Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

First Alert First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Safeguard your heirlooms, jewels, documents and other valuables against burglary with the First Alert Digital Anti-Theft Safe. It provides 1.2 cubic ft of reliable, foolproof storage that instills confidence and assurance against impending break-ins. The anti-theft safe boasts of a heavy gauge welded steel construction and features two live door bolts, heavy-duty concealed hinges and upholstered interiors. It comes with easy-to-adjust shelves that provide ample room for maneuvering your valuables. Further, the 1.2 cubic foot safe is equipped with a reprogrammable digital lock that can be bypassed in the event of a crisis or power failure. Other remarkable attributes of the anti-theft safe with digital lock include a battery life indicator, quiet-tone keypad, and an emergency override key that comes in handy during a keypad failure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.022 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation86%79 out of 92reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Nice Beginner Safe

04/18/2012
By ,
Ohio by Fairlawn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money its an o.k. safe. Does its job. You can buy a smaller fireproof firebox to put inside of it for those documents and things you need fireproofed or even have a company that specializes in such things fireproof it for you. Mine came with bolt down screws and holes already drilled in it for floor or wall mounting. I like it a lot. Could be better by having a 4 bolt locking mechanism in it and also by having the bolts fit inside the safe walls itself like sentry safes. After buying a sentry safe and having a very bad experience with them, this was a breathe of fresh air. I'd recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

short and sweet

06/13/2008
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all this is a nice safe for the money.
pros:
*easy to program
*key tone is quite
*opens w/ code OR key (does not require both)
*battery life indicator (push of a button)
*carpet lined interior
cons:
*no mounting capabilities (safe is heavy but very movable; no bolt down hardware) better have a good hiding spot.
*offers very little protection from fire and water damage (says so on the box), so if that is important to you this is not the safe you want.
hope this helps?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

This safe isn't the greatest

10/01/2013
By ,
Dublin, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am slightly disappointed with this safe. First, only the Panasonic R6 batteries that are included works with this safe. The owner's manual states that this takes AA batteries. Neither the Kirkland brand or Duracell works with this safe. Secondly, once I enter my combination code I have to turn the handle clockwise usually 3 times before it opens, and it doesn't always open. Sometimes I have to enter the code more than once. I called First Alert about the battery problem and the combination code not working properly. I was told they are aware of the battery problem and that most AA alkaline batteries sold in stores won't work and that I would have to use the Panasonic. They will mail me an extra set of batteries. I was told that the size of the batteries is off by a fraction of an inch. How strange is that? If this is the case then they need to change the wording in the Owner's Manual!
In reference to the combination not working properly, I was told it could be due to the circuit board and to remove the inner door panel and look at the circuit board to be sure the connections were connected properly. If they were, then there could be a problem with the circuit board and they could mail me a new one. Personally, if the circuit board was bad then I don't think it would work at all. The First Alert company was happy to help me over the phone. But I am a happy camper when things work properly to begin with. This safe does not. Overall, I like the height of this safe and if I can get the circuit board issue (if that's the problem) resolved then I will be happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Good product

01/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is as described, so far no problems. large enough to fit whatever you'd want to put in it, the description makes it hard to realize the size. Large enough to hold file folders, camera, backup drive, things of that nature....one small removable shelf on the top if you wanted to put little things, it drops about 5 inches from the top. Bigger than the standard hotel size safe though I have been in a few that have safes of this size. Easy to use and no defects noted thus far. No dings, or scratches, door works fine. I'm satisified with product, ease of delivery to store which was nice, I took it out of the box there to inspect before lugging it home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Just what we needed

03/31/2014
By ,
El Dorado AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a nice product. The keys work fine plus the keypad is very nice. Its not fireproof but it is a nice item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Perfect

03/07/2014
By ,
Everett, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated a lot about shopping for this item online. Other than 70 lbs. is too much for me to lift (I can get someone to help), it is the perfect size to lock up my important documents, jewelry and has room for more. It was extremely easy to program the entry code and seems to be very well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Good if not broken

03/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It would have been worth it if one of the plastic key holding loops wasn't broken. One of the shelf holders wasn't even screwed on either! I was really disappointed in this purchase, But in the end I just felt it was too much of a hassle to send it back so I just kept it. Was able to screw shelf on myself and I can live with the broken key holder. They might not all be like the one I got but...be cautious and don't expect it to be perfect...like I did.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Gun safe

03/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used it for my guns. , great value and the carpet inside is nice for all my guns so they won't get scratched.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

very good

03/10/2014
By ,
Rolla,Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Safty first!

08/14/2007
By ,
Wausau, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this with the site to store shipping. It was very simple and helpful. It's a great product I bought it to hold my computer and documents for college because I was told a lot of stuff gets stollen and there is nothing anyone can do about it so I purchased this safe and I can fit my 15" laptop inside. There is also a shelf and key hooks. It's great for what I needed it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
Disappointed in safe
Posted 11/08/2013
After reading the specs, it sounded like this was going to be a safe that would be easily programmed, and would secure my property. I was wrong on both accounts. As in many of the testimonies, I, as well, struggled to get the battery lid off, and ended up breaking it. It has been compromised numerous times, even though I have changed the codes several times. I have come home and even found the door standing open. I do not know how someone is getting into it; I carry both keys on my key ring. Trying to keep money, medications, and important documents out of someone's hand, I was banking on this safe to be pretty much, something that no one could figure out how to penetrate. It apparently isn't hard at all, if someone knows what they are doing. I just wasted money and would be reluctant to buy even a more expensive model; this one has proven to be totally worthless.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Great product

11/28/2013
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just exactly like the description, heavy and well built. Lock works great. Can be bolted to the wall or floor, bolts included. Shipping was right on time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Needs improvement on quality.

11/16/2013
By ,
South Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Internal shelf is not adjustable and not secured for shipping. Neither are the batteries secured. Therefore with their flopping around inside the 4 key hangers were broken. (made of plastic) Paperwork states to call the manufacture and not return to the place of purchase. Manufacture couldn't locate the broken part and stated I should see what Wal Mart wanted to do for me. Wal Mart doesn't carry repair parts. Only recourse is to return entire product. I have super glued the broken hangers onto the plate they broke off of and will think twice before anymore Wal Mart internet purchases. Also had to leave the door open for several days to air it out, strange smell inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Would not buy again

02/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1) Shelves were already installed when opened. One shelf was broke
2) Door rattles after shutting (not sure how "anti-theft" that is)
3) Seems to be very cheaply made
4) Will return and try sentrysafe. I'm sure they're not much better though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

First Alert 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

04/28/2011
By ,
Edgewood, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall:
Good personal items safe. Would recommend for storage of smaller items no larger than watch boxes. After stacking a few and the inner compartment, the space is just about full.
Key entry:
I was a little concerned about the "all access key". This safe has a key that you can stick in the front of the handle to assit you in opening the door if you either forgot the digital combination or the batteries went dead. My concern is...do I now need a safe for my safe key?? Interesting.
Battery compartment:
There is a compartment door on the back side of the main door for access to the battery compartment. This door is easily accessable, but it's a pain to remove and replace. I think that either a latched door or secured with screws would have been a better design.
Anyway, nice carpeting interior. Well made, and for the price seems like a good deal for peace of mind from petty theft.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

holds a lot of stuff

08/08/2010
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched for a large sized safe for quite a while before settling on this one, and I don't regret it. It has lots of room in it and it's easy to program & open & close. I haven't bolted it down as yet, but it does give U this option.
For a safe this size and at this price, I would recommend it to everybody.
It isn't super heavy, but heavy enuff that a crook wouldn't be running too fast with it in his hands. U can bolt it down if U wish to prevent this, anyway.
I was going to get a fingerprint lock type safe, but this works well, either by using the combination or the key. They were very expensive and didn't come in a large enuff size.
I can fit almost every valuable thing I own in this safe. Mine is full to the brim already, so no room for papers. I'll get a separate one for those. Something less involved as I only want it to keep papers in the same place so I don't lose them.
This is a good choice of safes if U want to keep a lot of stuff locked away.
The shipping was fast & the delivery guy brought it all the way into my house for me. No problems. I just unpacked it, set it up, filled it & I was done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Not SAFE at all

09/29/2010
By ,
Winchester, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was and is the worst purchase I've bought in years. Here is why I recommend you keep your money..After purchasing this safe and bringing it home I followed the instructions by setting up your key code to secure my belongs..things seem to be going good until the battery indicator informed me that the batteries that I had placed into the safe were no good...so like anyone else would do I went to the store to purchase the size battery this safe requires, well after wrestling with case that holds the batteries I finally the case open, got them in after an hour of my time seems to go by and could not get the cover back on. After the batteries are secure in place the battery indicator informs me that the batteries are no good, " I just bought them"!!! So I get another set...same story! O Im not done. So I take out the batteries and say forget it I will just use the keys and work with what I have. Well come to find out the locks on the inside of the safe do not go all the way into the proper holes to secure this SAFE that claims to be SAFE!. Its just like when you go to open a door, thats how easy it is to get in this safe. Your better off putting all my stuff in a drawer in the kitchen. Do not waste your time or money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Nice size, poor shipping

01/21/2014
By ,
Sicklerville,nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I gave this as a gift to my husband. When he opened it the batteries were already in the door and one was so old it exploded all over the cabinet. Also a piece on the door was missing so he can't use the code only the key. I asked him of I should return it but it's so heavy who wants to take it back to deal with that? Overall it's larger than I thought it would be which is good. But disappointed it doesn't work properly.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Value - with conditions

01/23/2010
By ,
ucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received this product shortly after X-mas.
Delivery. I used the $0.49 home delivery option as it is a "heavy" item. Amazing this item was sent door-to-door for less than a dollar. BIG savings.
Packaging. I read numerous reviews were the item was damaged in transit (not Wal*Mart). I was betting Wal*Mart would do a better job of delivery and that was #1 reason I bought here. Mine arrived in perfect shape. It was double-boxed with the original packaging placed in a larger shipping box with extra padding on the top and bottom corners. Perfect.
Mounting hardware. To my surprise, safe came with large bolts to secure it in place. I knew the safe would be "lighter" (price point) and had seen comments from people about the lack of mounting capability or DIY attempts to secure. Nice.
Someone read reviews and addressed the shipping damage and mounting issues I had come across while researching. Thank you!
The only issue is the keypad did not work. After checking the batteries and replacing the batteries, no joy. I called the manufacturer's customer service and they were courteous, professional and fast. They shipped a replacement keypad immediately. I received in under five days.
VALUE. If you are shopping for a small (understand cu.ft. on the product) safe, with keypad, that can be secured (optional) with included hardware - hard to beat the value I experienced.
In closing, the included keys are a backup feature. You only need to use if you forget the code, the batteries die or your keypad stops working. Not needed to operate the safe unless that is how you want to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

excellent experience

11/08/2009
By ,
Roseburg. Or
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Honeywell safe is very secure and allows for ease of use. I use it for my medications and frequently open and close the safe with no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2077DF 1.2 Cubic Ft Digital Anti-Theft Safe

Good value

11/25/2013
By ,
Jersey Show
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next