Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mossberg Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Mossberg Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Keep your eye on the target with the Mossberg 92156 Barrel Scope Combo. It has a 24? barrel and fits 12 gauge model 500 shotguns. The Mossberg 24 Inch Barrel features a factory-mounted laser bore-sighted 3-9 x 32 scope that helps you to site your target with precise accuracy. The barrel is ported to reduce recoil and allow for faster repositioning. It comes in a cool blue finish and includes an integral scope base for enhanced strength. The barrel can be easily removed from the shotgun for cleaning or changing. This fully rifled barrel will help you improve your accuracy so you can take your best shot every time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.205 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%36 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
9
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Wow !! I didn't expect this to be so good.

12/06/2012
By ,
charlotte nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installls in about 30 seconds.Fit perfect. Took to sight in range 80yds . height perfect shot,4inches left clicked adjustment.Next four shots within 3/4 " of each other. I can't believe how accurate it was straight out of the box. What a great deal .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Unbelievable

09/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put this combo on my Mossberg Maverick. I bought that gun for $175.00. I added a tri-rail mount to the choke tube and attached a $20 bi-pod. Using remington core lokt sabot slugs, I shot a 3 in group at 100 yds. That's as good as I shoot with a ruger .270 equiped with a 20x leupold scope. This product is amazing. I can't wait to share it with some hogs and whitetails.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)
08/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Price is Right. I put it on my new Rem. 870 mag. At the range, I fired several types of ammo. I used some hand loads, rifled slugs, and sabot slugs. They ranged from 1500 fps to 2100 fps. They ALL grouped @ 50 yards. Had to make some adjustments to scope at first. No biggie. Buy it, you'll like it. Mikey did.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Great combo kit for the price

09/15/2013
By ,
Lima, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So... Off the top, I'm not a huge Mossberg fan. I have the Mossberg 500 because it was left to us by a relative when they passed. Anyways, I wanted something for my son to take with him for his first deer hunt, without getting into the expense of what I have in my guns. Looking at what was available, I chose the barrel/scope combo. Now, the bore sighting, out of the box was a joke. I was 2 feet low at 50 yards. Once I got dialed in, I was shooting MOA, even at 100 yards, like a high power rifle with only a 4 click elevation adjustment. I stacked 10 rounds off the bench in the bull. Needless to say, I was impressed. The scope is far from high quality and has a great deal of parallax, but once you get used to it, it's not bad. It adjusts in and out just fine and is very clear. While I'm not overly impressed with the brand, I recommend you spend the extra 10 dollars and get the scope/barrel combo for it. At the worst, you may get another scope down the line and use this one on something else or sell it for more than what you paid for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Excellent combo for a great price

08/22/2007
By ,
Madison, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Mossberg 500 12 gauge scope/barrel combo online at Wal-mart.com with the "site to store" option. Walmart had the lowest price BY FAR and I did a lot of looking. Free shipping too! It is Mossberg Factory equipment, not aftermarket. The Bushnell 3 X 9 scope is made for a shotgun, solid as a rock, and it is laser bore sighted at the factory. It is a quality outfit, built to last a lifetime. It has worked flawlessly on my Mossberg, even with the new Winchester "Supreme" Sabot slugs. You can't beat the deal from Walmart. It is a hard to find combo, and I love mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Great value

04/27/2009
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where else can you find a 12ga. slug barrell AND a Bushnell scope for $150.00? The other day, I saw JUST the barrel alone for $149.00. No complaints excet that the scope was advertised as, Factory Bore Sighted... Sighted at what?, I have no idea. (No big deal though). Overall, super deal and, it kicks like a mule. Wear padding. I mean it! ear plugs would'nt hurt either. Ordering was easy and shipping was as expected. I'm happy. Sore shoulder,... but happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

barrel

10/13/2007
By ,
pekin ill
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The barrel is very good but the scope is a piece of junk. The scope was not tighten down(so much for factory bore sighting) and the vertical knob will not move even when trying to turn it with pliers. You would be better off just buying the barrel
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hobart, in
Posted 12/11/2011
well there is a plastic/metal cap that has to be taken off before you could ajust any of th knobs.. once its off you can ajust with a wide flat screwdriver or a quarter.. there is no way to get pliers in there to turn it without breaking it..
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Great value, great products, but not set up.

08/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The barrell and scope were well manufactured and exceeded my expectations. I had to rotate the scope to get the cross hairs lined up correctly - not a big thing, but should not have had to do this. The write-up said that the scope comes bore-sighted to the barrell - it was very obvious that this was not done. First two shots weren't even on the paper at close range. Again, not too much of a big deal, but if that was an advertized feature, it should have been done.
Great barrell and a great scope and a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

12 Gauge 24" rifled barrel for Mossberg

05/21/2011
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with the product. Barrel came with a Bushnell scope. Easy to change barrels on a Mossberg. Shot 2 3/4" sabot slugs and had the scope sighted in at 50 yards after just a few groups of five, and tried four different brands of ammo. Federal and Remington worked fine. One word of caution if you have never used a scope on a shotgun, make sure you have plenty of eye relief or else the scope will make a nice little impression on your head!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Great deal -wrong barrel

01/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I can't really give an evaluation of this product as it did not fit my Mossberg 500. I have the 500 Tactical Cruiser model with the breacher barrel (54125). It's unique among the 500 line in that it has the same mag tube as the 835. I've changed the stock from the pistol grip to a SpeCops recoil reducing type.
If you have this particular Mossy, you will need to buy replacement barrels for the 835 model in order for them to fit your gun.
I did notice some burrs in the bore where the ports had been drilled. Don't know what effect if any they would have on the performance of the barrel. I'm sure a gumsmith could smooth these out by honing the bore.
Ended up returning the scope/barrel combo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

mossberg barrel / scope

12/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit right on my maverick 12 gauge for whoever said it won't fit
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Good value

07/16/2012
By ,
Tampa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product arrived at my store in 3 days using ship to store option. Went to range and shot within 2 inches on first three shots at 50 yards. Could not hit target at 100 yds. Let buddy try, nothing. Don't know what went wrong. Sabot rounds are very expensive, so keep that in mind if you are purchasing this barrel "just for fun". OPtherwise the cheaper route is to shooot rifled slugs from smooth barrel, much cheaper. I am happy with performance, right out of box. I do not think I will be trying to hunt beyond 50-60 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Factory bore sighting didn't come close.

12/04/2011
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A pretty good deal overall. The only problem I had was the laser bore sighting. I don't know what they sighted it in on, but you couldn't hit the broad side of a barn with it. It didn't even hit the target. I ended up buying my own laser bore sighter to zero it in (which saves money on ammo sighting it in). And now, I'm ready to hang with the big boys! Good deal overall, but you get what you pay for at the end of the day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

You get what you pay for

03/24/2014
By ,
delaware
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let me begin by saying I very much like my Mossberg 500. I bought this barrel knowing it was the most economical way to have a deer gun with optics for my current slug gun. That being said when I got the barrel, which went very smoothly and easily, it had several spots on it where the blueing had been chaffed off during shipping in those flimsy plastic sleeves that Mossberg packages their barrels. the positive side is that it did fit the gun easily. Sighting in the gun is another story. Promoted as 'laser sighted' I did not think it was unreasonalbe to expect to hit a 4 foot by 4 foot sheet of cardboard at 100 yards. I was wrong. 4 shots and I could not find the paper. Upon stepping the target into 50 yards, my first shot was still 2 feet from the center. On the positive side, I was able to adjust the scope enough to get the rounds back to center at 50 yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Run the other way, do not purchase

10/06/2012
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First the good part.
The Slug Barrel with Scope will fit the Mossberg 500.
That is all the good I have to say.
The Scope; I use that term because the product description calls it a scope; has so much parallax that you can anchor the shotgun, move your head around behind the scope and the cross hairs will move completely off the target at one hundred meters.
I give the scope a ½ star because it does in fact magnify stuff.
The barrel will not feed a slug of any kind from the magazine into the chamber. I had to load all shells from the ejector port. I tried four different manufactures slugs.
If you still want to purchase this kit, I recommend you also purchase a scope of at least two times the quality. That should run you about $30, but make sure that scope has no parallax.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

bullseye

12/03/2007
By ,
SE Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Mossberg rifled barrel. One with iron sights, this one I put a red dot 2x scope on. They both shoot well enough at 100 yards with slugs. With sabots I will put this ported barrel up against a rifle out to 150 yards any day. I shoot Hornady 300 grain sst sabots from both barrels. 2 inch groups. The scope was ok if you don't expect too much. (I put it on a 1022 for squirrel hunting) I couldn't find a better deal on a better barrel anywhere. I don't think there is a better barrel in this price range.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

Awsome Product

11/30/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price much cheaper than anywhere else.
Purchased this a couple of weeks ago and have shot one deer already at 50 yards. Took it to the range and the gun was only 2 inches off at 25 yards. Sighted it in and it works like a charm. Very nice scope adjustable from 3x - 9x. I recommend this for any serious hunter. Very Accurate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

decent product good price

02/26/2009
By ,
college station, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was a snug fit. had to give a lil bit of effort to insert it all the way, but im used to that. wish the scope was a lil better class but you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

buy this

08/29/2012
By ,
clarksville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quickly was able to zero the scope. Product arrived quicker than expected and store associates were great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mossberg Barrel/Scope Combo (For 12-gauge, 500 Shotguns)

great value

11/05/2010
By ,
pottstown pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tried a cpl different sabots through it, and found that the Hornady works the best for me. I am planning on a few deer from this setup. It is holding 4" groups freehand @100 yds
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next