Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spalding Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Spalding Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

The Spalding NBA Basketball is exclusively designed for indoor and outdoor basketball game. The composite leather cover with embossed pebbles offers firm grip and control over the ball. Its leather construction makes it highly long lasting. The deep channel design of this Spalding basketball offers great dribble control. This grip control basketball meets all official size and weight specifications. It is an ideal choice for an interesting and precise basketball game.
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%23 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 28 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
18
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Great grip for small hands.

04/09/2012
By ,
Rockingham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using the Spalding Control Grip basketball going on 2 years. I am on my 4th ball.
I have small hands, so this ball is ideal. I shoot backward free throws. I have made 5 in-a-row over 3000 times, 7 in-a-row over 800 times, and 10 in-a-row or better over 135 times. I have a video on youtube of me making 7 in-a-row. I have made 22 in-a-row. I don't think I could have done this with any other ball. Uh-Oh, I think, I just gave away my secret.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Maybe just mine.

04/03/2012
By ,
Taylors, SC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this ball online and save 5 bucks, so I was excited for the deal. Purchased on the site, few minutes later received the email it was ready for pickup. Upon receipt of product the ball was inflated and seemed ready for use (so i thought). The ball was low on air hours after purchase so I couldn't really use it. No problem right...well pumped it up (so i tried), it just wouldn't allow proper air preasure (I thought it was my pump, which was new). Finally acheived just enough pressure to get by, but after that use it went back flat. Not low, but flat, and that was the case every time i wanted to play in the week I owned this ball. Maybe it was just the one I purchased, but I returned it for refund. I know it's not a neverflat, but it should hold air preasure better and longer than an hour or so. Sorry, but real ballers keep a good ball and ballin clothes with them, so we are always prepared for a game, and this ball was keeping me unprepared.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

A definite buy!

12/20/2010
By ,
Corbin, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this basketball at Wal-Mart for actually 20$, and got it for that price, rather than the website here listing it at 17$ which would be nicer, however for a guy like me with small hands, skinny fingers, this ball is just amazing, plus its a Spalding, by far the best brand recommended by me for buying any basketball. The sticky grip is awesome, now you can have a better shot selection with more accuracy. Unlike a lot of other basketballs, when trying to shoot them they seem to slip out as your releasing the ball as if your hands are really sweaty when really they're not. I got the 29.5" size ball, me and my friends use it on an indoor court and it's by far the best ball, the best brand, the best price at 20$ that you can't beat anywhere. Do not go to your local sports store and spend 30$ on a ball thats not worth it at all when you can get this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Wow, What A Basketball!!

12/22/2009
By ,
Paragould, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this basketball. A lot nicer than I expected. My Grandson will love it. My husband was even impressed with it. The grip is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Great outdoor basketball w/great grip

01/20/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our 9 year old son LOVES this basketball so much that he not only plays with it shooting hoops every day, but he sleeps with it! He wants to make sure that no one steals it in the night or that it has an opportunity to get lost. All our other basketballs have to sleep in the garage! ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

it is a great outdoor ball

07/23/2014
By ,
andover, ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been playing with a group for over 10 years regularly with all kinds of outdoor balls. So far, this is the best of all, and we all love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Nice ball for outdoor use

01/04/2012
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the grippy surface is especially helpful for younger kids and in the cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Nice grip, but a problem

09/04/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this ball last season and it's still fairly new (in good shape). It's got a great grip. But, the plug into which you insert the needle for adding air fell inside the ball (never to be seen or heard from again). That shouldn't happen! Unless we can replace that part, the ball is no good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Great value

12/25/2013
By ,
Victoria, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for 19 bucks the ball itself feels like an expensive Nike ball
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball
07/02/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Names brand merchandise for a very low price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball
01/12/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 13 year old son loves this ball.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

THIS IS GREAT JUST TOO SMALL FOR MY HANDS

10/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS IS SUCH A GREAT BALL WITH GREAT GRIP BUT ITS JUST TOO SMALL.EVEN THOUGH I BOUGHT THE 29.5 OFFICIAL BALL WHICH IT WAS NOT IT WAS SMALL.I'M AN AVERAGE SIZED 13 YEAR OLD WITH AVERAGE SIZED HANDS.SO I RECOMMEND THIS TO ANY BOY OR GIRL THAT ARE 10 YEARS OLD OR YOUNGER.ITS A SHAME BECAUSE IT HAS SUCH GREAT GRIP BUT I HAVE TO RETURN IT. IF U ARE OVER 10 YEARS OLD BUT HAVE SMALL HANDS THIS IS STILL GREAT.GOOD BALL A MUST BUY (FOR KIDS)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball
08/28/2010
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best indoor/outdoor basketball. Our outdoor family basketball game was enjoyable, in part, due to the ball's gripping ability for our smaller-hand players, myself included. This is the ball to use for making those sharp turns on a dime, and providing secure handling features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

perfet gift for a teeneger.

04/28/2013
By ,
cape coral, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality, my son is enjoying of it everyday, the delivery was more than fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Good for recreational use

12/30/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great ball, I have had it for about a year now and it has held up to everything that has been thrown at it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Great Ball and Great Price

09/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than the ball I saw in the store for the same money.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

good ball

04/03/2012
By ,
mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i like the ball alot good grip and durable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball

Great Ball!

12/31/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price and quality is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spalding NBA Grip Control Basketball
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5