Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Philips Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

The Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna incorporates an unusual flat UHF panel array to improve analog and digital HDTV UHF reception. Why pay for HDTV programming that's free over the airwaves? The MANT940 uses a low-noise, optimum gain amplifier and is weather resistant and paintable to match your interior or exterior decor.
Average Customer Rating:
3.914 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(243 Reviews) 224
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
19
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation76%184 out of 243reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
125
4 stars
53
3 stars
15
2 stars
19
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

A Good Product

11/05/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just installed it in my studio apt. On a wall mount behind my TV. I don't have a cable box. So I just installed this Philip MANT940 directly to my Sony HDTV which capable to receiving digital programming.
I'm living in downtown in Bay Area. And there're allot of buildings are all around my apartment building. But my stations are from around 3-60 miles away.
I can pick up the signal about 34 digital channels which is about the same as my cheap rabbit antenna...
*BUT the thing is this Philip MANT940 has:
- A much much better 'strong' signal (95%-100%)
- A better image quality—very crisp and clear, shaper, and better colors.
- A better receiver (I put it on a floor behind my TV and it's still picked up most of the channels!)
- A very well slick design and great function. A small unit and easy to move around or rotate setup.
- Easy to installing
- Indoor/Outdoor
- A thoughtful array of accessories
- Not that expensive compare to other brands
Overall, I'm pleased with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Saved the day!!

06/13/2009
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before, with my glorified rabbit ears I had nothing, and now with this antenna I have more channels than I will ever watch. I live in Durham, NC and although I don't know exactly where all of the antennas are I suspect the majority are in or near Raleigh (approx. 25 miles from me), since it's the state capital. I actually mounted the antenna on top of my closet door in a way that I can turn it 180 degrees and change its direction depending on the channel. Of course, now I can't close my closet all of the way but it never stayed closed anyway. Overall, this is a great antenna for a great price and gets my stamp of approval! (for what that's worth)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Excellent:Price,Picture,Value

12/10/2008
By ,
Perris,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was sceptical about buying this product at first! But after reading the great reviews on here and comparing antennas from: Radioshack,Walmart,Target,Kmart; I decided to finally take a drive to my local walmart in Perris,CA and purchased it, installed it on my wall in my room and started the setup process on my Brand new 19" HDTV Emerson Flat Screen that i also bought from the same walmart about 4 days ago! WOW was i impressed with this HDTV Amplified Antenna, its been the best antenna i've ever had and thats ever worked so good!!! Highly recommened this product it worked great for me here in May Ranch/Perris CA!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

A great antenna!

01/19/2009
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This antenna for the price is an excellent choice to use with your digital converter boxes. I had my cable turned off and decided to go with (free) DTV using the Magnavox converter boxes I also bought from Walmart. I needed an antenna, and I did a lot of shopping around. When I saw this one I decided to give it a try. I had it installed in less than 10 min. This included mounting it to the eave on the outside if my mobile home. This antenna provides a clean crisp picture, and pulls stations in as far as 45 miles away with a 90 percent signal! Definitely worth the money.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

For outside use

10/13/2008
By ,
Port Orchard, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Phillips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor Amplified HDTV Antenna works pretty good outside. Just place the antenna up in the horizontal position with the narrow end pointing in the direction of the transmitters. This will product the most amount of Television Channels. Hear at my house in Port Orchard I am receiving at least 30 Channels out of Seattle, Washington. To extend the amount of cable between the Panel antenna and the power amplifier just add a gold plated female in line connector with extra television coax cable.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

sweet antenna

02/24/2008
By ,
West Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WORKS nice - comes with 20 feet of coax which probably way short if you want to mount on roof, Philips could have used the high grade RG6 stuff - Mine is attic mounted and found that if you turn it horizonal so it lays flat rather then standing up vertical like in the pictures it picks up better
The instructions don't indicate what is the front and how to point it - so experiment. Got numerous more digital stations picked up then expected
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Good!

04/27/2008
By ,
Thomasville,NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this for my sons' TV in his apartment. I tried it on my set first, because I was curious to see how it would perform against my DB8 Multi-Directional HDTV Antenna. I put it on my main set and did not mount or took the antenna outdoors. It perform great for just being in the house and not on a long cable run. On my other antenna I cannot receive my local PBS channels well due to where I live, but this unit brought it in well when I found the right spot in the house. I am curious now to see how well it will perform mounted on a mast outdoors.
Now in my sons' apartment I mounted the antenna on a speaker floor stand. It performed well and was able to find 7 digital and 5 analog after trying several places in the room.
I do recommend this antenna. Works well in an indoors setting, but keep in mind that where and how far from the stations transmitters you live will affect the receiving abilities from any antenna. If you are mounting in or outdoors with a long cable run, be sure to install a cable like RG6 or better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

A Very Good Product

03/05/2008
By ,
South of Dayton, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDTV antenna exceeds my expectations. Right now, I have it indoors, on the basement window ledge, in my rec room, but when the weather gets better, I will put it outside to get even better reception, if that's possible. Without it, I was only getting 5 HD stations. With it, indoors, I'm getting 16 HD stations. I am at the least, about 15 miles from the nearest stations antennas. I'm also picking up more UHF stations than before. I am very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Works Awesome

02/06/2008
By ,
North Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A review of a product like this is useless without providing the specifics of the situation, and in this case I was expecting the product to work well.
I'm an average of 6-miles from the transmitters of greatest interest -- and as luck has it here in my northeast metro Atlanta neighborhood (IP), there's only about a 13-degree separation of the two main clusters of transmitters. Very good basic situation.
I'm able to use this antenna indoors with the face pointing in the general direction of those transmitters, and it pulls in every digital channel in the market, even a couple off-axis channels I didn't expect to get. The picture quality is better than digital cable (specifically Comcast).
The antenna is mounted on a piece of 1x scrap wood and hidden behind a flatscreen TV in the corner of a room. The very short cable run (no reason to use the 25-ft coax cable that comes with the antenna) may play a role in the quality. Mostly, it's proximity and an apparently solid product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Why pay $70/month for cable?!?!

05/20/2009
By ,
Clermont, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided after much deliberation to try HDTV over the air to see if I could get a signal and drop my $70/month cable bill. I realized after analyzing my TV watching habits that about 85% of my viewing was the local networks.
I read reviews of different HDTV antennas, researched the locations of the towers relative to my house, and found several favorable reviews for this unit in the Central Florida Region (some on walmart.com!) - so I decided I would give it a try. Living 39-41 miles from the orlando towers I didn't know if I would have any luck.
As an initial test I zip tied the unit to my 6' ladder and placed it in my back yard. I 'aimed' it laying flat at the towers instead of the normal vertical orientation as some reviews recommended this way. I estimated my visual line of site using google earth and drawing a line from my house to the 'center' of the orlando TV towers.
I hooked it to my 56" panasonic HDTV using a separately purchased phillips quad shielded 100' RG6 coax cable I also purchased from walmart and proceeded to scan for channels. after some time 44 'DTV' stations were found (38 orlando and 6 tampa ~61 miles)! Signal strength varied so I 'tweaked' the aim to get ~77% signal on the weakest station 2.1 (WESH-2 NBC). The tampa stations were marginal at best, but since I am on the side of a hill I have to penetrate earth and building where I have almost direct line of site to the Orlando towers.
Success! and it looked great on my TV. Switching between the ATSC antenna HDTV tuning and the brighthouse scientific atlanta HDTV DVR on the same stations showed negligible differences in visual quality. This is most likely due to the difference in the MPEG2 rendering engines between the TV and DVR, and their respective visual cleanup algorithms (think anti ailiasing, MPEG noise reduction, and color correction).
So with initial success I moved on to 'splitting' the antenna to 2 TV sets. I used my DTV $40 coupon and purchased the magnavox converter that walmart stocks, and then used a high quality coaxial splitter. Hooking in the converter box and splitting only yielded a slight signal drop (5-7 percent) and I tuned in 38 stations on this TV.
So I then decided I would go for it, and mounted the antenna on my roof, ran the coax in the attic, and split the TV's there. Initially I did not get the same reception, so I fiddled with an additional distribution amplifier - that did not help (prob due to no FM trap). I then decided to try different antenna orientations and discovered that standing vertical with it 'aimed' at the towers yielded the best results. I did lose the marginal tampa station, but get 38 orlando stations at 78-100% signal (most are 87%+)!
I have it split between 4 TV's now, 2 using the zenith DTT901 box (which is much better than the magnavox BTW) one with the ATSC tuner and the other with the magnavox. I am using a high quality 4 way phillips splitter, and RG6 I pulled and crimped myself to all the sets.
So for $70/month I can have a bunch of more channels I watch 15% of the time, or for a one time investment of that amount (coax and antenna) I can watch 85% of my TV for free. That's a no brainer for me.
of course I also have an additional investment of $60 for a HDTV video capture card that I put in my windows media center edition PC for DVR capability. I have this hooked to the panasonic as well and it works really well.
I Highly recommend this unit! Works for VHF and UHF - best when stood up.
Here is a summary:
Location: Clermont, FL 34711
Distance from towers: 39-41 Miles (Orlando, FL)
DTV Stations: 38
Televisions: 4
Signal: 78-100%
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

great antenna!

07/12/2008
By ,
Tulsa, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I already own the TERK indoor HDTV antenna and it has been the only one I've used for the last 2 years - this in spite of trying 4 other HDTV antennas from Walmart and Circuit City. I've tried 2 other Philips HDTV antennas and 2 RCA antennas and they did not work good at all. I purchased this antenna because of the reviews and wanted an HDTV antenna without the annoying rabbit ears for it to work. The TERK indoor HDTV antenna has been great and worked way better than anything else. But I wanted to try this Philips antenna because it was small and easy to mount on a wall or side of a house. I am very impressed with its ability to get all of the channels in the area that I'm used to and gets a couple stations with a better reception than the TERK. I would highly recommend this to anyone that would like an antenna that is easily hidden and looks good mounted. This antenna also isn't as sensitive to having to be turned or rotated to be able to get a directional HDTV signal as some are really particular on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

I got signal!

09/27/2008
By ,
Miami, Fla.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After dismal picture quality using rabbit hear antenna; I decided to try the Philips HDTV antenna. I have a digital TV converter and the most I could get was 5 channel in Digital and 4 in analog. I didn't want to go over board on a large mast antenna and saw that this product was compact and easy to install. The only alteration I did replace the the RG-59 coaxial cable that comes included with a weather resistant RG-6 for less signal interference. The tedious part was locating the best reception using a ladder. Once that was done I screwed in the antenna on to the wooden roof trimming without the need of a mast...simple. I actually got a great reception tilting it at a 15 degrees angle. Now I get 32 channels! I realize that the amount of channels depends on your location and the reception so it may not be the same result for everybody. In my case it really was worth the purchase. Light weight, compact, affordable and easy to install. I would definitely recommend you to give it a try. If it doesn't work for you at least you tried and just return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Solved the problem

11/01/2007
By ,
West Jordan, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While trying to get over-the-air Hi-Def broadcast, most indoor antenna units worked, however all had to be moved depending on the specific location of the transmitting direction. With the Phillips MANT940, initial set up required moving around, however once set up, I was able to recieve all the channels offered in the Salt Lake City area without further adjustment of the position of the antenna. Very pleased for the $40.00 price tag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Better then Expected

03/29/2009
By ,
Unincorporated Gwinnett County, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this two days ago and hooked it up without mounting it outside, first.
Most TV stations in my area are 35 to 47 miles away according to antennaweb. Brought in most stations just keeping it near patio door.
Installed it outside on 10ft mast, set TVs to Ant, not Cable or SAT, like they WARN you to do, installed provided inline amp, connected to 4 port distribution I've used with my old external Channel Master VHF\UHF antenna, and what a difference. Granted the 10 year old Channel Master was never meant to be for HDTV, BUT... If you follow the directions, Setup TV or DVD or Converter Box for ANT or OnAir, you can't go wrong.
One thing they should have done and if you install outside you MUST do, WeatherSeal the case which may cause the reported failures over time. Not sure if Phillips has internal seal on case but I did mine at the seams of the case with silicone sealer to be sure its weather proof. While you're at it, do all connections. Just don't get it on center conductor of cable.
Great Product for the Price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Great Product

11/18/2007
By ,
San Jose,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in San Jose Area. I put this Antenna out side wall of the house, next to my second floor window. This Antenna pick up more than 20 Digital Channels. Including Fox, ABC, CBS, NBC... the picture very clear, much better and more channels than Comcast Basic Service that I used to paid $15 a month. but no UHF channel. With this antenna I can watch Prision Break, CSI, House in DTV. If you need 100 channels, this antenna is not for you, if you only want to watch local News, Sport and CSI, go for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

07/19/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does a good job on all digital broadcasts from Kansas City & channel 11 out of Topeka.
It doesn't do very well on analog.
I had to move it to the very north end of my house near a window inside & carefuly aim it.
I live near the top of a hill. If I was lower down it might not work, because of distance & line of sight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Great antenna for wired house

10/12/2008
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PROS: Picks up more stations than most indoor antennas
CONS: 20 ft cable wire it comes with is poor quality.
OVERALL: Great antenna for a metro area and can't mount a large outdoor antenna.
My house is wired for cable, but I do not subscribe to any cable service. I bought this antenna to hook up to the wiring already in the house. The antenna picks up a better signal than any of the "rabbit ear" antennas that I had before (some that cost almost as much as this antenna).
I live in a 2 story townhouse. My original plan was to mount it outside the first or second story. But I ended up placing it inside in my basement ceiling (which is above ground).
The pre-amp is strong enough to give a strong signal to all the TVs in my house, even though the wiring in my house is not very good.
I had to replace the cable wire that came with the unit because the wire inside the cable would bend very easily.
Overall I would recommend this antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

not happy with results

06/05/2009
By ,
Southwest Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After reading numerous reviews, many stating that their signal was from over 30 miles away and getting good results, I decided to purchase. I hooked the antenna and signal amplifier to the TV directly and put the antenna on a table by the sliding glass door facing the direction that all my signals come from. They are all within a 30 mile range (25-28 miles). I was getting two channels (CBS and FOX) with signal strength in the 90s and (NBC, ABC, WB, PBS, and 2 other local stations) with signals that range from the 40s-70s. These are the stations I was trying to get in better. After attaching the antenna, my stations in the 90s dropped to the 20s and the other 6 I lost completely. I am going to try to hook the antenna up to my existing wires on the roof before I return it, but I don't have much hope of it being any better. At this point I would not recommend this antenna unless your signals originate in close proximity to your home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

dissapointing

03/22/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i installed this antenna on an existing roof mast formerly occupied by an old fashioned multi element antenna. Im about 20 miles from the local antenna farm and the signal was not very strong in any direction . The instruction book does not include references to what is the actual "front" of the antenna that should face the transmitters so there is a lot of trial and error when tuning it. the included cable is RG59 and is not suitable for long runs as it looses signal , i replaced it with RG11. To Phillips credit they do make it clear on instructions that RG6 is recommended cable type. I was only able to get a few channels and way less channels than from a bowtie attic antenna. i live in an urban area where there is a lot of multipath signal interference so a omnidirectional may not be the best choice for me, but i was not expecting the results with the MANT940 to be so dissapointing in comparison with my existing non-amplified attic antenna.
summary
The good;
-very small
-includes all hardware for mounting on mast or wall
-looks very nice and high tech
-low price
the not so good;
-omindirectional design performs poorly in built up areas with multipath.
-included cable is rg59
-instructions are very poor and lack detail
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Philips MANT940 Indoor/Outdoor HDTV Antenna

Great Reception

01/30/2009
By ,
Waxahachie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been on DishNetwork for 8 years. But, we didn't view but about 10 out of the 250 channels that were on the package, but we had to get the expensive package just to get the few channels we did watch. Then, Dish wanted even more money & a 2-yr commitment to get HD channels! And, even more money to receive local channels.
So, with all networks going digital & most HD, we decided to cancel our satellite service to try over the air (OTA) viewing with a digital antenna.
My husband installed this antenna at a high point on the side of the house (1 story) toward our local channel locations. They're about 17 miles from our home. And, we're surrounded by tall trees.
We get great very clear reception from all our local channels. The amplifier makes a big difference.
However, we do have 1 channel that sometimes doesn't receive signal. But, we don't watch it much anyway. So, later, we may try installing the antenna on mast to get it above the treetops.
But, really, we haven't missed DishNetwork at all. We get great HD picture & sound for free!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 225 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next