Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for First Alert First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

First Alert First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

The First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector Hanging File Box is perfect for storing and organizing your valuable documents, credentials and folders. The solid construction and waterproof seal of this file chest prevents water damage to the contents caused by flooding or by water used in fighting a fire and keeps the safe's interior dry, even when fully submerged. This waterproof file box is UL classified and tested to withstand an external temperature up to 1550 degrees Fahrenheit for 30 minutes and is independently verified to protect digital media, such as memory sticks, CD's, DVD's and external hard drives. The clamping style latch with key lock keeps your electronic files and paper documents secured. The First Alert file chest will give you peace of mind in knowing your important documents and belongings are safe from theft, fire and water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%80 out of 84reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
25
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Great safe

12/07/2012
By ,
FarRockaway Queens
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I always wanted wish I knew about the one that has the wheels first. But in the end I love this one also. Mrs. Morrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Exactly what I was looking for

02/08/2009
By ,
Broken Arrow, Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This box is surprisingly large inside. Although the walls are thick and overall HEAVY there is plenty of storage room. I use this to keep instruction manuals of everything I own, with attached receipts - sort of like a proof of purchase in case of a fire.
I found it a great addition to the 3 hour safe I have for valuables, and I ran out of room!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Upgraded to this larger size from the .17 CF Box

09/02/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had the smaller 2013F .17 CF Water and Fire Lock Box for about 4 years now and we've just outgrown it. We needed something bigger and getting another First Alert Lock Box over some of the other brands out there was a no-brainer. Fortunately, we have not had any fire or water damage to know how well they will hold up in those situations, but we did have an attempted break-in situation and just having it locked was good enough to spook the would-be-robbers. Additionally, after seeing a couple of YouTube videos on just how quick and easy it showed to "jimmy" the lock to be able to "break into" one of First Alert's competitors lock boxes, that solidified for me which lock box we were going to purchase... and here we are with the larger box for all of our important documents. We will continue to use the smaller box to lock up other things. The only thing that would make this box 5 stars for me would be if there were some sort of handle. This lock box weighs about 35 lbs completely empty, so it can be moved, but it does take some effort to do it, especially after contents are added. Overall, however, the next time I need a Water and Fire Protector Lock Box, First Alert will be my First Choice!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Great product

09/18/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The size is perfect for what I needed. I have mostly legal size documents but was able to fit them in without having to fold them. I plan to take them out every so often and rearrange so they aren't permanently "looped". I did notice when I first opened the safe that the instruction pamphlets were damp but after leaving the door open for a while then testing again, things remained dry. I tried all this before putting my important papers in there. Having read another review that talked about the moisture problem, I took their suggestion and called customer service. The very nice lady explained that it was a common thing and recommended I open the safe at least once a month and let it dry out. She is also sending me more of the packets that absorb moisture. Without having any way to prove that it truly is water and fire proof I would still say that overall it is as advertised and will work great for my needs. Keep in mind that while it is fairly heavy it would not be something you would want to use as a true safe, as someone could easily pick it up and carry it off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Excellent Buy

01/09/2013
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a new safe for a long time. To get one this size was just too expensive in the past. I have many files and I keep them in file folders in my old box and they are warped because my old one was not big enough to store them. This has a hanging file channel, I can file everything I need neatly and have plenty of room. The price was the best part of the deal. I have seen safe's this big for over $200. This one was $50. A huge bargain!!!! and it is waterproof to boot. I have spent a few years looking for the perfect item and I am proof and this product is proof that with a little patience, it can be found. Very happy with my purchase, very happy with the price. but I will warn you the thing is wicked heavy! The only thing I think I would change is to have a combo lock instead of a key. I don't keep valuables in my safe, just important documents, but if I did I would feel better if it was a combo lock instead of a key. Excellent product by a name I trust. Let's just hope I never have to put it to the test.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Solid, except latch.

01/24/2009
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The unit seems to be quite solid, except for the latch/lock. The lock operates well, but it is made of plastic. The silver part on the front is what keeps the lid from being opened and it is thin plastic. Obviously this is not a security safe, but in a bad fire it seems like the latch could melt or burn away. The lid is heavy, but if knocked over the unit would become useless. Might be an unlikely scenario, but isn't that why we get a safe? I would save my money and get a real safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Handle needed!

08/05/2014
By ,
Glasgow, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so focused on selecting a water/fire proof place to keep my important documents that I neglected to notice that it does not have handles to carry it with. This thing is solid and heavy. Approximately 25 - 30 pounds empty. Fill it up and it's a bugger to move from one spot to another. But we are very happy and will deal with it not having a handle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

It's plastic...

06/02/2008
By ,
West Chester, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's heavy and seems solid...
Both the outside and inside are plastic which makes me kind of nervous it wouldn't survive a fire.
It's cheap, and hopefully I'll never have to test it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Great for the intended purpose.

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the email and notice of its delivery at our local Walmart store and right away I was impressed by the quick delivery. I was aware of the not so good reviews about the key problems like not going all the way in the keyhole and the upper portion or the cover that do not close snugly to the file chest body. So what I did was to have the Walmart associate to open the box right there and then so I will be assured myself that none of this problem exist with the file chest I ordered, and rightly so all the tests for the known problems were done and my file chest passed with flying colors. Keys and the instructions booklet (owner's manual) were intact and the booklet reminds new owners to open the chest and aerate contents every two weeks to avoid moisture that can damage documents and other important items. For safe measure, a small silica gel pillow is included inside. The only reasons why I didn't give this chest 5 stars were a negligible blemish in one corner of the cover that looked like a scratch that damaged the paint. To me it was just cosmetic so no harm done since all I wanted was a safe box to protect my important documents. Also I've no way to check it's touted 30 mins. fire protection and water protection ability. Overall I'm very satisfied with this file chest and I'm so happy with its price .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest
05/20/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought the safe to store some important documents and picture cd's that couldn't be replaced in case of a fire. Plenty of room. Lid opens and closes easily. The key lock is great compared to some of the other models we looked at. A good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Well-made fire protection.

10/16/2013
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This box looks well-made and I think it will provide adequate protection against fire; however, buyers should note that this box is not designed to provide much (if any?) protection against theft. If you want theft protection, buy a steel safe. If you want fire protection, buy this box. If you want fire and theft protection, put this box in a steel safe. Also, I am using a rechargeable gun-safe desiccant-based dehumidifier in this box to protect against mold and humidity and it seems to be working so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Solid little safe

11/19/2008
By ,
Kirtland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Upon receiving and unboxing the safe, I was surprised to discover that the safe was constructed of molded plastic. Apparently the exterior of the safe is designed to burn away, as Honeywell provides free replacements in the event that the safe survives a fire.
.
Once I got over the surprise of this discovery, I was pleased that the safe operated very smoothly and closed quite securely. There is a rubber gasket that seals the lid to the base of the case. I'm confident that the contents will be safe and dry in the event that my house burns down and the safe is doused with water.
.
The lock seems adequate to keep peeping eyes from the safe's contents. We don't really plan to lock it, as we purchased the safe only to keep our important documents protected in the event of a fire. The latching lid closes securely; you need to firmly push a button on the latch to release it once the cylinder-type lock is opened.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

exactly what I wanted.

10/11/2013
By ,
sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the inside diameter was very important to us and missing from several other smaller products. this one is as I expected and I like that I do not have to lock it to get it closed. id rather a burglar see the contents instead of stealing the whole thing as it only secures important personal paperwork files. very nice product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest
12/07/2011
By ,
Camdenton, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered this with the frame of mind .. I have to evacuate within 20 minutes - where are my valuables? This is a very nice water & fire resistant safe. It has a latch that activates with a push button and a key hole to secure contents. However, there was no key included with the unit. Nor does it have carrying handles for ease of transport in an evacuation scenario. It also has an advisory that one should encase contents in a dish-washer-proof container, which is a bit of a hassle... to find a container of the same dimensions as the internal ones of the safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Great product

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets all my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Solved a storage problem

10/29/2013
By ,
Wrentham, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazed at the ease of purchase - found it on web site, ordered same, delivered to local WalMart - what more could one ask. Staff were very helpful loading it into my car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Good Quality

07/22/2009
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This box is much bigger than I expected. It is also very heavy so don't plan on moving it around a lot. Although it looks big from the outside there is much less space on the inside due to the thick walls. The lock seems fairly sturdy. There is a little slip of paper included in the box (I almost threw it out) that has a code on it that you need if you lose your keys and need new ones. I'm using it to store passports, birth certificates, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Not a good product

01/20/2009
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Received this and opened it to have the lock on the front fall off. Not well made. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

Very Happy With This Safe

07/19/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this safe after spending a considerable amount of time reading customer reviews on several sites of it and it's competing safe made by Sentry. The First Alert Safe is 5 lbs lighter than the Sentry safe. I consider this to give the First Alert Safe a significant advantage. The Sentry safe also appears to have a major hinge problem. The problem most cited for this safe was that it sometimes arrived with a dented corner or missing keys.
I therefore arranged to have the safe delivered to a Walmart store so that I could inspect it before taking delivery. I did not want to carry the heavy safe home, unbox it, find a defect, and then have to bring it back for a refund.
I am happy to say that the safe arrived in perfect condition. It has plenty of room inside for hanging folders and they slide easily. I had previously lifted a Sentry safe at a store and found it pretty hard for me to lift. I was very pleased to see this safe that is 5 lbs lighter, while still heavy, is much easier for me to lift than the Sentry. Both brands of safe say that they should be left open for 30 miutes every 2 weeks to prevent condensation forming which could result in mold growth. I decided to open mine on the 1st and 15th day of each month for as many hours as convenient. The bottom line is that I am very happy with this safe. I do not know where one can find a better one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for First Alert 2037F 0.62 Cubic Foot Water and Fire Protector File Chest

good disaster file box (not a burglar safe)

12/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good value for disaster storage. It is built for hanging files with some additional space beneath. But it is not a burglar-proof safe. Although it has a small keyed lock and would be difficult to carry away (at about 40 pounds), its real purpose is to survive a fire and to fall through debris into a wet cellar. I hope never to check its ability to do so, but it sure looks like it would survive. Unlike some reviewers, the lock and hinge work fine for me. And the user guide warns (as others here have learned) that the insulation will leak humidity, so you must wrap papers in plastic before storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next