Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regalo Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Regalo Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Keep babies, toddlers and pets close at hand and away from dangerous areas with the help of this Regalo Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate. It is constructed of sturdy and durable steel for long-lasting use and features a convenient design. It is equipped with a one-touch, easy-open gate door handle that makes coming and going a breeze for adults and older children. This Regalo Easy Step Walk-Thru gate includes a 6" extension and fits doorways that are up to 39" wide to suit your personal needs. In addition, this extra-tall gate stands up to 41" tall for added security and can be used at the top of stairs. Ideal for interior or exterior doors, this walk-through baby gate is recommended for children aged 6 months to 3 years. It is easy to install, remove and transport for added convenience. The Regalo Easy Step Walk-Thru Gate is JPMA certified and meets all current ASTM safety standards.
Average Customer Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(400 Reviews) 341
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
105
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation91%364 out of 399reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
241
4 stars
105
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Awesome stair gate

12/04/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replaced wooden one with this at bottom of stairs. No more stepping over the wooden gate...YAY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Tall gate & good price

07/28/2008
By ,
gilbert
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate because it is very tall. Most gates aren not tis tall. I wanted to put this gate in my hallway so I also bought an extension. This worked for a little bit but the bars are a little bit wide and my cat was able to squeeze through the gate. I wanted a tall gate that my cat wouldnt be able to jump but unfortunately I did not think about the width of the bars. She is a little cat and she was able to squeeze through after trying. She can not jump the gate though. Even though this is pressure mounted, the gate is not stable without using the screws that come with the gate to mount the hardware onto the wall. So I had to put holes into my wall. I did end up keeping the gate. i put the gate on my stairwell to prevent my other cat from coming upstairs. he is a very fat cat so he will not be able to squeeze through the bars. again, i had to mount the gate with the screws and hardaware and i had to put a hole into my wall and stair case because the gate will can otherwise be pushed if the hardware is not mounted.
i did like this gate although i wish the bars were closer together.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/29/2013
just use netting around the bars so the cat get through!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate
10/26/2012
By ,
St. Marys, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good product, solid, no sharp edges. Used 'as is' in a 32" doorframe, the four pressure pads were not secure as they should be - the four pressure pad adjusment bolts were extended too far to be stable I added 1-7/8" of wood to each side of the door frame and inset the pads ~3/8' deep with a 1-3/8" Forstner bit. This modification exposes much less of the four adjustment bolts and the unit is much more stable. Our Grandson loves it - it helps him to stand and may be an aid to him walking sooner. This product offers extensions to fix wider opening - a six inch one was in the box with ours. I would suggest making the gate/frame about 3" wider, or put a 3-3-1/2" extension in the box since I believe most doorways are 32". Enjoyed adapting this gate to our door (It gave me an excuse to purchase a set of Forstner bits).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

wonderful product

01/15/2010
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a wonderful gate for dogs who jump high- it seems to keep them contained- We just love it. However if you are a bigger person you might want to get something eles- The gate door entrance is aprox 2 to 3 feet wide. & if you have lil bitty puppys they can get through the bars-just make sure your puppy is over 4 to 5pds- it will work perfect & you wont be disappointed-
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Easy to use

11/29/2007
By ,
Muscatine, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a gate to keep my dogs away from my new granddaughter but one that I didn't have to step over with a baby in my arms. I also wanted one that could be put up temporarily and removed easily. This gate met all of my needs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Creative Crossover

02/09/2013
By ,
Hollywood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found this searching "pet gates" while seeking a solution to keep my cat from accidentally plummeting from my 5th floor apartment window. I live in an old historical building exempt from the current requirement to provide window screens. So this extra-tall gate with bars 2 1/2 inches apart proved to be the perfect solution. Super easy to install.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

good quality but...

06/25/2013
By ,
saint petersburg , fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its pretty rugged ,but you can not secure the top of the gate like it should be
Had to improvise with a eye hook, s hook and a electric ties (zip tie)
It seem to work and it only cost under 5.00
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Exactly What I Needed

08/21/2007
By ,
Newport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these gates to place in doorways to keep my two cats from entering rooms that I wanted to keep "kitty-free". They are working great. The gate is high enough to deter them from trying to jump over and the bars are spaced close enough to prevent them from sliding between (which was a concern before my purchase). I am now able to keep all rooms of my home well-ventilated and open to sunlight since I no longer have to keep doors closed. Since I am only trying to keep cats out (not toddlers or large dogs), I did not use the screw-in door frame mounts. I only needed to use the pressure rods alone and it is very secure in the doorway. The easy-open gate is very convenient, and though the opening is fairly narrow, it is plenty wide enough to pass through easily. I think the gates are an excellent value of the money spent. I haven't found anything even close to comparable for the same price (or even higher priced). I highly recommend this product and hope this review is helpful to a prospective buyer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Kitty deterent!

02/02/2014
By ,
Paw Paw, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are expecting a baby girl in March, and we want to keep our two cats out of the nursery. They easily hop shorter gates, so we nearly gave up and installed a screen door. This tall gate seems to be doing the trick so far- much to my relief. Our smallest cat is 8lbs, so if you have tinier felines they may be able to slink through the bars. Determined jumpers could definitely get over as well- the gate is tall enough to discourage our cats from trying. Another thing to note is that if you are using this gate for children or medium to large dogs you must use the wall mounts to keep this gate in place. The pressure mounts permit the gate to slide to much if force is applied (our german shepherd would have no problem plowing through it if she had a mind to). This gate definitely serves our current needs, and we couldn't be more pleased with it. Once baby is crawling and walking, we will definitely use it with the wall mounts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Nice gate

05/09/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a well made product and it worked for what I needed till I found a better alternative. The gate was purchased to keep the dogs from going into the bedrooms and we had to raise it off the floor so our big cat could scoot under it. The bars are too close together for the cats to slide through. Well that's become a pain in the neck as there's a bar that goes all the way across. So you have to step over it each time and that's getting old fast. I don't know how I missed it but this same company makes the same gate with a small pet entry door! So I'm returning this gate and have the other gate on order. Also please take notice that the gate opening is rather small so if you are a large person it means having to turn sideways to get through. Laundry baskets have to be lifted up and over. We're going to the shorter gate as I'm small and lifting stuff over the gate is hard. Nice product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Not bad but could be better

08/01/2007
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this gate to replace our Evenflo Simple Effort Gate (which was 30 inches tall). We now need the extra height.
Pros:
- About $20 cheaper than similar gates in this height.
- Full 41 inches height, placed on the floor. You can add a couple more inches if you mount it above the floor.
- Appears to be sturdy and decent quality.
- Very easy to set up (phillips screwdriver required).
- Taller than most baby gates, toddlers cannot climb over it.
- Older children can walk through without having to ask an adult to let them through. No sore or pinched finger trying to open it.
- Easy to remove the gate, - you do not need to unscrew the hardware if you want to remove the gate temporarily. Just as easy to put it back up.
Cons:
- While it is a pressure mount gate, you still have to drive 4 small screws into your wall or door frame, otherwise the gate is unsafe and a small toddler can push or kick it out of its position.
- It is almost too easy to open - a 3 year old can open it, after watching a parent do it (I suggest, try not to let your toddler see you how to open it).
- The room door cannot be closed while gate is in position because the doorknob is in the way.
- While the extra height is great for the child, it is not so great when the parent wants to step over the gate with hands full.
- It requires 2 hands to open, which can be difficult while carrying a sleeping baby.
- The gate opening is 15 inches wide, it has not been a problem for us, but I imagine it might be an issue for heavier people.
Overall a good buy and we decided to keep it.
My perfect gate however would be the Evenflo Simple Effort Gate with remote control opener but in this height. If it becomes available, we are switching without a doubt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

pet gate

09/01/2014
By ,
Missour
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I bought this my pup keep going in the livingroom on my rug but now that I got the gate my pup can't go in there and on everything I love it I wish I got this whenI had my other dogs I had my rugs clean no dog in there I'mhappy girl.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate
07/26/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product is good and durable. The gate opening is smaller then I thought it would be. Otherwise, I love it. I have a 100 lb plus dog that can not get pass it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

great gate for animals and kids

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic gate serve the purpose and look very good I am very,very happy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Serves my purpose

08/08/2014
By ,
Northern Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great gate except the walk thru is very narrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

easy to set/up use

07/22/2014
By ,
newport ri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There's nothing wrong with the gate. It works properly. I have 2 now. Just be sure you measure accurately for where you are placing it. I forgot to measure the distance between the baseboard and it's too short by 1/2" with the extension provided but all the way to the ends at the top without the extension so it doesn't hold well. I had to raise it above the baseboard which means I have to step over it all the time. It's not good to have to step over a 4" high bar when you have elderly people in your home. It's not the gates fault.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Regalo Gate

03/10/2009
By ,
NYC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased gate to keep 3 cats out of bedroom and 1 dog (cocker spaniel) inside of bedroom. (Cats aren't crazy about the dog). We've only had the gate for a little more than a week. It was easy to assemble, according to boyfriend, and appears to be fairly sturdy, although it has begun to squeak after only 10 days. We can't put screws into the door frame (we live in a co-op), so we put double-sided sticky tape on the door frame. This has made the gate less likely to dislodge from the frame. So far, none of the cats or dog have attempted to knock it over or jump over gate. The bars are close enough so that none of the cats; including the smallest cat can squeeze through. It is easy to open and since there are no small children in the home, locking the gate is not necessary, making it very easy to operate with one hand. My only suggestion would be for the gate to swing shut. It does reduce the amount of space to walk through, but so far this has not been a problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

A very tall gate

12/11/2007
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The height of this gate is why I bought it because my 2 year old son can climb over every gate in the house. I wanted him to be safe and this gate did the job. It would be nice if the locking mechanism was a little harder to open so he doesn't figure it out but other then that I found it works well and was fairly easy to install. I was very pleased with this purchase and would recommend it to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Wonderful!!!!

08/29/2012
By ,
Bossier City, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We got this gate to have a "safe area" for our paralyzed dog. We didn't want her near our large dogs while we weren't home. This gate was perfect! It's tall enough that our 80 lb dogs can't even think about getting over it. I am overweight and easily fit through the gate turning sideways. I've not had any problems. I'm 5'8". The only problem I ran into was that there is a slightly smaller than normal gap between the door framing and outside of the gate. The gap is too small for an extension but large enough that it makes the gate a tiny bit loose. I don't think it will be an issue. If we have to, we will get a small piece of wood, paint it the color of the moulding (white) and put that between the frame and screw to stabilize it. I don't think we'll need to though. Some people may run into issues with the size of their doorframe not fitting properly. Just know that you can buy smaller extensions than the one that comes with this product. They're about $10-$15.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Regalo - Easy Step Extra-Tall Walk-Thru Metal Gate

Great Gate, Small Flaw...

07/13/2007
By ,
Chesterfield, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have to say this is almost the perfect gate. It's nice looking, sturdy, and worry free. We purchased it for the top of the stairs as a permanent fixture. We have an open staircase a crawling grandchildren. There is however one little flaw. The opening of the gate is rather small and makes it nearly impossible to take anything up or down the stairs that you can't raise over your head. Most men would have difficulty getting through the opening without turning sideways. Additionally I find it odd that not one company lists the dimensions of the opening on any of these products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 342 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next