Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Royal Appliance Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Royal Appliance Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

The Dirt Devil Spot Scrubber is the most powerful handheld extractor and now it has 60% more cleaning power than before! The rotating brush provides deep effective cleaning and its powerful suction removes spills, spots and stains quickly. Plus the lightweight and compact design makes it incredibly versatile - great for cleaning carpets, upholstery, stairs and cars.
Average Customer Rating:
2.175 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Recommendation28%11 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
18
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Biggest hunk of junk I have ever bought

04/10/2008
By ,
ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this as we got an upright Bissell and thought this would save me dragging out the big beasty when we need a quick clean up. Tried it on a foot stool that our little girl split milk on, it did less then nothing so was going to return it but husband lost the receipt so I figured maybe it would come in handy at some point. One of our dogs had an accident in the house and there was a small stain left I tried to use this to remove the stain again nothing but deafening both me and my daughter (I'm writing this 15 mins later and my ears are still ringing and I used it in a large bedroom). I could have spat on the floor and removed more of the stain then this did, I had to drag the bissell threw the house and took all of 5 seconds to remove the stain, took me longer getting the bissell in and out then it did to clean hence the need for a hand cleaner.
I would not recommend this at all, it doesn't even make a nice garden decoration when thrown out the front door.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Devilish Spot remover

03/29/2008
By ,
Jackson, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this spot remover for heavily traveled areas in my home. These areas would get small quarter sized stains rather frequently. I bought this product thinking it would make my life easier. It's looks very nice in the package, but I would not buy it again if I had the choice. It will remove spots in the carpet with ease, I will admit that. However, it IS very noisy and doesn't hold much dirty water and WILL start misting it out of the sides when it gets close to being full. It was rather inconvienient to have to switch from scrub to vacuum on the side between jobs and then have to keep pumping the cleaning material out. I like the product because it is small and effective on stains in the carpet. It's better than having to scrub with resolve and a brush. It's not bad for $38 but then again it's not great either, but hey I spent only $38. If you have patience with these types of products then you will be fine. If you are frustrated easily then don't buy it. I do want to say this again. It did get up the stains in my carpet from a large dogs and muddy boots and things like that left behind.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Waste of $$

12/28/2007
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this item because we weren't ready to pay more for a spot cleaner. BIG MISTAKE!
The first problem is that it is so incredibly noisy that we have to wear earplugs to use it...I am not kidding! The first time I used it, I turned it on for a minute, and by the time I turned it off, my ears were ringing.
The second problem is that it doesn't clean for anything. We have multiple pets, so thought it would be great to have something lightweight that could be used quickly for small spots & accidents. Even with fresh spots (i.e. the only time elapsed, being what it takes to walk to the closet, get this item out & fill it with solution), it won't take up the stain completely. And that is after having cleaned up part of the spot by hand!
Spend your money more wisely & purchase other models that come recommended...not THIS item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Nonsense

03/13/2008
By ,
Layton, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am sorry to say that this is a nonsense product. I purchased this without looking at reviews, and after using it I pulled up the reviews and laughed. Everyone is right. It doesn't work well, and even if it did, what I learned is this: don't waste $40 on a "spot cleaner" like this. Either invest another $40 or $50 and get an upright carpet cleaner that can clean all of your carpets, or invest a mere $4.00 on a product by resolve that is carpet cleaning powder along with a scrub brush and do the "spot cleaning" yourself; or better yet: get both. To conclude: spot cleaning isn't worth the money for this machine. Your hand and a simple 1 minute scrubbing will do the trick. And a big upright carpet cleaner is a better investment in the long run to clean all of your carpets.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Dirt Devil Spot Scrubber

11/25/2007
By ,
killeen, tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
designed for spots only. if you want a carpet cleaned, then purchase a carpet cleaner. the cleaning solution is what matters. works ok on SMALL spots (e.g., pet messes), not large (e.g. entryway carpet). noisy, cheaply constructed, weak vacuum (for fluids only) and not very efficient. cleaning solution squirter required repair after (proper) storage. would be better served using a good carpet cleaner like "resolve," a scrub brush, and a wet/dry vac.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Not what I was hoping for . . .

10/10/2007
By ,
Hixson, TN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The main reason I did not find this product useful was that it does not have the capability to scrub & suck up the water at the same time, as a normal carpet cleaner would. So, rather than simultaneously scrubbing the stain while vacuuming the soiled water away, it first rubs the stain into the carpet, then you have to switch to, "vacuum" mode to suck up the water. In addition, the vacuum is very weak, so it does not do a very good job of drying up the water. I was disappointed; all in all, I find it easier and more efficient to clean my carpet with a wet rag and a dry towel for blotting, than with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Worst product I've ever bought

07/17/2008
By ,
Bluffton, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it looks nice this is the worst product i've every bought. I rent a two story house with white carpet. I have a carpet cleaner that I love but it's too big for the stairs so I bought this product and it's horrible! The sprayer only sprays a little trickle of cleaning solution and the sprayer button didn't even work half the time. The suction is terrible. My stair...yes only one stair which is NOT clean, by the way...is still wet after several hours. I do not recommend this product at all and mine is being returned. Serves me right for trying to save money...paid cheaply and got a very cheap product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Good Basic Cleaner

09/30/2007
By ,
SWFL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After only using the product three times, I can honestly say it does a good job for a cheap spot cleaner. It's VERY noisy so I recommend ear plugs. I used it for urine removal on our couch and carpet as well as spot cleaning a kitchen throw rug with a stain over 6 months old! I also sprayed urine removal cleaner (on the couch & carpet) in addition to the solution that goes in the handle. I'm very pleased so far. No problem opening the plug for the dirty water reservoir and I rinse it right away with hot water to remove the dirt. There shouldn't be an odor if/when it dries inside the tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

10/14/2008
By ,
Mid Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a case of getting what you pay for. My experience with this little Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer is that it does what it is supposed to do, but not effortlessly. When spots are pretreated as directed, it does a pretty good job. The cleaning solution that is included with purchase smells nice and did a satisfactory job removing stains that I'd tried removing previously with regular spray-on carpet cleaners. It did not completely remove the stain but sufficiently lightened it. It was easy to use after reading the directions. Vacuum area. Pre-treat spot. Fill with mixture of cleaning solution and water as per instructions. Plug in, turn on. Squirt cleaning solution on the spot and turn rotating brush on. Spend a minute or so doing this, depending on stain. Switch the rotating brush off and turn the extractor (suction) on. Here lies my chief complaint, it doesn't remove all liquid, which is important. I'd venture to guess it removed about a third of the (now dirty) cleaning solution. I used a cloth to dab dry. My only other complaint was difficulty removing the cap to drain the used cleaning solution reservoir tank. I do think other more expensive cleaners might do a better a job but for the price, I won't complain. I do not recommend this product for anything other than its intended purpose. It is a spot remover. It wouldn't be efficient for high traffic areas or heavy cleaning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Handy Cleaner

07/26/2007
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This spot scrubber does a good job of cleaning up spills (I used it specifically for my pet's accidents). I'm not happy with the fact that after cleaning out the vacuum reservoir, it took a few days for it to completely dry out--which it had to do because of the smell of the contents. The other complaint I have is the great difficulty in removing the plug to drain the reservoir. I had to use pliers to open it! Other than those two complaints, I have to say it does a great job of cleaning--the major reason I made the purchase. All-in-all, I would recommend this spot scrubber.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

spot scrubber

05/11/2008
By ,
missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product b/c it was small and could be stored easily, at least more easily than an upright. I feel it was a mistake. Like others i did not read the reviews before buying. It worked good on the spots in my living room, however not to great on my car. It seemed to not suck up water in my car very well. It was VERY loud. It scared my son, every time i sould use it he would scream loud and run away. The product was effective on my household stains although I'm sure another one would be more effective. Plainly I would not buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

useless

12/20/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very diappointed with this product. I bought this product because I was looking for a quick spot cleaner to use between renting the Rug Doctor machine. I pretreat all stains and use good shampoo, but even still this machine doesnt get the stain out. I have better luck removing the stain by hand; not to mention with the same amount of effort. As well as another reviewer, it leaks nasty brown liquid. Ive had the machine for about 2 years, most of which it just sits on the shelf because removing the stain by hand is easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

horrible product, WAY to loud

07/29/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this product for several reason's. 1 It is WAY to loud since you have to be on your hands and knees right next to it, it's right by your ear. I have trouble hearing after I turn it off. I bought this for pet messes and baby spills and it's okay at removing those but the bin where the dirty water goes is hard to remove and put back on and the plug on the bin is so hard to open and close I hardly ever get it shut right. Don't buy this, it's a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer
08/16/2008
By ,
Clintwood, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is so loud I can not use it while my children are in the house and I had to wear ear plugs. Mine will not pick up 1/2 of the water it sprays out. This product is nothing like I expected. Bought it to shampoo my couch and loveseat with and ended up having to bring out my floor shampooer to suck up the water.
If you are reading this thinking of buying then I say don't, spend a little extra and get something else!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Not very satisfied

03/17/2008
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this item thinking it would be great for the spots here and there, and maybe I was using it wrong but the thing was really loud, there wasn't much dirty water sucked up, unless you put a lot of cleaner in the fresh water you have to constantly push a button to put stain remover on the area. Over all I wouldn't have bought this thing if I new how useless and hard to handle it was going to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Mist-A-fied

12/13/2007
By ,
Brandon, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lucipher would love this in Hades. It sprays a cool mist of brown water on the user during the vaccuum mode after he/she has labored and sweat during the spray and scrub mode. Nice feature but I'll stick with personal mister fan for comfort and a sense on personal cleanliness.
I'd suggest getting an upright carpet cleaner, because some of you women my feel like Cinderella before the Ball.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Just Ok

10/29/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It does the job, but it is not perfect. I found it easier to put the shampoo in a separate spray bottle because the sprayer on the device only sprays a little at a time. So when trying to clean a larger area, it takes forever to spray the shampoo. (Plus I have tendonitis and pumping the sprayer is difficult for me.) But overall, it is an OK spot cleaner. Definitely not for larger areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Dont waste your money!

05/23/2008
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for small clean ups, like most everyone else...I tried it out in four different spots and it was the biggest piece of junk I have ever purchased! I am brining it back NOW! Dont waste your money! My thought was that if it worked for a month that it was worth the money I paid out...NOPE! I purchased this yesterday afternoon and I am returning within 24 hours!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

Does the job-just barely

12/22/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to find an affordable hand-held vacuum. The box claims it is 60% more powerful than other handhelds. I don't see how this can be true. It sprays water all over you while you use it, and it doesn't suck up the water very well from the floor. I always have to dry the water with a towel after I use it to get the carpet to dry.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Portable Spot Scrubber Shampooer

I hate this thing.

08/06/2008
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've got 2 little kids, and needed something to clean up their spills. I figured it was Dirt Devil and seemed reasonably priced. The first time I used it, I hated it. It is so loud I have to wear ear plugs, it's much heavier than I expected, the dirty water container fills VERY quickly, and it sprayed dirty water out the sides!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next