Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Regalo Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Keep babies, toddlers and pets close at hand and away from dangerous areas with the help of this Regalo Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate. It is constructed of sturdy and durable steel for long-lasting use and features a convenient design. It is equipped with a one-touch, easy-open gate door handle that makes coming and going a breeze for adults and older children. This Regalo Easy Step Walk-Thru gate includes a 6" extension and fits doorways that are up to 39" wide to suit your personal needs. In addition, this extra-tall gate stands up to 41" tall for added security and can be used at the top of stairs. Ideal for interior or exterior doors, this walk-through baby gate is recommended for children aged 6 months to 3 years. It is easy to install, remove and transport for added convenience. The Regalo Easy Step Walk-Thru Gate is JPMA certified and meets all current ASTM safety standards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(430 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
260
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation91%392 out of 429reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
35 Questions | 137 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
260
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Awesome stair gate

12/04/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced wooden one with this at bottom of stairs. No more stepping over the wooden gate...YAY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Tall gate & good price

07/28/2008
By ,
gilbert
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate because it is very tall. Most gates aren not tis tall. I wanted to put this gate in my hallway so I also bought an extension. This worked for a little bit but the bars are a little bit wide and my cat was able to squeeze through the gate. I wanted a tall gate that my cat wouldnt be able to jump but unfortunately I did not think about the width of the bars. She is a little cat and she was able to squeeze through after trying. She can not jump the gate though. Even though this is pressure mounted, the gate is not stable without using the screws that come with the gate to mount the hardware onto the wall. So I had to put holes into my wall. I did end up keeping the gate. i put the gate on my stairwell to prevent my other cat from coming upstairs. he is a very fat cat so he will not be able to squeeze through the bars. again, i had to mount the gate with the screws and hardaware and i had to put a hole into my wall and stair case because the gate will can otherwise be pushed if the hardware is not mounted.
i did like this gate although i wish the bars were closer together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/29/2013
just use netting around the bars so the cat get through!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate
10/26/2012
By ,
St. Marys, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good product, solid, no sharp edges. Used 'as is' in a 32" doorframe, the four pressure pads were not secure as they should be - the four pressure pad adjusment bolts were extended too far to be stable I added 1-7/8" of wood to each side of the door frame and inset the pads ~3/8' deep with a 1-3/8" Forstner bit. This modification exposes much less of the four adjustment bolts and the unit is much more stable. Our Grandson loves it - it helps him to stand and may be an aid to him walking sooner. This product offers extensions to fix wider opening - a six inch one was in the box with ours. I would suggest making the gate/frame about 3" wider, or put a 3-3-1/2" extension in the box since I believe most doorways are 32". Enjoyed adapting this gate to our door (It gave me an excuse to purchase a set of Forstner bits).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

wonderful product

01/15/2010
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful gate for dogs who jump high- it seems to keep them contained- We just love it. However if you are a bigger person you might want to get something eles- The gate door entrance is aprox 2 to 3 feet wide. & if you have lil bitty puppys they can get through the bars-just make sure your puppy is over 4 to 5pds- it will work perfect & you wont be disappointed-
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Easy to use

11/29/2007
By ,
Muscatine, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a gate to keep my dogs away from my new granddaughter but one that I didn't have to step over with a baby in my arms. I also wanted one that could be put up temporarily and removed easily. This gate met all of my needs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Creative Crossover

02/09/2013
By ,
Hollywood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found this searching "pet gates" while seeking a solution to keep my cat from accidentally plummeting from my 5th floor apartment window. I live in an old historical building exempt from the current requirement to provide window screens. So this extra-tall gate with bars 2 1/2 inches apart proved to be the perfect solution. Super easy to install.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

good quality but...

06/25/2013
By ,
saint petersburg , fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its pretty rugged ,but you can not secure the top of the gate like it should be
Had to improvise with a eye hook, s hook and a electric ties (zip tie)
It seem to work and it only cost under 5.00
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Exactly What I Needed

08/21/2007
By ,
Newport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these gates to place in doorways to keep my two cats from entering rooms that I wanted to keep "kitty-free". They are working great. The gate is high enough to deter them from trying to jump over and the bars are spaced close enough to prevent them from sliding between (which was a concern before my purchase). I am now able to keep all rooms of my home well-ventilated and open to sunlight since I no longer have to keep doors closed. Since I am only trying to keep cats out (not toddlers or large dogs), I did not use the screw-in door frame mounts. I only needed to use the pressure rods alone and it is very secure in the doorway. The easy-open gate is very convenient, and though the opening is fairly narrow, it is plenty wide enough to pass through easily. I think the gates are an excellent value of the money spent. I haven't found anything even close to comparable for the same price (or even higher priced). I highly recommend this product and hope this review is helpful to a prospective buyer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Kitty deterent!

02/02/2014
By ,
Paw Paw, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are expecting a baby girl in March, and we want to keep our two cats out of the nursery. They easily hop shorter gates, so we nearly gave up and installed a screen door. This tall gate seems to be doing the trick so far- much to my relief. Our smallest cat is 8lbs, so if you have tinier felines they may be able to slink through the bars. Determined jumpers could definitely get over as well- the gate is tall enough to discourage our cats from trying. Another thing to note is that if you are using this gate for children or medium to large dogs you must use the wall mounts to keep this gate in place. The pressure mounts permit the gate to slide to much if force is applied (our german shepherd would have no problem plowing through it if she had a mind to). This gate definitely serves our current needs, and we couldn't be more pleased with it. Once baby is crawling and walking, we will definitely use it with the wall mounts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Not bad but could be better

08/01/2007
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate to replace our Evenflo Simple Effort Gate (which was 30 inches tall). We now need the extra height.
Pros:
- About $20 cheaper than similar gates in this height.
- Full 41 inches height, placed on the floor. You can add a couple more inches if you mount it above the floor.
- Appears to be sturdy and decent quality.
- Very easy to set up (phillips screwdriver required).
- Taller than most baby gates, toddlers cannot climb over it.
- Older children can walk through without having to ask an adult to let them through. No sore or pinched finger trying to open it.
- Easy to remove the gate, - you do not need to unscrew the hardware if you want to remove the gate temporarily. Just as easy to put it back up.
Cons:
- While it is a pressure mount gate, you still have to drive 4 small screws into your wall or door frame, otherwise the gate is unsafe and a small toddler can push or kick it out of its position.
- It is almost too easy to open - a 3 year old can open it, after watching a parent do it (I suggest, try not to let your toddler see you how to open it).
- The room door cannot be closed while gate is in position because the doorknob is in the way.
- While the extra height is great for the child, it is not so great when the parent wants to step over the gate with hands full.
- It requires 2 hands to open, which can be difficult while carrying a sleeping baby.
- The gate opening is 15 inches wide, it has not been a problem for us, but I imagine it might be an issue for heavier people.
Overall a good buy and we decided to keep it.
My perfect gate however would be the Evenflo Simple Effort Gate with remote control opener but in this height. If it becomes available, we are switching without a doubt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

good

06/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Great gate for my new puppy

06/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this walk-thru gate because we had just got a 8 week old German Shepherd puppy and it works wonderful. I don't let my puppy into the other parts of my house (until she's completely potty trained anyway) and I put this up between my laundry room and eat-in kitchen and it works like a charm. It's tall enough that she can't jump it like other baby gates and would highly recommend if you have a large dog breed. Easy to install and very sturdy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

easy to put up anywhere

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate
07/26/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is good and durable. The gate opening is smaller then I thought it would be. Otherwise, I love it. I have a 100 lb plus dog that can not get pass it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Love this gate it goes up really easy and quick

06/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I give it a 5 stars. I love it!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

LOVE!!

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this for our dogs and it works great!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

eh :/

05/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I kept it because it kind of looks cute in my apartment as a little door/gate..but my dog is smart enough to get out of it, some how some way.. no matter how tight you try and adjust it. He breaks through. It doesn't do the job
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Regalo Gate

03/10/2009
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased gate to keep 3 cats out of bedroom and 1 dog (cocker spaniel) inside of bedroom. (Cats aren't crazy about the dog). We've only had the gate for a little more than a week. It was easy to assemble, according to boyfriend, and appears to be fairly sturdy, although it has begun to squeak after only 10 days. We can't put screws into the door frame (we live in a co-op), so we put double-sided sticky tape on the door frame. This has made the gate less likely to dislodge from the frame. So far, none of the cats or dog have attempted to knock it over or jump over gate. The bars are close enough so that none of the cats; including the smallest cat can squeeze through. It is easy to open and since there are no small children in the home, locking the gate is not necessary, making it very easy to operate with one hand. My only suggestion would be for the gate to swing shut. It does reduce the amount of space to walk through, but so far this has not been a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

A very tall gate

12/11/2007
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The height of this gate is why I bought it because my 2 year old son can climb over every gate in the house. I wanted him to be safe and this gate did the job. It would be nice if the locking mechanism was a little harder to open so he doesn't figure it out but other then that I found it works well and was fairly easy to install. I was very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Watch Your Toes

04/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is beautiful and should be tall enough to thwart Nana dog from going into the kitchen and scrounging around when I am gone. A couple of tips: The bottom part of the gate is about one inch above the floor, so I am having to get used to stepping over the bottom gate bar every time I go through the doorway.. Also, in the instructions it says it is not necessary to use the end caps that go over the threaded screws in a doorway. Not true. It was simply not possible to get the gate firmly enough in the doorway without the caps. Nevertheless, the gate is extremely easy to mount. Simply put the threaded screws into the gate holes, tighten them up, screw the caps into the door frame, and attach to the threaded screws, and you're done.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 372 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next