Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

The Black & Decker Spacemaker 12-cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker is an excellent addition to any household. Programmable Clock/Timer, 12-Cup glass carafe, Removable Water Reservoir & Sneak-A-Cup feature all conveniently mounted under your counter, giving you back valuable counter space! Model # ODC440.
Average Customer Rating:
2.039 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation23%12 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

DISAPPOINTTED!!!

09/21/2008
By ,
Salem
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the space saver because I have little counter top in my kitchen. Shortly after using it, I noticed that I would have water all over my counter top and the filter bucket pushed out. Finally I had to remove the stopper. Now that I have done that this thing just quit working. I havent even owned it 7 months. I am extremely disappointed in Black and Decker!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 22 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

DON'T DO IT!!

07/24/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this thing. The pot leaks. My FIL also had one and it did the same thing. He sent it back to the store and they replaced it with another one that leaked. Obviously there is a problem. Your better off just taking the top off and pouring over the sink. Waste of Money. Thought it would be nice to have the space saver feature. Not so much!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 23 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

It will do

11/23/2007
By ,
elkton, md
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like the coffe maker because of the thermal pot. No, it doesn't get the coffe real hot, nor keep it warm, but does keep it a bit fresher. I have had mine for little over a year. For the last few months i had to hit the two or more times to make the water run through because it shuts itself off. Today it finally died. No, i not buying another.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Really dissapointed

08/17/2008
By ,
Melbourne, Fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Owned this product about 6 months and the clock timer has stop working so the coffee maker no longer works, the quality is very poor, within a week it was impossible to get the cheap plastic parts to come clean and even the heating element discolored badly.
Have notified B&D of problems and I'm awaiting for their response. will not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

disapointed

12/17/2007
By ,
Chapel Hill, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had spacemaker products before and loved them, this one is the opposite. It leaks from the filter basket, if you don't have the pot in just the right spot you get coffee all over the counter, and the thing just feels cheap. I will not buy another one. If you pay this much for one, you would expect it to at least work everyday.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Great, as long as it lasts

01/14/2008
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my fourth purchase of this product over the past 8 years. I can't find any under counter product that makes better coffee. The only problem is that it seems to only last a few years when used every day. I have tried other versions, but prefer the glass carafe so I can see how much coffee is left (hated the thermal carafe).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Disappointing

11/06/2007
By ,
San Diego, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was purchased for use in our motor home as it is the only under-cabinet coffee maker sold. The original item purchased and two replacements would not function on the motor home inverter power system which powers all other appliances successfully. Two of the three stopped working on normal power after a small amount of usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 28 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Love this coffee maker

11/27/2007
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this unit for our camper and we love it! Under the counter saves our precious counter space. We like the fact that their is no heating element to worry about turning off when we leave the camper. The stainless carafe keeps the coffee hot for a long time. I wish it was available in black and stainless.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
0points
Review 29 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Lucky Me

04/10/2008
By ,
Hendersonville, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
From the looks of some of the other reviews, I lucked out. Mine lasted 15 months. worked fine up until this morning. One other issue with this model, no one stocks the replacement carafes. Over $30.00 with shipping from Black&Decker, which is the cost of most coffee makers. A real design bummer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 30 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

spacemaker coffee maker

01/10/2008
By ,
hammonton nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my spacemaker coffee maker. It free's up a little space on my counter and I have owned one before and would reccomend this product very highly. Recently they were not available and when I saw it while I was christmas shopping I thought here's a nice gift for myself.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

A Bit Disappointed

01/29/2008
By ,
VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It makes a mess sometimes when auto brewing..
The pitcher gets out of place and coffee pours out over the basket...grounds get in the coffee..Now I have to watch it while it brews to make sure the basket doesnt pop out during the brew process.. a real inconvenience.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

waste of money

08/06/2008
By ,
Lebanon,KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned B+D under counter coffee makers for over 10yrs,three to be exact. They only seem to last 2 to 3 years, my last one just quit this morning. This will be my last B+D coffee maker, at $50.00 to $60.00 each ,I will be looking for another more reliable brand !
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter

08/23/2008
By ,
moss point mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, and I love it. My problem is I’m looking for one for my RV an have not been able to fine another one. It saves space an is easy to use. i use it every day when we are home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 34 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Poor coffemaker

01/27/2008
By ,
Tucson, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this coffemaker on Thanksgiving weekend, 2006. Work well for approximately nine months, then quit working for no reason. I thought I had got stuck with a "lemon" and was fixing to buy another one, but after reading the other poor reviews, I'll pass.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 35 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Very Handy Coffeemaker

08/05/2007
By ,
Colby, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Black and Decker Spacesaver Coffee maker that I have purchased (one I left at a house I sold when moving). I really do like the under the counter mount feature. I just like less clutter on my counters. It makes great coffee too!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 36 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Nice for a little while

02/28/2008
By ,
Branford, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This worked nice for about 4 months, brewing 2 cups everyday. The electronics went out and now is useless. Not sure if WalMart will replace, (no receipt or box). Considering getting another...maybe I got the ONLY lemon of the bunch?? :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Low Review!

08/09/2008
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From day one water leaks all over counter top.
Water has never emptied from water tank which makes coffee very strong.
The old Black & Decker coffee maker was A++++
This new one is D-----
Read ALL the reviews before yoou buy this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

DO NOT BUY

09/19/2008
By ,
Eastern Shore, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HATE THIS MODEL...had previous spacemaker...LOVED IT!! This one is junk! IF you get one call company and they will give you all your money back!!!!!! Leaks condensation, coffee tray will not stay in so it leaks coffee...UGH HATE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

Dont Buy

04/15/2008
By ,
Los Angeles
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ours did the same as all the rest reviews, but we did have it working for a year. And I loved the idea, off the counter and I cant find another maker that makes that kind. But I'm not waisting another $50 for another ONE from B.D..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Black & Decker Spacemaker 12 cup Under-The-Counter Coffee Maker, ODC440

overpriced no frills

11/11/2007
By ,
East Brunswick, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I owned this coffee maker for 1 year before it gave out. The only diffrence between a twelve dollar coffee pot and this one is the space saving feature. Other than that, there is no reason to throw away your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 50 total reviews