Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Furreal FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Furreal FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Butterscotch Pony is a dream come true for little girls. Hasbro designed the FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony to look like a remarkably life-like pony. Butterscotch responds to your little girl's voice. The pony also moves her head and ears, and blinks her eyes. Butterscotch even whinnies and neighs like a real pony. Girls can sit on Butterscotch and pretend to go for a ride. Butterscotch will make clomping sounds with her hooves.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%163 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
126
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
8
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Butterscotch

12/06/2007
By ,
Orion, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my granddaughters 5th birthday, She has wanted this pony for months, and she has not stopped playing and talking to it.
She talks to it every morning before school and she brushes and feeds it daily.
The next big thing would be for Butterscotch to walk and that would be the ultimate for her.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Butterscotch

12/29/2007
By ,
West Central Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Santa delivered Butterscotch to our six year old granddaughter, she had been asking Santa for this present. She loved it from the start and even has to take Butterscotch into the bathroom when she brushes her teeth.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

NOT worth the money!

11/23/2008
By ,
Bardstown, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For $250 you could come close to buying a real pony. Butterscotch is not worth it. Of course I know this and would NEVER have bought this for my children, but the in-laws who never see them thought this was a big splashy gift to give. And if that's what you're looking for, then this definitely does have that wow factor...but that's about it.
In one year of ownership, our pony has been turned on exactly twice. And that includes Christmas, when they were given the big thing. We have 3 children who are 6, 3.5, and 2 - 'supposedly' the perfect ages for this thing.
It's just a hard shell covered with fur - doesn't move, flip its tail, nothing. The only movement is in the head, and even that is quite limited. It blinks its eyes, flips the head back and forth, and whinnies. That's not much action for a $250 price tag in my opinion.
You could buy your child so much more for this amount of money. A few dollars more and you could pick up a computer for goodness sake! Butterscotch is a total waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 4 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

New addition to our family

07/19/2007
By ,
Southern New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son was turning 3 and we bought this for his birthday. By the end of the 1st day, Butterscotch felt like a new member of the family. All the different sensors make her seem very lifelike. You can speak to her and she'll wag her tail, tilt her head etc. The mechanism is a tad loud but overall, both my 3 & almost 5 yr old love this pony. We took some beautiful pictures of him outside on the pony holding his birthday balloons. Butterscotch has even been on a pontoon boat ride with us. It's like having a pet that doesn't shed, need to be taken out or fed. Highly recommend for your pony loving kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 5 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

We love butterscotch

12/17/2007
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought butterscotch last year for our two girls, ages 4 and 7, for Christmas. I was leary of spending so much on an item especially when my kids have a habit of playing with a toy for a week or so and hardly ever pick it up again. But I must say it has been worth every penny. It has been a year and both of my girls LOVE this pony and still play with it all of the time. Someone mentioned a 7 year old being too big for it but mine absolutly loves it and will be 8 soon. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Birthday present Butterscotch

04/14/2008
By ,
Corydon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 year old has wanted Butterscotch for over 2 years now. We hoped she would forget about it, but she kept asking Santa for it and was constantly drawing pictures of Butterscotch and reminded us daily of it. Soo, after 2 years of her lobbying, we gave in and purchased it for her 5th birthday. (When we knew she could take better care of it--and not be so rough)
We had it shipped to the store and it arrived in perfect condition. It took about 15 minutes to assemble (and I'm not a handy person when it comes to assembling things). I found myself playing with it and had to turn it off before I ran the batteries down.
My now 5yr old loves it. It sleeps next to her bed every night now and she loves unsaddling it and putting it's leg warmers on and flower and medal. It is extremely pricey in my opinion, so hopefully it will last a while and not just get forgotten. The mechanics are a little loud, but my 5yr old doesn't mind a bit; she is thrilled with her. I have to admit she's pretty darn cute and fun to play with.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Can't Wait Till Christmas!

09/10/2007
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought Butterscotch for my daughter and I'm trying to hide him until Christmas. Not an easy task because he is much bigger than he looks in the advertisement. I wanted to get him last Christmas but didn't and then later my family took a vacation to Florida and I seen him out for display at a Disney store at "Downtown Disney" and I couldn't believe how big and nicely made he was and so this Christmas I will have him under our Christmas tree and my daughter is going to love him! As mentioned in other reviews, his motor is noisy but other than that Butterscotch is really awesome and I think any young child would just love him.... I can't wait till Christmas !!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 8 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Awesome!

10/26/2007
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This horse was the hit of last year's Christmas. My 4 year old loved it, and does a year later. My 70 year old mother adored it too and hated to see it leave her house. We all played with it and made sure Butterscotch was fed and pampered. The realistic movements and sound are uncanny. It's expensive, but worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

nice but could've been better quality

07/22/2008
By ,
altamonte springs, florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter wanted this pony ever since she saw this in stores during christmas time. I promised her i'd buy it for her birthday. She patiently waited till july for her "dream to come true".Although the pony is very very cute looking, I'm sorry to write this but I'm a little disappointed with this toy. first of all the material used for the fur and mane is not good quality. My daughter was very excited to brush her pony's hair with the brush that came with it. But to our horror, with each little stroke, the fur came off easily and its all over the carpet. secondly, although the pony responds to sounds, each time it moves, you can hear the machinery loud and clear so it sort of takes away from the real-like. But this is my opinion and observation. Please read other reviews as well before purchasing it. I might be expecting more and hence disappointed. If you ask my daughter she loves it just the way it is ..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

For any Pony fan

10/29/2007
By ,
St.PEtersburg,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter received this for her 3rd birthday and has not stopped playing with it. The pony has become her favirote toy. I love the way it interacts with her voice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

ADORABLE!

12/10/2010
By ,
Bridgeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 2.5 year old daughter who wants her own pony for Christmas because her big sister got a real pony in August. Obviously, she is not getting a REAL pony, but this FURREAL pony is definately going to fill her needs! It is super cute and has some very interactive moves. It is extemely sturdy and much larger than I expected. I purchased some "tack" from e-bay (saddle, halter, reins) that I personnalized with the name she wanted to give her pony. I cannot wait for her to see what SANTA brought and I doubt any other gifts will be of interest to her!! P.S. be certain to open box and put it together before presenting it to your child as the head is NOT attached. The body is fully together with the head on top of the back when you open the box. Could be a little scary and would definately take away from the magic if your child watches you ZIP the head on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Grand Horse

12/27/2007
By ,
danville,arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this horse. We love it , love it , love it. My daughter is 6 years old , and when she saw that she had this horse given to her at christmas she never looked twice at anything else she had gotten. She has absoulty spent hours with this horse. This horse is very very lifelike. Very realistic. When we sit beside ornear this horse she will move her head toward the sound, and also move head and swich her tail. When you hug and love on her she will also show this in swiching her tail and moing around. Very very lifelike. My daughter literally loves this toy, I dont see it wearing out anytime soon. We were not too thrilled with the high price , but the look on our daughters face was indeed priceless. This horse is very well made and sturdy. Im sure by next year they will have these walking though. This horse is defitanly i could see grandchildren even using. Buy this produce if your children love animals and horses this is the one must have . This horse has been so close to a real pony , but without the mess and getting to sit right beside us in the living room. We just didnt like the price. But, a very good pony!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Too much buck for the bang

02/06/2008
By ,
Birmingham, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My daughter spent every penny of her birthday money (and ALOT of mine) to buy this pony. We used Wal-Mart's Site to Store program to save on the $60 shipping charge. It took three weeks to receive the pony. The mechanical sounds are very loud and distracting during play. I had a difficult time with the zipper that connects the head to the body. The battery pack took is located on the "belly" area of the pony. It is not easy to remove and replace. My daughter was disappointed with the limited actions that the pony has. Her exact words were: "Is that all she does?" We have had the pony almost two weeks and she has stood in the living room (takes up too much space in her bedroom) for over a week untouched. I wouldn't recommend this toy. However, many of the smaller interactive toys are priced much better for their quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 14 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

BUTTERSCOTCH

02/19/2008
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK - My Little Girl is 5 - she drove me crazy about Butterscotch! I ended up buying the horse for her Birthday - I ordered site-to-store (since Butterscotch is no longer available in the store).
Butterscotch comes in 2 pieces - The head and the body - the only thing mechanical is the head (it would be nice if at least the tail were too) - the body is an empty shell with fur over it! Thats it! It neighs, makes sounds like it is munching when you put the carrot in it's mouth and makes sounds like it is walking. HMM - Worth $300? - NO! She loved Butterscotch when we put the horse together and sat on it for about 2 days watching TV. Now, Butterscotch is just chillin' in her room along with all her other toys. I already threw the box out - so I am stuck with $300 worth of cheap fur. Yeah!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 15 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

FUN

01/15/2009
By ,
NEW Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the next best thing to a real pony. This is so cute you find yourself talking to it. It moves it's head and tail and the eyes and the sounds are just too sweet. love,love love this pony..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony
01/24/2008
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter was crushed when she didn't get this pony for Christmas so we got it for her 4th January birthday. I don't usually spend so much on toys but this was really all she wanted so we splurged. So far he meets all of our expectations and then some. He sits in our living room which works out well because as we go about our day he responds to the things we do (the noise we make) which is entertaining even to me. (perks his ears and looks at us)In my opinion the riding mode doesn't quite look right without him actually walking or running but you have to leave something to the imagination. And this pony is so realistic that you really don't have to do that too much! He is quite large though so you have to really want this thing and commit to giving him his own space. Also the first few days the pony startled me every time I walked in the room but I have gotten used to it now. I do hope he lasts.. if he does it will be well worth the money. I appreciate the thoughtfulness of Hasbro clearly marking the box to tell parents to assemble before presenting to your child since his head comes disconnected from the body. I imagine how traumatic that could have been for ours if she had seen it pre-assembly. lol
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Fun product

11/22/2007
By ,
kaufman tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fun to play with but it would be better if it could walk and its way to expensive. The price is way to high for what it is able to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Not worth the money!

12/29/2007
By ,
Missouri
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like many others thought I would buy Butterscotch for my 4 year old daughter for Christmas. I read many reviews before deciding wheather it was a good choice or not. After reading I decided to just buy it and make her Christmas the best!! Boy was I wrong.. She opened it Christmas morning and by the next day it was already messed up. The tail stopped wagging and the neck was already malfunctioning. We have real animals so I don't know if she tried to hang on it too much or what, but I would think for $250 it would hold up a little more than that. She got really board of it after a while and was ready for it to go. We traded it in for a Barbie Jammin Jeep for the same price and SHE LOVES IT!! I would not reccomend Butterscotch to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 19 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

disappointed

01/31/2008
By ,
Midland, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this horse for my daughter for Christmas. She loved it! It was great. You could hear the gears but it wasn't distracting. Unfortunately, that horse broke after 2 weeks. It would no longer raise and lower it's head. The store we bought it from didn't have one after christmas so we returned that one and bought one online at walmart. Great job to walmart! They got it to us very quickly. BUT. This horse is so much louder than the first that it's distracting. My daughter played with the first "quieter" one all the time. This noisier horse has been played with a few times. But she doesn't like it as much. I'm so disappointed with this horse! No clue why it's so noisy but it's such a shame. I'm considering returning it...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 20 for FurReal Friends Butterscotch Pony

Awesome Toy for the right price.

02/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this Item second hand and I new right away my 2 1/2 year old daughter would love it. She brushes her hair and feeds her the carrot all day long and asks me to help her up so she can sit on her. For the price I paid for it (under 100$) I am quite happy with the pony, I would never of paid full price. To much to fork out for a small child, I know the 250$ would go better into her savings account towards something more practical.
The horse itself moves and sounds like the first day it was purchased after a few years of wear and tear, no problems with changing the batteries, or any mechanical failure. Since my daughter is only 35lbs she has a long way to go before she outgrows this little beauty.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next