Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(316 Reviews) 259
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
66
3 stars
31
2 stars
17
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation85%258 out of 304reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
187
4 stars
66
3 stars
31
2 stars
17
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Great quality from Sony

07/08/2009
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I broke down and spent $50 on this little boombox, I spent $30 on a Memorex. Then I went online and saw bad reviews, mainly about the fact that the CD player died in less than a year. So I decided I needed to spend a little more because none of the $30 boomboxes were getting good reviews. All I really wanted in my boombox was a decent sound and a CD player. I don't have a lot of casettes or a need for an extra radio, so those were kind of bonuses. I looked up the reviews and not one person mentioned that CDs skipped or the CD player stopped working so this seems to be much more durable. I do with they had ability to hook up extra things, like an iPod. But it plays CD's, even burned CDs, just fine, and the sound is fabulous and can be very loud for that little boombox! I'm happy and would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+116points
Review 2 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Sony Boom Box...Yeah!

11/18/2008
By ,
Auburn, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is all I expected it to be.
It is a wonderful boom box. I loved it so much I bought 2 of them.
I am able to get all the stations. 90% of the time it is clear. There is some times when it doesn't come in clear. It is really clear at night.
I like the idea you have am / Fm buttons and can set the channels. The speakers are great.
I love the fact I can play a CD and or casette tape. My mom recorded some tapes before she passed away and it is wonderful to be able to play and hear them clearly.
I highly reccommend it to anyone any age. I simply love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 3 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Not like my old boombox

10/08/2008
By ,
New Hampshire
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In a product category with very few choices (CD/cassette), I selected this Sony because the older model we had gave us 15 years of great service. We borrow a LOT of audio books (on cassette) from the library, which is 99% of what we use this machine for. This newer model is slow to rewind and does not allow for traditional drop and play on the cassette, meaning each side has to be fast forward to the beginning of the side to play. The CD player works great. Sound quality is ok and controls are easy enough for the kids to use.
I feel the item is slightly overpriced given the differences in function between this and my older Sony boombox.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 4 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Superb

09/22/2007
By ,
Candler, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my Sony. It is exactly what I was looking for and the price was great. I am really pleased with everything and I always recommend Wal-Mart to anyone that will listen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Review 5 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Great

11/08/2007
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has every feature you need. Digital tuner, cd player, and even a tape deck for those old audio tapes. I use it every day at work. It has crystal clear reception. It would make a great Christmas gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 6 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

a great buy thanks!!!!!

01/30/2010
By ,
Columbus, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i remember i bought the first ver of this radio back in 98 and it lasted a long time before i spilled coffe on it. so after looking at the walmart site i saw this sony and did not hold back in getting it. it has alright sound if your4 looking for more watts you'll have to buy a bigger boombox other wise it plays great and i'll tell anyone this is just cool for the bedroom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 7 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

No Line-in

05/06/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product based on my understanding of the product description. Under the details it said that it had connections for headphones and an audio line-in. Unfortunately, it didn't. I figure for $50 i should be able to hook my mp3 player up to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 8 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

small but big sound

04/01/2010
By ,
mobile, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i was very pleased with the sound that came from such a small box. i love it. price was very good also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

This is it!

03/03/2010
By ,
Squaw Valley, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a doctorate in music and I have searched for a good CD Boom Box for 5 years, but I was always disappointed with what I found. NOT NOW!! Sony, and Walmart have hit a home run with this boom box.
I was amazed with the quality of the sound from this mighty giant. It mimics Tru-Surround Sound at times depending on the CD played.
If you like a thumping bass, this one delivers when you press the Mega Bass button.
The digital tuner, another plus feature, is accurate and doesn't drift. When I opened the box, the auto stations programed in the tuner were dead on, and all I did was add to them. Setting the auto stations feature is so simple, I did it without reading the instruction manual. (NOT recommended!)
The tape cassette player/recorder, plays and records CD's and radio stations so well I couldn't tell the difference.
The styling and color of the case is contemporary and goes with all decor.
Obviously I am completely satisfied with this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Great Value

01/23/2010
By ,
Charlestown, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this Sony player to replace another player I'd for about 10 years. I chose Sony because of the quality of my Sony TV and because this player had good reviews online.
I love the smaller, sleeker profile of this model, as compared to the larger Sony models found at a couple of the electronics retailers. It was less expensive, and it's so much more attractive.
I'm completely satisfied. I like simplicity. The controls are easy to read and to operate. And I was pleased with the sound, which is just as good as what I've heard on larger models.
As an added bonus, this model was able to pick up 8 or 10 radio stations. Where I live, my other radios can barely pick up one. Perhaps, this is just due to newer technology. But it was a nice surprise.
A remote would have been a nice addition. But I was more than willing to trade the convenience of a remote control for the smaller, more attractive model with good quality sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

A very very good raido

02/06/2008
By ,
Lincoln IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this todayand the sound is awsome & the other radio I had it was not a sony the sound was not that good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Decent Boombox

03/25/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the Sony Boombox with digital tuner is a great product. It has a good size (not to big), it's not heavy and it looks nice from a design standpoint. My only problem with the boombox is that living here in Houston I have extreme trouble tuning into one FM radio station, 92.1FM. Other portable radios have issues tuning into that station as well. The problem may be on the radio station's end, I think it may be a smaller station in need of more power for it's broadcast antenna. It would be nice if Sony offered a more powerful aftermarket antenna for this boombox.
Nonetheless, it was a good purchase (on the internet) for $38.00 versus the stores $49 ninety-something price tag. I got mine sent Site-To-Store. It took 11 days instead of the 7-10 days that they promise!
*Although it's the internet, you will still have to pay 8.25% sales tax.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Excellent Quality

05/11/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
May 2010 - Sony CFD-S01CD. This unit is much better quality than similarly priced ones. It is worth the price (ordered online from Walmart for $38). It had most of the features we wanted (radio, cd, and cassette).
Nice surprise was the longer length of the antenna. This greatly improved our FM radio reception and allowed it to be used in different areas in our home than other units received in the past.
The only reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is the lack of an auxiliary input for plugging in my MP3 player. Had tried another brand (Jensen) which had the auxiliary input (along with radio, cd, cassette), but returned it very quickly. Seemed cheaply made - buttons felt like would break easily, etc. It was only $29, but quality of this Sony unit far outweighed it for $9 more. So decided could do without the auxiliary input.
After we got it, we liked this Sony so well, ordered another one for our office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

BOOM FOR THE BUCK

05/01/2010
By ,
Laguna Niguel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very satisfied with this Sony Boom Box.
The top loading CD is simple for my 89 year young father to open, load, and close. This newer model has no knobs or dials, but rather all push button. Again, much easier for my father.
Sound is superb for his Big Band CD collection. The 'you get what you pay for' is not truly reflective on this Radio, CD player, and Cassette player-recorder combination. Even the Beatles sound great. So if you are interested in more bang for your buck, then this unit is for you.
The (older model) Sony Boom Box purchased long ago is still ticking. This second unit was purchased to alleviate the necessity of moving the old player from the bedroom to the living/dining area (the age thing).
This unit is compact and light weight, with a hidden fold away handle present for safe carrying.
In closing, if the home were larger then a third Sony Boom Box would be purchased as well :-))
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Great sound

06/22/2009
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this to listen to tunes on the road. The sound is wonderful. Much better than I ever expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Just Right

11/08/2007
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is actually the 2nd one I bought. My husband took the first one to college with him. I didn't relize how much I would miss this little cd player. It's perfect to carry from room to room when your cleaning. It's a great value for the price. It does everything it says it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

By This While You Can

03/28/2010
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the first version of this Sony back in 1998. I still have it and use it almost every day. I ordered two of these about a month ago and today ordered another one. Why you ask? Well, first it's a great product at a great price. The low cost of shipping dosen't hurt either. The main reason is that I have a huge bunch of cassette recordings from long gone radio stations from the 60's on, and will need something to play them on in the future. Just like 8 tracks, the cassette player will soon be impossible to buy new in a few more years, if not sooner. You might want to stock up on blank cassette tapes also, they will soon be a thing of the past also. I think when these are gone they will be gone FOREVER.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD
01/05/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice digital AM/FM reception. The best AM radio for distant signals I've ever owned, including my last radio, the renoun CC Radio (now broken.) This SONY even sounds better. Not a BOOM-BOX . . . If you are looking for LOUD, this is not the right unit. If you are looking for CLEAN and functional, there couldn't possibly be anything close at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Sony Boombox

12/08/2009
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase on my part so far.
I had ordered another boom box from Walmart online and the cd player would not work.lost that money.Now I'm giving this one a try.The cd player and radio works great like I said so far.Time will tell
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Sony Boom Box With CD Player & Cassette Recorder, CFD-S01CD

Radio terrible

01/05/2010
By ,
Spotsylvania, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not find many clear radio stations, for me this purchase was a waste of money, I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 232 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next