Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Durabrand Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Durabrand Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Make watching movies even more enthralling with the Durabrand 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System. 80 watts of power is combined with five satellites speakers plus one subwoofer to deliver movie soundtracks that seem to envelope you in the action. Compatible with MP3 and DVD players, computers and game consoles.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%42 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Righteous

01/10/2008
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this a few days ago after the sound went out on my game room big screen and i am completly satisfied with it.
i was iffy at first because it was was so cheap for a home theater system. but that was gone as soon as i hooked it up and turned it on...
really for 40 bucks this set up is amazing the bass is great and all the sat> speakers sound awesome as well.
plus the remote has controlles for all the speakers and subwoofer so you can set it exactly how you like it..(my only gripe is it doesnt save your settings after you turn it off or switch source) but i crank them all, all the way up anyways so its not a huge deal.
it has 2 aux in in the back and one in the front so you can hook up three seperate devices at one time. most in this price range only have one and dont came close to the sound quality. bottom line is it was 40 bucks and for 40 bucks it IS incredible so dont buy it expecting it to sound like a 300 dollar sound system.
anyways me and my girlfriend love it! so go buy it!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Not bad for the price

09/20/2007
By ,
upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this system back in December to help us be able to hear the tv better. Both my husband and I have a hearing problem and even with a good tv ya can't alway's hear it well so we decided to buy this system so we could hear it better. Our subwoofer went about a month ago in a bad storm and we lost power while it was on so we are looking to buy this system again and use the old system on our other tv for better sound cause all the other speakers work great. But when ya have 5 kids ya have to pinch pennies and this system has worked great for us and the kids love it for playing the ps2 and watching movies..
So if ya don't have alot of money or don't want to spend a ton of money to get better sound for your tv, movies or games then this is the product for you and if ya have kids they will love it too for the louder and awsome sound of there movies and games.....
I give this a thumbs up. And for under $50.00 how can ya go wrong?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

It's ALL in the Box!

09/08/2007
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything you need is in the box: plenty of wire on each speaker, RCA cables AND a cable you can plug into your computer's sound card, remote control (with batteries!) that controls front, rear, center, and woofer volumes or mute. The woofer allows you to hear sounds that you won't hear with just your TV's speakers. Plus you can switch from 5:1 to stereo and attach virtually any device to it. Heck, for 40 bucks...it's great! Plus really easy to follow instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 4 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Better Than T.V. Speakers

08/23/2007
By ,
Bonham, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is not the best, BUT, when you only have a cheap t.v. with cheap stereo speakers, this product does the trick for not having to spend over $50. I love the bass because it doesn't give too much or too little, and you can turn it up and down. Great for watching movies in a small living room. For maximum quality of this product, I would recommend occasionally stripping the speaker wires, as with any speaker systems with wires, they usually end up melted together at the insert, making them turn silver. One thing I don't like about this product is that the wires are annoying me now that my speakers are up on the walls, I see more blue, red, grey wires than speakers.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Ok, but not for me.

12/30/2007
By ,
Forsyth,GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was in the market for a 5.1 sound system for Gaming and Movies, but don't want to paid lots of money for it. I seen this unit at Wal-Mart one night and got it thinking that it was a good deal. I know that this system is not true 5.1, but having the feel of it being 5.1 was ok with me.
When I got home I open the box; taking the unit out for testing before setup. First I test it on my notebook playing WoW. It sounded great.
Next was my LCD TV which is a Westinghouse 40" TV. I hook it up and power unit only to hear not sound. I check again; going thou the TV setup, but still no sound.
The last thing I test unit on was my PS2. The sound was ok. Hearing the boom from one of my games and a movie was not bad, but my TV sounded much louder than unit.
I end up returning unit for a RCA RT2390; which was one of there back of the store item they was clearing out. If you looking for a good 5.1 like sound system for your PC I get this unit. Anything else I save up about $60 for the RCA 5.1 sound system with DVD.
Note: I look up on the web about this unit and it seem that the no sound problem from the Westinghouse TV is well known.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 6 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Product was way worth its low price.

12/30/2007
By ,
PA Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all of the people who are having problems about this excellent product, im 14 and I've figured out that the reason that your speakers create that humming sound and some of the speakers dont work is of the following:[Note:It took me a bit to figure this out]
1. You didnt put the wires of the speakers in deep enough on the back of the base sub woofer.
2. you placed the speaker wires in the wrong places on the back of the subwoofer.
3.The ends of your speaker wires are thrashed.
I hope I have been of assistance to you all and hope you enjoy the quality sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

good speakers,not the best but

07/26/2007
By ,
Philadelphia,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
for the price it is good, i havent had any problems, it is not surround sound but only two speakers, you can adjust the left,right,middle, and both behind speakers to your liking to create surround sound feel, also the subwoofer is the bass on the remote,if you hook it up to your sound card on your computer you can then adjust the bass, tone, ect. through whatever your listening too. can be connected to dvd,cablebox,gaming sysytem, or your mp3 player.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

WAY Better than expected!

08/15/2007
By ,
kansas city, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was abit skepticle about what the fuss was with playing games with surround, Untill I got ahold of this..My GOD! I was blown away by how good everything sounded. Sadly after only haveing it for 7 months, the rear-right speaker started having problems, Right now im complentating getting a replacement from instore, but havent decided weither or not to yet.
I reccmond it, You will definatlly enjoy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Not to bad!

09/05/2007
By ,
Thomas, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this system a while back, I was just looking for something to enhance my movie watching and I did not want to spend too much money. So I got this system and I must say that I was surprised by how good it sounded, now it's not fantastic sound but for the price I'd say it's pretty darn good. So if your loooking for something low on cost and good on sound then get this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

flexable...

10/04/2007
By ,
hilo, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
when i originally bought this item i was living on a 30'x15' boat. it sounded great on the boat. also it did not kill the battery cery fast. when turned to a nominal volume and my cd player turned to med-high i could clearly hear all the sounds from over 120ft from the boat on open water. great system and i reccomend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Big Sound from a Little Box!

10/20/2007
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price - $40 bucks, great sound, e-z installation. I just purchased this system. Hooked it up to my 32" flat screen (had a 2-speaker SS system for computer). The sound for '300' could not have been better. Took less than 5 minutes to set up w/out instruction manual. Movie theater sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

needs met

10/28/2007
By ,
Bradenton,FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product did the trick. We needed better sound on our tv an for the low price this works great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Wow...for a beginner

02/04/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am so impressed with this product. I am an amatuer when it comes to surround sound. This product had exceeded my expectations greatly.
Word of advice!! Pay attention to the instruction manual or you'll be lost. Like I was. And make sure your TV has an audio jack which in my case. Mine did not have an audio jack. Luckily my DVD play has the necessary jacks to plug the product too. Plus, my game system is also connected to this wonderful device. I am playing it right now and I can hear it from upstairs.
For $40.00, this is a great starter for a surround sound. I would recommend this to those whom are a beginner in this area. How can you go wrong with this speaker system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Buggy System

01/23/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a decent system for the price paid and the hook up was simple enough. There is a humming / buzzing noise from the front speakers. After about an hour I was able to get all 5 speakers on at once by powering off and on the equipment as well as clicking the source button many times...still not real sure what worked / nothing to do with the wiring. The humming never goes away. The wattage is fine for a medium family room but not enough if you like really loud party type volume. Its cheap but with that comes a cheap product. Roll the dice and you may get lucky or like me take it back and try again....will continue with this product till I get one that works as intended.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Great buy, great price! A++++++

11/05/2007
By ,
Southern US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this deal (and I mean DEAL) on walmart.com, and have just set it up and used it for the first time today. What a great system! This is truly a price steal, and the sound is incredible. For you fellow gamers, try Maddon '08 or Scarface or maybe Rainbow VI - they sound great! Works superb with my HDTV, however; one thing is to be careful and read the details if you have 2.1 sound...Otherwise, I am very impressed and love the system! Also got the Atlantic stands and they are superb for the price. Excellent buy. I am thrilled with the shipping as well, very timely and very nice operators at the Customer Service. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

pointless product

07/20/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Misleading packaging, says "surround" and "5.1 channel" but it doesn't have digital or 5.1 channel inputs of any sort. It's a two channel system with 6 speakers. Don't bother. 40 watts RMS, not 80 like it says on the box. I pretty much opened it, looked at it and returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Durabrand 80-Watt Power

07/11/2007
By ,
C.G. AZ.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
IT'S OK I GUESS BUT NOT QUITE WHAT I REALLY WAS LOOKING FOR , CAN NOT A JUST THE VOLUM FOR BASS OR TONE. ONE SETTING. IT DON'T SOUND LIKE YOUR AT THE MOVIE SHOW EITHER.
MY RATING FOR THIS IS NOT THAT GOOD, BUT THE PRICE WAS RIGHT FOR WHAT I GOT IT FOR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Exactly What I Was Looking For

11/22/2007
By ,
Massachusetts
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted an inexpensive sound system for the TV in my bedroom, and when I saw these were surround, I was thrilled. When I set them, up, they sounded great! Not Klipsch or Pioneer great, but crank up the subwoofer, and they are ideal. My only compaint was that the stereo audio in (computer speaker kind, not RCA), was in the front, but that's just asthetics. Also, the individual speaker volumes to not stay custom-set after you turn the speakers on and off. Again, not a major issue. For sound quality and overall value for the shopper on a budget, this is the best buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Very happy with this product

11/04/2007
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this sarround sound about a month ago and to my suprise it works really well. The reason I am suprised is because of how inexpensive this product was (only $43 ). I just recently returned a sarround sound system that I purchased at Best Buy for $170 because the sound quality was poor. I just wanted something that would add a boost of sound to my TV. The quality of sound is crystal clear with no interference, and the best part is that it was easy to hook up. I am very pleased and would recommend this product to anybody on a budget. It was a "guiltless buy".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Durabrand 80-Watt Power handling 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System, HT-3917

Excellent value product

10/03/2007
By ,
Athens, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This surround sound system is actually a superb value for the price. The sound is super clear and concise. The installation and operation are simple. I had initial concerns about the price being so low, but would highly recommend this system for purchase, and feel confident that any purchase made of this system will satisfy even the most discriminate ear. A+++++++++
I would not recommend site-to-store delivery, as my one and only experience with it has been that it is less hassle to pay for the shipping, but the shipping problems did not detract from the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next