Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kershaw Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kershaw Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Designed by Ken Onion, Kershaw Knives' Tanto Blur features a 3-3/8" part serrated Sandvik 13C26 Stainless Steel Tanto blade with a black Tungsten DLC coat. To ensure a fast and safe one-hand opening, this Kershaw blur knife features sports dual-thumb studs and Speed-Safe technology. You are assured of a fine grip as the Kershaw Speedsafe Knives Tanto Blur is designed with a lightweight aluminum handle and textured Trac-Tec inserts.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation93%41 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

3 years and counting

07/28/2009
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on this website looking for a backup of the same knife in case they stop producing it.
I have carried this knife with me every day for three years and counting now and I love it. I love the blade assist open and single hand operation both opening and closing this knife. It is deployed very fast and the grip is excellent. The blade is very sharp still, but is a little beat up after all the abuse I have put it through.
Most other knives I have had get a loose blade or the clip breaks off, but not this knife. My wife calls me the destroyer, so that's saying something. I am very rough on everything I own. This knife still operates as well as the day I purchased it.
I don't even know how I got luckey enought to pick it out of all of the thousands of knives available on the market, but I'm happy to be so lucky.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 2 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

This Knife is Too good to be true!

12/07/2009
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
But it is true... Wicked looks, razor sharp blade, strong lock, extremely fast assisted opening and incredibly grippy handles. Nothing touches it for the money. I keep buying them every few months for when/if they stop making them. I bought my first one for 42 bucks... the price went up quite a bit. At this price it's still quite a bargain. I have not found this knife for less anywhere else. Walmart's awesome!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 3 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Love Love Love this knife

03/12/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had mine for three years now and it is always my go to knife for camping. As for the fellow that dropped his knife and the tip broke off, that is bound to happen if you drop the knife and it is open. I have had that happen on a Benchmade 3 times the cost of this one. This knife holds an excellent edge, and is very easy to put an edge on. Highly recommend, and i may buy a second one because my handle is getting a little dinged up and may be time to retire it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Review 4 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Excellent Knife

08/10/2007
By ,
Salisbury, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife is really great. I chose it based on size, grip, and assisted opening. This knife was the best in all three categories compared to the other knives at my local Wal-Mart. I recommend you buy from a store instead of online because it allows you to feel the grip and the action and pick which one you like best.
The blade is excellent, plenty large for any task, the straight edge is shaving sharp out of the box, the serrations cut just about anything, and it looks great.
The grip is fantastic. The inserts feel a lot like sandpaper, which makes it stick your hand dry, wet, oily, whatever. It is also a good size, big enough that you don't get a hand cramp from extended use.
The action is what sold me. The assisted opening on this knife was more powerful than any other I tried. It is very quick and decisive. The blade, when extended, locks rock solid, not moving a bit, and unlocking is as easy as any other knife.
Great knife if you need a perfect edge, durability (the tanto tip beats a clip point in this area), and the ability to quickly and easily open with one hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Excellent knife

09/20/2008
By ,
Ft. Hood
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this knife while killing time at Walmart and liked the assisted opening so I bought one.
When I enlisted in the Army I couldn't bring it with me, but as soon as they let us loose in AIT, I went to Walmart and bought another one.
These knives are great. The assisted opening is perfect because when I need a pocket knife, I usually have stuff in my hands anyway, making opening a knife difficult. No problem with this knife.
I carry mine daily and I beat the heck out of them. They hold up really well and hold an edge better than more expensive knives I own (and I have alot of knives). I'm deploying to Iraq in a few months, and I'll be buying a new one for the deployment. I went out and bought a $90 knife for Iraq, but I like this one better.
Only real problem I have is that not all stores carry them.
Oh and by the way, the end of the knife can be used as a bottle opener in a pinch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Great Knife

10/02/2011
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking at the price at the store and the price on the site I noticed a $10 price difference. While I was at the store, I asked the clerk what the deal was and he told me Kershaw is making a version just for Walmart like Gerber and some other brands do with some of their knives and not all stores have received the Walmart version yet. The guy seemed to know what he was talking about when I asked a few questions about some of the other knives they had so I had a gut feeling he was right. Once I got home I looked at the site and saw he was right. Here are the differences:
1) Product Number:
Site-1670TBLKSTWM
Store- 1670TBLKST
2) Blade Steel
Site- Sandvik 13C26
Store- Sandvik 14C28N
3) Serrations (Possibly. Its a hit/miss kind of thing)
Site- only small
Store- big, small, small, big, small, small, big
Both knives are made in the USA however so quality I am sure is not an issue. Kershaw is a great brand and will stand buy their warranty so if anything happens to either knife, they'll replace it free(they'll probably even replace the Walmart version with the original). I went ahead and bought it at the store because of the convenience of getting it right then and there instead of waiting for shipping so its more convenient for me. The knife is well built, sharp(as of now), and comfortable. Only reason I gave it a 4 is because it came tip down and I dont have a torx bit to make it tip up yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Best knife I have ever used

11/04/2007
By ,
MCAS Cherry Point, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is by far the nicest knife I have ever owned. I have had many hunting knives and pocket knives, and this beats them all.
The sandpaper like grip keeps you holding on firmly in any conditions (cold, wet, greasy, etc.) and even while wearing gloves. The assisted opening is the strongest I have ever used and is amazingly comfortable and easy to use. The blade is one of the sharpest I have ever seen out of the box and stays sharp for a long time.
I took this knife to Iraq with me the first time, and used it multiple times per day. It got stolen, so I bought another one. I lost that one just before leaving Iraq, and it is such a good knife I am buying my third one.
I have no cons to list about this product. Simply an amazing knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

best yet

05/10/2009
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice blade next to my K-bar this is by far the best knife I have. cuts anything, used it to cut wire and could still cut food when i was out camping. lets face it Kershaw is one of the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 9 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Every day carry

01/10/2008
By ,
Wyoming
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This knife has been in my right hip pocket every day for about two years now, mainly because of the Speedsafe assisted opening feature. Like all Kershaw knives, it comes extremely sharp from the factory and is very tough and reliable. I've used mine to cut tempered hardboard.
I'd prefer a plain edge with a drop-point profile, but this is what was in the case. There is a more expensive version with a blade made of S30V stainless, but 13C26 is very good steel, and Kershaw works very closely with the manufacturer to assure quality.
One warning: Do not carry change in the same pocket as this knife because pennies will jam it shut.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Buy 2

01/12/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Blur is a perfect size knife for real work and/or self defense. It is the largest knife that I can comfortably carry. I wouldn't want to carry anything larger in my pocket. The reversabe clip allows you to choose tip up or down carry. The scales have a great grippy texture. The blade is very well made and holds an edge. It looks good, is made in the USA and the Walmart price was too good the pass up. I bought 3 and gave them as gifts to my brothers. (I kept one for me)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Outstanding Knife

10/25/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this knife for over a year and it has taken some good abuse while hunting, camping and working around the house. This knife never leaves my side. Its the best knife you will get for this price and I am very glad I gave this knife a try. Its a great all around design. I think so highly of this knife that I am going to buy another one just in case they stop producing them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

amazing bargain

05/03/2009
By ,
hattiesburg, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own thirty to forty knives of varied design and quality, and I assure you that you will never find a better blade than this one at a price this low. It is sharp enough to shave with right out of the box and holds its edge well. I would recommend this knife to anyone. i use mine as my everyday carry and could not be happier. this knife would still be a bargain at twice this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Broken blade AGAIN

12/15/2009
By ,
Summerville,SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love Kershaw knives and that's why it kills me to write this review. This knife is great, fast opening has good course grip and thin enough to be worn in a pocket all day and not know it's there till you need it.
However, the tinsel strength of the blade is lacking severely. I have broken two blades now and am very disappointed. The first was broken skinning a catfish (the same day I bought it). The second was broke quartering a deer (3 weeks later). My knives are never used as a pry bar or screw drivers. The slightest tension on these blades will cause them to break. I will be returning this knife and moving on to a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Review 14 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

A very good knife, for a very good price.

07/17/2011
By ,
Sherrard, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I carry this knife everyday, but I use a belt sheath. It comes very sharp and has proven very sturdy. It also takes an edge very well after significant use. I like the action assist opening, but it is not as quick or solid in feel as my Ken Onion Chive. I purchased this knife in order to have something larger and easier to use for large jobs and it more than met my needs. The only drawback I've had was that after about a year, the blade lock seems less then solid and I can close it with out releasing the lock or without using great force. This is disturbing, but it still takes more to close in that fashion than a regular folding knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Favored tool.

09/20/2007
By ,
Carlsbad, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tool. I love its weight and balance.
I've owned mine now for almost a year and its served very well. I carry & use it everyday.
The grip (feels like sandpaper) and power was what sold me.
When its carried in the pocket (especially denim) a lot of lint gets stuck in the handle, but its very easy to clean.
Easy maintenance: I clean mine about every 15 days. I use a toothpick to clean out the lint from all the spaces, then sharpen the blade with a diamond sharpener, and oil the whole blade.
downside: none really except that a lot of stores don't carry the tools to change the clothing clip to its other optional position.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Disappointed

10/14/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I was very happy to find such a great knife. I love the assisted opening, the grip, everything about it. At about a week or so after having it, I dropped it and the tip broke off. For being such an expensive pocket knife, I expected a lot higher quality and durable steel. I would not recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-19points
Review 17 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Excellent Knife!

04/30/2008
By ,
Clovis, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better knife than what you would expect at this price.
Well designed blade geometry...and good looking too! Like any tanto blade, a little more effort to sharpen correctly (sharpen the two blade angles like seperate edges) but worth the trouble. Takes an excellent edge! Also the liner lock is heavy duty, so there is little chance this knife will fold onto your fingers under heavy use.
One little feature I really appreciate is that the clip can be reversed. I've always preferred carrying my knifes with the hinge down, so being able to reverse it from how it came from the factory was great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

junk blade steel!

12/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this looking for a back-up knife so that I could use this while I sent my Benchmades back for free sharpening. I figured Kershaw was popular and would be able to produce a basic knife. WRONG! I used it one day at work, the very first thing I attempted to cut was some plastic banding on a pallet of corrugation. It bent ALL the serrated teeth over on the blade! I have been subjecting my Benchmade 940 Osborne to this every day for the past year, the Kershaw couldn't handle it ONCE!
Took it back and got my money and ran away from Kershaw for good!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Review 19 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Great Knife

03/25/2010
By ,
Redmond, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this knife after reading some other reviews about it online and thought it would be perfect. It is PERFECT! I love the swivel action on it. All you have to do is touch the bumps on the side an it auto slides open. The texture of the knife feels great on your hands. It is very sharp. The best thing about it is the pocket holder. Love this knife. I highly suggest anyone to purchase it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Kershaw Knives Tanto Blur

Gotta Love Kershaw

05/15/2010
By ,
Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic knife for the money.Bought mine 2 yrs. ago,still going strong.So far I've bored holes in sheet rock,plexiglass and plywood,tip is still there and no damage.The dude that had the tip break off,well there was a 440A version also,which is not as good as the Sandvik steel.Maybe he had that one..who knows.All in all for the money,for what you get,well gotta love Kershaw!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next