Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Step2 Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Step2 Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

The Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench is designed to unlock your child's inner architect. This incredibly fun play tool bench is crafted to encourage creativity with realistic-looking "wood" projects that require actual assembly. A battery-operated drill and 41 "wood" pieces are included with the Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench. It also comes with drill bits, screws, nuts, saw and hammer. The unique, realistic-looking "wood" is made from Durafoam, which allows children to safely build imaginative "wooden" creations.
Average Customer Rating:
4.456 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(858 Reviews) 803
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
490
4 stars
299
3 stars
49
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation95%812 out of 852reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 68 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
490
4 stars
299
3 stars
49
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

SO cute!!!!!

01/17/2008
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave this to my son for his 5th birthday. He loves it! It was easy to put together. I love the fact that it comes with tons of the foam wood pieces. Most of the other tool benches I looked at required you to buy the project pieces separately or only came with one or two projects. This one has the pieces to make 12 projects. The projects you can build are a space ship, backhoe, airplane, cube, shelves, tool box, race car, super bike, bird house, boat, castle tower, and a space rover. Most of the projects require help from Mom and Dad to put together. That's the only draw back but what a fun way to interact with your children. This tool bench is a very sturdy plastic. We almost bought the Black and Decker tool bench. After seeing both in person, I'm glad we went with this one. It seems to be higher quality. My sons favorite part is the drill with interchangable bits. I'm really happy with this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My Son loves it

02/07/2010
By ,
Portland, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a Christmas present for my 2 year old son. He loves it! The drill will not hurt him or the toy. The down side is the drill hardly moves the screws.
Still this is a great value and my son love this toy and plays with it daily.
I would recommend this toy to others.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Children's Toy!

04/23/2008
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking around for a tool bench for my 2 year old son, this one is BY FAR the best I've found. I had purchased the Bob the Builder one from Target and the screws just dropped into the bench. There was a drill, but you couldn't drill anything into the bench. This tool bench is the only one that I have found that he can actually drill things into it. It comes with tons of projects to do as well. I had it shipped site to store and when we got it home, one of the pieces was broken. I called Step2 and they were so helpful. I had a replacement piece delivered to my door in less than a week. Great product!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+116points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Best Out There!

05/16/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the BEST workbench product out there for young children. I looked for several weeks at online reviews. Like all Step 2 products, very sturdy, assembled easy, and my son loves it! It comes with foam wood pieces and they have already been through the ringer with my almost 3 year old! They are very durable! The size of the screws is compatible to the Home Depot tools and screws for kids. This workbench doesn't take up much space and even has a little storage drawer. I am now able to contain our tool toys and banging! It also has screw holes on the top of the bench and sides, something the other toolbenches out there don't have! Don't waste your time or money on anything else... I'm picky and don't like getting stuck with poor products. Buy it, you'll be glad you did!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

step 2 tool bench

11/06/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our son's 3rd b-day he loves it. Doesn't take up to much room. Its really cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Awesome Little Shop!

08/20/2007
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own and In-Home Daycare and this is perfect for my boys! Assembly was a snap - took less than 10 minutes, parts are realistic and virtual. I see years of play and "hard work" ahead with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My son did not really like it or play with it.

04/10/2009
By ,
Everett, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I feel it is a little expensive. You get some foam pieces to "build" and a few tools. Lots of parts easy to get lost. Not a whole lot of fun. It really has only a few holes to put "screws" in, the foam pieces involve no actual tools or screws or nails, so not fun. It would've been funner if they incorporated the nails/screws to actually build them, instead they are puzzle pieces (and dollar store cheap). The set is lightweight, very small and cheap. It has no holes to "drill" the screws in, I guess you make your own. The vice is okay, and the only real thing on the bench. Honestly, you could get away with buying a tool box full of tools, this bench is a useless toy. What a waste of $, I spent like over 80$ to have it shipped, tax and all that for xmas for my son (3) to not play with it. It went to Goodwill. I wish I had gotten a play kitchen or something instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My grandson likes it.

09/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed there were no instructions with it and evidently there should have been 2 screws included, which were not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

lots of things to do

09/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if your child like to build and tinker, this is perfect. It is pretty easy to make the listed items from the foam shapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Total Disappointment

09/30/2009
By ,
Duncan, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying, we have 4 other Step 2 Products that we absolutely LOVE. This Step 2 workbench is a disappointment. The only cool activity is the foam wood pieces and Step 2 sells these seperately, which we may purchase with our new workbench by a different company. The work bench itself has no activities other than screwing in screws by hand (battery operated drill is not powerful enough to work in other than air). I have seen other workbenches that have 4-5 actitivities and more motorized parts. We returned the product to WalMart realizing our sons (ages 2.5 and 4) would be bored in minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MN
Wood Pieces
Posted 12/08/2013
Where can you buy the foam wood pieces seperately!?!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Workshop

02/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only workshop i've found where you can actually build stuff. You can actually build atleast 12 things. My 5 year old got this for Christmas and he loves it. It comes with plenty of pretend wood and the blueprints are easy for kids to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My grandson loves this workshop

09/08/2007
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son called to say my grandson loves this workshop. He takes his friends up to his room just to show them his new "tools" like daddy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Good for a 2 year old

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son got this for his birthday and he loves it is a good learning tool for him and his 4 year old sister. A good gift for kids and a good learning tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great Tool Bench!

12/29/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked around for tool benches for my 3 year old daughter for a few months. There were a lot of options out there - but most of them only had the basic tools. For this age group, there were only one or two that the child could "build" a bird house or other simple item. This tool bench is awesome! It's well designed, solid and not overly bulky. It includes a bunch of "wood" pieces that allow her to build a variety of items. My daughter hasn't stopped playing with it since Christmas - her favorite part is building things. It's great to see how proud she is every time she makes something. Great for motor skills (putting the pieces together) - but also good for learning to recognize and match shapes. Since many of the shapes are similar she really has to pay attention to find the one that matches exactly. There are some simple projects, but also complicated ones that for now will require help from mom or dad. I think the challenging projects will add to keeping her interested and us getting a few years of playing out of it. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Great work bench for 2 year old

04/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great work bench for 2 yr old boy and 9 yr old girl.
He loves to screw the screws into the top and just play with all of the parts.
The wood projects are so much fun to build, he doesn't grasp the concept fully but loves to destroy whatever sissy and I build.
I think it is a little expensive, but is worth it. It is actually the right height for him, it might be a little too low once he is older.
I am looking forward for plenty of years of play especially once he understands it better.
Overall we are extremely happy with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Awesome gift for little boys

07/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my one year olds first birthday. Any time we are working on projects he is always trying to steal our real tools and "help us" so even though he won't know how or be able to use several items right now, he will grow into it. In the meantime he has some tools to play with. He loves it and so does his five year old brother.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

My little handyman!!!

04/25/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my son loves this tool set, everyday he is pretending to bulid something, when his grandfather went to drill some shelfs onto the wall here comes my son running with the drill to help. this is an excellent product and very safe with the parts, nothing sharp, and the take wood can take a 7 month old who is teething and pulling at it and it wont even break or tear!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

Disappointed

12/12/2010
By ,
Omaha, NE
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very cute toy, however, do not think it is worth the price. It states the drill is life-like- makes drill noises, but is very week & will not put the plastic screw into the foam holes. I would encourage you to keep shopping.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench

RNmomthree

01/10/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Husband & I looked and looked for the perfect little tool bench for our little boy! It was really the one thing he has wanted for a while! We were going to get another one on walmart.com but in teh end we decided on this one! It has so many fun projects for him, and was definately the better value for the price! I have bought step2 products before and always been pleased with them! When he woke up Christmas morning "Santa" had this assembled and waiting for him! His eyes got so big! He loves it! He plays with it all the time! He has lots of tools (that is the one thing he really loves to play with), and he uses them as well as the ones that came with this to build various things! His favorite thing is that it has "blueprints" on the top, so it has lots of little projects to build with the little peices of foam "wood" that come with it! He is 3 so I was a little worried that this would be too small for him or that he would not be that interested in it. SO glad I took the chance and got it because he loves it! This was the perfect purchase for our Little tool guy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Step2 Real Projects Workshop and Tool Bench
11/19/2007
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys (ages 2 and 5) love this workbench. They especially like the "working" drill. I like how they can actually build projects. I'm very glad we chose the Step 2 tool bench instead of the other similar ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 307 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next