Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Hamilton Beach Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

The Cook Magic talking microwave verbally guides you through your cooking with just the touch of a button. Ideal for the sight-impaired, you can program the voice to speak in English or Spanish. The ten power levels, eight preset functions for common foods and five memory setting buttons save time and make cooking easy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 102
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%105 out of 116reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
85
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Great Idea for low vision

02/15/2010
By ,
McKeesport PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this online and ordered it for my older sister, who is practically blind from macular degeneration and glaucoma. She is THRILLED. She doesn't use all the many features, but just loves the verbal confirmation of which buttons she's pushed. She's very happy with it. The appearance of the microwave is very attractive and the price was very reasonable. We highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

very good microwave

02/15/2010
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had this microwave long, but so far it's great! It works very well, looks great, and the talking cracks me up! The protective plastic was extremely hard to remove, and I still have some remnants of it around the edges that I just can't get off. Otherwise, I haven't had any isssues with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Very disappointed...

02/14/2010
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for the talking feature. It quit in less than 24 hours! I was afraid of what else would quit so I took it back. I love the look, but I was very disappointed in it's performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

very nice MW

02/13/2010
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mw recently, so I can't judge it on
endurance, but I like it very much. It is very easy to learn because it basically tells you what to do with the voice feature. It's very attractive and just the right wattage. I like the mirror-like door and display panel.very attractive. The covering that comes on it is hard to remove, but just takes a little time. Is well worth peeling off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 25 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Good buy

02/11/2010
By ,
Winston Salem NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this microwave for my 86 yr old mother. Simple, easy to use product. Talking feature is very helpful for her. The stainless outside looks good & size is just right for her cooking/re-heating needs. Would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

vision impaired microwave

02/09/2010
By ,
Vineyard Haven, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this microwave to anyone who is or knows someone who is legally blind.
This microwave will even speak to you in Spanish!
My mother is legally blind and having a talking microwave is so GREAT!! She doesn't have to worry if she has pressed the wrong numbers.
I am even thinking about replacing my microwave with this one!! You should sell them in the stores!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 27 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

A great buy

02/06/2010
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old microwave finally stopped working, then I researched Walmart's website for a replacement and found this microwave. It is compact but still has a great wattage and many other features such as one button settings which makes it easy to operate. It is almost self explanatory going through the many features that this microwave offers. Features include: one touch microwaving, settings for different meals, two languages for the "talking" feature which can be muted, and many more. I would recommend it to my friends and others looking for a microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Great product especially for sight impaired

02/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my 80+ year old mother who is sight impaired. It was easy for her to learn, the voice is clear and the oven itself is perfect. Highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 29 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver
02/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking unit and works well. Like the voice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 30 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Great Microwave for apartment

01/31/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great features. Small and has great features, perfect for an apartment dwelled or dorm room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Fantastic !!

01/24/2010
By ,
Niskayuna, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this microwave... it is so easy to use and it talks to you, loud enough for me to hear it when I am in the living room watching TV. I wanted a microwave big enough to handle a bag of popcorn but small enough not to take up too much counter space. We make anything from Popcorn, to heating up leftovers, to Lean pockets, burritos, soup and much more. Not to mention it looks good.. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 32 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Nice looking microwave

01/13/2010
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave was very easy to learn how to use and it looks very nice in the kitchen. The voice feature is clear and easy to hear and understand. I would recommend this product. I have no regrets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Cook Magic Talking Microwave Review

01/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave has enough features to satisfy most customers. All features are simple to use and to comprehend. Highly recommend to anyone with limited vision.
The only negative for my use is that the buttons on the silver panel are also silver and almost fade into the panel making them hard to see. I overcame this problem by putting large red decal stickers beside each button with large black number.
I highly recommend this talking microwave.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 34 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Love the look

01/10/2010
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I ordered this microwave I looked at all the reviews. The one that stuck out was about the protective coat of plastic all over the microwave. Didnt think it was a big deal. It was quite a pain to take it all off, but it was worth it (not a scratch on it). I love this microwave. It is really easy to use for myselft and my 6 year old. And the look of the microwave is amazing. It looks like a very expensive microwave that costed very little. I would definititely recoment this product. And by the way, I used a blowdryer to help get the plastic coating off and it worked pretty good. Just don't use the high heat and keep it at a distance, and it will help a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 35 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

My Dad loves it!

01/07/2010
By ,
ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my Dad as he is legally blind. He loves it! It was easy to learn and performs very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Talkin Micro

01/06/2010
By ,
Rosebud, Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy. Looks cool. Works good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 37 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Nice for the price.

01/06/2010
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this because I am partially blind, completely in the left eye and partal in the right. However, this product does give talking features, but if you want to cook in other than the simple 1-5 minute settings on the lttle nobs on the right, you're in luck. BUT, if you want to cook other than push one of those 5 buttons and your eye sight is bad, you're NOT in luck. I am also very hard of hearing and I am set on 'high' volume and can NOT understand. It is good for those that want something different than just a plain microwave, but for us, especially the elderly, you need to have someone show how to work it and memorize the features, or you're just OUT OF LUCK. I would recomend it, but beware, you need someone to show you how to work it, if you want to learn other features other than just clicking on the 1-5 minute buttons on the left.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 38 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Great Product

01/05/2010
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this microwave for my dad who has macular degeneration and gluacoma as well as arthritis. The voice activation is a perfect for him and the raised buttons are a blessing. Most microwaves with flat screen touch pads look great but for dad are useless. This machine is very basic but does the job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Talking microwave

01/05/2010
By ,
Ann Arbor MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would like to thank the manufacturer for producing a great product. When you have a mother that is legally blind this microwave is my answer to freedom for her in the kitchen. Because the device talks to her she now can cook. I appreciated any aid that manufacturers can aid the impair people who can not see as well. Thank you again for having a product on Walmart shelves to aid the blind impair people in this world. Thanks again for your help.
smartperson
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 40 for Cook Magic 0.9 cu. ft. Talking Microwave, Silver

Really handy

01/04/2010
By ,
Ashland, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For a partially sighted person like me, this is a really handy item. My most-used settings do operate with voice prompts, but more complex ones require counting clicks of a turning knob and remembering where several controls are located. I think it would be impossible for a totally blind person to set up a complex cooking program on this machine without assistance as only simple operations are supported by voice prompts and tactile hints. The voice does not speak the numbers for the knob clicks to select cooktimes and a user must remember too many steps in order to program, say, automatic cooking of a dinner. That said, the current sale price on this microwave makes it a bargain for anyone as it costs move than twice as much elsewhere for exactly the same unit. 900 watts is sufficient to nuke frozen meals and do the simple heating jobs I need. I have been using mine for two months and find the adapted controls handy and easy to use. For a vision impaired person who needs to do only simple tasks with the microwave like heat items requiring five minutes or less, this machine would serve well as the first-level commands can all be easily found tactilely and are supported by voice prompts. It does offer the more sophisticated items: power levels, custom cooking times, a kitchen timer, and an interior design that makes replacing the turntable after cleaning much easier for a partially sighted person. But the more sophisticated controls are not dependably supported tactilely or by voice prompts. This machine is not for your totally blind pal, but it would be great for many with macular degeneration and others who can still see, even dimly, the large, bright blue numbers and letters on the readout..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
21-40 of 103 total reviews