Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Holmes Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Holmes Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

This cool mist humidifier helps bring relief from sinus irritation and other effects of dry air. Ideal for small rooms, it can run up to 20 hours per tank filling.
Average Customer Rating:
2.706 out of 5
2.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation47%8 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

you would have to pay ME to keep using this thing

05/17/2008
By ,
Milwaukee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the worst humidifier ever. #1 It's not that loud, but it's not a steady noise - so it's just annoying. #2 It's makes the water really cold - I don't know how but the mist is freezing cold! #3 It needs to be refilled a lot, even though I couldn't leave it on full time or the room was freezing. #4 This is why it is the WORST... the filter was covered in MOLD after about a month of use. Here I thought the whole point of a filter was to prevent that stuff? AND how the heck does it get moldy with ice cold mist? AND the stupid filter change light never went off to warn me I was pumping out moldy air into my daughters room for who knows how long! I bought this darn thing thinking a filter would be "healthier" - not like the filterless one I had as a kid. Wrong! Pay the extra $10 and buy one of the fun kid ones (even if you aren't a kid)- they are super quiet and DO NOT need a filter!!! They really are much nicer and in the long run you save even more because you don't have to buy filters.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

you get what you pay for

02/09/2008
By ,
kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i have to say i would not recommend this humidifier - we bought it as we were low on cash and needed something somewhat quickly, for our toddler who seems to always have sinus issues. it doesn't come close to the 20 hour usage it claims, i have always run it on low and 90% of the time it is completely bone dry by morning, after maybe 9 hours of use. the noise is okay with us since we've always had white noise on in our son's room anyway, but i wouldn't recommend it if you're not used to noise at night. recently i turned it on, after maybe 20 uses, and noticed a horribly musty smell, which after looking at it, the filter is completely moldy. this scares me since we had not used it very much so i never dreamed it would be a problem already - who knows how long i used it in my son's room with the mold. i don't see refill filters on walmart's website, so not sure how easy it will be to find them. overall i wish i had spent a bit more on a better quality humidifier.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Great Product - Great Value

01/29/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not as noisy as some review. I like to sleep with a fan going anyway, so this provides the fan sound and beneficial humidity.
Don't turn off the unit and leave the water tank on the unit with water still in it. This will keep the filter wet with stagnant water that will cause mold and short filter life. If you don't use the unit 24/7 then remove the water tank 1-2 hours before cutting off the unit, so the filter is wicked dry by the fan still running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 4 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

HORRIBLE!

01/26/2008
By ,
New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this because I'm pregnant and my nose was always stuffy so my doctor recommended that I get a cool mist humidifer, I didnt have a lot of money so I got the cheapest one...BAD MISTAKE!
This thing is VERY VERY noisy! It goes through water very quickly too and its already saying that we need a new filter and we've only have it a week and a half...I'm definately taking this back and getting something else!
DONT BUY THIS!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Throwing good money after bad

12/18/2007
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Where to begin. This product is very noisy for starters. The constant hissing with the "glug glug" made it almost unbearable. If you are someone that needs white noise to be able to sleep, then this may be for you, as it cancels out even my bedroom television. SECONDLY, this thing went through filters to beat the band. Every week, I would have to remove the componants to check for mold on the filter and lo & behold: mold. There went more money for another filter.
TURN AWAY FROM THE PRODUCT!! Always remember, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

works, very noisy

12/27/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works, but very noisy, especially in a small room. I bought this one because it's the cheapest one from Holmes and I only need a basic working one, not fancy one so this one seems to be a good buy but it turns out it's VERY noisy that I returned it in the next day. In general Holmes humidifier works fine as I have another one works in my home, so you might want to give another model a try.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 7 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Terrible!

02/23/2008
By ,
Huntington, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier is awful!! It doesn't work like it should. I have it on a flat surface, and it still leaks horribly. I find huge puddles of water on the floor all the time and never notice any change in the humidity in my bedroom. I really want to return this piece of garbage and I'm going to contact customer service to find out how to. What a piece of junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 8 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Hate the product

01/24/2008
By ,
Nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use this product in my bedroom which is small. I like the noise that the product does cant sleep without noise. It says on the box that is has a 20 hour fill tank this is false for me I fill it up at night and after 8 hours of sleep I need to fill it up again. I have the setting on low. Overall the product is ok but not for large rooms.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Works for us as a humidifier

03/17/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The water in the tank does not last as long as the box says it does. But it does make it through the night for us. Then I fill it in the morning and it runs all day. It does make some noise, but we like it as background noise for sleeping. For the money, this humidifier does the job for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

junk

03/12/2008
By ,
Avonmore, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had only 2 weeks and it tells me to change filter already. Didn't even use it every day/night. Never even put out a mist from day one. Only cool air. Made my bedroom cold. I can turn down my heat and it would be the same thing as using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

awlful

02/24/2008
By ,
winston salem,n.c.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i dont mind white noise but this thing is like a racecar revving up all night and it really sucks up the water.returning it!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Good Humidifier for a small room

12/09/2007
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an OK humidifier for a small room. It does not have a humidistat, so it's always on unless you turn it off manually.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

very loud

01/09/2008
By ,
rifle colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i got this thing today and it is very loud you cant sleep with it on not evan on low
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier

Very Good

01/13/2008
By ,
very good for the money spent
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
use it at night for bed time and I dont wake up stuffy like I used to
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Holmes Cool Mist Humidifier
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5