Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

First Alert First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Secure all your important papers, CDs and USBs by using the First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest. It is conveniently sized for space-efficient storage and is water-resistant too. The independently verified waterproof seal on this First Alert security safe enables the chest to float during a flood, making it easy to locate, as well as providing protection from the rising water. The First Alert 2017F fire and water chest is UL classified and can withstand external temperatures up to 1550 degrees Fahrenheit for half an hour. This fire and water safe includes a carry handle for hassle-free portability. It also comes with a clamping latch and key lock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%61 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

safe & secure NO IT IS NOT

11/08/2008
By ,
peachland, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I' d really like to hear from the manufacture as to why this security box has the same lock & key which fits all the others of the same kind on the shelf . I bought this to keep important papers & money in , thinking it was secure . Not so , anyone that has a key to another Honeywell box like this can open yours & take what-ever is in your private security - fire - proof box . All the keys are the same . I realize it's not expensive but , in my opinion & personal experience of being robbed , I would think they could at least make a different lock & key for each one ---- very misleading !!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
California
Posted 11/28/2013
Why would having a different key help???
I don't think a thief would spend time to try his/her keys, he she/ would simply take the whole box and open it later!
Your concern would of course make sense if you are suspicions of people living in your place.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

It gets the job done

03/30/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks like it will serve its purpose and protect documents from the elements. Documents lay in box neatly. As far as theft proof, well is anything really theft proof. The lock will keep an honest man honest. Even if it had top of the line lock, thief will just take the whole box and open it later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Safe and sound...

12/27/2008
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since all the basic models seem to have about the same protection rating, I selected this one because it will hold letter sized documents without folding them up.
Seems to have plenty of room inside and I find myself storing all kinds of things.
After reading several reviews, I find it is a good habit to take it easy on the keys when opening and closing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

It's the perfect size to hold the items I wanted

06/20/2014
By ,
South Jordan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a safe box that would protect my external hard dive and other important documents in the event of a fire. I can now keep my computer backups safe allowing me to cancel my monthly online backup subscription that I was paying for. I don't worry anymore about loosing my valuable data and other important documents. This safe is the perfect size for my needs and holds standard 8 1/2 x 11 sized documents without having to bend them. I really like the spring loaded locking mechanism, it makes opening and closing the box very easy. This box works perfectly for my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Okay Product

06/05/2011
By ,
LA, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It will do it's job of keeping the document from fire and water. However, I don't like the hard plastic latch/locking for the case. It can easily be broken. However, it's small and someone can steal it, so it really doesn't matter. The main thing is to protect from fire and water NOT theft.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Does its job..

01/17/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The box looks like it would do a good job protecting your stuff in a fire or flood since it would create a good seal for everything.
However, if you're going to use it as a security box to protect from theft, you might want to look elsewhere. The latch on the box is made of PLASTIC and feels flimsy as well. It looks like I could probably break it open with a simple flathead screwdriver!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

it was what i expected

10/09/2007
By ,
atl,ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i was looking for an inexpensive way to keep a few important papers safe in my small dorm room. this was fire and water proof. it is about the size of a briefcase. dont expect to put anything too large in it though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Honeywell .19 cu. ft. Waterproof Fire Protector

03/09/2009
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is perfect for what we planned on using it for. It will hold our important docuements, etc. Seems to be made well and hopefully will survive a fire if one every occurs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

This safe is a joke

05/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe is a joke. The whole latching mechanism is plastic. One well placed hit with a common hammer would break the latch and allow someone to open the box. Just above the latch, there is a sticker that says whatever you put inside the safe, put it in a dishwasher-safe container first. Makes me wonder just how water- and fire-proof the thing is. Don't waste your money on this safe. You are better off just buying the $14 steel security box to protect things from people. If you only need to protect things from fire or storms, put them in a heavy-duty zip-lock with a paper-weight and drop it in the back of your toilet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

bad part

12/21/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
please make sure they include a key for the product had some trouble getting a key for the safe but other then that it is great. Light, and very durable.
:CSNStores.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Great for a small fire proof carry about lock box.

05/23/2012
By ,
Ava Il.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this for important papers not large amount of money. To easy to carry off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest
09/24/2013
By ,
Belgrade, Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is heavy duty but it looks like it would be simple to get into, not as safe as I would want a safe to be. Effective for fire and water but, not so much for safe keeping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Document Security At A Good Price

04/12/2008
By ,
the Panhandle of Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am quite impressed with the quality of the Honeywell fire/waterproof.19 cu. ft. lock-box. It is just big enough to hold all of my vital papers and yet small enough to hide almost anywhere. The heavy-duty construction is of a high quality and is priced very reasonably.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Holds an 8 1/2" x 11" paper flat.

12/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not tested, but would say it holds nearly a ream of paper flat. Thats alot. First that I came across that would hold paper flat without a high price tag. I haven't tested the fire or water statements. I just hope it holds true.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Document security

09/22/2010
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the right size for all of your important documents (hard copies) and it protects electronic media also. This product secures your items from fire and water but not theft since it is hand portable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

It Works

10/24/2010
By ,
Havelock, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had a chance to test this product and I hope I never do, but it seems to be exactly what I was looking for. For the price that you are paying it is a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Decent size

06/11/2011
By ,
Waco, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't had any incident w/ fire (thank goodness) but it's a decent size and holds my important documents. A little small for the price but holds what I need it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

A very nice product

04/12/2008
By ,
Machesney Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great! It keeps money and belongings secure so you don't have to worry about theft. I wish I had bought it a long time ago!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Avaluable & useful product

02/26/2009
By ,
Clinton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Provides what is needed. Fills my needs, but I should have gotten opne that holds legal size documents. Great value for thbe price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2017F 0.19 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Chest

Fire Resistant Lock Box

10/25/2010
By ,
Columbia, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid and heavy, ease of use, a little larger size would have been useful, but its size should be easy to store in a safe place.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next