Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cosco Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Cosco Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

A gentle, automatic swing is a baby care essential. This soothing, open-top swing by Cosco has 5 swing speeds, a 3-position recline and carry handles for portability. Find the secret to a happier baby with this easy-to-use swing.
Average Customer Rating:
2.4 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation35%7 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Lasted 48 hours

07/27/2007
By ,
Baltimore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The price was great. The tray was a nice design, but after only 2 days of use the motor bit the dust. Wouldn't buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Review 2 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Not worth the cheap price!

02/18/2008
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had a great swing that was used by our 2 year old and then passed on to the new baby. She is now 3 months old and it finally quit. We definately got our money out of that one ~ the 2 yr. old loved to swing!
Rather than spending too much money since we weren't too sure how long it would be used we opted to get this cheaper swing.
I wouldn't use it if it was given to me for free. My daughter is only 3 months and barely fits in it. There are no toys on the front for stimulation and it appears to have very limited movement compared to our other swing. (made by Evenflo)
Even with brand new batteries I have a problem with it just stopping.
I only got it a few days ago and I am returning it tomorrow! It's worth it to spend a little more and get something that works, is comfy for your little one and provides stimulation while awake.
DON'T BUY THIS SWING!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton
09/15/2007
By ,
Moss Point, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have twins and was given this product. My boys love their swings. They love to be in motion so it helps me out alot when I need to get things done and can't sit and bounce or rock them. At first I was worried that the back sit to upright for my newborns but it wasnt as bad as i thought after I put them into it. I havent had any problems with it so far and love that the front folds down for easy in-out access.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Didn't last long!

11/15/2007
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this swing and put batteries in it the day we brought my newborn son home from the hospital. He's 9 days old today, and the motor just quit. I thought it was the batteries, but I replaced them and it still won't rock. It's making the clicking noise, but the swing isn't moving. A huge waste of $60. I've emailed the company that makes it, and am waiting on a response.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Not a good buy.

08/14/2007
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had the same problem as a previous review. after only a week the motor shot and no longer worked. I had to go buy another swing for my newborn.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

This did the job!

10/26/2007
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this swing was great.. It really soothed my baby girl a few times.. She loved her swing..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Junk swing!!

07/19/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This swing is junk! It's cheaply made. The seat and tray are ok. The swinging motion is "jerkie" not smooth as described. The big problem we had with this swing is that we have to change batteries daily!
We put new batteries in, our child used the swing for about 4 hours that day. The next morning the swing wouldn't work. I put new batteries(Duracell) and the swing worked fine all day. Next morning same thing dead batteries. At about $7.00 for four batterys We can't afford to use this swing...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Isn't even worth 40 dollars.

12/05/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this product as a gift for my daughter. We had to stop using it after she was only about 6 months old because everytime we had put her in it it would stop moving...and she wasn't over the weight limit! It doesn't seem very sturdy and it is a waste of money. You can get something that lasts a lot longer like into their toddler years that is anywhere between 10-20 dollars more and it would be worth it! Don't waste your money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
0points
Review 9 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

It is what it is....

03/09/2008
By ,
Smithville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was surprisingly easy to set up- at first glance,the instructions overwhelmed, but not actually that bad. The inability to recline the swing as far as I really wanted for a 2 month old was disappointing. Also, the "5 speeds" it claims are really 2- fairly fast and waay too fast! Aside from those 2 problems, it has worked quite well so far- pretty much a case of you get what you pay for here. No signs yet of the motor wearing out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Has no speed adjustment

08/17/2007
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product as a gift for my sister-in-law while visiting and used it for my son. This product says that it has 5 different speeds, however even the slowest speed seemed far too fast for a small baby. Even my 3 month old hated going so fast. It also says the seat reclines, however, again this didn't seem to make much difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 11 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

I like this swing

08/19/2007
By ,
MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this swing almost daily for over 4 months. I have not had any problems with it. I like that you can lean the back of the seat back or have it upright and that the tray can be leaned down to make it easier to get baby out. I have not had any problems with the motor or anything else with this swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

so so

03/30/2008
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this swing is alright. it doesnt play any music. its a basic swing and good if you're not looking to spend a lot of money. the motion is far from smooth, however. it jerks a little and makes a noise. it isn't very cute either. i recommend you spend the extra $20 or so to get a nicer swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Waste of $$$$

12/27/2007
By ,
Marquette, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this product as a gift...And it lasted all of a month...I would not recommend this product!!! It is very unstable...I thought the batteries needed to be changed instead it turns out the motor died...Not impressed!!! My advice is to review a product before buying it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

excellent buy

11/04/2007
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this swing for our son and he loves it!
It lays almost all the way back and the tray folds down for easy in and out. Batteries last awhile also,my son is 5 months old and we have changed the batteries once.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Not Satisfied

03/24/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this swing when my daughter was a couple of months old. I think it was rated up to 25 lbs, but it stopped working a long time ago. Eats up batteries...save your money or spend a little more on a better swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Perfect starter swing

02/07/2008
By ,
Bremerton, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a perfect starter swing, if you don't want to spend a lot of money. I would not use it for a long period of time but for short uses this is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

not too sturdy

11/12/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have not had our baby yet but recieved this swing as a gift for baby shower, after putting it together it seems very un sturdy and wobbly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 18 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Dies after one day

08/26/2007
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our son and it died after one day! The motor doesn't last long in this swing!!!
Don't Buy This Item!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 19 for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton

Not the one

11/21/2007
By ,
st. louis, mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The swing is not sturdy at all. When my daughter is in it swings so fast on the lowest speed it jerks her.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Cosco Beginnings Gentle Motion Automatic Swing, Ashton
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5