Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

The Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply cools to 40 degrees below the surrounding temperature. This Coleman PowerChill 40 Quart Thermoelectric Cooler is ideal for offices, dorm rooms, RVs, campers, and truck cabs. With a huge storage capacity, it can more than 40 beverage cans and snacks. The roomy Coleman PowerChill 40 quart cooler can accommodate 2-liter bottles in upright position and the adjustable shelf divider help organize things neatly. This camping cooler features molded handles for easy portability. It features adjustable door that can be opened from any side.
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation84%175 out of 209reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great cooler

11/23/2009
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works much better than the previous coleman, would actually freeze my drinking water if it got below 65 in my semi.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 22 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Works great

08/21/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used this on a long road trip to Kentucky this summer to keep milk and drinks cold without having to keep replacing ice. It worked great the whole trip in the van and in our hotel room (using the wall adaptor). We put a couple freeze packs in it when we left and they were still almost completely frozen after 4 days in the cooler.
It does take a lot of electricity though, so don't leave it plugged in with your car off for a long time (we found that out later when we left it plugged in for about 4 hours with the car off and it drained the battery)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 23 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Very useful product

12/22/2009
By ,
central California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd cooler like this I have owned in the past 15yrs. Works wonderful. Use both AC/DC and fast cool(I precooled items in big frig first). Very quiet. Holds drinks, veggies,and dressings. Would recommend this to all my friends that may have a need for this product. Great to have in car when driving 2hr. rd. trip to big stores like Sam's Club to keep dairy products and meat cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 24 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

truck driver

10/03/2009
By ,
ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned one of these for less than three months and it stopped working. Nothing is kept cool anymore. There isn't a service center within a thousand miles of my home. I thought with it being a Coleman it would last but it's just an expensive piece of junk.
One star is the lowest rating I can give it. If I could rate it lower I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 25 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

No More Messy Melted Ice!

06/25/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is perfect for picnics, road trips, camping, and even keeping food cold while running to multiple grocery stores on Saturdays. It's your typical large cooler and has plenty of room. No exterior handles though. Mine reached 33 degrees (measured at the far end of the closed cooler) in three hours. Of course you can't pack it like a suitcase and expect the temperature to be evenly distributed. You must leave some room between items for the cold to equalize. I think it's a plus to be able to use it either standing up or laying down, however, using it laying flat will keep the cold in better. There's no issue with a compressor or refrigerant leaks. It has two fans, both interior and exterior. They appear to be the same kind of fan as in a desktop computer, so it's whisper quiet. It is no substitute for a small conventional refrigerator, so don't try to use it as one in a dorm room. My only complaint is that it's much more pricey than need be. Seriously should not be more than $65. It's well built (made in USA) and should easily last for years. There is no drain plug because there's no messy ice melting and taking up storage room! I'm happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 26 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Camping and road trip Friendly

09/04/2009
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for camping and road trips so much cheaper to stock it than eat fast food. We have had ours for five years and it is just now making noise like it may be going out. I am getting a second one now. the only thing i noticed if you use it in your home as a fridge it does freeze around motor. and you have to defrost. I do plug it in a couple of hours early takes a little bit to cool down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 27 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great value

04/07/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this for a four day hotel stay. I did not know what to expect, this product performed very well. It cools soda cans in about 3 hours and kept them cool. My daughters formula bottles stayed cold as needed. A great product for what I needed it for. I am looking forward to testing it in other situations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 28 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great cooler

07/30/2009
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We travel in our minivan all over the country and keep my medications that require refrigeration in the cooler and have never had a problem. We had an earlier model which lasted for seven years of fairly heavy use. We have recommended this product to many friends and sever or eight of them have bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 29 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Very handy

04/24/2011
By ,
Decatur, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler was large enough to hold plenty of items for a very long road trip. If you want your items to be cold, be certain the items you place in the cooler are cold from the start. Otherwise, it takes a long time for them to cool down. The cooler is very quiet and fairly efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 30 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Excellent product

01/08/2011
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only used this cooler on one trip so far, but it works exactly as advertised. Had other Coleman thermoelectric coolers in the past, so they don't last forever. This one is quite a bit quieter than the one we had before. At this price a good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 31 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Works well as I expected

09/29/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it on several trips and also plugged in using AC adapter in hotel room and house. Kept contents cool. Have occasional issue with the 12V plug being loose and noticed the red light was not on so I had to reseat the connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 32 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply
12/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We took a 10 hr drive with this in our new MiniVan. We have a 14 and 2 y/o and was able to keep drinks ice cold and snacks lasted the entire trip. Perfect for those long family drives!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 33 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Works Great well within specs.

01/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read and heed usage information that is enclosed with product and cooler works great in a vehicle or indoors . Extra shelf would be helpful, unit comes with one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply
12/07/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband (truck driver) and he loves it. Food typically stays 40 degrees colder than the temperature in his truck. Drinks stay icy. Great value
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Quality control issues?

04/08/2010
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had one of these a couple of years ago and it worked fairly well.
Then, about a month ago, I decided to get a smaller version (a Coleman as well) ... 16 quarts vs. 40.
However, it was almost the same total cost (once the separate a/c adaptor was purchased).
The 16 quart one pretty much never worked, so I returned it about a week ago.
I got another one of these. It worked OK the first day. It continued to SOUND like it was running for the next week, but only cooled 5-10 degrees below ambient.
I can't believe I am the only one who has had this problem (seeing as how I just purchased two bad ones in a row).
If you get one that works, you should be quite satisfied (and it's a good value (at only $8 more (at Walmart) than the smaller unit plus optional a/c adaptor)).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 36 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great convenience!

09/17/2008
By ,
South Jordan, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great camping accessory -- I used this for a week-long vacation, and was delighted at being freed from the tyranny (and mess) of frequent ice purchases. It cools well, is reasonably quiet, had adequate capacity (especially without needing to accommodate a large volume of ice!), and has been totally reliable. It's as light as a conventional ice cooler -- which is significantly lighter than comparably-sized portable refrigerators. The only down-side is that it is rather power-hungry -- draws 4-5 amps continuously. So I choose to run it off a separate deep-cycle marine battery rather than risk my vehicle's battery. I can run it for about 24 hrs at a time this way, whereas you wouldn't want to run it more than 1 hour from your cigarette lighter without the engine running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 37 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Junk

09/30/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not work out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 38 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

very handy cooler

09/02/2010
By ,
Fostoria, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mainly bought this cooler to take with me to DisneyWorld in May, 2011. Want to see how it worked so I took it with me grocery shopping on a 95 degree weather day. Plugged it in and put cold bottles of water in it, then drove to my friend's house an hour away. Picked her up then drove an hour again to where she wanted to shop. After shopping, we put four packages of meat, 10 yogurt, 2 gallons of milk, and various small packages of food that needed to stay cold. I drove an hour back to her house and the food was just as cold as when we got it at the store if not a little colder. I drove home, about an hour, and the 1 gallon of milk that was still in there was still very cold. I am very happy with the product and can't wait to take it to Disney next year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 39 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Works OK - needs thermostat

09/01/2008
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just used this cooler on a camping trip for the weekend. During the ride up (about 7 hours) it worked great. Everything was nice and cold. I made my own battery source consisting of 6 batterys 12 volts, 33 AH each. Plenty of power for 3 days! However, I noticed at night, in the car, when the outside temperature dropped below 50 degrees ice formed in the cooler. It would have been nice if Coleman designed it with a thermostat to shut it off when it gets too cold. This would also haved saved power and wear and tear on the unit. It did have a hard time keeping things cold while in the car during the afternoon when it was hottest. But still a cool invention and still like it. Also the A/C adapter is nice bonus when you buy from Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

perfomance was excellent

06/30/2009
By ,
Eads, Tenn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had this product previously. It lasted about 15 years before is would not work any more. The new product performed excellently. However, there are some items with the new product that are a step down from the previous model. The cord does not detach from the cooler. It is quite inconvenient to have to drag a cord around with you when moving the cooler around. The fan for the cooling element on the previous model forced cold air on the side where the element is located, plus it forced it down a series of vents along the inside of the cover when the cover is closed. The new model does not have the vent in the cover making is much less efficient and takes it much longer to cool down, especially if there are many items in the cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
21-40 of 182 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next