Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Majesco Cooking Mama (DS)

Majesco Cooking Mama (DS)

Learn how to cook with your Nintendo DS! As a budding chef you must first prepare foods then combine raw ingredients together as you cook them on the stove. Follow real recipes or experiment with your own combinations to create a culinary masterpiece with your stylus. Cooking Mamas ingredients include a variety of gameplay modes, including over 200 mini-games and a practice mode where you decide what to cook, how long to cook it for and how to present it. Playing in the main game enables players to earn bronze, silver and gold awards for their efforts based on the quality of their cooking and recipes can even be shared with up to four other people via DS Wi-Fi link up.
Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation90%147 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cooking Mama (DS)

cooking mama

07/19/2007
By ,
newark, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its is a really fun game for people who know how to cook and dont its for all ages and it is very fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cooking Mama (DS)

GREAT GAME!!

01/25/2009
By ,
Statesville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter asked for this game after seeing a friend playing it. My husband & I weren't sure if she would enjoy it (she's 6). It is wonderful! All of us have enjoyed playing. Each recipe has different steps & the game explains what you must do before each step. Once you have completed a recipe to a certain level, the game unlocks new recipes. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cooking Mama (DS)

awesome game!

12/05/2007
By ,
Nevada, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this game! I play it all the time! It is really fun to make all the food. Some of the things are really hard to make and then some are totally easy. Overall it is an awesome game! Definitely worth buying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Cooking is Fun!

12/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this game for my daughter for Christmas (on sale for $10) and it was a great value for the money. She loves to slice, dice and saute and it has given her control over cooking in a kid friendly way that I think will add to her interest in our real kitchen. She often gets frustrated with actual cooking so this is good practice not to mention how fun it is to unlock new recipes. I played it myself and found it entertaining although a bit frustrating that it tells me I failed on certains tasks without explanation as to what I did wrong. I'm an awesome cook in real life, so that is obviously disconcerting to me, haha. But this game seems like a fun way to pass the time and develop little chefs who think of other foods besides chicken nuggets and spaghetti.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Chef

06/23/2008
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this game immensely. It's fun to simualte cooking via the receipes. Do wish you could choose your own because some of that stuff I wouldn't dream of ever making. I can't wait to get the cooking mama two and try those receipes. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a simualtion game for cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Extremly Fun, but i'd wouldn't rate it E...

01/14/2009
By ,
United States
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ABSOLUTLEY LOVE this game, but I DEFENTLEY WOULD NOT rate it E - I'd rate it E 10. Because, it's super fun, but if you mess up, then "mama" gets so mad, that her eyes go on fire. Though, the good news is, that the illistations are very comic book, or cartoon character-ish, and NOT very realistic. And, in some technics, it is possible, in the game, to burn your hand, or hurt it, when pounding rice. And, you CANNOT mow the lawn, first. And, the description on another website, says you can blow on hot food, to cool it down - WRONG! You can blow to make sushi rice, or to stop the pot on the stove from overflowing - that's the only way you blow. But, it IS fun. I say, if your younger then ten, do not get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Cooking Game

04/18/2010
By ,
Harlingen, TX. 78550
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can not believe how fun this game is. It came with a package for the Nintendo DS Lite. My granddaughter is only 6 yrs old so I choose the Nintendo DS Lite verses the other more complicated hand held games. It works out perfect because my 10yr old granddaughter has the Nintendo DSI and they connect Wifi and play together. I didn't know the games did that. I and my granddaughter are very happy with the whole pkg I bought and at a very cheap price. Even their Mother is playing the game, cooking, chopping, diceing, lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cooking Mama (DS)

wow!

07/18/2008
By ,
Boonton,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really enjoy this game. i am generous so the first day i got cooking mama i bought one for my friend to! we always play it and we teach each recipes. it is very helpful for tweens/teens my age to learn the importance of cooking and food and how to tell good from bad! you really get your moneys worth trust me!
they teach you things like how to:
peel potatos, cut, chop, saute, mix, fry, boil, measure, powder meats, add water to salt, peel cabbage, and have fun with various foods, soups, meats, wraps and much more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Way too much reading to be rated E.

01/20/2011
By ,
Grand Blanc, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My 4 year old was really bummed that she can't play this. I don't see how you could play it without being able to read. There are tons of written instruction. NO FUN!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cooking Mama (DS)
06/27/2009
By ,
Medina Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooking Mama is very fun esp when you have nothing to do. It's fun to cook with Mama.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Cooking Mama

11/21/2007
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this was a good game. i have alotta fun playing it, although it can be challenging when the game doesnt cooperate,and it didnt really meet my expectations, otherwise its a pretty good game.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Cute Kids Game

12/25/2009
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a cute game for kids.
Don't know that adults would be very challenged, but fun for kids.
Only thing I don't like is how it blasts "FAILED" if they don't finish the task in time. For a sensitive kid, maybe the message could be a little more encouraging!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cooking Mama (DS)

good for a little girl age 5 but store compromised

02/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the item but unhappy that the week after I purchased this on line, my credit card number was used at your store by a thief.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cooking Mama (DS)

I was REALLY BORING!!!

04/10/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a game that I could COOK freely. I really hate games where you have to follow the rules, but this one... ALL THERE IS IS RULES!!!!!!!!!! I wanted a fun, action cooking game, but I got a boring easy cooking game. It had no plot, it was pointless and it was boring. I didn't like it at all... but there is a lot of food. The only reason I haven't gotten rid of it is because I don't know what to do with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Good Game

04/06/2008
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter and she is 11. At first she couldn't put it down, but now she barely ever plays it because she has unlocked all the recipes. It is her only DS game so far so it seems like she wasted all her money on her DS. My 5 year old son plays it all the time though on her DS. He loves pretending he has a resteraunt. I recommend this for ages 5-10. (The "how often do i use this" I marked as how much my daughter uses it.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Worth the money

12/29/2009
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave to this game to our daughter on Christmas Day and to her credit and the fact we were snowed-in, she managed to get through all the levels in a few days.
That's not a criticism, because this was after hours and hours of playing it. She couldn't put it down and found it very challenging and fun at the same time. I didn't personally play it, but I can tell if she loved it, most kids will enjoy it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cooking Mama (DS)

best game ever

08/16/2007
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i go over to my best friends house alot and she and i both have a daughter, her daughter had coking mama, and she loves it! you get to pick out a food that you would like to make and then you have to stirr the water, chop things, flip things in a pan, and the prepare the food in a cool and unique way, so i bought it for my daughter and she loves it too, she even catches me playing it once in a while!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Girls & Mom Love it!

12/01/2008
By ,
Flanders, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great game. My girls and I play it all the time. We go against each other to see who can get a gold metal, for a new recipe. Yes, sometimes the game won't cooperate and will not do what you want it to, but it just adds to all the excitement.
We love this game so much, that I will be buying the 2 new Cooking Mama games for the Wii this Christmas, that should be lots of fun.
ENJOY COOKING!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cooking Mama (DS)
05/22/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this game is fun but only after a time and then it's boring i ended the game in 2 days,but i only got 40 or less recipe even if i got them all gold but (i loved to cook thats why i got this game if i know it was this bad i would no buy it) i was sad that i didn't get the rest of the recipe but i heard that cooking mama is good i hope it will be better than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cooking Mama (DS)

Nice Game

01/14/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice game which tests your memory, eye-hand coordination and speed skills. Its also fun to play. It has my wife playing video games for the first time in 20 years ;-)
The theme is that you prepare various recipes by cutting chopping cooking measuring etc. within the alloted time. You look for visual clues to get to the next step or to stop cooking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next