Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Whitmor Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Whitmor Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

The Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes set of 4 allow you to create your own storage solutions. These cubes let you to store your things in an organized way. These handy wire black wire cubes are interlocking to provide multiple stacking options. You can use these wire storage boxes in a dorm, kid's room, garage, or utility room. These Whitmor wire storage cubes are made from steel and features high-quality plastic connectors for added durability.
Average Customer Rating:
3.855 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(213 Reviews) 178
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
70
3 stars
19
2 stars
16
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation79%168 out of 213reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 90 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
70
3 stars
19
2 stars
16
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Great for a cage!

12/08/2012
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dad ordered these just in time for my two new Christmas presents...GUINEA PIGS! They came on time they weren't damaged and it took 5 minutes to put together the whole cage and i even have left overs for a storage bins! Great product! Look no further!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Worth It!

06/27/2009
By ,
Pembroke Pines, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had this product for one week now and it has made a difference! I agree with the other reviews; my hand did hurt trying to bang the snaps in place. It was tedious. Every time I had one snap in place another would unsnap. The quality of this product could be better but it most definitely works for organization. The price is most definitely excellent. If you have lightweight items that need organizing then this is the most effective product. I use to have milk crates stacked up instead so this does the trick much better! I didn't give this product five stars because the snaps are a hassle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Awesome for my son's closest

08/11/2008
By ,
Covington, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok I read all the reviews before I ordered this and thank goodness I did, I used gravity as my best friend to get the pieces together. First I started with the bottom and sides and worked my way up. I just kept flipping it over so I could use gravity to help me since my boys(3 & 6) weren't able to. Once you get the first cube done the rest are really easy. I bought 2 sets of 4 cubes and had all of them together to start cleaning and organizing my sons clostest in only 20 minutes. It looks so good that I just ordered two more sets to do my closest and toy room. I did read that the would fall apart but since my kids were already climbing on them as I was putting them together and nothing has happened I don't think they will.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

good product

06/03/2008
By ,
Cobden,IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 sets a few months ago to make a cage for my guinea pigs. Product worked great. I purchased 2 more sets for shelves in my son's playroom today. Very sturdy! It is best to use plyers and a hammer to put together. Definitely need a little elbow grease too. You can use zip ties to put together if you cant figure out the little plastic connectors. We also use them in a preschool I work for great for shelves that you can set up but still see through in the middle of a classroom!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

great product

04/18/2009
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These are great storage bins, but my recent purchase of this item wasn't actually for storage. These are also used to make "c&c cages" for guinea pigs (aka: Cubes & Coroplast). They work extremely well, are built well, and don't take up much room at all. The only issue I had with the item is the plastic caps (used to link/snap the wire sides together) can be stretched out very easily if you take them apart and put them together too many times. Whether you are building the cubes themselves for storage or for a 'c&c cage' make sure you know how you want it set up before you connect them! Also, the box came with a LOT more wire sides than the plastic caps themselves. They should definitely throw in a few more caps, especially in case one breaks!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Work perfect for a Small Animal Cage! :)

08/27/2010
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these in white for my guinea pig cage and just bought some black to make an outdoor playpen for them to play in. They are sturdy and go together well. Perfect height so they cant climb out and is much cheaper than to buy a $200 cage that is still too small :) With these I made a huge cage for my two happy guines.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Versitile and affordable

10/16/2009
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first set of these in college 7 years ago and loved them and I am still using them. Now with kids and more stuff (toys, etc.) I needed more. We use them in the toy room with lidded storage containers and in our closets for better organization. I am even using some as a night stand since my night stand broke. The biggest reason I bought them is that when we move next they come apart without tools and are compact, and when they are put together they are able to bear a lot of weight.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Great shelves.

11/29/2010
By ,
Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These shelves are sturdy, and very handy.
Unless you are trying to match up old sets with these new sets, then you find out that the metal grates are made of a thinner metal, and the connections are too small for the older style and don't fit on.
The new metal grates aren't sodered as solidly as the older style, as I found out while putting them together I broke 2 of them. A bit dissapointing!
But if using them on their own, they are a great way to store things! I love that they are a clean looking product. And there are a variety of ways to use them
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

What I expected!

06/18/2013
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got what I expected. the unit serves its purpose in my daughters room as book and toy storage. i did have a bit of trouble connecting the corner pieces to the wire racks...eh probably user error! I do like that you can arrange the cubes in the formation of your choosing.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4
09/07/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for dorm living. I have 2 sets--a set of 4 and a set of 2, and one is on top of my dresser for my jewelry and hair products and the other is great for the storage of my snacks and text books (YES text books!! all 18 of my books!! and it hasn't collapsed yet)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Great For Building Rabbit Houses

03/27/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These storage units are recommended by many rabbit people for building custom indoor rabbit-houses. I got four sets of wire boxes and made them into a very large rabbit duplex for our two rabbits. They are very happy in them. Great product for this purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
How did you build it?
Posted 08/28/2011
I was thinking about using these for the exact same thing:Rabbit homes.Can you provide a picture or video of what it looks like and how you made it please?Thanks.I appreciate it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Excellent as playpen for guinea pig

08/30/2014
By ,
La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up square using two panels per side to make playpen for guinea pig. Paired with Prince Lionhheart Multi-Purpose Catch-All Mat from Walmart to protect flooring. Mat just the right size with about 2 inches to spare at corners of square.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Good Guinea Pig Cage

07/27/2009
By ,
Las Vegas, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like other have said, these grids are a really good product to make a guinea pig or rabbit cage. I did not like the connectors that come with the cubes because they are a bit tricky to use so I used plenty of zip ties to secure them together instead. I have 32 grids (two sets) arrange into a two level open cage for my piggies. They are very happy and healthy critters with all the room I can provide for them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

TOO DIFFICULT TO SET UP.

09/19/2014
By ,
CLARKSVILLE, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get the end attachments to stay connected. The cats torn these squares up in no time. Not very strong. I tried using zips tags in the corners and they still would not hold. Not worth the TROUBLE.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Serves purpose

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought these to make a C and C cage for my guinea pigs and they worked perfect. I used zip ties to reinforce the sides. The paint chipped in a few spots and they weren't all the exact same size. They were what I expected for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Easy to put together and works in small areas.

08/24/2014
By ,
Peoria Hts, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a small closet that needed shelving and regular shelves would not work due to pipes and ventilation. So these cubes were easy to put together and fit in this area and the plus is that they are free standing and can be moved easily and reconfigured for other uses.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Home built Guineapig cage

04/14/2009
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought these to build a C&C cage for our pet guinea pigs. They worked great. They are very sturdy. There is enough in the pack to even make a small upstairs. One of our guinea pigs is pretty heavy and they support his weight fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Excellent Rabbit Cage

05/19/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for making custom rabbit cages...just use black zip-ties instead of the supplied corner connectors because if your rabbit chews and tugs at the corner or cage the supplied connectors will not hold up very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

used to make c&c cage for guinea pigs

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So i bought this to make a stand for my 2x3 c&c guinea pig cage. i would recommend this for this purpose as long as you have plenty of zip ties to secure the cage to it, very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Whitmor Black Wire Storage Cubes, Set of 4

Got these for a guinea pig cage.

05/11/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used these to help build my guinea pig C&C cage. They worked really well, but I do recommend getting zip-ties for added stability. These are the proper grid size; the inner squares are 1 1/2 inches, which is what is needed for safety with guinea pigs, anything larger and their head may get stuck and cause injury or death.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next