Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

First Alert First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Safeguard your family heirlooms, jewelry, documents and other valuables with the First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe. It provides 1.2 cubic feet of reliable, secure storage in order to give you confidence and assurance against potential break-ins. This First Alert digital safe features a heavy-gauge welded steel construction and two live door bolts. It also has heavy-duty concealed hinges to provide yet another barrier between your valuables and a potential thief. Easy-to-adjust shelves allow you to keep your items organized. This security safe is equipped with a reprogrammable digital lock system with an emergency override key for use in the event of a crisis or a power failure. Other impressive attributes include a battery life indicator and a quiet-tone keypad. The First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe comes with mounting hardware and a 5-year limited warranty. Its interior is fully carpeted to protect valuables from scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.122 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation88%94 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 99 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
35
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Nice Beginner Safe

04/18/2012
By ,
Ohio by Fairlawn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money its an o.k. safe. Does its job. You can buy a smaller fireproof firebox to put inside of it for those documents and things you need fireproofed or even have a company that specializes in such things fireproof it for you. Mine came with bolt down screws and holes already drilled in it for floor or wall mounting. I like it a lot. Could be better by having a 4 bolt locking mechanism in it and also by having the bolts fit inside the safe walls itself like sentry safes. After buying a sentry safe and having a very bad experience with them, this was a breathe of fresh air. I'd recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Everything I expected in a safe.

05/14/2014
By ,
Adrian,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe came well packaged and shipped fast (less than a week) which surprised me. The digital keypad is easily programmable from 3-8 digits and does come with (2) over ride keys for entry if digital pad fails. I set my pad to the (8) number entry and works perfectly so far. I am 100% Pleased with this product and would highly recommend it if you're looking for a safe place for your valuables. The safe also comes with (2) lag bolts for mounting to floor or wall to be extra "SAFE"!! Although the product description says (BLACK) for the color it is actually Gray. Overall I am satisfied with this product. I searched through a few different stores on the internet and this safe was a hands down winner on lowest price for any safe even close to this one in size. I feel completely safe now with all my valuables locked inside!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great Safe

09/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is every thiing I thought it would be. I reccomend this for keeping your valuables safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

short and sweet

06/13/2008
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all this is a nice safe for the money.
pros:
*easy to program
*key tone is quite
*opens w/ code OR key (does not require both)
*battery life indicator (push of a button)
*carpet lined interior
cons:
*no mounting capabilities (safe is heavy but very movable; no bolt down hardware) better have a good hiding spot.
*offers very little protection from fire and water damage (says so on the box), so if that is important to you this is not the safe you want.
hope this helps?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+118points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Nice Safe

09/21/2014
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice medium sized safe. The digital code didn't want to set at first but cleared up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Good product

01/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is as described, so far no problems. large enough to fit whatever you'd want to put in it, the description makes it hard to realize the size. Large enough to hold file folders, camera, backup drive, things of that nature....one small removable shelf on the top if you wanted to put little things, it drops about 5 inches from the top. Bigger than the standard hotel size safe though I have been in a few that have safes of this size. Easy to use and no defects noted thus far. No dings, or scratches, door works fine. I'm satisified with product, ease of delivery to store which was nice, I took it out of the box there to inspect before lugging it home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great safe for the money

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money this is a great value. The only thing that annoyed me was the massive sticker that was on the door when it arrived, it was an all day task to get it off and took a full bottle of nail polish remover.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great for the money

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set it up, good size for storage...Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

This safe isn't the greatest

10/01/2013
By ,
Dublin, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am slightly disappointed with this safe. First, only the Panasonic R6 batteries that are included works with this safe. The owner's manual states that this takes AA batteries. Neither the Kirkland brand or Duracell works with this safe. Secondly, once I enter my combination code I have to turn the handle clockwise usually 3 times before it opens, and it doesn't always open. Sometimes I have to enter the code more than once. I called First Alert about the battery problem and the combination code not working properly. I was told they are aware of the battery problem and that most AA alkaline batteries sold in stores won't work and that I would have to use the Panasonic. They will mail me an extra set of batteries. I was told that the size of the batteries is off by a fraction of an inch. How strange is that? If this is the case then they need to change the wording in the Owner's Manual!
In reference to the combination not working properly, I was told it could be due to the circuit board and to remove the inner door panel and look at the circuit board to be sure the connections were connected properly. If they were, then there could be a problem with the circuit board and they could mail me a new one. Personally, if the circuit board was bad then I don't think it would work at all. The First Alert company was happy to help me over the phone. But I am a happy camper when things work properly to begin with. This safe does not. Overall, I like the height of this safe and if I can get the circuit board issue (if that's the problem) resolved then I will be happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great Value

06/07/2014
By ,
Charleston WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid quality. Bolt it to the wall, or bolt it to the floor, it ain't going nowhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

it is a small safe, perfect for an apartment

05/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe works as described, it is compact and heavy which is perfect for my purposes for the price paid. The instructions are clear and easy to read and follow. It came with Panasonic brand AA batteries which allowed me to set my safe's code and start using it right away. There were poor reviews regarding the Panasonic AA batteries being the only batteries the safe takes. If that's the case, there are several retailers that sell those batteries such as Radio Shack, Target, Walmart, and 99 cent stores. Some are very inexpensive and having a key to unlock the safe should the batteries fail is a big win. Plus it delivered three days earlier than promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great security safe

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The safe was everything it was advertised to be and more. The keys are easy to use and the combination is very easy to set. I would buy another without question.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Gun safe

03/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it for my guns. , great value and the carpet inside is nice for all my guns so they won't get scratched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

great safe

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Safe is as advertised and as expected. Great value for the dollar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Good safe for the price

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this safe to secure hand guns in original case-4 cases no problem,plus room for ammo and more
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Safty first!

08/14/2007
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this with the site to store shipping. It was very simple and helpful. It's a great product I bought it to hold my computer and documents for college because I was told a lot of stuff gets stollen and there is nothing anyone can do about it so I purchased this safe and I can fit my 15" laptop inside. There is also a shelf and key hooks. It's great for what I needed it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
Disappointed in safe
Posted 11/08/2013
After reading the specs, it sounded like this was going to be a safe that would be easily programmed, and would secure my property. I was wrong on both accounts. As in many of the testimonies, I, as well, struggled to get the battery lid off, and ended up breaking it. It has been compromised numerous times, even though I have changed the codes several times. I have come home and even found the door standing open. I do not know how someone is getting into it; I carry both keys on my key ring. Trying to keep money, medications, and important documents out of someone's hand, I was banking on this safe to be pretty much, something that no one could figure out how to penetrate. It apparently isn't hard at all, if someone knows what they are doing. I just wasted money and would be reluctant to buy even a more expensive model; this one has proven to be totally worthless.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great product

11/28/2013
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly like the description, heavy and well built. Lock works great. Can be bolted to the wall or floor, bolts included. Shipping was right on time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Not SAFE at all

09/29/2010
By ,
Winchester, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was and is the worst purchase I've bought in years. Here is why I recommend you keep your money..After purchasing this safe and bringing it home I followed the instructions by setting up your key code to secure my belongs..things seem to be going good until the battery indicator informed me that the batteries that I had placed into the safe were no good...so like anyone else would do I went to the store to purchase the size battery this safe requires, well after wrestling with case that holds the batteries I finally the case open, got them in after an hour of my time seems to go by and could not get the cover back on. After the batteries are secure in place the battery indicator informs me that the batteries are no good, " I just bought them"!!! So I get another set...same story! O Im not done. So I take out the batteries and say forget it I will just use the keys and work with what I have. Well come to find out the locks on the inside of the safe do not go all the way into the proper holes to secure this SAFE that claims to be SAFE!. Its just like when you go to open a door, thats how easy it is to get in this safe. Your better off putting all my stuff in a drawer in the kitchen. Do not waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Value - with conditions

01/23/2010
By ,
ucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this product shortly after X-mas.
Delivery. I used the $0.49 home delivery option as it is a "heavy" item. Amazing this item was sent door-to-door for less than a dollar. BIG savings.
Packaging. I read numerous reviews were the item was damaged in transit (not Wal*Mart). I was betting Wal*Mart would do a better job of delivery and that was #1 reason I bought here. Mine arrived in perfect shape. It was double-boxed with the original packaging placed in a larger shipping box with extra padding on the top and bottom corners. Perfect.
Mounting hardware. To my surprise, safe came with large bolts to secure it in place. I knew the safe would be "lighter" (price point) and had seen comments from people about the lack of mounting capability or DIY attempts to secure. Nice.
Someone read reviews and addressed the shipping damage and mounting issues I had come across while researching. Thank you!
The only issue is the keypad did not work. After checking the batteries and replacing the batteries, no joy. I called the manufacturer's customer service and they were courteous, professional and fast. They shipped a replacement keypad immediately. I received in under five days.
VALUE. If you are shopping for a small (understand cu.ft. on the product) safe, with keypad, that can be secured (optional) with included hardware - hard to beat the value I experienced.
In closing, the included keys are a backup feature. You only need to use if you forget the code, the batteries die or your keypad stops working. Not needed to operate the safe unless that is how you want to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

First Alert 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

04/28/2011
By ,
Edgewood, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall:
Good personal items safe. Would recommend for storage of smaller items no larger than watch boxes. After stacking a few and the inner compartment, the space is just about full.
Key entry:
I was a little concerned about the "all access key". This safe has a key that you can stick in the front of the handle to assit you in opening the door if you either forgot the digital combination or the batteries went dead. My concern is...do I now need a safe for my safe key?? Interesting.
Battery compartment:
There is a compartment door on the back side of the main door for access to the battery compartment. This door is easily accessable, but it's a pain to remove and replace. I think that either a latched door or secured with screws would have been a better design.
Anyway, nice carpeting interior. Well made, and for the price seems like a good deal for peace of mind from petty theft.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next