Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aleratec Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Aleratec Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Now you can preserve your photos, music, movies, games, audio and data with the help of this Aleratec CD DVD Disc Repair Plus. It is constructed of sturdy and durable materials and features a patented motorized system and easy-to-use programming buttons. This disc-repair machine will fix and clean even major scratches in an easy, three-step process. It works by using 30 cycles for deep scratches and 50 smaller cycles for minor scratches. It is designed to repair up to 99 percent of damage and is easy to use. To recover a disc, simply insert and gently place three drops of the repair wheel solution and press the button. This kit works with CDs, DVDs and R/W CDs and DVDs. This Aleratec disc-repair machine includes an AC adapter, two extra buffering wheels and an anti-static cleaning cloth for a hassle-free job. Ideal for movie, music and game buffs, this kit features a compact design, making it a breeze to store and transport.
Average Customer Rating:
3.599 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation68%117 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
43
3 stars
18
2 stars
14
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Didn't do the Job

01/25/2009
By ,
Joplin,MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product said that it would fix 90% of CD's...I tried one DVD and one CD..and after 40-50 cycles each they still skip..unit will probably fix minor cosmetic scuffs but doesn't take enough material off to fix a scratch..Should just be called a disk polisher not a disk scratch repairer...disappointing!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Put more marks on my discs

12/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My toddler is a little rough on her movies. Minor marks will sometimes cause skips so I decided to give this a whirl. For the most part, the marks that caused skips were "rubbed" away but the machine left huge swirl marks on the disc which caused some skipping of its own. Then while trying to buff those new marks out, the plastic cogs inside the machine stripped themselves to the point the machine no longer turned. Had the design on the inside had less screw-type turning parts, they may not have worn out within thirty minutes of being out of the box. Poor design, nice try.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Not What It's Cracked Up to Be

07/16/2010
By ,
Fort Myers
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus for my personal CD collection. I had closed my video game store and sold the professional-grade JFJ Disc Repair machine the store owned and was hoping that this would be a cheap substitute that would allow me to repair scratches on my personal CD collection. I was optimistic it would do the job, since the Aleratec operates on the same basic principle as the JFJ and other professional machines, which are similar to circular sanders, but after several unsuccessful attempts to repair CDs and video games, the Aleratec has shown itself to be absolutely worthless. The main problem is the unit does not spin fast enough to "sand" the discs with a very low number of revolutions per minute. Additionally, the cleaning fluid supplied is too thin to lubricate the CD or DVD sufficiently and dissipate any heat (not that there is much heat since the unit spins much too slow).
I would only recommend this product to someone who just wants their CDs or DVDs to look marginally more appealing and doesn't care about fixing scratches.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus
02/19/2008
By ,
Los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great if you have kids that constantly get into the dvd's this is perfect. I have to say for the price I wondered if it would work ok. To my suprise it worked better than I thought. I've been recommending this to so many of my friends. I compared pricing with other stores and walmart had the best low price. This repair unit is great it took out scratches off a disc I purchased a while ago. I tried everything to take the scratches off it was really bad. This unit took it off in two cleanings and left it like new. I am very happy since i spend so much on dvd's for my kids. This is a must if you have kids!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

This is perfect

12/09/2007
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure how this would work, but I am so impressed. We had a Cat in the Hat DVD that we could not watch due to the scrathes. It did take 2 cleanings, but now, it plays great. I would definitely recommend purchasing this product. Especially if you have small children.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

A Great Product

03/30/2010
By ,
York County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus is everything it promised to be. Did a great job of repairing minor to medium scratches, helped even with serious scratches.
Only complaint is - Where can we buy refill kit?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

ok

11/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Didn't work quite as well as led to believe
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does the job

07/15/2007
By ,
Exton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good cd/dvd repair kit.
does a better good job.
good buy for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

very good product

02/13/2010
By ,
wynona,ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kids had hold of the disks i am working on. so you can imagine how bad there scratched up.90 percent of the disks i have, cleaned up very nicely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Bad product

08/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work well while trying to do 1 cd the gears broke and unit froze took it back to store for refund will never buy this again
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Love product and works nicely.

10/14/2014
By ,
albany,ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works beautifully and cleans disc like new.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

DVD/CD Disc Repair

03/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great. I got this to fix not only my cd's, but my kids x-box cd's. It really makes a big difference for the cd's. Best of all, it arrived at the store sooner than expected. Very good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does what it says

07/13/2007
By ,
Southern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions for use are a little unclear. And the initial price is a little steep, but the Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus does what it is designed to do. I had a few CDs and DVDs, some with severe scratches and would not play. The Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus did the job and removed the scratches and the discs played flawlessly. It can also be used for everyday disc cleaning as well as the disc repair function.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Did the job it was advertised to do.

10/29/2011
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to get this cd repair kit and as quickly as I did. I bought several used video games and dvds and they were scratched enough that they would not play. This repair kit really worked. It took one disc a couple times on repair mode but it did end up working. It cleans cd and dvds and video games rather quickly. It even repaired a few of my daughters gamecube games. I would highly recommend this to anyone needing to repair a few discs. Only thing is buy the extra solution it does use it quickly but still worth the money to not have to purchase cd and ect...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does the job

05/02/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to clean the discs manually with repair kits that supplied cloth and solutions. This manual method only fixed the problems less than half the time. This machine fixes the problems about 90% of the time. The process does not remove all the scratches and sometimes the buffing leaves hairline circular scratches. Even so, in most cases it is an improvement to the way the disc look before. It did repair a couple of Xbox 360 and WII games that were not working. It also repaired 3 music cds that were skipping. One of the cd’s still had one track that still skipped but all the other tracks no longer skipped.
The pros are it fixes most problems and the price is less than other machine that I looked at.
The cons are it does not remove all the scratches and the replacement parts will cost almost as much as the machine itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Useless

07/17/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this on 2 audio CD's which have what I consider to be minor physical damage but bad enough to cause some skipping. After repeating the "repair" process ; 8 times on one CD; I could see a slight improvement in the damage but no performance improvement. The dmage this thing will "repair" probably isn't bad enough to cause a problem to start with and cleaning a CD is not a problem without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Saved my discs!

06/21/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought a lot of CDs at a yard sale -- some were pristine, but some were scratched. This product is great -- it cleans very nicely (removing some minor fine scratches at the same time) and the repair discs do a pretty good job (9 out of 10 unplayable discs can be played, though not all without any skips).
A couple of negative points:
First: the cleaning, repair, and buffing discs need to be fitted onto individual plastic bases before they can be put into the machine and used. There aren't enough plastic bases included so that each of these 6 discs starts out with its own base. It isn't difficult to put the discs on the bases before using them, but it's a pain -- they could have included enough bases so that switching them out wasn't necessary. (I also bought the refill kit, so now I will have enough bases for each pad to stay with its own base.) When they are in the machine, the cleaning or repair discs are recessed, so big or clumsy fingers might have a little trouble seating or removing them.
Second, the cleaning solution gets used up relatively quickly. When I'm completely out, I'll probably substitute Windex, which is what I used to use to clean discs.
Third, Aleratec could have labeled the buttons more clearly, using a contrasting color so 'clean' and 'repair' could be easily read.
Fourth, the unit is noisy when it runs, which isn't generally a problem unless you're using it when others nearby are trying to sleep.
All in all, I am glad I spent the money for the higher-rated disc cleaner/repairer. I'll be using this for a long time to protect my CD and DVD investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus
03/16/2012
By ,
Riverside, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine to resurface some of my scratched DVDs, video games and CDs. I resurfaced several disks, beginning with those which ceased to operate on any system/player/disk reader whatsoever. After cleaning/buffing/resurfacing/polishing, not one of the disks played. I followed the instructions 100% on each step.
I then tried this on disks which merely skipped but otherwise played. It killed any activity the disk formerly had and turned it into a useless hunk of plastic. Not one, single disk survived this machine's butchery.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Do not waste your money.

12/20/2012
By ,
El Reno, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a complete waste of money. This ruined the disc I wanted to clean. I have repeatedly "cleaned" and "repaired" the disc and it look like someone got a wire brush and tried to clean it that way. There are FAR to many oval shaped scratches to count.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY!!! WORKED GREAT FOR ME

06/10/2011
By ,
Caledonia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This disc repair unit has worked great for me so far. It took a few cycles but I managed to fix a badly damaged audio CD. Haven't used the device on any DVD yet but it would appear to work just as well on them too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next