Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safety 1st Safety - 1st Railnet

Safety 1st Safety - 1st Railnet

This Safety - 1st deck and balcony railing guard is designed to help protect children and pets from balcony and railing accidents. The durable mesh guard installs easily on any type of railing. The net is weatherproof. The Safety 1st Railnet is perfect for use both inside and out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation84%36 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
14
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Safety - 1st Railnet

too bulky

03/01/2009
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I returned this product. The holes punched around the binding are matched top to bottom - instead of side to side - so the holes wouldn't match up if you don't need the full length of the mesh. Also wasn't excited about tying strings around my interior railing (looked tacky) and also didn't want to have to screw the hooks in to the woodwork or walls and leave permanent holes. I have a 4' railing I need to add protection to but am still looking for some way to do it that will work but not look tacky to do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Safety - 1st Railnet
04/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have indoor banisters that are wide enough for our kids to put their heads through so this was virtually a life saver. It was time consuming to install because you have to tie the strings every 6 inches or so at the top, bottom and sides and we had 20 feet of netting to install. Once it was up, I felt a huge sense of relief knowing that my kids (especially my 15 month old) couldn't fall through the railing down to the lower level.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Safety - 1st Railnet

No more worries

03/07/2009
By ,
Portage,IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy to install, I did it by myself. Works GREAT!!! I don't have to worry about my youngest squeezing through the rail in the house anymore.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Safety - 1st Railnet

baby railing net

03/23/2010
By ,
Hermitage
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted the net to be brown in color. Bought some brown fabric dye and that worked great. I used plastic zip ties to attach the net. I do not like the string the company provided. To hard to use and I did not feel it was secure enough. The key is to get the net taunt. Product is ok. Fabric could be made with a stronger - heavier weight fabric in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Safety - 1st Railnet

PERFECT for safety!

02/21/2009
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was EXACTLY what we were looking for! We had purchased a similar product from another webpage (a plastic sheet that was ziptied to the railing) and it was a piece of junk. It broke so easily when my 17 month old son beat on it. This netting doesn't rip or tear. It was easy to install (just time consuming).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Safety - 1st Railnet

it is okay

10/28/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have to fold and roll it up in all directions. there aren't many holes for the ties to go thru.
it is used for the upstairs railings but i can't use it for the entire stairs going down.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Its Ok

04/20/2012
By ,
Chrisman, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for our new house that has stairs. Our house is old so my children can fit between the posts. There is not much choice out there for railing safety so this was my choice unless I wanted the plastic shield which costs too much. This costs too much for what it is though it is also very tacky. They really need to make it in brown and black so it isn't so obvious to the kids they seem to be more interested in it now then they were before.My 10 month old loves the strings so she is defiantly more attracted to it now than before. I couldnt get it to were it was tight with no creases because my posts dont line up with the holes. My 10 month old loves the strings so she is defiantly more attracted to it now than before. It is also a pain in the butt where my railing meets the wall they want you to screw in eyelets to attach the string to. I am not really thrilled about drilling a hole in my hard wood floors so I'm going to try to come up with another solution. All and all it seems to be doing its job but its defiantly nothing great. I only said I would recommend it to a friend because there is nothing else out there. I gave it three stars for average because I don't really expect too much any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Excellent buy

10/25/2009
By ,
Evans,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this product. It does what it says. I did not use the screws and string it came with to set it up. I purchased zip ties at a local hardware store. I did not want to damage the natural wood with the screws. The product went up really quick and I had to purchase two because one was not long enough to do the job. The only thing I do not like is that it looks like a ping pong net. The products works great and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Safety - 1st Railnet

could be better

08/27/2007
By ,
queens, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The railnet does the job once you are able to get it on. For me the net was to long and i could not cut it. it was even to wide, and to try and fold it and put the sting through the little holes in the net took me forever to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Great for keeping pets on the balcony

08/12/2013
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased these to use on our 2nd floor apartment balcony for our little dogs. They work great and haven't had any issues with them. I don't know how they will hold up in the TN weather. I'm hoping that they last a while. For the price I won't mind replacing them though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Looks somewhat good atleast..

08/31/2011
By ,
NJ,DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this item for my huge balcony on the 3rd floor and it is not very wide or tall, but I suppose it will get the job done.There is noway to tie the bottom stings. any ideas for anothe solution? I'm not very fond of the idea of strings being the only thing holding this in place. The fabric has already began to tear. I've only let my son go out once and the first thing he went for was the strings on the bottom. Even with this item I still don feel comfortable. Wasnt able to find anything else so this will do the job. Will add photo another time..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Made my railing safe

07/13/2008
By ,
Indiana, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a split entry home and the metal railing along the upstairs is big enough for my 9month old to crawl through if he wanted to. This stuff did create a barrier, however I still keep my couch against the railing because the netting does seem a little flimsy. And those strings that you tie it to the rails with are not very attractive hanging everywhere either. But, you can't cut them off because the knots will come undone. Overall, I say this is an "ok" product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Perfect

07/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live on the third floor and want our kids to be safe playing on the balcony without us hovering. This worked perfectly. It was easy to install, but it did take some time to do all the ties. Now our kids can play outside by themselves and I don't have to worry. The ties do look a little tacky, but our children's SAFETY was more important than how it looked. If you cut the strings shorter after it's installed it doesn't look that bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Not the greatest but does the job

09/03/2010
By ,
Bronx, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a pretty small area to cover (5' long by 2' high). I need something that would stop my 1 year old from throwing things down between the banisters. It was annoying to set up (so I let hubby finish it). Since it is up it does do the trick somewhat...meaning if I leave her near it long enough she'd be able to slide her binky underneath...but it gives me time to catch her before she can.
For the price & what I need it for it's ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Simple safety

04/24/2012
By ,
Hurricane WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very happy to receive this product, to ensure the safety of my grandchildren on the stairs in our older home. This product was easy to install, with minimal effort. The only negative aspect was having to screw eyelet connectors into our hardwood floor, but of course, this adds to the security of the product and safety for my grandbabies, so it was worth it. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a simple safety fix.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Okay but wouldn't purchase again

05/04/2010
By ,
New London, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was a little difficult to install because my railing is shorter than the net is tall. Also, all the strings are just too cumbersome to work with. It is up and is doing it's job, but something that has velcro and is made out of some kind of stretchy material would have been better. I basically want to buy a larger version of my daughter's breathable crib bumper for my banister.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Serves its purpose

10/22/2007
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works exactly how they said it would. It's great for protecting little arms and leges from getting stuck inbetween the rails. My only wish is that it wasn't white. I wished it was available in otehr colors so it would bland better with the rooms decor. Overall, it does what it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Just what I needed

01/08/2008
By ,
saugus, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked everywhere for something to cover the railing on my staircase so my puppy could not go over the edge. This product worked well. It covered the open railing and i was able to use the screws provided to screw into the carpet to ensure proper coverage. I am happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Safety - 1st Railnet

Not worth the aggravation

07/25/2008
By ,
Connecticut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is not what you might expect. It is very tedious to set up. I don't feel comfortable using it. It is more of an attraction than a deterant. It is only fastened by very thin string which unties easily even when knotted tightly. I would definitely not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Safety - 1st Railnet
04/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pleased with this product. It's essentially exactly what the description says. The mesh covers the railings well, and can be adjusted to lengthen as needed. It was placed on with small ties, and easy to install. Provides good barrier for our second floor railing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next