Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

This 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike is styled in a classic design, with an extra-low dropped top tube for maximum comfort. Its full aluminum frame reduces the weight to an incredible 28.5 lbs., and makes the 26" NEXT women's bike easy to handle. The single speed and coaster brakes provide simple and safe riding. Lightweight alloy rims and an alloy crank help keep the weight down.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(215 Reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
64
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation92%198 out of 215reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
124
4 stars
64
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

I LOVE this bike! :))

01/14/2008
By ,
Tablerock lake, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I never felt exhilarated in a workout gym. But riding this bike never ceases to exhilarate me! I researched every 'single-speed bike' on the net before buying this one. I weighed over 250# when I bought it three months ago and it's strong, sturdy, and beautiful. When I walk away from it to take pictures and then start back, it still gives me a little thrill to see how beautiful it is. I'm 54 so have owned more than a few cars in my lifetime and I've never owned a car that gave me this much joy. How's that for value? :)
*
One negative - no fenders.
*
One mistake on my part - I put the basket on the front without cushioning the points that touch the bike, it's worn the pretty paint off where it touches. Please learn from my dumb mistake.
*
Walmart assembly was excellent at Branson West, MO store.
*
To qualify the every day statement below - I ride every day weather permits (i.e. between 50-85 degrees, no rain).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Review 2 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Sweet Ride

08/04/2008
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased the La Jolla Cruisers, he got the men's of course and I got this one. It rides smoothly and feels sturdy. I am 5'10" and after raising the seat as high as it will go, I don't feel cramped on this bike. We did need to "tweak" the bikes since they weren't put together perfectly. My front fender was rubbing on the tire and my husband's pedal was scraping the side of his bike at a certain place. But other than that they are an excellent value for the price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Awesome Bike, A MUST buy!

07/04/2009
By ,
Federaslburg, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this bike! I named her Splash, I name all my bikes! But she's great, smooth, steady ride. It's so lightwieght! Better than those heavy mountain bikes. It's also great when leaning around sharp turns, mountain bikes can't really lean like she can. It's very affordable! Great no hands bike! And it's such a beautiful design and color, love the white wall tires! Overall, GREAT bike!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Cheap Bike

06/18/2008
By ,
New Orleans, LA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was very excited when I first got this bike, but it's been down hill from there. It was not assembled when I picked it up, but my boyfriend assembled it. The styling is great, but it's extremely hard to peddle. I feel like I'm going nowhere even when I peddle my hardest. Only one fender works properly because of poor engineering. I had both of the fenders put on at first but then discovered it makes horrible rattling and scraping noises when I ride it. I went into the store and discovered that all of the of the sale models had their front fenders removed. So, I took mine off and have been living with muddy pants. The seat is very cushy and nice and the low swoop is great for someone a little less fit or a little older. The bike is assembled properly, but constantly pulls to the left. I've fixed and adjusted most things more than once.
This is the type of bike perfect for the occasional rider, not a commuter like I am. Overall, this is a cheap, cute, little bike, but it does have it's problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

nice bike for the price

04/07/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews, I decided to order this bike and had it shipped site to store. Some reviews said that the bike was assembled when they went to pick it up and some said it wasn't. Because of this, I called to find out if mine was and if it wasn't, if they would assemble it. It wasn't, and after I talked to a manager to ask if it could be, they had no problem doing it and even called me when it was ready. When I went to pick it up, I was shocked to see that it had silver fenders on it! What a wonderful surprise! I took it out that day for a ride and have been riding it everyday since I got it. I haven't been on a bike in nearly 15 years and decided it was time to get one so I could 1.) commute to work by bike along the lake front and 2) lose some weight by commuting to work on a bike. So far, so good. It is a fun bike to ride. The seat is large and comfy! The money was well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

I think I'm going to love this bike

04/22/2009
By ,
Baton Rouge, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this bike today.. and have already put about 3 miles on it. I have not been on a bicycle in over 20 yrs! It was so simple... read the reviews online, called the store to verify it was available in-store, walked into the store and back out in 10 minutes ....rolling my bike along beside me. The sales clerk asured me it was ready to roll ... so roll I did! The seat is very comfy... the bike is what it is... an inexpensive, basic model, but looks nice, and rides nice. I intend to ride this bike and get out of it every penny I put into it..... and I think I will! I am 217 lbs, and 5'7"... I find this bike quite comfortable.... by the time I wear this bike out ... I intend to be 20 to 25 lbs lighter, have a nice tan, and feel younger than my 60 yrs!! If you are debating whether or not to purchase a bike... this one is a good beginning. Lets go riding!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

BEST BICYCLE IVE -EVER- OWNED!

03/26/2008
By ,
Spencer, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been considering this bike big time, as it was exactly what I wanted... higher handlebars (instead of those annoying low flat ones that you literaly have to bend over to reach and create a sore back) and NO ANNOYING GEARS AND HAND BRAKES! Gears annoy me greatly, my chain always fell off and it seems that all bikes with hand brakes now a days need to be "broken in" so until this is completed, you are left with that loud annoying screeching sound which to me, is embarrising. SO this is why this bike seemed perfect! So I threw the listing in my cart while I thought about it. I came back at a later date to read the reviews again and honestly it was the lady from Tablerock, Missouri, who added pictures, that sold me on this bicycle. I LOVED the way it looked in "person"! Sometimes these product pictures are not enough, so to see hers for real made me literally rush down to walmart the following day to get my own!! I honestly figured they wouldnt have it. (I live in MA, and leicester now has a super center, which seems to carry practically nothing I realy want.. go figure.) But they had this, they had 2 actually and the male one aswell. I was SOOOO pleased and amazed.
I took a bus in, but RODE this bike all the way home and I dont even live in the same town as walmart! This is the BEST bike ever. Even though the seat and handle bars were to low, I still rode it to my home. I raised the seat and bars to my liking and it is SO darn perfect!!! Best bike I have ever had, seriously. Im 27 and I have owned all kinds, probably dozens of mountain bikes with hand brakes and lots of gears, and they do not even compare. Also, I am over 250lbs aswell which is why I wanted this bike so I could loose the weight, and it holds me just fine and is very comfortable. I am happy to say that excercising is FUN which means I may actually keep the weight off this time!! I will be sad when winter hits and I have to put away until spring. I would reccomend this beautiful light weight (that I have 0 problem carrying up and down stairs) bicycle to ANYONE AND EVERYONE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+146points
Review 8 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

This bicycle is great

08/31/2007
By ,
Augusta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this bicycle. It was not, however, pre-assembled at the store like some people have mentioned. It was not very difficult to put together, though. I ride it a couple of miles 3 or 4 times per week and I LOVE it!!! It is exactly what I was looking for in a bicycle. My only problem is that I had to order it "Site to Store" and could not see it and sit on it in the store and compare it to others. Then, a week or so after I picked the bicycle up at the store, they had it IN STOCK and on the rack to show. That has been my only frustration with this bike purchase. I think it is a comfortable and great, simple, good-looking cruiser-style bicycle. I would highly recommend it to anyone who asked me and I shopped around and the price could not be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 9 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

rear hub bearing broke with less than 50 miles ri

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bike looks fine and rides reasonably well. Had to replaced one tire tube due to a hole by the value stem that I could not patch. Since this is against the rim, could not have punctured due to a nail. Either a defect or was nicked when tire/wheel was assembled. Started getting a 'noise' from the rear hub. Disassembled and found that the ball bearings had come out of the bearing. Bike is not used that much, probably less than 50 miles.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 10 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

ease of riding

03/18/2008
By ,
rochester ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the bike for comfort and ease of riding. My first day out was two hours.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 11 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Great Bike

06/01/2008
By ,
Kansas City
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Next La Jolla women's cruiser is quite a find. The decals came off easily, some parts are better than expected--stem, wheels, crank, seat--and some not, specifically the rear hub is almost junk, the coaster brake is weak, and the popping and snapping you might hear when coasting are coming from there. Too bad, because the rest of the bike is surprisingly good.
I took the rear hub apart (first time for everything), cleaned it, and packed it with grease, and that helped, but it's still a little snappy and it still doesn't stop the bike very well.
But it is a beauty. I love the lines, the handlebars are just the right width for a regular human, the paint job looks great, the saddle is comfortable, and rides well on my 10-mile-day jaunts. It is light, under 30 pounds, a few pounds lighter than the Schwinn Alloy I looked at for $229 and the Giant Simple for something like $250, and it looks better to me than either. That darn hub . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Great Bike

08/02/2007
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cruiser is wonderful. It rides great and was easy to put together. Beautiful blue color with wide whitewall tires. I like the uncomplicated style, no gears to manage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 13 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Not as good as I was hoping

06/23/2008
By ,
Shepherdsville, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The reviews were great on this bike and I've really been wanting something comfortable to use for long trips and exercise. This bike is more comfortable than speed bikes and such, but it is not of as good of quality as I was expecting. The 1st time I took it for a ride the pedal rubbed against the circle metal thing surrounding the pedal and caused an annoying sound every time I made a circle. The tire covers were very close to touching the tires and/or bike so with certain bumps or touches they would hit the bike causing a noise. The seat wasn't as comfortable as I'd hoped but it is a bike seat that narrows toward the front so that's more of a general complaint I guess. My husband put it together which was a task but could've been worse, but he made the comment "wow, it came pre-rusted" as certain spots were slightly rusted fresh out of the box. Also, it had some scratches on it fresh out of the box as well. Other than the above mentioned it road smoothly and looks very nice. I personally do not believe it's worth $100 but maybe I just got a "bad apple."
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

"Awesome"

06/28/2009
By ,
Chicago, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I want to commend the two associates that assisted me, Darnell and Mondo.
Oh my goodness, they were soooo patient with me @ the store in Beckford Park, Il.
Other Walmart stores said it would take 7-10 days to build me a bike, they build me two bikes on the spot, while I was there and I didn't like it, and the next day they build me the one I wanted, cause I didn't want a floor model. And Mondo stay friendly even after he build a bike I didn't want.
Oh don't let me forget, a sales associate put my bike in the car for me also.
Now for my cruiser, it is just that a cruiser and I LOVE it. I might have to buy a softer seat, but it's worth it. I love the wide tires, and the handle bars.
And the price, wow!!!!!!!!!!
Thanks Walmart, you have just made my extra-curricular activity a lot brighter. This is the begiining of a commited work-out.
I give this Walmart five stars.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

A GREAT BARGAIN

08/14/2009
By ,
PEDRO, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVENT BOUGHT A BIKE... IN YEARS.... DECIDED TO PURCHASE ONE... FOR THE EXERCISE..... THE LAJOLLA BIKE IS VERY LIGHTWEIGHT..... AND EASY TO HANDLE.... IM PLUS SIZE.... SO THE NICE BIG SEAT.... REALLY MAKES THIS A COMFORTABLE BIKE TO RIDE.... ITS A GREAT BIKE.... FOR THE PRICE AND FEATURES IT HAS.... I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT ... TO ANYONE... WHO IS WANTING A LIGHTWEIGHT BIKE AT A GREAT PRICE..... THIS IS THE ONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 16 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Not bad- you get what you pay for

07/19/2009
By ,
Muncie, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike for the purpose of riding to and from campus, with the hopes of dropping a few pounds. Upon taking it home and riding it for the first time, I noticed a very loud clicking sound. My fiancee inspected it and found that the back fender was rubbing against the tire. He tried tightening it, but it didn't really help and had to be removed. Even then, I was still hopeful. I've had it for a few days and have had to inflate the tires each day I've ridden it, due to the poor quality of the inflatable tubes inside the tires. HOWEVER. It serves its purpose, and I will lose weight on this thing, since it can be a little hard to peddle after a while. It is also very lightweight, which I like. One more thing, I wouldn't recommend riding this bike on the street. It might seem like an obvious thing to say, but it doesn't go very fast and has cruiser brakes. Look out.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike
07/14/2009
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this bike with a baby seat and child trailer and i like it. It is comfortable and user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 18 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Small problems with product

07/23/2009
By ,
Clovis, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing this bicycle. When I bought it initially, it wasn't intended for my use. However, it ended up in my garage with a flat tire. After fixing the tire, I rode it around and noticed some noises. One was coming from the back fender scraping against the tire. The other was from the chain guard hitting against the chain. I fixed the problem with the fender by readjusting it a few times. The problem with the chain guard however did not go away. I took the chain guard off to take a look at the problem and noticed that the chain had indeed been scraping up against the chain guard. After readjusting it several times, the problem could not be fixed. I'm thinking of purchasing a new chain guard for the bicycle, and I honestly feel like this bicycle is costing me more money than if I had just purchased a more expensive cruiser.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

shipping damage

08/23/2009
By ,
Florence,SC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would have given five stars in every catagory, but the bicycle was damaged in shipping and some parts were missing. I just put the bicycles together today and I was disappointed with this one. The other bike was fine. It has some deep scratches and gouges on the frame down near the pedals. Also
two nuts, two washers and one bolt were missing.(probably as a result of the rough handling. There were some holes in the box.) I found some spare parts in my workshop and I have it completely assembled. It rides fine but my wife is not too happy with the damage. Thanks, Ray Dellinger
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Women's NEXT La Jolla Cruiser Bike

Great bike! Assembly could be better.

04/09/2009
By ,
Benton, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the style, color and weight of this bike. And the price is reasonable. It's perfect for neighborhood rides and if we lived in an area with stores, libraries or schools close by it would be great for that too. Unfortunately we don't. I have ridden it every day since I got it and my 11 year old daughter is enjoying it too!
I found the La Jolla on line and one just happened to be in our local Walmart. It was already assembled (but not well). I had to make adjustments to the chain guard which was too far out--the pedal arm was rubbing it. I also had to adjust the break. I had already tried a 7 speed cruiser and returned it because the gears were not properly adjusted. I sort of figured a single speed bike would be easier to deal with. It is, since I could adjust it myself. I think Walmart could take a little more time on assembly and also be more careful since it had more scratches on it than I would like to see in a brand new bike. But the associate we found quickly got the bike down from the third row up and also hung around to make sure I was happy with that one or if I wanted to compare to any others that he would need to get down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 195 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next