Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Coleman Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

The Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply cools to 40 degrees below the surrounding temperature. This Coleman PowerChill 40 Quart Thermoelectric Cooler is ideal for offices, dorm rooms, RVs, campers, and truck cabs. With a huge storage capacity, it can more than 40 beverage cans and snacks. The roomy Coleman PowerChill 40 quart cooler can accommodate 2-liter bottles in upright position and the adjustable shelf divider help organize things neatly. This camping cooler features molded handles for easy portability. It features adjustable door that can be opened from any side.
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 181
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation84%175 out of 209reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
119
4 stars
50
3 stars
8
2 stars
13
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Its not for everyday use.

04/04/2009
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Im a truckdriver and I use this on the road. I have went thru two of these and plan to never buy another one again. They quit working after about 6months if you are lucky. My first one only lasted 2months before it bit the dust. If you are only using this as for casual use it might be fine for you, but if you use this product everday I would stay clear!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Fixed my Coleman thermo-electric cooler!

11/14/2009
By ,
Tipp City, OH.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I too am a truck driver and baught my cooler about a year ago. Saved me a lot of money from eating out by being able to take my own food. Healthier, too. I give it an overall rating of 4 because it works great but you can't find parts for it. You see, about a month ago the fuse panel in my truck caught fire and killed the fan that operates the cooler, and blew the fuse in the plug. However, I did fix it. Instead of buying a new cooler just replace the fan, for some of you mechanically inclined folks. In most cases that's why the cooler stops working. I didn't feel like scouring the stores for the origional fan so I took one out of a power supply unit from an old computer I had. It's a bit smaller and less amps, but so far it works better than before. It's easy to do, too. Be sure to take the cover off once a month and clean the fan and heat sync too. Very important. Dust and dirt will kill these thing quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+67points
Review 3 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Worth every penny!

09/23/2010
By ,
Southern New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband recently became a Hazmat truck driver. Truckers are notorious for eating unhealthily at truck stops and fast food restaurants. But we have always eaten healthy, organic foods. My husband takes food that I seal from home on the road. We would freeze and/or refrigerate things and he would store them in coolers while on the road. But the ice would melt quickly and it was difficult to replenish it and the food would not last. We purchased this cooler/refrigerator and it works WONDERFULLY! I froze a couple of bottles of water thinking that they would thaw out in a few days and a week later they are still 90% frozen. Room temperature water gets nice and cold in the cooler as well. Foods that are frozen at home in the freezer stay frozen for an incredibly long period of time. I am amazed at how well the cooler works and even more amazed at the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Good if you have power

08/18/2007
By ,
Stillwater, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just completed a road trip from WA to OK with this cooler. It worked great as long at it was plugged in and you started it cooling for the trip the night before. In cases were we had to leave it disconnected for more than three hours the temperature would start to rise and would be unacceptable for raw meats, but for the lunch and drink stuff we were using it for it worked great. As a helpful hit the compressor does not have to work as hard if you keep the cooler under a blanket or in the shade while driving. Lastly the included AC wall adapter is a must and makes this product usable since it can be plugged in at hotels.
PS. We successfully ran the cooler for two to three hour periods on the battery alone without draining the battery to the point of not being able to start the car.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+53points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Davenport, Iowa
Misunderstanding about unit
Posted 08/26/2011
The review is a little misleading. The unit must be plugged in to cool. Also, this is a thermoelectric unit, not a refrigerator. It doesn't have a compressor. However, keeping it shaded really is a good idea and wiil help to keep things cooler.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great Cooler

05/06/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased our Powerchill in 2000, and immediately drove to Alaske some three thousand miles. We did it in 4 days however. We were going there to work, and used the cooler first in the car and then in our room as fridge. It ran, straight out of the box, for three months rarely being turned off. The only complaint we had was it is a little noisy at night to sleep too, but it is not a fridge, and that is to be expected. We have used it many many times since and love it. Our most recent long trip with it was to Glacier National Park on a 12 day trip. It took it a minute to get itself regulated. Also it needed to vent better and we got that working better too. The other trick we learned was that if you fill a quart sized container with ice, and place it in the cooler as well, it makes a huge difference on it ability to keep things cold longer. This was also due to the fact that we shopped along the way and our food was not chilled before putting it in the cooler. However, I will always do the ice in the future. If you freeze a juice bottle with juice in it or water, it will aid greatly and then you can drink the juice or water when it thaws. So you aren't really waisting any space. I love the cooler so much that I am considering buying a second 40 quart so we will have two on our trips. I hate melted ice mess!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+82points
Review 6 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

money saver

07/02/2009
By ,
ontario, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I drive an 18 wheeler, if you stop and eat at fast food or restuarants all the time you know how expensive it is, most of you think this product is a fridge, guess again. I use mine 24/7 for chilled items, always plugged into power receptacle, most new cars dont have power to cig lighter when key is off, yes just like almost anything else you get a lemon for one, i have had 3 in 5 yrs and only 1 died within a 1 1/2 year span, they do tend to wear out, but for the cost of one, much cheaper then eating out everyday, u eat 2 or 3 meals at fast food or restuarant, in one week it will cost u more then this cooler did. The extra $$$ u spend on eating out u could have stocked this cooler with food.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 7 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

ugh!!

02/05/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well im a trucker and having one of these is very important to me. JUST NOT THIS ONE. less than a year and im ready to get my 4th one. how long before walmart stops exchanging them for me?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 8 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Don't Buy!!

12/06/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If your a truck driver and use everyday, this is NOT the one for you. I've been through 2 in 2 months. Freezes up and kills the motor... Used the old coleman for years before it finally died and it was easy to replace parts... going to try another brand, wish me luck!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+20points
Review 9 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

good cooler bad product service

03/09/2010
By ,
ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
in 2 1/2 years went through 4 of these cooler's the little fan inside quits running because it has plastic barring's. the last one i tryed to get replaced on warrantie called customer serrvice and was hung up on 2 times before i could finish explaining what happened. took it to a colman stor and was told they would not and could not do anything about it even though it was only 6mo. old. will never buy another thing from colman again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 10 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Coleman Power Chill

08/09/2009
By ,
Enola,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this in a Peterbilt tractor and it works great. We flip a kill switch when the tractor is sitting for a few days. It cools very well after a short time after the kill switch is taken off and power is restored. Wish it had more shelving in it. Will have to make more shelving. Great size to fit about anything into it. And the Walmart price seemed to be the lowest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 11 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Not For Long Term, Every Day Use

03/13/2008
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I would say if you were going to use this on a long trip then this would be the product for you, but if you intend to use this in your home as a mini fridge in a den or in a dorm room - steer away from this one.
I am on my second one. I had to take the first one back and get a replacement, because the first one quit working within three months. The second one I've only had for about a month, and I've had to defrost it three times already! Defrosting means it builds up with ice around the motor, so you have to take everything out and let it sit for almost a whole day to let all the ice melt and then restart the whole process again of getting it to get cold again and reloading your things. I am very careful not to put ice in it, and I wipe off the moisture of anything I put in there - Don't know what else I can do except leave it empty!
We have this in our den and we keep it running 24/7. This product is supposed to be able to be used in an office 24/7 or where ever.
Watch for dust! This thing collects dust more than anything in my house. I suggest vacumming it a few times a week. The thing is like a magnet and just draws in the dust, which also causes damage to the motor.
Long story short - Long car rides - great. Full time in a dorm room or your house - Don't waste the money! Get a mini fridge with a freezer, that way the moisture build up isn't such a pain!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 12 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Well, in line with other reviews

09/25/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It worked great for about 3 weeks of constant use on our cross country trip. FYI, it uses 45 watts (I couldn't find that info anywhere). Kept at a cool 40-45', with an ambient temp usually in the upper 80's. But then it didn't, and would only cool into the 60's. Seems like 1/2 of the cooling elements went out (the fan still worked). Anyway, worked great before it broke, but the reliability is a real concern.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Review 13 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great product, but had some hiccups

04/03/2011
By ,
Great Falls, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first bought this product about four or five years ago, (Well, I originally bought another one, but it had a bad electrical connection, and I had to take it back...) I have had good and bad times with this and I must say, I really like it, though the wiring could be a bit better than they made it. My first one had a melted fuse when I was trying to use it getting ready for a six day long trip. I was lucky I still had my truck because it could have burned to the ground. I had to take that one back to Walmart, and they were very kind to me and let me exchange for another one. The one I have now, (I've had this one for over four or five years :-) ) has worked really well, but I had it plugged in and we had a bad storm here, and the wiring melted from the contact due to a power surge. I eventually fixed it and it has worked really well since. I now use it for my portable coffee business. The milk and cream stay nice and cold. There's a LOT of room in there, (enough for three half gallon, one full gallon, one quart and a whipped cream whipper that I put in there, so that I can make the various drinks I make...) and that's STANDING UP!! ;-) I would recommend this to people who need a relatively affordably priced cooler they can use without ice.
Vernon
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 14 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great

08/02/2007
By ,
Camp Lejuene
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just like a portable fridge. We use it for baby items on trips and going to the grocery store in summer. We love the two adapters, car and home. Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Doesn't work that good
Posted 06/17/2011
Got rid of mine and bought a 120v compact refrigerator and a 400w DC to 120v power inverter.The Coleman uses about 2.4 amps and hour to run.The compact refrig. runs on .9amps plus 1/2 an amp for the inverter that's about 1 1/2 amps and it has a small compressor and cools fast,it even has a small freezer compartment.It also shuts off when temp is reached the Coleman doesn't.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

PowerChill40 INCREDIBLE~don't hesitate to purchase

09/20/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this to use on a three week trip from Wyoming to Alaska. Was this a godsend!
NO ICE to buy or melt. Weather was quite warm for early-mid September. Having read other reviews we were aware to not leave run overnight off the trucks plug-in. We had it set up in a small camper cap in the back of the pickup truck. It not only held all our meats, soda, condiments, etc, it even kept milk for over a week past it's expiration date! And that is something that I would never even do at home!!
Camped @ Wrangell-St Elias and no problem without running for almost 36 hours.
THIS COOLER MORE THAN PAID FOR ITSELF IN JUST ONE TRIP.
Will use this over & over, and will NEVER buy ice again. Not even upset the price has now dropped by $14 from 4 weeks ago!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Review 16 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Best Cooler Ever!

01/24/2011
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had an older version of this cooler which lasted many, many years. It was a great cooler, but this one is the bomb! It really keeps things brrrr...cold! So glad we bought it...and would never want a different brand!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Perfect for Long Haul Truck Drivers

05/19/2010
By ,
Benjamin, Ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Coleman Powerchill Cooler for my husband who is a long haul truck driver. With the option of having foods that have to be kept cold, he is able to eat healthy and is actually losing weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Louis
If you are a trucker, Walmart has the best price
Posted 03/24/2012
This cooler is in the truckstop selling at $100 to $120 without the 110 power supply. At the price Walmart is selling the same cooler that is cheaper, which all truck drivers like :-) you get more bang for your buck. it comes with the 110 power supply so when you are not in the truck or car you can take the cooler with you and plug it in to wall socket (110 ac) and keep everything nice and cold or warm. This is helpful for a trucker who's truck breaksdown and have to stay in a motel until he's back on the road. You can't find a better cooler or price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great brand, great cooler.

06/18/2011
By ,
Davenport, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a truck driver and I owned this cooler for over 5 years. I don't understand why people are complaining about having to return theirs. There is a small square fan that blows air over a heat sink and since a fan is a moving part, it will wear out. I went to Best Buy (since you can't seem to find the original fan online) and bought a high quality computer case fan for about $7, and I wired it in. Even though the fan was a little smaller than the original, it worked even better that before and lasted another 3 years after I did the repair.
I sold the cooler when I stopped driving, and now I plan to buy another cooler, same brand, same model. I don't think one $7 fan in 5 years is that bad, since it was running about 6 days a week and at least 20 hours a day. I would recommend this cooler to anyone. It kept my food and drinks ice cold, and there is plenty of room inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

Great Product with a few Caveats

03/04/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this fridge for traveling and for motel rooms without refridgerators. The downside to a portable unit like this is the slow cool-down time. Do not put warm beverages in it and expect it to cool them down in a few hours-- it just won't happen. Once it does get cold, though, it stays cold.
Also keep in mind that you won't want to try to boost the unit's cool-down time with ice packs or loose ice-- the moisture from these items will cause damage to the unit's electronics.
The upside is portability-- it is much lighter than a comparably sized refrigerator and can be plugged into your vehicle's DC power port or cigarette lighter (while your vehicle is running). I've had mine for about 2 years and have used it on and off-- primarily during the summer. I have no major quibbles with it and reliability on my unit has been great. Like any other product, you may get a lemon like one of the previous reviewers got, but overall this seems to be a pretty durable unit. Most Wal-Mart stores carry them, so exchanges will be pretty easy.
Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Coleman PowerChill 40-Quart Thermoelectric Cooler with Power Supply

not so chilled by the powerchill

07/22/2007
By ,
Buckeye, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to be honest, this product works great...as long as the car is running or it is plugged in to an outlet. If you are traveling and have to stop, lets say overnight, you can kiss goodbye the items being cold inside. I had used it in March for a trip to Colorado from Arizona. It was really cold out in Colorado so I thought my items would stay cool in the powerchill overnight. I was wrong, when I checked them in the morning they werent cold, nor cool. The inside of the powerchill felt warmer than it was outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+5points
1-20 of 182 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next