Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mossberg Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Mossberg Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Keep your eye on the target with the Mossberg 92156 Barrel Scope Combo. It has a 24? barrel and fits 12 gauge model 500 shotguns. The Mossberg 24 Inch Barrel features a factory-mounted laser bore-sighted 3-9 x 32 scope that helps you to site your target with precise accuracy. The barrel is ported to reduce recoil and allow for faster repositioning. It comes in a cool blue finish and includes an integral scope base for enhanced strength. The barrel can be easily removed from the shotgun for cleaning or changing. This fully rifled barrel will help you improve your accuracy so you can take your best shot every time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%35 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 21 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
8
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Damaged/Used? Product

04/21/2009
By ,
Houston, TExas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I cant say directly where this came from, so it's hard to decide where to place the blame.
The package arrived a day early.. the OEM packaging looked to have possible been opened at one end.
The barrel was dusty/dirty and there appeared to be rust on the chamber end.
Upon remove the scope adjustment caps, there was extreme damage to the top adustment. The plastic was broken, one of the micro-screws is damage, with part of the surface looking scraped/partialy filed. It's impossible to make micro adjustments for elevation due to this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Run the other way, do not purchase

10/06/2012
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First the good part.
The Slug Barrel with Scope will fit the Mossberg 500.
That is all the good I have to say.
The Scope; I use that term because the product description calls it a scope; has so much parallax that you can anchor the shotgun, move your head around behind the scope and the cross hairs will move completely off the target at one hundred meters.
I give the scope a ½ star because it does in fact magnify stuff.
The barrel will not feed a slug of any kind from the magazine into the chamber. I had to load all shells from the ejector port. I tried four different manufactures slugs.
If you still want to purchase this kit, I recommend you also purchase a scope of at least two times the quality. That should run you about $30, but make sure that scope has no parallax.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

barrel

10/13/2007
By ,
pekin ill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The barrel is very good but the scope is a piece of junk. The scope was not tighten down(so much for factory bore sighting) and the vertical knob will not move even when trying to turn it with pliers. You would be better off just buying the barrel
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hobart, in
Posted 12/11/2011
well there is a plastic/metal cap that has to be taken off before you could ajust any of th knobs.. once its off you can ajust with a wide flat screwdriver or a quarter.. there is no way to get pliers in there to turn it without breaking it..
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Mossberg barrel/scope combo review

11/14/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not a bad barrel/scope combo for the money. Was a little disappionted with the overall accuracy/consistency of my groups, but this is not a rifle and this is not the most expensive barrel I could have purchased. Shot 3" groups at 100 yards with a Remington Core Lokt 2 3/4" 385 grain slug.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Great deal -wrong barrel

01/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can't really give an evaluation of this product as it did not fit my Mossberg 500. I have the 500 Tactical Cruiser model with the breacher barrel (54125). It's unique among the 500 line in that it has the same mag tube as the 835. I've changed the stock from the pistol grip to a SpeCops recoil reducing type.
If you have this particular Mossy, you will need to buy replacement barrels for the 835 model in order for them to fit your gun.
I did notice some burrs in the bore where the ports had been drilled. Don't know what effect if any they would have on the performance of the barrel. I'm sure a gumsmith could smooth these out by honing the bore.
Ended up returning the scope/barrel combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

A good barrel at a great price

11/25/2007
By ,
minnesota
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I looked all over,in stores and on line and could not find a better price.But when i put it on,i noticed that the scope was loose,so much for factory bore sighting.I spent more money trying to get it sighted then i should have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Mossberg 500 scope/barrel combo

10/13/2008
By ,
St. Lucas, Iowa
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product fit perfectly. The ported barrel works well in redirecting gas and reducing recoil. The accuracy is superior with shotgun slugs. The only flaw was the bore sighting of the scope. It took me about ten rounds to get on paper and sighted in properly. Whoever bore sighted the scope needs glasses. However, I am very, very confident in this combination at 200 yards, it will work well this fall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Good Value but...

10/08/2010
By ,
Bluefield, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The barrel was not in great finished condition because it had some blueing on and in the barrel but the scope was fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

You get what you pay for

03/24/2014
By ,
delaware
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me begin by saying I very much like my Mossberg 500. I bought this barrel knowing it was the most economical way to have a deer gun with optics for my current slug gun. That being said when I got the barrel, which went very smoothly and easily, it had several spots on it where the blueing had been chaffed off during shipping in those flimsy plastic sleeves that Mossberg packages their barrels. the positive side is that it did fit the gun easily. Sighting in the gun is another story. Promoted as 'laser sighted' I did not think it was unreasonalbe to expect to hit a 4 foot by 4 foot sheet of cardboard at 100 yards. I was wrong. 4 shots and I could not find the paper. Upon stepping the target into 50 yards, my first shot was still 2 feet from the center. On the positive side, I was able to adjust the scope enough to get the rounds back to center at 50 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Timmy likes it.

11/20/2009
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value on a good product. Mine was bore sighted pretty well upon receipt, it shoots well. hopin' to get Bambi tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

decent product good price

02/26/2009
By ,
college station, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was a snug fit. had to give a lil bit of effort to insert it all the way, but im used to that. wish the scope was a lil better class but you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

not bad

11/01/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the combo barrel is not bad at all it fired well with sabot slugs but the spope was off a mile. it took some time to get the scope sighted right but the barrel is good and worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

very accurate

05/13/2011
By ,
marshall ar
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the kick on this barrel is not an issue if your used to shooting any kind of larger cal guns, it is very very loud, not that I did not expect that so no problem there. the only thing I had any real problem with is the scope is not sighting in well, but I think once I get the kinks worked out it will work great. at this time I have not got the scope sighted in but it is very consistant. a very good buy. I would recomend buying this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Fits Like a Glove

05/16/2011
By ,
NW Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to hold back a star until I've fired the gun with the new barrel and tested the claim that it's bore sighted for 100 yards. It installed in under a minute and I can find no flaws in workmanship. The likelihood that the gun will shoot well is very high, as this is a very proven modification. The scope is not a high end item.... but it doesn't need to be. It's clear, has nice field of view and I personally like the type of reticle it uses. Nothing bad to say at this point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Factory bore sighting didn't come close.

12/04/2011
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A pretty good deal overall. The only problem I had was the laser bore sighting. I don't know what they sighted it in on, but you couldn't hit the broad side of a barn with it. It didn't even hit the target. I ended up buying my own laser bore sighter to zero it in (which saves money on ammo sighting it in). And now, I'm ready to hang with the big boys! Good deal overall, but you get what you pay for at the end of the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

bullseye

12/03/2007
By ,
SE Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Mossberg rifled barrel. One with iron sights, this one I put a red dot 2x scope on. They both shoot well enough at 100 yards with slugs. With sabots I will put this ported barrel up against a rifle out to 150 yards any day. I shoot Hornady 300 grain sst sabots from both barrels. 2 inch groups. The scope was ok if you don't expect too much. (I put it on a 1022 for squirrel hunting) I couldn't find a better deal on a better barrel anywhere. I don't think there is a better barrel in this price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Awsome Product

11/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price much cheaper than anywhere else.
Purchased this a couple of weeks ago and have shot one deer already at 50 yards. Took it to the range and the gun was only 2 inches off at 25 yards. Sighted it in and it works like a charm. Very nice scope adjustable from 3x - 9x. I recommend this for any serious hunter. Very Accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Excellent Barrel scope combo

10/25/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sighting excellent, right on with sabot slugs at 100 yrds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Good value

07/16/2012
By ,
Tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product arrived at my store in 3 days using ship to store option. Went to range and shot within 2 inches on first three shots at 50 yards. Could not hit target at 100 yds. Let buddy try, nothing. Don't know what went wrong. Sabot rounds are very expensive, so keep that in mind if you are purchasing this barrel "just for fun". OPtherwise the cheaper route is to shooot rifled slugs from smooth barrel, much cheaper. I am happy with performance, right out of box. I do not think I will be trying to hunt beyond 50-60 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

mossberg barrel / scope

12/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit right on my maverick 12 gauge for whoever said it won't fit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next