Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Danby Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

The Danby Countertop Dishwasher has a space-saving design perfect for compact kitchens in your home, condo, cottage or office. This unique dishwasher has been engineered to offer full-size performance yet is only 17 inches high, so it fits under most cabinets. It can clean up to four place settings at once. A large front window allows for viewing of cycles. Easy to use, the dishwasher connects to any kitchen sink with the included Quick-Connect Sink Adaptor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%38 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

I LOVE IT

08/14/2007
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of washing dishes every night by hand so my husband bought this for me. I love it. It was easy to install and it is very easy to use. I have a baby so the only thing is, is that I had to go and buy a basket for bottle things. It really cleans it very well. I love the fact that it gets really hot so it also is sanitizing the bottle nipples. I would really recommend it for anybody who doesn't have room for a big dishwasher. It does take up a little space but it really is worth it.
I doesn't look like it would hold pots and pans but it really does fit most of them. The only one I haven't tried to put in there is my Wok but I very rarely use it. I did put my dutch oven it there and it fit just fine and I was even able to put a couple of dishes and cutlery in with it. I think I even put a glass in there as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

very disappointed

02/04/2009
By ,
jackson, nj
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned a danby previously and I thought it was
great. I had to purchase another one after a few
years. This is not the new and improved model.
I had to use parts from the previous washer because this one is inferior and I can't understand what these people were thinking when they produced it. I spoke with their customer service because I was very annoyed. The last machine heated up with just cold water. This one has to have hot water going into it of 130o which means running the water to get it there. The rack inside has big gaps in it so all the smaller things can fall through. The rack also has prongs for the dishes that are angled straight up so that your plates don't fit into the machine. I had to use the old rack. The hose and the afore mentioned items are made of cheaper materials. I also put the other untensil holder in for that reason. It does wash the dishes however. so not all is lost. Wouldn't get it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

useful for limited space

08/08/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This dishwasher does not allow for a dinner plate to stand up. You have to lean it over the other dishes in the dishwasher in order to fit them in the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Works Good

07/28/2007
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have the machine for 8 months, run it once or more each day. Works great. Follow the directions on the soap if you use to much it suds up and will leak out.. Don't know what I would do without it ? Great little machine. I even some plastic stuff on top of dishes any where I can fit it and it cleans great. One other thing it will sanitize That was one big reason I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

It's Wonderful!!

10/07/2007
By ,
Oshkosh WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to have surgery on my hand, so I bought this dishwasher because I live alone and didn't look forward to a mountain of dishes when my hand recovered! I recommend it to all my friends. There was a problem with the timer dial sticking on it and then the first one failed completely, but the replacement has been going strong for two years now. The timer dial occasionally sticks - maybe a manufacturing flaw - but very seldom. I like it in part because the plates can stand in their place while all the other dishes have their places as well, and when I need a bigger space for something, the rack comes out!! My daughter-in-law called and wants to come over to see how it works, so she's probably going to get one as well. Definitely use the better detergents and be sure to open the door when the cycle finishes so the dishes can dry!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Very poor product, Horrible customer service

07/03/2007
By ,
Rochester, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned two Danby portable dishwashers. The first was purchased at a local discount store and it lasted nearly two years (after having to purchase a replacement inside door assembly). The second one was purchased at Walmart online. This one lasted barely 9 months. When it works (for the first year, or so), it works nicely. If you hate doing dishes by hand as I do, you will love it. Unfortunately, this product has multiple problems: leaking from various places, motor dying, cycles don't run correctly, etc. And the worst is that Danby customer service is nonexistent. Research before you buy this product! Like I said, not having to do dishes by hand was a godsend. For a while...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

I love this thing!

10/23/2007
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, I hate to do dishes, but my kitchen is one of those strange galley kitchens where the measurements of the countertops and cupboards don't seem to fit "regulations." As a result, I held off for two years to buy this because it wouldn't fit...
Boy did I make a MAJOR mistake when I waited...
All I had to do was take the burners off the stove and voila! I have a nice surface to have the dishes done for me!
The quick connect is excellent. The unit is small and light enough that I can pick it up and set it down under a shelf in the pantry when I'm not using it, and the rack works as a "dish rack" when I'm not ready to do a load of dishes.
It cleans plates, tupperware and glasses very well, on the "full" cycle, and does silverware and even wooden spoons well if you pre-rinse them. You have to hassle a bit to get everything in, but hey, it's a small unit. Get over it. It's also a little noisy, but it sits on a countertop with no soundproofing. Again. Get over it.
In the words of Jonny Bench, I have no drips, no runs and no errors. I strongly recommend this product for anyone who has a small space and needs a portable product. I'm thinking about purchasing another one for my campground next summer, or buying the 8 piece model for home and moving this one.
I'm not one to gush, but yes, I'm that happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

A great alternative to dishpan hands

01/27/2009
By ,
Clermont, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a bit nervous at first with this machine, due to its leaking a bit, but it does clean as well as a regular dishwasher. The only issue I have besides the having to tighten the hoses between every use is trial and error with how much soap to put in, due to it depending on how soft/hard your water is. Also, for your first few uses, you might want to put the corner where your hoses attach to the machine over your sink, it tends to leak more when it is draining water between cycles.
BUT.. it is still far better than washing by hand, larger items can not fit in it, and it is advised to prewash before you load dishes in.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Disappointed

02/11/2009
By ,
Lexington Park, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had portable dishwashers before, but this was my first countertop. My dinner plates won't fit into it and small cups just barely fit in their space. The dishwasher looks nice, but it really isn't worth the money for what it does. Even though I pre-rinse and scrape any food off the dishes before I begin washing half the time the food is still stuck there at the end of the cycle. Econo mode is useless because the water doesn't get hot enough to even wash away butter residue on a knife. I have to use twice the amount of detergent it calls for and set it for 'Sani-wash' on a full cycle to clean the dishes at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Love My Danby !!

01/31/2009
By ,
Southern CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my Danby countertop dishwasher for about 4 years and still going strong! I use it about every day or every other day. The dinner plates DO fit just fine...you have to "angle" them like parking places so the bottoms hang into the cavities.
I usually use the "short wash" setting and have had no problems. You must make sure to remove all food particles before loading. They will accumulate in the strainer in the bottom which should be cleaned regularly. LOVE MY DANBY! I bought it for myself for Christmas! What a great choice. When we establish our home in a permanent RV, my little Danby is coming with us.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Good product

01/02/2009
By ,
Caro, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 22-year old daughter for a Christmas present. She loves it. She lives in a small apartment and gladly sacrificed the countertop for this. She had it installed within 30 minutes by herself and reports that it works well and has no complaints. The product has met expectations. I read a lot of reviews about countertop dishwashers before purchasing this one. There seems to be an overall consensus that they're all about the same, for the most part. I decided to save money in cost and shipping and purchased this ship-to-store. I would eagerly recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Just what I needed

11/04/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was just what I needed. I hate washing dishes more than anything else in the world. This dishwasher saves me! It was a little larger than I expected. It doesn't fit under the cabinets and therefore cannot sit on the counter as I had hoped. But, it fits great on the roll-away butcherblock that I have and can be rolled up to the sink for the washing and then put away when done. This way I don't lose the counterspace that is so lacking in apartment living. I would definately recommend this to anyone that doesn't have much room but wants the convenience of a dishwasher.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Perfect for the size and price...

01/22/2009
By ,
Sand Springs, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently recieved my Danby Dishwasher, and I absolutely love it. I have 3 small children that are in constant need of my attention. Now I have more time to do other things and spend more time with the kids. We have a small home and could not afford to buy a large dishwasher. When I seen this little dishwasher on the Walmart website I new it was perfect not only for the size but for the price. I would recommend this dishwasher to anyone. It has exceded my expectations more than I thought it would. I love it!! Thank's Walmart for offering such a great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Here comes baby

08/09/2007
By ,
Ruidoso, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product when my daughter (now two) was born. We had no dishwasher, and the prospect of bottles and sippie cups and etc was an overwhelming thought. The price was MORE than worth it. TIPS: use cascade or other similar good soap. The cheap soaps gunk up the machine and don't get the dishes clean. Get LemiShine, our walmart carries it. Use it every load and there will never be any hard water build up (vinager is an alternative). I plumbed the unit in directly instead of the quick connect.
Two years of heavy use and still running strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Excellent Product for 2-3 People

01/31/2009
By ,
Ardmore, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this product for our 22 yr old son, who is a single dad of a 4yr old girl. He despises washing dishes. Every time we went to his apartment, we ended up washing dishes that were piled over the edges in both sinks.
It is so nice, now we can visit and don't have to wash one single dish! He LOVES it. It works just as well as my large built in, inside my 2 year new home.
This is one GREAT product for anyone with a small family. It is perfect for the counter by the sink and does a wonderful job on cleaning the dishes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Go ahead, buy it. You'll be glad you did.

10/11/2007
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my little Danby. I have had my washer for about four months. I used the Site to Site option and picked it up at my local store. The box fit in the front seat of my mini SUV, granted it was tight. When it was first unloaded I was surprised by how big it was (though I knew it had to be big). It is roughly the size freezer that's on the top portion of a refrigerator. Some times I won't use it for a day, other times I may use it as much three times a day. Loading the dishwasher is an art form, it can really hold allot if you know how to get it in there. I have two sets of plates, the plates that I use daily (simply because the are nicer looking) are slightly oversized. They squeeze into the dishwasher (they rub the roof of the washer, though it has done no damage to the washer or my plates) the other set of plates fit just fine. For my larger pots and pans, I have to wash them alone or with only a few small items. It gets my dishes very clean, though I found that it is necessary to rinse them before loading. It is relatively quite, I will not watch TV when it's running, as my kitchen and living room are virtually the same room. I have had no problems with it leaking or the dial sticking or any other problems for that matter. This is an EXCELLENT buy, worth it's weight in gold. After welcoming "Danby" into our home, our apartment as a whole has benefited. "If I didn't do the dishes then why clean the kitchen, and if I didn't clean the kitchen then why clean the dining room, and if I didn't clean the..."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Excellent choice for apartment dwellers

02/11/2009
By ,
Astoria, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this machine! I don't have the space for a full-size dishwasher, but I did have a spot on the counter I could spare. This is a fairly large machine - bigger than a full-size microwave.
My plates are 10.5 inch and stoneware and are a snug fit. I can fit a full day's worth of dishes for two people in, but it takes some rearranging. I even got a small pot in there once and it came out lovely (tomato soup, and I rinsed it lightly first).
It doesn't scrape cheese off and some dishes come out with a little gunk left, but overall I've been more than pleased with the results. Just give the dishes a quick rinse before you pop them in and you're good to go. This machine gets my dishes just plain cleaner than I can washing by hand, and shiny!
There's no drying cycle so the dishes are fairly wet when the machine is done. Adding some "rinse agent" to the dispenser in the door helps immensely with that. I find that popping the door open when the cycle ends and it's still warm helps the remaining water evaporate faster.
The hose is a bit long and unwieldy to attach to the sink when it's right next to it, but a few zip ties manage it pretty well. The plastic connectors on the faucet attachment come loose and need to be tightened every few cycles or some water sprays out. The quick connect can be done with one hand after a little practice.
The machine recommends 20 grams of detergent and provides a little spoon and cup to measure that with - but that is also the exact size of most of the little detergent packets. Perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Awesome dishwasher

07/04/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aside from its size, this dishwasher is great! Except for the occasional food between the twines of the fork, this dishwasher makes my dishes cleaner than I could ever get them by hand. It's also a time saver, since all I have to wash by hand now are the items that are too big for it. And those dishes are few and far between for me. The bulk of my dishes are plates, bowls, glasses and utensils, and this dishwasher takes care of them all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

Great Buy

07/19/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned the Danby Countertop Dishwasher for several months and have had no problems. Most dishes are cleaned with a cursory rinse and scrub before you put them in the dishwasher. There is a learning period for how to load the dishes but with a little time you will figure out how to maximize the space. I have been very happy with the dishwasher overall. The only drawback I have is the countertop space lost next to the sink.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby Countertop Dishwasher (4 Place Settings)

great value, good dishwasher

01/26/2009
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it.. after going a few years without a dishwasher and no room for one, this did wonders.. I was orig worried about the small size but with a family of 3 It holds everything perfectly and run it about daily... very easy set up, everything was included. Only issue I have is where the soap goes in.. Either I'm not too bright or the opening is too small, but anyways,, I dump the soap, close it.. run it.. no problems
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next