Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aleratec Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Aleratec Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Retain your favorite, rare, CD or DVD collection in your damaged discs with the Aleratec DVD CD Disc Repair Plus. It can repair and clean even major scratches appearing on your disks in an easy three-step process. The Aleratec Disc Repair uses about 30 super repair cycles for deep scratches while using 50 regular repair cycles for minor scratches. The Aleratec Disk Repair can repair up to 99 percent of disk damage. To recover your disk, insert damaged disk, put three drops of the repair wheel solution and press repair button in the DVD Scratch Repair Kit. This repairing kit works with CDs, DVDs and R/W CDs & DVDs. Alertec comes with an AC adapter, two extra buffering wheels and an anti-static cleaning cloth for a hassle free cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
3.602 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
43
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation68%113 out of 166reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
43
3 stars
17
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Didn't do the Job

01/25/2009
By ,
Joplin,MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product said that it would fix 90% of CD's...I tried one DVD and one CD..and after 40-50 cycles each they still skip..unit will probably fix minor cosmetic scuffs but doesn't take enough material off to fix a scratch..Should just be called a disk polisher not a disk scratch repairer...disappointing!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

DVD/CD Disc Repair

03/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works great. I got this to fix not only my cd's, but my kids x-box cd's. It really makes a big difference for the cd's. Best of all, it arrived at the store sooner than expected. Very good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Not What It's Cracked Up to Be

07/16/2010
By ,
Fort Myers
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus for my personal CD collection. I had closed my video game store and sold the professional-grade JFJ Disc Repair machine the store owned and was hoping that this would be a cheap substitute that would allow me to repair scratches on my personal CD collection. I was optimistic it would do the job, since the Aleratec operates on the same basic principle as the JFJ and other professional machines, which are similar to circular sanders, but after several unsuccessful attempts to repair CDs and video games, the Aleratec has shown itself to be absolutely worthless. The main problem is the unit does not spin fast enough to "sand" the discs with a very low number of revolutions per minute. Additionally, the cleaning fluid supplied is too thin to lubricate the CD or DVD sufficiently and dissipate any heat (not that there is much heat since the unit spins much too slow).
I would only recommend this product to someone who just wants their CDs or DVDs to look marginally more appealing and doesn't care about fixing scratches.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus
02/19/2008
By ,
Los angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great if you have kids that constantly get into the dvd's this is perfect. I have to say for the price I wondered if it would work ok. To my suprise it worked better than I thought. I've been recommending this to so many of my friends. I compared pricing with other stores and walmart had the best low price. This repair unit is great it took out scratches off a disc I purchased a while ago. I tried everything to take the scratches off it was really bad. This unit took it off in two cleanings and left it like new. I am very happy since i spend so much on dvd's for my kids. This is a must if you have kids!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

This is perfect

12/09/2007
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was not sure how this would work, but I am so impressed. We had a Cat in the Hat DVD that we could not watch due to the scrathes. It did take 2 cleanings, but now, it plays great. I would definitely recommend purchasing this product. Especially if you have small children.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

A Great Product

03/30/2010
By ,
York County, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aleratec DVD/CD Disk Repair Plus is everything it promised to be. Did a great job of repairing minor to medium scratches, helped even with serious scratches.
Only complaint is - Where can we buy refill kit?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does the job

07/15/2007
By ,
Exton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good cd/dvd repair kit.
does a better good job.
good buy for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

very good product

02/13/2010
By ,
wynona,ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kids had hold of the disks i am working on. so you can imagine how bad there scratched up.90 percent of the disks i have, cleaned up very nicely
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does what it says

07/13/2007
By ,
Southern Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions for use are a little unclear. And the initial price is a little steep, but the Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus does what it is designed to do. I had a few CDs and DVDs, some with severe scratches and would not play. The Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus did the job and removed the scratches and the discs played flawlessly. It can also be used for everyday disc cleaning as well as the disc repair function.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Did the job it was advertised to do.

10/29/2011
By ,
Benton, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was excited to get this cd repair kit and as quickly as I did. I bought several used video games and dvds and they were scratched enough that they would not play. This repair kit really worked. It took one disc a couple times on repair mode but it did end up working. It cleans cd and dvds and video games rather quickly. It even repaired a few of my daughters gamecube games. I would highly recommend this to anyone needing to repair a few discs. Only thing is buy the extra solution it does use it quickly but still worth the money to not have to purchase cd and ect...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Useless

07/17/2012
By ,
Van Buren, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used this on 2 audio CD's which have what I consider to be minor physical damage but bad enough to cause some skipping. After repeating the "repair" process ; 8 times on one CD; I could see a slight improvement in the damage but no performance improvement. The dmage this thing will "repair" probably isn't bad enough to cause a problem to start with and cleaning a CD is not a problem without it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Does the job

05/02/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to clean the discs manually with repair kits that supplied cloth and solutions. This manual method only fixed the problems less than half the time. This machine fixes the problems about 90% of the time. The process does not remove all the scratches and sometimes the buffing leaves hairline circular scratches. Even so, in most cases it is an improvement to the way the disc look before. It did repair a couple of Xbox 360 and WII games that were not working. It also repaired 3 music cds that were skipping. One of the cd’s still had one track that still skipped but all the other tracks no longer skipped.
The pros are it fixes most problems and the price is less than other machine that I looked at.
The cons are it does not remove all the scratches and the replacement parts will cost almost as much as the machine itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Saved my discs!

06/21/2010
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought a lot of CDs at a yard sale -- some were pristine, but some were scratched. This product is great -- it cleans very nicely (removing some minor fine scratches at the same time) and the repair discs do a pretty good job (9 out of 10 unplayable discs can be played, though not all without any skips).
A couple of negative points:
First: the cleaning, repair, and buffing discs need to be fitted onto individual plastic bases before they can be put into the machine and used. There aren't enough plastic bases included so that each of these 6 discs starts out with its own base. It isn't difficult to put the discs on the bases before using them, but it's a pain -- they could have included enough bases so that switching them out wasn't necessary. (I also bought the refill kit, so now I will have enough bases for each pad to stay with its own base.) When they are in the machine, the cleaning or repair discs are recessed, so big or clumsy fingers might have a little trouble seating or removing them.
Second, the cleaning solution gets used up relatively quickly. When I'm completely out, I'll probably substitute Windex, which is what I used to use to clean discs.
Third, Aleratec could have labeled the buttons more clearly, using a contrasting color so 'clean' and 'repair' could be easily read.
Fourth, the unit is noisy when it runs, which isn't generally a problem unless you're using it when others nearby are trying to sleep.
All in all, I am glad I spent the money for the higher-rated disc cleaner/repairer. I'll be using this for a long time to protect my CD and DVD investment!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus
03/16/2012
By ,
Riverside, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this machine to resurface some of my scratched DVDs, video games and CDs. I resurfaced several disks, beginning with those which ceased to operate on any system/player/disk reader whatsoever. After cleaning/buffing/resurfacing/polishing, not one of the disks played. I followed the instructions 100% on each step.
I then tried this on disks which merely skipped but otherwise played. It killed any activity the disk formerly had and turned it into a useless hunk of plastic. Not one, single disk survived this machine's butchery.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE MONEY!!! WORKED GREAT FOR ME

06/10/2011
By ,
Caledonia, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This disc repair unit has worked great for me so far. It took a few cycles but I managed to fix a badly damaged audio CD. Haven't used the device on any DVD yet but it would appear to work just as well on them too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Good Value

05/26/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus is generally good for what it's advertised to do.
If you have minor scratches affecting playback of your discs or if they're just dirty then this is an excellent product for you.
If the scratches are too deep, it may not be able to repair them even after several cycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

I wasn't sure what to expect

03/25/2012
By ,
Cedar City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a music junkie and still listen to my classics that I purchased in the 80's and 90's. Over time, they've become scratched, but I couldn't bear to part with them. In this economy, simply replacing items is not always an option. Not to mention, some items are out of print. I washed 3 CD's and put them in the player today and I'm simply stoked! I haven't come across any CD's that need the repair feature, but I'm sure I will. The instructions were easy to understand and the washing process was speedy. I highly recommend this product to people that can't bear to part with scratched classic CD's.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Amazing buy

01/02/2010
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 boys and our video games and movies keep getting ruined. I decided to research a product that could fix them so we didn't have to keep replacing them. I purchased the Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus for Christmas to see if I could salvage some Playstation games, Wii games and some movies. I was amazed at how great it worked. So far everything that I have put in it to fix has worked (including 3 Playstation games that no longer worked, 2 Wii games that didn't work, and 1 movie). I would recommend this to anyone, especially if you have small children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Good System

03/12/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Initial value was great. Ease of use is great. Replacement pads cost a bit too much if you ask me and only last about 20 disks (Repair + Buffing pads). Cleaning pads last quite a while though (like 220 uses). I found the repacements for an avg. of $10/ pair or about $25 for all 3. I still found it worth it compared to other alternatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aleratec DVD/CD Disc Repair Plus

Gets the Job Done

12/29/2012
By ,
Lockport, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for my son who, until recently, has kept all his movies and games in a scattered heap on his floor, leading to lots of damage. He was a bit discouraged to find the the machine did not repair his badly damaged discs immediately, but with a little patience and a few runs through the machine, every disc he has tried is now usable again!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next