Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Step2 Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

The Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench is designed to unlock your child's inner architect. This incredibly fun play tool bench is crafted to encourage creativity with realistic-looking "wood" projects that require actual assembly. A battery-operated drill and 41 "wood" pieces are included with the Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench. It also comes with drill bits, screws, nuts, saw and hammer. The unique, realistic-looking "wood" is made from Durafoam, which allows children to safely build imaginative "wooden" creations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(992 Reviews) 937
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
558
4 stars
354
3 stars
55
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation95%937 out of 985reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
558
4 stars
354
3 stars
55
2 stars
10
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

SO cute!!!!!

01/17/2008
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave this to my son for his 5th birthday. He loves it! It was easy to put together. I love the fact that it comes with tons of the foam wood pieces. Most of the other tool benches I looked at required you to buy the project pieces separately or only came with one or two projects. This one has the pieces to make 12 projects. The projects you can build are a space ship, backhoe, airplane, cube, shelves, tool box, race car, super bike, bird house, boat, castle tower, and a space rover. Most of the projects require help from Mom and Dad to put together. That's the only draw back but what a fun way to interact with your children. This tool bench is a very sturdy plastic. We almost bought the Black and Decker tool bench. After seeing both in person, I'm glad we went with this one. It seems to be higher quality. My sons favorite part is the drill with interchangable bits. I'm really happy with this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My Son loves it

02/07/2010
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a Christmas present for my 2 year old son. He loves it! The drill will not hurt him or the toy. The down side is the drill hardly moves the screws.
Still this is a great value and my son love this toy and plays with it daily.
I would recommend this toy to others.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Children's Toy!

04/23/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking around for a tool bench for my 2 year old son, this one is BY FAR the best I've found. I had purchased the Bob the Builder one from Target and the screws just dropped into the bench. There was a drill, but you couldn't drill anything into the bench. This tool bench is the only one that I have found that he can actually drill things into it. It comes with tons of projects to do as well. I had it shipped site to store and when we got it home, one of the pieces was broken. I called Step2 and they were so helpful. I had a replacement piece delivered to my door in less than a week. Great product!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+129points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Best Out There!

05/16/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST workbench product out there for young children. I looked for several weeks at online reviews. Like all Step 2 products, very sturdy, assembled easy, and my son loves it! It comes with foam wood pieces and they have already been through the ringer with my almost 3 year old! They are very durable! The size of the screws is compatible to the Home Depot tools and screws for kids. This workbench doesn't take up much space and even has a little storage drawer. I am now able to contain our tool toys and banging! It also has screw holes on the top of the bench and sides, something the other toolbenches out there don't have! Don't waste your time or money on anything else... I'm picky and don't like getting stuck with poor products. Buy it, you'll be glad you did!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Damaged Merchandise

12/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item was shipped to my address. The box was damaged, half open and clearly was a previous return that was just shipped out again. Upon opening the box it was clear to see that the plastic bag with the parts had been cut open and a poor attempt was made to tape it back together. i returned the item to the nearest store for a refund and went and bought the item from Target. Yeah Target.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My little handyman

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son just turned 2 and I figured this would be a perfect gift for his birthday. I was right! The item shipped faster than expected so for the time being we just had the box lying around considering he didn't have a clue what it was. Well my husband was putting hardware on our cabinets and my son wanted to help with the drill. Good thing we had his gift available. We opened it up and gave him the drill that came with the set and he started to "help" daddy. He loved it. A few days later we set up the workshop and he played with it for awhile putting the screws in and taking them out. I really like the foam wood that came with the set. Everything has been perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Looks cute but box trashed by Wal-Mart :(

12/09/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks like it will be a cute toy for my nephew. Highly disappointed in the horrific condition of the box when I went to go pick it up at the store. Box crushed, ripped, opened, with a horrible and messy job attempting to retape. Will be embarrassing to gift. Good news is that all small pieces come packaged together in two bags so none were lost and hopefully all bigger pieces are there!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Best gift for a 4 year old little carpenter!

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy assembly, exceeds our expectations. Very cool that with a little parent help the child can construct 12 easy to assemble real items.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

step 2 tool bench

11/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our son's 3rd b-day he loves it. Doesn't take up to much room. Its really cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Awesome Little Shop!

08/20/2007
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own and In-Home Daycare and this is perfect for my boys! Assembly was a snap - took less than 10 minutes, parts are realistic and virtual. I see years of play and "hard work" ahead with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Christmas surprise

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my shipment in a timely manner. I have looked the bench over but I have not put it together as it is a Christmas gift for my grandsons.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

awesome gift

11/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this work bench for my grandson's 5th birthday. He immediately had to have dad put it together. great way for father and son to do together. I would recommend this work bench as a great way to spend quality time as a family
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My son did not really like it or play with it.

04/10/2009
By ,
Everett, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I feel it is a little expensive. You get some foam pieces to "build" and a few tools. Lots of parts easy to get lost. Not a whole lot of fun. It really has only a few holes to put "screws" in, the foam pieces involve no actual tools or screws or nails, so not fun. It would've been funner if they incorporated the nails/screws to actually build them, instead they are puzzle pieces (and dollar store cheap). The set is lightweight, very small and cheap. It has no holes to "drill" the screws in, I guess you make your own. The vice is okay, and the only real thing on the bench. Honestly, you could get away with buying a tool box full of tools, this bench is a useless toy. What a waste of $, I spent like over 80$ to have it shipped, tax and all that for xmas for my son (3) to not play with it. It went to Goodwill. I wish I had gotten a play kitchen or something instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Total Disappointment

09/30/2009
By ,
Duncan, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying, we have 4 other Step 2 Products that we absolutely LOVE. This Step 2 workbench is a disappointment. The only cool activity is the foam wood pieces and Step 2 sells these seperately, which we may purchase with our new workbench by a different company. The work bench itself has no activities other than screwing in screws by hand (battery operated drill is not powerful enough to work in other than air). I have seen other workbenches that have 4-5 actitivities and more motorized parts. We returned the product to WalMart realizing our sons (ages 2.5 and 4) would be bored in minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MN
Wood Pieces
Posted 12/08/2013
Where can you buy the foam wood pieces seperately!?!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Workshop

02/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only workshop i've found where you can actually build stuff. You can actually build atleast 12 things. My 5 year old got this for Christmas and he loves it. It comes with plenty of pretend wood and the blueprints are easy for kids to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My grandson loves this workshop

09/08/2007
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son called to say my grandson loves this workshop. He takes his friends up to his room just to show them his new "tools" like daddy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great work bench for 2 year old

04/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great work bench for 2 yr old boy and 9 yr old girl.
He loves to screw the screws into the top and just play with all of the parts.
The wood projects are so much fun to build, he doesn't grasp the concept fully but loves to destroy whatever sissy and I build.
I think it is a little expensive, but is worth it. It is actually the right height for him, it might be a little too low once he is older.
I am looking forward for plenty of years of play especially once he understands it better.
Overall we are extremely happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Tool Bench!

12/29/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked around for tool benches for my 3 year old daughter for a few months. There were a lot of options out there - but most of them only had the basic tools. For this age group, there were only one or two that the child could "build" a bird house or other simple item. This tool bench is awesome! It's well designed, solid and not overly bulky. It includes a bunch of "wood" pieces that allow her to build a variety of items. My daughter hasn't stopped playing with it since Christmas - her favorite part is building things. It's great to see how proud she is every time she makes something. Great for motor skills (putting the pieces together) - but also good for learning to recognize and match shapes. Since many of the shapes are similar she really has to pay attention to find the one that matches exactly. There are some simple projects, but also complicated ones that for now will require help from mom or dad. I think the challenging projects will add to keeping her interested and us getting a few years of playing out of it. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench
11/19/2007
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys (ages 2 and 5) love this workbench. They especially like the "working" drill. I like how they can actually build projects. I'm very glad we chose the Step 2 tool bench instead of the other similar ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My little handyman!!!

04/25/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves this tool set, everyday he is pretending to bulid something, when his grandfather went to drill some shelfs onto the wall here comes my son running with the drill to help. this is an excellent product and very safe with the parts, nothing sharp, and the take wood can take a 7 month old who is teething and pulling at it and it wont even break or tear!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 313 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next