Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Durabrand Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Durabrand Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Make watching movies even more enthralling with the Durabrand 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System. 80 watts of power is combined with five satellites speakers plus one subwoofer to deliver movie soundtracks that seem to envelope you in the action. Compatible with MP3 and DVD players, computers and game consoles.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%42 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

A great product for the price!

02/18/2008
By ,
North Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As a student living on campus I wanted something that would enhance the sound of movies, etc., without costing a lot and this product does it! It was easy to hook up too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

More Than Meets Expectations

02/07/2008
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This speaker system is a really good value for the price; it more than meets my expectations. It has powerful sound and I use it to watch movies, etc., on TV and from my DVD player. I also use it to play games and watch movies and videos on my computer. The remote control makes the switch from one source to another easy and everything easily connects into the speakers. You can also individually control the volume settings through the remote on each of the speaker types.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Wow...for a beginner

02/04/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so impressed with this product. I am an amatuer when it comes to surround sound. This product had exceeded my expectations greatly.
Word of advice!! Pay attention to the instruction manual or you'll be lost. Like I was. And make sure your TV has an audio jack which in my case. Mine did not have an audio jack. Luckily my DVD play has the necessary jacks to plug the product too. Plus, my game system is also connected to this wonderful device. I am playing it right now and I can hear it from upstairs.
For $40.00, this is a great starter for a surround sound. I would recommend this to those whom are a beginner in this area. How can you go wrong with this speaker system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Rablman

01/31/2008
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality but I lost my remote controle , if someone could help me get one or another that can work, I will appreciate. It's a really good theater system and very cheap.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Gets the job done!

01/29/2008
By ,
Frozen Tundra, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this for about a year and I when I first brought it home, my boyfriend made fun of me because it was so inexpensive. And then after he set it up, even he was surprised with the quality. I live in an apartment so I don't put the tv too loud anyway so it's perfect for me AND it sounds really good. This is the first surround sound I've ever owned and for the price and quality, I don't feel any reason to spend hundreds of dollars on anything else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Good for the $$

01/28/2008
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son hooked this up in our basement and the kids love it. It has great sound and the price is low.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Good for small room application

01/28/2008
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this in a game room setting with my TV and PS2. It works well, the sound is definatly loud enough, and you can set the volume louder or softer in each of the 4 settings, front, back, center and bass. Hit the source button and it is a TV surround sound ( I had to put dual input cross over RCAs into the TV for this part ). But it works well, I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Buggy System

01/23/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a decent system for the price paid and the hook up was simple enough. There is a humming / buzzing noise from the front speakers. After about an hour I was able to get all 5 speakers on at once by powering off and on the equipment as well as clicking the source button many times...still not real sure what worked / nothing to do with the wiring. The humming never goes away. The wattage is fine for a medium family room but not enough if you like really loud party type volume. Its cheap but with that comes a cheap product. Roll the dice and you may get lucky or like me take it back and try again....will continue with this product till I get one that works as intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Good

01/22/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These speakers ain't anything fancy, but they work for me.
I would like to get something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

It's ok.

01/21/2008
By ,
Charlotte, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just installed the system. It's good for the amount of watts it puts out. I prefer a little bit louder so I will be returning this one and getting something better for twenty more dollars with 650 watts. If you don't mind that it won't be too loud then it's good for you. It's like adding another set of TV speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Great Vaue

01/21/2008
By ,
Hermitage, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought this might be a piece of junk considering the price and the low w. but it really improves the overall sound in the room it is now in. I just bought a 32" TV at Walmart and managed to hook up the DVD player with the unit but also my stereo so I have 8 speakers. The stereo adds to the sound because it also has a bass-booster. I really got another great and unexpected deal. By the way, the TV was only $276.00 !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Steer clear

01/18/2008
By ,
Longview,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product did not work unless the volume on the tv was as loud as the surround sound.Worked for 3 hours trying every setting known to humankind.In most cases you get what you pay for.We have had problems with other Durabrand products
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Righteous

01/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this a few days ago after the sound went out on my game room big screen and i am completly satisfied with it.
i was iffy at first because it was was so cheap for a home theater system. but that was gone as soon as i hooked it up and turned it on...
really for 40 bucks this set up is amazing the bass is great and all the sat> speakers sound awesome as well.
plus the remote has controlles for all the speakers and subwoofer so you can set it exactly how you like it..(my only gripe is it doesnt save your settings after you turn it off or switch source) but i crank them all, all the way up anyways so its not a huge deal.
it has 2 aux in in the back and one in the front so you can hook up three seperate devices at one time. most in this price range only have one and dont came close to the sound quality. bottom line is it was 40 bucks and for 40 bucks it IS incredible so dont buy it expecting it to sound like a 300 dollar sound system.
anyways me and my girlfriend love it! so go buy it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Product was way worth its low price.

12/30/2007
By ,
PA Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all of the people who are having problems about this excellent product, im 14 and I've figured out that the reason that your speakers create that humming sound and some of the speakers dont work is of the following:[Note:It took me a bit to figure this out]
1. You didnt put the wires of the speakers in deep enough on the back of the base sub woofer.
2. you placed the speaker wires in the wrong places on the back of the subwoofer.
3.The ends of your speaker wires are thrashed.
I hope I have been of assistance to you all and hope you enjoy the quality sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Ok, but not for me.

12/30/2007
By ,
Forsyth,GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was in the market for a 5.1 sound system for Gaming and Movies, but don't want to paid lots of money for it. I seen this unit at Wal-Mart one night and got it thinking that it was a good deal. I know that this system is not true 5.1, but having the feel of it being 5.1 was ok with me.
When I got home I open the box; taking the unit out for testing before setup. First I test it on my notebook playing WoW. It sounded great.
Next was my LCD TV which is a Westinghouse 40" TV. I hook it up and power unit only to hear not sound. I check again; going thou the TV setup, but still no sound.
The last thing I test unit on was my PS2. The sound was ok. Hearing the boom from one of my games and a movie was not bad, but my TV sounded much louder than unit.
I end up returning unit for a RCA RT2390; which was one of there back of the store item they was clearing out. If you looking for a good 5.1 like sound system for your PC I get this unit. Anything else I save up about $60 for the RCA 5.1 sound system with DVD.
Note: I look up on the web about this unit and it seem that the no sound problem from the Westinghouse TV is well known.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 16 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

kinda helpful

12/29/2007
By ,
peetz, co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is an ok system, but not the one that i want. i bought this as my first system, and it was good. but now i want more than just 80 watts. this is a good system for beginner home theatre people.
p.s. dont push the channels button or it will lock up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Great Sound...

11/25/2007
By ,
louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with these speakers....Hooked them up to my flat panel lcd tv and the sound is great. I't's like I'm in the theater...Great price for a great sound.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Not very good

11/25/2007
By ,
Hillsburgh, ON
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit sounded OK right out of the box, however within 2 hours of using it, it started to malfunction. It would lock up so none of the buttons could be used until you unplugged it for a couple minutes. The computer audio input on the front hums louder than the music. It's going back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Don't wasteyour money

11/22/2007
By ,
Arkansas City, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product and took it home and hooked it up. The rear speakers wouldn't work at all. I returned to the store and exchanged it for another of the same system. Hooked it up, and there was a loud hum in both rear speakers, and almost no volume. A lot of trouble packing and unpacking, and I still don't have a usable system. In my opinion, this system is cheap junk!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Exactly What I Was Looking For

11/22/2007
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an inexpensive sound system for the TV in my bedroom, and when I saw these were surround, I was thrilled. When I set them, up, they sounded great! Not Klipsch or Pioneer great, but crank up the subwoofer, and they are ideal. My only compaint was that the stereo audio in (computer speaker kind, not RCA), was in the front, but that's just asthetics. Also, the individual speaker volumes to not stay custom-set after you turn the speakers on and off. Again, not a major issue. For sound quality and overall value for the shopper on a budget, this is the best buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next