Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Whitmor Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Create your own storage solutions with the Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes. These Whitmore storage cubes include four interlocking wire cubes. These handy grid storage wire cubes allow for multiple stacking options. Design these Whitmor storage cubes your way, whether it's for a dorm, kid's room, garage or utility room.
Average Customer Rating:
4.084 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
97
3 stars
24
2 stars
14
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation85%232 out of 273reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
123
4 stars
97
3 stars
24
2 stars
14
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Very functional

12/19/2012
By ,
fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very functional
09/09/2009
I was thrilled to find these because it seems I can't find them anywhere else! I searched every store in my area (not just Wal-mart) I couldn't get them anywhere so I checked Wal-mart.com and used site to store.
The cubes serve their purpose
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Very functional

09/09/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thrilled to find these because it seems I can't find them anywhere else! I searched every store in my area (not just Wal-mart) I couldn't get them anywhere so I checked Wal-mart.com and used site to store.
The cubes serve their purpose wonderfully which is for a guinea pig cage. The only problem I found was that I needed about 6 more connectors, and had two panels left over. I understand it's not meant for a cage, but still...
The price isn't too bad for what you get. I'd buy these again, but I'll probably go with Amazon. com because I can get free shipping for this item and it will come right to my house.
Had I known that I would have gotten them there rather than Wal-mart because it's a better deal.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Makes a Great Guinea Pig Cage!

05/20/2009
By ,
Ville Plate, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 boxes of these storage cubes to make my guinea pig cage. They make great cages for guinea pigs & they have 9x9 grid holes so it's safe for them as well. They look nice and they're so easy to put together, the only tool you need is some pliers because the connectors can sometimes be stubborn. You can also use cable/zip ties if you don't want to use the connectors. And the fact that you can ship it for free to your local store is a big plus since it saves a lot on shipping. After building my cage I had some leftover cubes & connectors so I used them for storage & so far it works really good. I definately recommend this product to anyone who wants to make a C&C (cubes & coroplast) guinea pig cage or if you want to use them for storage.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Low-cost alternative for Cavy (Guinea Pig) Cage!

02/10/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When searching for "the best" habitat for my pair of guinea pigs I found C&C Cages to be what I was looking for. I was shocked however at the cost. ($184.98 without tax and shipping for 5X2 grid base, 1X2 loft, 5X2 grid base/storage) Looking for a less expensive alternative, I happened on the testimonials for the Whitmor Storage Cubes and was sold. I spent $65.91 for three 4-Storage Cubes, and picked up a 4X8 ft sheet of coroplast (corrugated plastic) from a local sign shop for $25, which I was able to make a liner, ramp, and separate liner for food/potty area (Cavy Café, $22.99). Spending a total of $90.91 with out tax and shipping, saving myself $117.06! Assembly was easy, all I needed was a rubber mallet for getting the connectors in place and zip-ties for extra security. My 13 year old son actually assembled this with my guidance. It took some time, but well worth it for happy piggies!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Good product with poor packaging

02/05/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I didn't buy this product to use it for it's intended use. I used the panels to build a rabbit cage. I have however used this product before and they are super sturdy if you use them as intended and for larger objects (as smaller toys fall through, of course). I would like to point out because of how they package them, many of my panels had scratched off paint on the top corners where they are exposed while still packaged. Obviously, okay for Mr. Buns, but not if you wanted them for actual decoration. Just thought I'd mention that to those of you ordering these sight unseen. They work great, but may come a bit scratched up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Worked great for Guinea pig cage!

11/20/2013
By ,
NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these to build a guinea pig cage. I bought three boxes and used everyone one to build a 2x4 cage with stand and cage cover, outside ramp and 1X2X1 loft area. They are 9X9 grids that measure around 14in and you get 16 in each box. They went together easy enough but they are tough on your hands to secure into the connectors. I used some pliers with a small towel to pull them together or to bang the caps on tightly. Then I used zip ties for added strength. Overall I am really satisfied with my purchase. The free shipping over $50 is awesome too! I am planning to buy another box to make a playpen area and maybe even buy some of the pop up storage containers they make to fit inside the cube for storage underneath.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Good for Guinea Pig Cages

08/16/2009
By ,
Frederick, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I used these to build a guinea pig cage. We paid about $10 more than we would elsewhere because I really wanted the white and could only find it here. They're perfect for what we wanted to do with them except there's not enough connectors in it to build the cage so we used zipties. I can't comment on what they're like as shelves but they're great for a guinea pig cage. Also, the connectors are more of a light gray than white.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pa
Finished Size
Posted 02/26/2012
I'm looking to do this for my 2 guinea pigs as well, but I need a closed top for mine, what are the finished dimensions on your cage? BTW Looks Good.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Good Price For A Good Product

12/17/2008
By ,
Corning, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it to make a rabbit cage.. well "rabbit condo". It was bigger than I expected it to be, which is nice. Works Great. I looked around at a lot of other stores. They either didn't have it at all or it was twice as much as the price on here.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Hard to put together

04/26/2008
By ,
Pa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought these cubes to make a guinea pig cage and they were a pain to put together. The connectors kept popping off. It took forever to get the cubes together.
If you are planning on putting them together make sure you have an extra set of hands.
I also recommend using Zip ties to hold the cubes together. It makes them more secure.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Storage Cubes

08/03/2009
By ,
The Great State of Arkansas!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these to use for a C & C (cubes & coroplast) cage for our guinea pigs - they work absolutely perfectly. Our piggies are ecstatic! =o)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Met My Needs

10/24/2008
By ,
Somerset, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this product to make a "Cube & Cloroplast" guinea pig cage. Met my basic needs, though I could have used a few more connectors. Easy to assemble and that's a fact. I can't understand how anyone could have had any trouble. I plan to purchase this item again to expand the cage I built.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked
01/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i really like it, looks more quality than the price!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Storage Cubes made an excellent cat enclosure

11/20/2013
By ,
Sonoma, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used a mallet to firmly tap together an enclosure so that my cat can go out on the front porch of my mobile home. Used zip ties to firm it up. Now that I know she likes it, I'll add some amenities. These cubes were perfect for the job. Not sure about the durability (outdoors) - they may get some rust over time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

useful product

09/21/2009
By ,
Golden, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is great. It is very sturdy and holds a storage cube perfectly. I mounted them in our mud room area to hold gloves, hats, etc.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Cheap Portable Storage

09/09/2010
By ,
Pasadena, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item is easy to build and holds my gym stuff really well! I am glad that I bought it.
Although, it is not too sturdy for heavy items. So, if you need to hold books I would not recommend this. But I could see this as a great storage for kids toys or other lightweight items.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Pet Cage

11/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, like many, built a pet cage from these. They are similar to the NIC cages you see online. 16 square mesh sheets come with 18 connectors to allow you to make many combinations of cool cages! Most caged animals love multilevels so they can feel like they are burrowing, and small closed areas to hide in. What better way to show your pet you love them than to give him/her a fortress he/she can feel safe in?
Advice:
For flooring, never let the pet walk or stand on these grids, though. They are very hard on their feet, even with their foot padding. I would recommend using plywood or, even simpler, cardboard on top of these grids (with maybe a blanket on top) to provide ample flooring for your pet. For the ground floor, I usually put down a shower curtain and 2 blankets.
The only hard part for me was making the door--ended up using zipties. Used a clip to keep it latched. Had to use two, since she figured out that if she pushed hard enough, she could tilt the door enough to get out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Great for Guinea Pig cage

11/30/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After seeing several sites recommending this type of shelving to build guinea pig cages out of, we ordered two sets. We built a roomy cage complete with a hayloft and some built in storage underneath. A wonderful home for our two gp's. These two sets of shelves plus a sheet of corrugated plastic and LOTS of zip ties were all we needed. I do recommend using plenty of zip ties no matter how you use these shelves though. The connectors are not the best. Two of them broke while we were assembling. We still had enough though to finish our project. It would be nice to be able to order extra connnetors. Site to store shipping was great since we didn't have to add a shipping fee, keeping the cost down. I would recommend this product for building guinea pig cages or for shelving for lighter weight items. If you need to shelve books or something heavier, these won't do the trick.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

Nice Product!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had these before. Fairly easy to put together. Easier if there are two people - sometimes two hands just wasn't enough. But then again - I purchased a few sets and put them together to make a very large storage system. But I was able to do most of it myself - the real problem came as it got taller (I am short so that became a problem). So had to bring in someone tall to help me finish. hahaha But this is a very sturdy system if you get them together tightly. (I used a rubber mallet to put them together to be sure they were tight.)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked

not using it for storage

03/22/2008
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 sets of these to make a cage for my guinea pigs. I don't really care for the connectors, but opted for zip-ties to hold it together. My guinea pig cage is coming along beautifully. They will have alot more room to roam now. Much cheaper and more room than a store bought cage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/24/2013
This is exactly why I am purchasing them... Thank you 4 the advice :)
0points
Customer Avatar
pa
guinea pigs
Posted 03/09/2013
I was looking at these cubes for the same thing I was saying there's got t0 be a cheaper way what are you using to line the cage I am going to order today thanks for your post
0points
Customer Avatar
CA
coroplast
Posted 07/15/2012
I want to use this for my guinea pig cage too!
but where did you buy the coroplast?
0points
Customer Avatar
CT
Guinea pig cage (or rabbit cage use)
Posted 05/16/2012
Hi, I want to get these to make my cubes and coroplast cage. I noticed many complained about the knobs they are not too sturdy? Does wal mart sell the zip ties needed to hold the grids together also? I would think shipping cubes would add up to a lot of shipping as the cubes are quite heavy. So were the zip ties alone sturdy enough for guinea pig cage use?
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 20 for Whitmor White Wire Storage Cubes, Four Cubes Interlocked
08/07/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my dorm last year and it was wonderful. You have to use some force when first putting it together but I used gravity to my advatage to press the wire sides down into the plastic holders. I never had problems with it coming apart once I had a piece completely secure I actually had to use similar force to break it down again. I found it to be a sturdy, cheap, space saving storage/bookself/night stand perfect for the dorm where space is very limited.
I plan on buying more for this year to put in my apartment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 242 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next