Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Jakks Pacific Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Jakks Pacific Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Enter the laboratory and craft a new crew of Creepy Crawlers. Pick the pattern of every inch on every inchworm and color each scissoring claw on every scorpion. Now you can make and decorate your own Creepy Crawly bugs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.204 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation87%47 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Great toy for boys or girls

09/05/2007
By ,
Carriere, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old son and he loves it. It is something that we do together because he is too young for me to allow him to be unsupervised. Great for spending quality time together and to inspire their creativity. The only problem is that it is hard to find the extra goo to buy. I have been to 4 Wal Mart stores and nobody has it in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 2 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Needs Light Bulb!

01/05/2009
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Somewhere a caution should appear indicating that in order to use this product you MUST FIRST purchase a 60 watt small base bulb. How disappointing for opening as a gift when it cannot be used "right out of the box!"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Review 3 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

A REAL "HUNK OF JUNK!"

10/01/2009
By ,
Downers Grove, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these sets, one for each of my grandkids. To say that this product is nothing but junk is putting it politely.
It is absolutely impossible even for an adult to get this "toy" to work. The toy is frustrating and poorly designed. The "ovens" smoke and stink, and the finished product is a brown, ugly mess.
This was not simply an isolately incident of getting hold of one defective set...because they were both
the same. The so-called "highlighting" of the creepy crrawlers with a white substance that has to be applied with a tiny plastic toothpick is ridiculous and impossible to do.
I returned both sets and would NEVER purchase another toy from this manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 4 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

A very fun activity

08/29/2007
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This toy is great for both boys and girls. They can spend hours making rubbery bugs. It is difficult to find a toy that both genders like, this is the one. My daughter and her friends just love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 5 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Son got his Christmas wish

12/29/2007
By ,
Paola, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 4-year-old son for Christmas. He was ecstatic. My 8-year-old daughter also enjoys playing with this. It is NOT something that I would feel comfortable letting either do by themselves. Definitely suggest having an adult assist, even if product indicates 8+. It is like an easy bake oven for boys, and there can be hot pieces. I would also recommend a well ventilated area. My kids love it though and it is allows them to be creative. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Fun Gift

12/29/2008
By ,
WPB
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for 11 yr. old granddaugter, we made them together and really had fun. The oven has a good safety feature where you can't open oven until mold cools down completely. Can take about 15 minutes. She had the patience to wait, but my 6 year old grandson did not, he seemed to lose interest after a while, she did not, she just started making another one. Probably depends on the child. I also would trust her to play with on her own, but younger than 8, probably not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

pretty cool but difficult to use

01/16/2009
By ,
E. Pgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my son is 8 and was really excited to make all the bugs - which turn out pretty well. this toy really requires adult supervision because it gets HOT and requires a steady hand to load and unload the baking plates. also, my son doesn;t yet have the dexterity to squeeze the gels into the mold precisely. his creatures still turned out cool but nothing like the ones on the package. The safety feature is nice (wont open until it cools down).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 8 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

No way

06/03/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this product and the oven part was broken. Did not know that until after we fill all of the trays with the goop. The goop is so sticky and hard to get off of hand and even the sink. Do not know what the final product would have looked like but did not seem worth it. I didn't even return the one I received because it was cheaper to throw it away than drive to store or pay shipping on the return.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 9 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Couldn't have been more pleased!

12/26/2007
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Creepy Crawlers was just the item that my bug-loving grandson wanted for Christmas. Alas, my local Wal-Mart was sold out. I ordered it online; it was shipped in a timely fashion, with no postage charge, to my store for easy pickup after an e-mail notification. What could be easier? The product was easy to use and made awesome bugs, according to my grandson. He loves it. What could be better?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Creepy Crawlers

01/13/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a lot of fun. My 5 year old loves it and wants to make bugs every day. Finding more molds and goo is almost impossible though! Wal-Mart doesn't offer it at all and another toy store has it on their web site but it's never available.
The color of the bugs never turn out as colorful as online.
But it's still fun.
I'm just not sure what we are going to do when all of the goo is gone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Kids love it

11/04/2008
By ,
Oldbridge, NJ.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this product 6 months ago and the kids still love playing with it. I have a 5yr old and 2 yr old. Even my husband enjoys it. The goop is easy to pour into the molding trays and the wait time is not to long. However, it is hard to find refill goop and extra molding trays to create different bugs. Otherwise it is a very entertaining product for the kids and not messy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

No replacement goop

04/14/2008
By ,
Lebanon, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son LOVED this toy - what 6 year old wouldn't! However, was very disappointed when the goop ran out and even more so when I was unable to locate it anywhere. I have contacted the maker, Jakks, and they just continue to tell me to go to Toys R Us, Wal Mart, etc. The replacement white goop is not at any of those stores. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 13 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Bug Maker

05/19/2008
By ,
Rougemont, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son got this for his 9th birthday and loves making the bugs. I would buy extra molds for bigger bugs and extra refill goo. When you bake, make sure to cut off after light goes off the first time or it will start back up and keep on baking. We didn't see clear instructions on how long to bake the bugs but quickly figured it out ourselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

TONS OF FUN

01/03/2008
By ,
BUTLER, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAD ONE OF THESE OVENS WHEN I WAS A LITTLE GIRL AND I BOUGHT ONE FOR MY BOYFRIENDS LITTLE BOY AND IVE NEVER SEEN HIM HAVE SOO MUCH FUN!!! IT ALSO HAS AN EXTRORDINARY SAFETY FEATURE...YOU CANNOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR UNTIL THE OVEN IS COMPLETELY COOLED DOWN!! I WOULD RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANY PARENT WHO NEEDS TO OCCUPY BUSY LITTLE HANDS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Bug Maker for boys

11/26/2008
By ,
Mt. Clemens, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for one of my grandsons and he was so impressed with it and even made a bug for me. He is 7 yrs. old and loved this item. It is sometimes hard to know what gift to buy for younger children as they all like something different, but I got a high five for this item and am so happy he likes it so much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Worth the money

04/28/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is exactly what it says. It works great, we just had a slight problem getting the on off button to work at times but my husband fixed it. My son has had it since he was 3, which is way below the age limit but has loved it since day one. Dad just helped with the oven part when he was that little.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 17 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker
01/28/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a great toy. My children love it. However, we have used all of the goop and I can not find anymore. Why sell a toy and then not carry the supplies for it? I have looked all over online and the only place I can find it is on EBAY and it is very costly there. So for now, this toy is useless to us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Love it, but can't find refills!

10/19/2008
By ,
Ironton,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My children love this bug maker, but unfortunately you can't find the refill goop at wal-mart stores or on walmart.com. If you sell the product you should sell the refills for it. My children are very dissapointed that they can't play with it until I can search online somewhere & find refills.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

Great Product

12/27/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 2 grand sons and 1 grand daughter. I remembered my children having this at least 25 years ago and it was good back then.
They loved making their own bugs. It was simple to use. I would recommend parental supervision just because heat is involved.
Loads of fun for kids!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Creepy Crawlers Bug Maker

great for little boys

10/11/2008
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my son's 6th birthday, and I can't tell you how much fun he has had with it. I even enjoy helping him make different bugs, so I recommend it for people of all ages, LOL. We're gonna have to find some Goop refills soon, and Walmart.com doesn't seem to have any.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next