even at an AFFORDABLE/POPULAR Swedish furniture store and this rug is more bigger at 1/3 of the price - you CANNOT beat that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Read my review before purchasing

03/26/2011
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The primary factor for my buying the rug was the superior customer ratings. However, I am extremely disappointed with the product for the following reasons:
a) The rug looks very good based on the picture on Walmart's web site. However, the picture is not representative of the actual rug!
b) The rug looks cheap.
c) The quality is on the lower side.
d) The rug is thin (i.e., not thick or bouncy) as the fibers are not dense and not closely spaced together.
e) The back of the rug generates a lot of dust. Every time you move the carpet, the back seems to give off more dust.
f) The color of the rug is dull and not like the picture on Walmart's web site.
g) The low price reflects the relatively low quality so there is no value even at the lower price.
The only redeeming feature of the rug is that the fibers do feel soft.
The only reason I did not return the item was that Walmart has no stores in New York City and it is simply too much of a hassle to pack and ship back such a large item (I purchased the 5 X 8 size).
This rug was also so inferior in quality compared to the other rug I purchased from Walmart which, for only forty bucks more, was a substantially better carpet. In case you are interested in that carpet, it is called the "Oris Fleece Rug, Flax" (The Walmart item number for that is 236279).
Bottomline: I regret that I purchased the Canopy Shag Area Rug solely on the picture and the high customer ratings. If I had only seen and felt this rug, there is no way I would have purchased this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

great product for the money

01/04/2012
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm using this in my basement and it's perfect for that room. It young and fun and the color is great for a setting that takes a beating i.e. kids and cats. The color is as advertised and the quality is what you should expect for a rug at this price point, but its' appearance looks more expensive that it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Chic Shaggy Rug

08/12/2010
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been searching for a neutral colored, chicly deisgned and affordable rug. I've looked at name brands such as Crate and Barrel, West Elm and CB2 because they tend to have chic designs. After doing some comparison, this shaggy rug from Walmart is not only the most affordable ($80# but the design and quality are also similar to the ones you find at a high end store.
The rug was delivered early and easy to open #just cut the bag and thats it). There was no smell when you open the plastic. This rug is also spill resistant, meaning if you spill liquid on it, it just glides over the rug so all you have to do is take a napkin to absorb the spill. The only negative comment I have is that sometimes, the "shag" of the rug itself comes out when you are pulling the rug to fluff it up (which you have to do when you first open it). But very minor complaint considering I only paid $80 for a 8x10 rug.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Canopy Shag Area Rug

Beautiful & super soft

07/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this rug in the 8x10 size last Fall. I use it in my living room to create a "conversation area". It is very beautiful! The color is as shown in the photo. It is super soft & great for lounging on or going barefoot! I am considering getting another one in a different color for other rooms in my home.I highly recommend this product. It really makes a room feel warm, cozy & homey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 304 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next