Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Microsoft Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Microsoft Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

The Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012 is designed to provide better support tousers. Work in comfort and avoid aches and pains from improper wrist and arm alignment by choosing an ergonomic keyboard designed by Microsoft. It has a reversed slope, ergonomic arc and a curved key bed. You can also quickly access web pages, files and folders with the help of the handy hot keys featured in this Microsoft ergonomic keyboard. The intuitive Microsoft keyboard zoom slider is located in the middle of the keyboard for zooming in and zooming out at a touch of a button. Access programs such as Internet Explorer, Mail, or Library Documents folders with just one push of a button. Thanks to the Taskbar Favorites keys, you can see the location of your applications on the taskbar right on your keyboard. The hot keys find the programs automatically, without the need for further reprogramming. This natural keyboard also features a lockable F key and multimedia keys for convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
4.503 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(141 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%126 out of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 96 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
99
4 stars
27
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Ergonomic Keyboard is all I can use anymore

09/26/2014
By ,
Southwest USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this type keyboard for years at work and this model is extra nice with the comfort pad. The board can be adjusted in the front or back to exactly which fits your hands best. It was on sale which made a nice buy but, worth every cent of original price. I also used an earlier Microsoft Ergonomic keyboard these years and this product is the best one yet. I type constantly at home and no problems with my hands or wrists after a lifetime of executive administrative duties. I highly recommend this product for anyone. Only con for me is the color - black. I like the sleek look but, sometimes it makes it difficult in low lighting if I need to see a key. I nearly bought another brand until I saw this one. Best tip: upper key to mute or volume keys. I love the mute if a video pops up so loud I can quickly hit the mute key without fumbling around. Zoom key on this board as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Medical Transcriptionist

07/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this board for medical transcription work 40+ hours a wk. This is actually the second board of this model I have owned. I had the first one 5+ years and flat wore it out. The lettering was even worn off. :-) This model is extremely easy on the hands for people who type long hours. The minor changes in the board and in the software only add to its usefulness. I esp like being able to program the Favorites buttons for work and recreation.....I highly recommend this board to anyone looking for a board that will see a lot of use because they hold up well. I can wear out a regular board in 6 months but my original of this board lasted 5 years - a record. If they stop making this model, I will be buying 5-6 spares because this is the only board I intend to use as long as I do transcription work!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Great Ergonomic Keyboard!

09/12/2007
By ,
Hokes Bluff, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I type on this keyboard 8 hours a day, 40 hours a week, or more. I do medical transcription, so I must have an ergonomic keyboard (will save you from carpal tunnel). I love the features on this keyboard... the ability to zoom in and out, the programmable features, the volume increase and decrease at a touch of a button, etc.
I have had no trouble with sticking keys. A lot of the letters have rubbed off the keys because I use it so much, but I don't look at the keyboard anyway.
I would really recommend this product. If you have never tried an ergonomic keyboard, it will take a little getting use to it, but I'll NEVER go back to a regular one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

LOVE this keyboard- helps wrist pain!!

12/25/2009
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought a different model keyboard to help with carpal tunnel wrist pain- but was disappointed with it. Did a bit more research and found this product (but cheaper from another site).
I LOVE this keyboard. Have typed for hours at a time on it and almost no pain!! Worth every penny, even at this price!! The wrist pad is slightly cushioned, the zoom key and the print key work with windows 7 (unlike the previous keyboard). My only complaint- the space bar is firmer than I like.
It has taken quite a bit of time to get used to the split keyboard. (I used a free online typing test to practice speed and accuracy) However, my mother tried it today (she was a court-reporter typist for 25+years) and she absolutely hated it- but she is not much on change. For me, my wrist pain had gotten to the point that I could only type for minutes at a time. The adjustment to the feel and placement of the keys is well worth being almost pain free.
If you have wrist pain- this product is a necessity!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-0001

08/18/2014
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This keyboard has some nice features that my old keyboard didn't have, like a zoom button, which I use a lot. I have a hard time getting use to this keyboard as I'm so accustomed to the other style of keyboard that came with my computer. I also have a hard time hitting the 'B' button and keep hitting the 'G' button instead. It seems like I have to raise my index finger higher up to reach the 'B' key. I don't know if this is because I had cervical spine surgery in my neck and one of my nerves died and I have less use of my left hand. There is also no instructions on how to use or program the keyboard, which irritates me a lot. At least the keyboard works great on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, if you can get used to the style. It was also very easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Comfortable and slow.

09/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This keyboard is very comfortable to type on. The raised front supports your wrists. It feels like you're typing on a pillow. The drawback to this is that I can't type as fast. A bigger drawback is the spacebar. It's not very responsive; sometimes I don't push it hard enough and I don't get a space. I do like how easy it is to use shortcuts. The Ctrl and Alt keys are close enough to the number keys to type with one hand. It also has a good numeric keypad with backspace, parenthesis, and equals sign, perfect for Excel. The poor responsiveness of the spacebar is a dealbreaker, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Reduces fatigue, feels good

10/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Microsoft keyboard is comfortable to use and looks good too. I bought one for the office and one for home.
It has a padded expanse of about 3 inches in front of the space bar that's a perfect perch to support your weary wrists. The left-hand keys are slanted slightly, and the right-hand keys are slanted in the opposite direction. I find this arrangement reduces fatigue. If only it could give me a brief electrical shock each time I misspell a word, I'd be even more delighted.
One star deducted because I had to exchange the first one I bought (it inserted random characters), but the return was easy and everything is working fine now. Good price, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

My Favorite

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having this keyboard at work, I had to buy one for home use. Personal preference of course - I really like the layout and ergo style it offers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

OK Keyboard for the Price

07/27/2007
By ,
Orange County, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unfortunatley this keyboard is just OK for the price. Pros: programable keys are really nice and the ability to surf web pages is really handly. Cons: I've found that that some of the keys seem to be "sticky" (in particular the period and "m" keys)and can be frustrating. Given the price, I really expected more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Microsoft Ergonomic KB 4000 excellent value

06/27/2011
By ,
Brandon, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is better than expected performance. The addiitional buttons for emaila, Internet and CD control are wonderful and clearly indicated .
Would recommend for anyone thats on the PC long hours 7-8 hrs daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Great for Anyone with Carpal Tunnel or Hand Pain

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is actually a replacement keyboard for employee who has had hand surgery years ago. If you have early carpal tunnel syndrome or tendonitis in your hand(s) from alot of typing, please learn to use the ergonomic keyboard. It really makes a difference. It takes a little time to get used to it, but it is definitely worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Very Comfortable, with soft keys :-)

07/28/2014
By ,
Tightwad MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are a lot of bells and whistles on this key board. It doenst come with directions on how to set everything up. You have to google the model # and find them yourself. other than that I think its a great deal. I have used an ergonomic keyboard for YEARS, I got this one because my old one was starting NOT to work...keys were stinking or not contacting at all. It was a Microsoft Natural also, however that was bought in 2001. SO I'd say I got money worth from it! If this one lasts 1/2 as long I will be impressed! p.s- I have even got my co-worker using one!! (and shes an older lady!! and she LOVES it!!!)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Awesome Keyboard

01/20/2008
By ,
Boonville NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wrist no longer hurts when typing for a long period of time, there are bonus keys on this keyboard that I was thrilled to get, because I was simply looking for an ergonomic keyboard. The space bar is not as smooth as the other keys but is doing just fine and i thought the 6 was supposed to be typed with the right hand, not left, that has been an adjustment to make. Overall i love it and would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

By far my favorite Keyboard

08/18/2014
By ,
NW Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this design of keyboard for the better part of 10 years. In the week I was without it and using a standard keyboard. I was lost! Forgot how to type. There is a short learning curve but once you get use to the larger layout you will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Good, but big

02/17/2008
By ,
Lexington, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The keyboard has a high-quality look and feel, but if you use a computer desk with a sliding keyboard drawer, it may be a tight fit. The measurements are roughly 18" x 11" x 2", and that's with the legs down and base attachment removed. Otherwise no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Wrist saver

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The keyboard relieves wrist stress for me. I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

ms natural keyboard 4000

11/28/2007
By ,
49631
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lhe keyboard letters have started to vanish after less than two months.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

excellent helps my arthritis

08/10/2014
By ,
iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very comfortable easy to use and really helps me work with my arthritis
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Great product, but has problems

08/04/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the keyboard was great, but after a week or so the N key started having problems. Intermittently it would only work if you pressed it very hard. So I'd end up with a lot of typed words where the letter N was missing. I read about this problem on some other reviews, but it seemed only some people experienced it, so I was hoping I wouldn't get one with the problem. I returned this one and have ordered another. Hopefully the second one will be ok because it is a really great keyboard otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000 B2M-00012

Great comfort

06/18/2014
By ,
Independence,MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm very disappointed with this keyboard. With windows 7 it was great. with windows 8.1 none of the featured keys work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next