Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Image Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Image Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

The smooth, elliptical motion of the Image 8.25 Elliptical trainer provides an effective fat-burning workout while eliminating the harmful impact on your ankles, knees and hips. Silent magnetic resistance allows you to adjust your workout intensity without interrupting your workout. With ten intensity levels, grip pulse sensors and a large LCD display.
Average Customer Rating:
3.131 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(99 Reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation61%60 out of 99reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
27
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Squeaky product

07/07/2007
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product squeaks constantly when in use! SOmething is wrong with the bolts. Also, the manufacturer troubleshooting website does not exist. This was a total waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 22 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Not just the price is cheap! Quality is as well.

02/09/2008
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We read the reviews after we had bought ours. My husband put it together in less than 2 hours, so we thought maybe the others weren't so mechanically inclined and that was part of their problem. We were very positive despite what we read. Well, from the first use the adjustable handles slid down from where we set them, even after my husband tightened them so tight that I could not turn the knob to loosen. By one week of use, just 10-30 minutes a day, we had a very loud squeak that we could not figure out the source of. It got so bad that 2 weeks in, we took it back. We noticed this week when we went back to shop for a new one that they no longer carry any of the image ellipticals at our Wal-mart, so wondering if we weren't the only ones to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Good machine overall

03/05/2008
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The machine took a good while to assemble. It requires 2 people to put together but once assembled, its ready to use. It's pretty self-explanatory but if you must read the short users guide you can. The resistance levels are great and automatically come on when following one of the training exercises. The only downfall to this product is that it is not as smooth and quiet as I had expected. After double and triple-checking all the bolts and screws, I found it to be a little on the bumpy side even though the floor is level. If you can get past the slight noise and "bumpiness" then this product is great and does the job of any of the other more expensive machines on the market.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

better workout than the gym

01/13/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first, i was a little worried about buying this product. However, i wanted to work out in the comfort of my own home, and not pay a fortune. This was a good price. The machine did take a few hours to put together, with the instructions being a little confusing at times. You definitely need two people to put this together.
After my first workout on this machine, i have to say this is a better workout than the machines at the gym. I had a hard time finishing my workout compared to the ones at the gym. This product may NOT last 5 years like an elliptical that was 1000 bucks... but if it lasts even one year.. i think the money was worth it. I would buy this product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 25 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Good Product for th price

07/22/2007
By ,
Frisco, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product looks great. However assembly takes a long time and is quite confusing since some washers and nuts called out are in different boxes and you actually have to look at the diagram to figure out what part they are actually talking about. Took me around 3.5 hours to assemble with some help to hold parts in place while you attach them. Also, it doesn't come with the 4 AA batteries required to run the LCD console. The box fit inside my 2004 Honda Accord trunk easily while the higher version Image 9.5 seems too big too fit in a car trunk or back seat. Happy with the product. Haven't tried it out yet but will post another review once we get to use it for sometime.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Not worth the trouble!

01/09/2008
By ,
georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I looked for months for an elliptical with everything but low priced! I decided to buy this one! Assembly complicated but not too bad! Had for about 3 months. BIGGEST FLAW: VERY SWEAKY! Everything is tighted and assembled properly but still sweaks terribly! Very annoying to workout for 30 minutes. Would take back but too much of hassle would rather sell and buy new one! If you can deal with the noise it does give great workout also the sweaking not so bad if you have the resistence on 3 or higher but that seems to make legs more bulky than toned! Also I'm 5'4 and the 18" stride seems to be to much for me kind of puts you in an akward motion! hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Quickly disintegrating...

03/08/2008
By ,
Iowa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was impressed when I assembled this machine - the directions were clear and the parts seemed heavy and sturdy. However, during my first workout, the unit started making terrible noises. Turns out part of the flywheel inside is plastic, and it was apparently off-center, causing it to rub against an adjacent part. After getting that problem fixed, I dealt with serious squeaking issues during use, which I minimized by putting a block of wood under a portion of the frame. Finally, however, the drive belt began to shred, depositing a swath of shredded rubber underneath the unit. Enough was enough - we were within the 90 day warranty and returned it to Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 28 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Works, but not well!

11/15/2007
By ,
colorado springs
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have owned this product for about a year now. I just now started really using it. I am 160lbs, and I have used it everyday for the last 2 months. I had some trouble putting it together, and I never could get it put together very tightly so the handles slip and make a loud clank every time. Had some trouble recently with the magnets sticking or something and I could barely work out. And most recent problem is the tension belt is shredding, it's probably going to snap any day. Smells like burnt rubber after a 30 min work out :) haha. It's making a difference on my body though, I have noticed my body toning. So it works but not very well. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

not for serious fitness or weight loss

01/12/2008
By ,
Columbus Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the 8.25 elliptical trainer about 6 weeks ago. It took just over 2 hours to assemble. The directions were reasonably easy to follow. I was able to assemble it by myself, but it would have been significantly easier with someone to assist. I use this machine a minimum of 30 minutes, 5 days a week.
The operation and use is nearly silent - for the first 2 days, but then you will have to lubricate the unit every few days to quiet the squeaks.
If this unit were more sturdy, it would be perfect. It has a small footprint and is easily movable, but it does not have a good "solid" feel when exercising. I'm right at the 250 pound weight limit and it does not feel solid when in use. Even when my 130 pound daughter uses this unit, it squeaks and does not look "solid".
The design of the electronic unit that houses the display is very weak. The plastic housing is held to the trainer frame by 4 screws in the plastic. When I hold the handles to get a heart rate, I can feel the plastic housing flex and it feels like it's going to break.
Unfortunately, this is a case of getting what you paid for.
If your over 130 pounds and you want to use an elliptical trainer, on a regular basis, for weight loss and fitness, avoid this one. Spend the extra money to get a more durable and solid unit that's designed and built for long-term exercising and use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Not so GREAT!!

12/12/2007
By ,
Central Illinois
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this product for 8mths using it 4 times a week. Yes it does rock and squeek but it worked. Weight limit is 250lbs, when I bought it I was 226 now I'm down to 193 so I am WELL under the weight limit. Today it started rocking extremly bad. Upon inspection I noticed that that the welds on the bottom of the frame broke so now it is totally inoperable. I looked over the user's manuel found that the manufacturer only has a 90day warrenty. So I guess finding my reciept won't be much help. Don't buy this product, save your money, buy a much better crafted one that will last longer. There is a reason some are more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

good choice

10/18/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used elliptical machines at gyms so I was reluctant to buy a low cost machine without trying it. My husband put it together in less than two hours, he had a little trouble. I didnt think I needed the upper body work so he left the handles off. Its a good enough workout without them. It squeeked pretty loudly for two months but now it is almost silent. I cant read while I workout on it like I did at the gym because it's too bumpy. I wouldn't recommend it for someone with bad hips. Overall I think it was an excellent choice. I use it almost everyday and I have lost 6 pounds without dieting plus I feel great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Great Product

01/25/2008
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little disappointed reading some of the reviews. I purchased this elliptical machine because the price was right but I was pleasantly surprised with the features. The instructions were easy to follow, just time consuming. The machine itself works great and has everything you need. I didn't want a gym quality, high priced piece of equipment. This is perfect for me. I use it about 3 times per week and have not had any issues, squeaks or breaks in the welds. I am very satisfied with it and have recommended it to my friends. Hope this helps anyone who is considering buying this elliptical.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Horrible Product

01/07/2008
By ,
Ephrata, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is of very low quality. Both of the hand grips broke off of the machine in the first month that we had it from normal use. It also rocks back and forth A LOT when you use it. The manufacturer also didn't include enough grease for the mechanisms, so after a month it squeaks horribly. On top of all the malfunctions we experienced, it took over 3 hours to put it together. We also couldn't return it because everything hit after 30 days so we're stuck with a broken piece of equipment that's collecting dust. My advice? Don't waste your money and get something with a decent warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 34 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine
01/31/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife uses the machine and tells me it does just what its designed to do. I like the fact that the resistance is made by magnetism rather than fiction like our previous model. I can comment first hand about how this thing goes together. It was very slick. All the bearings were very sound. The coolest thing was how they handled all the little parts. There were about 18 different types. Rather than put them in little plastic bags they put them in what looked like a box of chocholate. It came with a sheet that told you what was in each little compartment. For the price you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 35 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

01/28/2008
By ,
Nashville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
* Box looked like it had been drug behind delivery truck rather than riding inside it when it arrived at house.
* Took a little over 2 hours to assemble.
* Even though handles are adjustable (for different users' heights), still can't quite get them right for me - feel like I have to lean forward more than what is comfortable in order to use them
* Machine seems flimsy - when I get up and going full speed, it's rocking back and forth - not to the point of being dangerous but I wonder if I am getting a good workout and if it's causing long term damage to the alignment, etc.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 36 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

music to my ears NOT

03/04/2008
By ,
Trinity, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had my machine about 2 months. After the first week it will drive you crazy by the noise it makes. It's a very loud squeak. My husband can hear it loud in the other room every time I work out on it. Good thing I don't work out that long on it or he would throw us both out the door. And I made sure to grease it really good when I was putting it together.But it didn't help. If I had it all to do over I would have bought a treadmill for my money and peace of mind. And some peace and quiet.I don't know what I'm going to do it seems to get louder every day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Good for the $

02/10/2008
By ,
Queens, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son & I assembled it and that went pretty easily.I use it daily, the front bars knock into eachother because we screwed in the slightly shorter screws and after greasing it could not unscrew them and correct it. It "sheds" grease on the floor, so definitely have something under it. Iput rubberbands between the two front bars so they do not knock anymore. One of the back screws attached to the "rotator" is screwed in tight but still knocks. I get a good workout though, have 2 months left on the warranty, if it's worse by then, I will return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Do not buy this elliptical!

01/04/2008
By ,
Joplin, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this elliptical for my wife for Mother's Day because she was really wanting one. I put it together myself, and it does take a couple of hours. She loved it, and I wound up using it as well. It does make a squeaking noise when you use it, and I tried shooting it with some WD40 a few times, but that didn't really get rid of it. After about 3 months, the main crossbar underneath that goes from front to back BROKE at the weld that connects to the vertical bar! Of course it was just barely out of the manufacturer's warranty, but luckily I did purchase the 2 year warranty from Walmart. The repairman that came out basically said that's the main weld of the machine and should be the strongest and least likely to break. The warranty company did send me my money back and I went out and bought another one. This time I had Walmart put it together for me, in case there was something I maybe did wrong during assembly. Again, a lot of squeaking, but my wife and I both still used it and enjoyed it. Now, after only having it 5 weeks, it broke in the exact same place again!! At least this time it was within the manufacturer's warranty, but unfortunately I'm going to be out another $30 for the 2 year warranty. This is quite possibly the worst piece of equipment I have ever owned! I guess there's a reason why it's one of the cheaper models. I'm going to get my money back again and pay the difference to get us a nicer one that won't actually break!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

A Great Workout

01/03/2008
By ,
Modesto, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Elliptical is well worth the low price from Wal Mart.com and gives a great overall cardio workout.
I am a 240lb. male weighlifter and have experienced no problems with the quality and construction of this product. I did install 2 small screws to keep the adjustable handles from moving after I picked my proper height. I used a wheel bearing type grease instead of the tiny tube supplied. It did take about 2 hours to assemble, but was actually easy just time consuming. I would and have recommended this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Image 8.25 Elliptical Machine

Not worth it

01/10/2008
By ,
Indianola, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this elliptical because it looked sturdy, easy to use and the price was right. I was WRONG!! I got it home, took me 3 days to assemble it myself, once I got all the nuts and bolts tightened, I went to get on it and there was No power to the machine, I made sure the batteries were in correctly and still no power. I have to take this machine back to the store put together because they use locking nuts and you can not unloosen them once tightened. What a pain. I do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
21-40 of 90 total reviews